DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed August 18th, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-11, 13-15, and 23-24 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome each and every objection and 112(b) rejections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed May 20th, 2026. Applicant’s arguments regarding the interpretation of the claim limitations under 112(f) was found persuasive and the claim interpretations under 112(f) has been revoked.
Claim Objections
Claim 24 is objected to because of the following informalities:
“one and more” in ln. 1-2 should be revised to “one or more”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-9, 13-15, and 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yoshino et al. (US 20090320753 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yoshino discloses a treatment system (1, Fig. 1) for treating workpieces (7, shown in Fig. 1), the treatment system (1, Fig. 1) comprising:
an enclosure (2, Fig. 1) which surrounds a treatment chamber (internal space within paint booth 2, shown in Fig. 1);
a conveying device (8, Fig. 1) by which at least one workpiece (7, Fig. 1) can be at least one of: (i) introduced into the treatment chamber, (ii) guided through the treatment chamber, or (iii) discharged from the treatment chamber (Paragraph 0027); and
an application device (5, 6, Fig. 1) for applying fluid to the at least one workpiece (7, Fig. 1, Paragraph 0029),
wherein the application device (5, 6, Fig. 1) is configured to apply the fluid to an outer surface of the at least one workpiece (7, Fig. 1) and to an inner surface of the at least one workpiece (7, Fig. 1) within the treatment chamber (internal space within paint booth 2, shown in Fig. 1, Paragraphs 0029, 0068).
Regarding claim 2, Yoshino discloses the treatment system according to Claim 1, wherein the treatment includes a degreasing process, a rinsing process, or a coating process (Paragraph 0008).
In regards to claim 4, Yoshino discloses the treatment system according to Claim 1, wherein the application device (5, 6, Fig. 1) includes one or more rotatable application units (5, 6, Fig. 1), by which a rotating spray pattern can be produced on the workpiece (Paragraph 0027).
With respect to claim 5, Yoshino discloses the treatment system according to Claim 1, the application device (7, Fig. 1) has a plurality of coupled or synchronized application units (interpreting synchronized as to happen at the same time, Merriam-Webster Dictionary, 5, 6, Fig. 1, Paragraph 0034).
With respect to claim 6, Yoshino discloses the treatment system according to Claim 1, total spray patterns on the workpiece (7, Fig. 1) can be produced by a plurality of application units (5, 6, shown in Fig. 1) of the application device (5, 6, shown in Fig. 1).
In regards to claim 7, Yoshino discloses the treatment system according to Claim 1. Yoshino discloses the application device (5, 6, Fig. 1) includes a plurality of application units (5, 6, Fig. 1) which can be moved together by a distributor device (3, Fig. 1) of the application device (5, 6, Fig. 1) to supply the fluid to the application units (5, 6, Fig. 1, Paragraphs 0008, 0027).
With respect to claim 8, Yoshino discloses the treatment system according to Claim 1, wherein, during an application process for applying fluid to the at least one workpiece, the at least one workpiece can be moved by the conveying device or a movement device (8, shown in Fig. 1, Paragraph 0027).
Regarding claim 9, Yoshino discloses the treatment system according to Claim 8. Yoshino further discloses application units (5, 6, Fig. 1) are arranged so as to be distributed over a total length of the treatment chamber (total length of internal space within paint booth 2, shown in Fig. 1), and wherein the workpiece (7, Fig. 1) can be moved relative to the application units (5, 6, Fig. 1) by more than half a distance between two adjacent application units (5, 6, shown in Fig. 1, Paragraph 0027).
Regarding claim 13, Yoshino discloses the treatment system according to Claim 1, the application device (5, 6, Fig. 1) includes a plurality of application units (5, 6, Fig. 1) which are arranged in a grid-like or matrix-like form, in particular on one or two opposite side walls of the treatment chamber (internal space within paint booth 2, shown in Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 14, Yoshino discloses the treatment system according to Claim 1. Yoshino discloses one or more application units (5, 6, Fig. 1) can be moved during the application of fluid (Paragraphs 0027, 0029-0034).
