DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of elected Species 2 Group I to claims 1-4, 6-8, and 10 in the reply filed on 08/10/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 5, 9, and 11-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 08/10/2026.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a first fixing unit” of claim 1 line 2 and “a second fixing unit” of claim 1 line 3
Corresponding structure is a band or belt that may surround a body portion (specification [184])
“a driving unit” of claim 1 line 4
Corresponding structure is a motor or actuator to provide rotational torque (specification [185])
“a connecting member” of claim 1 line 5
Corresponding structure is a long bar shape (specification [190]); and includes first, second, third, and elastic member (specification [198])
“a first member” of claim 2 line 3, “a second member” of claim 2 line 4
Corresponding structure is a tubular shape (specification [201, 203])
“a third member” of claim 3 line 2
Corresponding structure is a protrusion (specification [226]) and a sliding pad (specification [048])
“one or more length adjusting units” of claim 4 line 2
Corresponding structure “The first length adjusting unit is implemented as the second member 142 moves along the first member 141. The second length adjusting unit is implemented as the third member 143 moves along the second member 142” (specification [206])
“a linking unit” of claim 6 line 2
Corresponding structure is a first and second cable (specification [210])
“a plurality of unit members” of claim 6 line 3
Corresponding structure is the connecting member from claim 1 line 5 above (specification [086])
“a lower mechanism portion” of claim 10 line 4 and “an upper mechanism portion” of claim 10 line 4-5
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4, 6-8, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1 line 3, the term “the other body portion” is indefinite because it lacks proper antecedent basis. In line 3, the term “the other body portion of the joint part” is unclear as to how the second fixing unit is attached to the same joint part as in line 2. Examiner interprets the first fixing unit as attaching to the hip joint area and the second fixing unit as attaching to the knee joint area, which are not the same “joint part”.
Regarding claim 6 line 3, the term “a plurality of unit members” is unclear as to if the term is the same or different than “a first member” and “a second member” of claim 2 lines 3, 4 and “a third member” of claim 3 line 2. Is the term “a plurality of unit members” the compilation of these claimed structures? Examiner suggests using consistent terminology through the claims for the first, second, and third members rather than use of “a plurality of unit members” if the interpretation is intended.
Claim limitations “a lower mechanism portion” of claim 10 line 4 and “an upper mechanism portion” of claim 10 line 4-5 invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function.
The specification describes “a lower mechanism portion 117a” and “an upper mechanism portion 117b”. Paragraph [223] says “The lower mechanism portion 117a may be combined with the lower hook 134a. The upper mechanism portion 117b may be combined with the upper hook 134b.” and further in [224] that the respective mechanism portion and hook may be easily separated. However, these descriptions of the upper and lower mechanism portions do not disclose a structure beyond the function. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Any remaining claims are rejected as being dependent upon a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shimada et al. (US 7,429,253).
Regarding claim 1, Shimada discloses a wearable robot (Title “Walking assistance system”, Fig. 1) comprising:
a first fixing unit mounted on one body portion of a joint part (hip fitting 11);
a second fixing unit mounted on the other body portion of the joint part (first upper leg coupling part 41 and second upper leg coupling part 44);
a driving unit connected to the first fixing unit (hip joint actuator 19); and
a connecting member configured to connect the driving unit and the second fixing unit and transmit driving force provided from the driving unit to the second fixing unit (upper leg fitting 12 comprising at least upper frame 23 and central frame 22),
wherein a length of the connecting member is adjusted in accordance with a distance between the driving unit and the second fixing unit (Col. 7 lines 4-8 and 16-19 upper frame 23 slidably fitted into central frame 22; provided with plurality of pin holes 23a for varying length of upper leg fitting 12).
Regarding claim 2, Shimada discloses the connecting member comprises:
a first member supported by the driving unit (central frame 22); and
a second member movably connected to the first member and supported by the second fixing unit (upper frame 23 moves along central frame 22; fixing unit 41, 44 on the side of frames 22, 23).
Regarding claim 3, Shimada discloses the wearable robot further comprises a third member movably connected to the second member and supported by the second fixing unit (lower frame 24 of upper leg fitting 12; movable relative to upper frame 23).
Regarding claim 4, Shimada discloses the connecting member comprises one or more length adjusting units arranged in a row between the driving unit and the second fixing unit (upper leg fitting 12 comprises upper frame 23 and lower frame 24, slidably connected to central frame 22 for length adjustment using pin holes).
Regarding claim 6, Shimada discloses the connecting member further comprises a linking unit configured to connect a plurality of unit members (Col. 7 lines 16-28 upper, lower, and central frames 23, 24, 22 have pin holes 23a, 24a for inserting fixing pins 27).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimada as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Ergun et al. (US 9,232,855; hereinafter “Ergun”).
