DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sherry et al. (US 2018/0371377 A1) in view of Casella et al. (US 2005/0229327 A1).
Regarding claims 1-2 and 5, Sherry teaches an aqueous cleaning and antimicrobial composition (abstract, 4, 45-46) comprising; i)- a peroxide such as hydrogen peroxide (instant claim 2) in the amount of 0.2-5 wt.%; [60], ii)- cationic surfactant of cetyldimethyl ammonium bromide (i.e. chloride) and cetylpyridinium bromide (i.e. chloride) in amounts of 0.5-5 wt.%; [49, 53], iii)- organic acids (instant claim 5) such as citric, lactic, and maleic in amounts of 2-6 wt.%; [18-19], iv)- glycol solvents (and surface modifying agents) such as glycol ethers, e.g. ethylene glycol dimethyl ether; [50, 65], in the amounts of 0.5-3 wt.%; [141-142, 174], and v)- water in the amounts such as 90 wt.%; [table 1].
Regarding claims 1, and 6-7, Sherry does not, expressly, teach the instantly claimed polyalkylene glycols with the stated molecular weights. However, the analogous art of Casella teaches a cleaning and disinfecting composition with bleaching and antimicrobial active agents; [102-103], comprising polyethylene glycol with molecular weights of 200 D to 600 D (preferably); [131]. At the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to select the polyethylene glycol of Casella for Sherry, by addition, with the motivation of further solubilizing, and thus further stabilizing, the composition for intended applications as taught by both Casella and Sherry above.
Regarding claims 3, 4, 8 and 13, Sherry teaches the amphoteric surfactants such as decyl dimethyl amine oxide (C12H27NO); [34, table 1], and nonionic polymer of polyvinyl pyrrolidone (instant 8) ; [65]. Sherry, also, teaches (instant 13) the amphoteric surfactant of betaine; [32].
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sherry et al. (US 2018/0371377 A1) in view of Casella et al. (US 2005/0229327 A1), as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Boyd et al. (TW I407974 B; 2013-09-11).
Regarding claim 14, Sherry does not teach the instantly claimed amphoteric surfactant of cocoaminopropyl betaine. However, the analogous art of Boyd teaches a surface cleaning composition (i.e. hard surfaces, house hold cleaning and polishing applications); [abstract, 9-11, 38], comprising cocoaminopropyl betaine; [56]. At the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to add the cocoaminoprpyl betaine of Boyd to Sherry’s composition with the motivation of using a mild and surface friendly (i.e. when polishing) chemical agent as taught by Boyd above; [abstract, 5, 8].
Correspondence
/M.R.A./
Examiner, Art Unit 1767
2026/04/01
/MARK EASHOO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1767