DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending, claims 10-20 have been withdrawn from consideration, and claims 1-9 are currently under consideration for patentability under 37 CFR 1.104.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, readable on claims 1-9, in the reply filed on 01/20/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 10-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Groups II-III, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 01/20/2026.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: "a video processing device" in claims 2 and 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao (US 2013/0046137), in view of Moll (US 6,837,883).
Regarding claim 1, Zhao discloses a surgical robotic system, comprising: a surgical robotic arm (manipulator arm [0072]) configured to movably support a surgical instrument (226, figure 2b); and a first trocar (202, figures 2) including: a head (208, figure 2a); a cannula (209, figure 2a) extending distally from the head and configured to receive the surgical instrument (see figure 2b); and a plurality of cameras (623, figure 6) disposed about a distal end portion of the cannula (see figures 6) and directed radially outward (image capture elements…radially outward [0055]). Zhao is silent regarding the surgical robotic arm having an elongated rail, the head configured for attachment to the elongated rail.
Moll teaches a robotic manipulator arm assembly (310, figure 5) with a linear guide formation (316, figure 5) and a cannula (see cannula attached to the distal end of 316, figures 5). An instrument (100, figure 5) is driven to translate along a linear guide formation of the arm (312, figure 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to modify the system of Zhao to have the arm assembly (310, figure 5) with the linear guide formation (316, figure 5) as taught by Moll. Doing so would allow an instrument to be driven to translate along a linear guide (see figure 5). The modified system would have the surgical robotic arm having an elongated rail (316, figure 5; Moll), the head configured for attachment to the elongated rail (see cannula attached to the distal end of 316, figures 5).
Regarding claim 2, Zhao further discloses a video processing device (this element is interpreted under 35 USC 112f as a computing device for image processing | see control system 310 with a display module 330 that is executing on a processor 320, figure 3) in communication with the plurality of cameras of the first trocar (stitched together…by display module 330 [0077]), wherein the video processing device is configured to stitch together images taken by each of the plurality of cameras of the first trocar to form a single image (stitched together…[0077]); and a display (351 or 360, figure 3) in communication with the video processing device and configured to display the single image (stitched together…single panoramic image 451 [0077]).
Regarding claim 3, Zhao further discloses the plurality of cameras (one or more image capture sensors [0097]) is mounted to the distal end portion of the cannula in an annular array (image capture elements…radially outward [0055]; see figures 6).
Regarding claim 4, Zhao further discloses the first trocar includes a lens (lens…[0130]) enclosing the plurality of cameras.
Regarding claim 5, Zhao further discloses the distal end portion of the cannula defines a distal port (see distal opening of 609, figure 6b), the plurality of cameras being disposed adjacent the distal port (see figure 6b).
Regarding claim 6, Zhao further discloses the first trocar includes at least one light (635, figure 6b) disposed adjacent the plurality of cameras.
Regarding claim 7, Zhao further discloses a second trocar (another 202, figures 2) including: a cannula (209, figure 2a) defining a channel (channel for 226, figure 2b) therethrough; and a plurality of cameras (623, figure 6) disposed about a distal end portion of the cannula of the second trocar (see figures 6) and directed radially outward (image capture elements…radially outward [0055]).
Claim(s) 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao (US 2013/0046137) and Moll (US 6,837,883) as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Herzlinger (US 2014/0024951).
Regarding claim 8, Zhao and Moll disclose all of the features in the current invention as shown above in claim 7. They are silent regarding a video processing device in communication with the plurality of cameras of the first trocar and the second trocar, wherein the video processing device is configured to stitch together images taken by each of the plurality of cameras of the first and second trocars to form a single image and display the single image on a display.
Herzlinger teaches cannulas (611-613, figure 6) with vision systems (621-623, figure 6). A computer may merge the images from the cameras together to form two more natural rectilinear views of at least a portion of the surgical site ([0040]).
It would have been obvious to modify the system of Zhao and Moll to have more than one cannula (611-613, figure 6) and a computer (image processing…computer [0024]; [0040]) to merge the images from the cannulas together ([0040]) as taught by Herzlinger. Doing so would provide views of the surgical site from perspectives other than the actual/main camera data ([0040]). The modified system would have a video processing device (this element is interpreted under 35 USC 112f as a computing device for image processing | see control system 310 with a display module 330 that is executing on a processor 320, figure 3 of Zhao; image processing…computer [0024] of Herzlinger) in communication with the plurality of cameras of the first trocar and the second trocar (images…at least two cameras…computer [0040]; Herzlinger), wherein the video processing device is configured to stitch together images taken by each of the plurality of cameras of the first and second trocars to form a single image (merge the images together [0040]) and display the single image on a display (display to a surgeon [0040]).
Claim(s) 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhao (US 2013/0046137) and Moll (US 6,837,883) and Herzlinger (US 2014/0024951) as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Scheib (US 2020/0289205).
Regarding claim 9, Zhao and Moll and Herzlinger disclose all of the features in the current invention as shown above in claim 8. They are silent regarding the video processing device is further configured to focus the plurality of cameras of the first trocar or the second trocar on the other of the first trocar or the second trocar during insertion of the surgical instrument into the other of the first trocar or the second trocar.
Scheib teaches a surgical visualization system (1500, figure 8) with a surgical device (1502, figure 8) and an imaging device (1520, figure 8). The surgical device and the imaging device are on separate robotic arms ([0172]). The system can have more than one camera (3220, figure 13j), where one camera can be a follower camera on a follower arm ([0186]). The follower arm, and camera thereon, can be programmed to track the other camera and to maintain a particular distance and/or lens angle ([0186]).
It would have been obvious to modify the system of Zhao, Moll, and Herzlinger with separate robotic arms for each cannula ([0186]) and to control the arms to have one arm be a follower arm to track the other camera and arm ([0186]) as taught by Scheib. Doing so would maintain a particular distance and/or lens angle of the follow arm and camera thereon ([0186]). The modified system would have the video processing device is further configured to focus the plurality of cameras of the first trocar or the second trocar on the other of the first trocar or the second trocar during insertion of the surgical instrument into the other of the first trocar or the second trocar (follower arm…lens angle [0186]; Scheib).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Bassan (US 2011/0306832).
PAMELA F. WU
Examiner
Art Unit 3795
February 7, 2026
/RYAN N HENDERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3795