Regarding claim 7, Shimada is silent as to the linking unit comprises: a first cable having one end fixed to the first member and the other end fixed to the third member in a state of being supported by an extended end of the second member; and a second cable having one end fixed to the first member and the other end fixed to the third member in a state of being supported by a contracted end of the second member. However, Ergun teaches the linking unit (see Ergun leg assembles 109, able to be height adjusted according to a three telescoping tube system comprising tension members able to link the three tubes) comprises:
a first cable (see Ergun first tension member 141) having one end fixed to the first member (see Ergun Col. 8 lines 42-46 first tension member 141 attached to first member 112 on one end) and the other end fixed to the third member in a state of being supported by an extended end of the second member (see Ergun Col. 8 lines 42-46 first tension member 141 attached on other end to third member 116, which is extended from second member 114); and
a second cable (see Ergun second tension member 142) having one end fixed to the first member (see Ergun second tension member 142 attached to first member 112 on one end) and the other end fixed to the third member in a state of being supported by a contracted end of the second member (see Ergun second tension member 142 attached on other end to third member 116, which is attached to second member 114 on both ends)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pin linking unit between the members of Shimada with use of the cable linking unit between members as taught by Ergun so as to provide more options to length adjustment (not limited by placement of pin holes) and as this would have been an obvious substitution for one known type of length adjustment linking unit for another and would yield predictable results, i.e. adjust the length of the members.
Regarding claim 8, modified Shimada discloses a second pulley configured to support the first cable is disposed at the extended end of the second member (see Ergun first idler pulley 138, routes first tension member 141) and a third pulley configured to support the second cable is disposed at the contracted end of the second member (see Ergun second idler pulley 139, routes second tension member 142).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimada as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tsai et al. (US 2018/0200878; hereinafter “Tsai”).
Regarding claim 10, Shimada discloses the first fixing unit (see Shimada hip fitting 11) comprises a waist belt (see Shimada back plate 17, supporting the waist) and a waist wearing frame (see Shimada U-shaped hip frame 16). Shimada is silent as to the waist wearing frame comprises a lower mechanism portion, an upper mechanism portion, and a detachment button, the driving unit comprises a main body housing, the main body housing further comprises a lower hook and an upper hook therein, and the lower mechanism portion is coupled to the lower hook, and the upper mechanism portion is coupled to the upper hook.
Tsai teaches the waist wearing frame (see Tsai waist assembly 22) comprises a lower mechanism portion (see Tsai lower horizontal slot 226a), an upper mechanism portion (see Tsai upper horizontal slot 226b), and a detachment button (see Tsai bolts 227; [0039] bolts 227 bolts slideable to adjust),
the driving unit (see Tsai hip joint 13) comprises a main body housing (see Tsai hip frame 132), the main body housing further comprises a lower hook (see Tsai lower holes 132a) and an upper hook therein (see Tsai upper holes 132a), and
the lower mechanism portion is coupled to the lower hook (see Tsai [0038] bolts 227 pass through lower horizontal slots 226a and lower holes 132a), and the upper mechanism portion is coupled to the upper hook (see Tsai [0038] bolts 227 pass through upper horizontal slots 226a and upper holes 132a).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the waist wearing frame to driving unit connection of Shimada with the connection means using upper, lower mechanisms and hooks as taught by Tsai so as to be able to adjust the size of the waist wearing frame in the horizontal direction according to the user.
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/576,100 (reference application). This is a provisional statutory double patenting rejection since the claims directed to the same invention have not in fact been patented.
Regarding instant claim 2, the recited limitations are contained in reference application claim 2.
Regarding instant claim 3, the recited limitations are contained in reference application claim 3.
Regarding instant claim 4, the recited limitations are contained in reference application claim 4.
Regarding instant claim 6, the recited limitations are contained in reference application claim 5.
Regarding instant claim 7, the recited limitations are contained in reference application claim 17.
Regarding instant claim 8, the recited limitations are contained in reference application claim 2.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to the applicant’s disclosure.
Caires et al. (US 9,421,143) is cited to show an exoskeleton with length adjustment members in horizontal and vertical directions.
Kamon (US 9,554,960) is cited to show a wearable support device with translating thigh member.
Bilodeau et al. (US 11,020,850) is cited to show a back plate linking device to a hip frame in an exoskeleton.
Wang et al. (US 11,071,675) and Kobayashi (US 2022/0297284) are cited to show an exoskeleton able to adjust the thigh members.
Hara et al. (US 2023/0270616) is cited to show an actuated and adjustable wearable motion assistance device for the limb.
Etheridge et al. (US 11,123,255) is cited to show an exoskeleton with adjustment mechanisms.
/GWYNNETH L HOWELL/Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/RACHEL T SIPPEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785