With respect to claim 15, Yoshino discloses the treatment system according to Claim 1. Yoshino discloses a plurality of lines or rows of the one or more application units (shown in Fig. 1), can be rotated or pivoted during the application of fluid (Paragraph 0027).
Regarding claim 23, Yoshino discloses the treatment system according to Claim 5, wherein the application units (5, 6, Fig. 1) are coupled or synchronized with one another such that spray jets applied to the workpiece (7, Fig. 1) by the application units strike different surface regions of the workpiece at any time (shown in Fig. 1, Paragraphs 0028-0034).
With respect to claim 24, Yoshino discloses the treatment system according to Claim 14, wherein a plurality of the one and more application units (5, 6, Fig. 1) arranged in a regular or grid-like or matrix-like form can be linearly during the application of fluid (shown in Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshino et al. (US 20090320753 A1) in view of Funseth et al. (US 20150375247 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Yoshino discloses the treatment system according to Claim 1. However, Yoshino does not disclose the fluid can be applied to the workpiece in one or more time-varying spray patterns by the application device.
Funseth teaches a treatment system (entire system, Fig. 2) comprising the fluid can be applied to the workpiece in one or more time-varying spray patterns by the application device (2A, valves of nozzle 2A can be time varied to allow fluid to be sprayed at a duty cycle compared to a total time of operation, to create different spray patterns, Fig. 3, Paragraphs 0076, 0080).
Yoshino and Funseth are considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of sprayers. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the application device taught in Funseth’s system to Yoshino’s system, to allow Yoshino’s application device to have the fluid can be applied to the workpiece in one or more time-varying spray patterns. There is a motivation to combine the application device taught in Funseth’s system to Yoshino’s system because doing so provides spray that takes into account other factors, such as speed, location, and nozzle distance to provide for more accurate and uniform spray (Funseth, Paragraphs 0066, 0068).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshino et al. (US 20090320753 A1) in view of Belanger (US 20060157093 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Yoshino discloses the treatment system according to Claim 8. However, Yoshino does not explicitly disclose relative movement of the workpiece can be controlled in an open-loop or closed-loop manner by at least one of: (i) a proximity sensor, (ii) an incremental encoder, or (iii) in terms of time.
Belanger teaches a treatment system (10, Fig. 1) comprising relative movement of the workpiece can be controlled in an open-loop or closed-loop manner by a proximity sensor (160, sensor assemblies 160 can be sonic, optic, or a combination of both to detect movement of the vehicle in the carriage assembly 14, Fig. 4, Paragraph 0051).
Yoshino and Belanger are considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of treatment systems. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the proximity sensor taught in Belanger’s system to Yoshino’s system, to allow Yoshino’s system to have relative movement of the workpiece can be controlled in an open-loop or closed-loop manner by a proximity sensor. There is a motivation to combine the proximity sensor taught in Belanger’s system to Yoshino’s system because doing so provides a mechanically simplified structure to efficiently move spray nozzles about a workpiece to optimize the spray (Belanger, Paragraphs 0007, 0011).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoshino et al. (US 20090320753 A1) in view of Thompson et al. (US 20190374966 A1).
In regards to claim 11, Yoshino discloses the treatment system according to Claim 8. However, Yoshino does not disclose acceleration of relative movement can be adjusted.
Thompson teaches a treatment system (10, Fig. 1) comprising acceleration of relative movement can be adjusted (controller 74 provides information of a negative or positive acceleration of the AMS, and allows for acceleration to be controlled based on a user input, Paragraphs 0048, 0086, 0088).
Yoshino and Thompson are considered to be analogous art to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of treatment systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have acceleration of relative movement can be adjusted, doing so allows the system to have a threshold acceleration and determine an unexpected movement, which can cause unwanted spray (Thompson, Paragraph 0087).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-11, 13-15, and 23-24 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANNA THI HO/Examiner, Art Unit 3752
/STEVEN M CERNOCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752