DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claim 16 is amended. Claims 16-30 are pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16-20 and 22-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O’Driscoll et al., US 2023/0204473 in view of Wismueller et al., US 2015/0083893.
Regarding claim 16, O’Driscoll discloses a specimen receptacle system for an imaging apparatus for imaging ex-vivo tissue specimens (para 0006; systems (i.e., utilities) for maintaining an excised tissue specimen in a fixed or stable orientation during imaging), the specimen receptacle system comprising a specimen receptacle having a bottom and an upstanding wall (fig. 12, element 104; para 0093; an apparatus having a bottom and an upstanding wall);
wherein the system further comprises an additional bottom plate which is attachable to the bottom of the specimen receptacle (fig. 12, element 182; para 0093; a grid member attached to the first position member),
wherein the additional bottom plate is configured to receive the ex-vivo tissue specimen (fig. 12, element 300; para 0093; the specimen is placed on the grid member), and
wherein the additional bottom plate includes at least two distinctive orientation markers configured to allow assignation of at least two substantially transverse anatomical directions to said at least two distinctive orientation markers (figs. 45-46 and 48, elements 1000 and 1004; para 0138-0150; first and second orientation markers with directions).
O’Driscoll discloses claim 16 as enumerated above, but O’Driscoll does not explicitly disclose the orientation of the ex-vivo tissue specimen on the additional bottom plate chosen by the user as claimed.
However, Wismueller discloses the surgeon places the tissue sample S onto the foam 116 in the lower part 108 of the internal container 106 in step 204 and then joins both sides 106, 108 in step 206 to close the sphere of the internal container 106 without causing deformation of the sample S. The surgeon can then rotate the internal container 106 within the external container 102 in step 208 so that the position markers 104 indicate the orientation in vivo of the specimen S. Diagrams accompanying the specimen holder 100 help the surgeon orient the specimen with respect to patient anatomy (fig. 1A; para 0064).
Therefore, taking the combined disclosures of O’Driscoll and Wismueller as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate discloses the surgeon places the tissue sample S onto the foam 116 in the lower part 108 of the internal container 106 in step 204 and then joins both sides 106, 108 in step 206 to close the sphere of the internal container 106 without causing deformation of the sample S. The surgeon can then rotate the internal container 106 within the external container 102 in step 208 so that the position markers 104 indicate the orientation in vivo of the specimen S. Diagrams accompanying the specimen holder 100 help the surgeon orient the specimen with respect to patient anatomy as taught by Wismueller into the invention of O’Driscoll for the benefit of allowing easy insertion and removal of the specimen (Wismueller: para 0018).
Regarding claim 17, the specimen receptacle system according to claim 16, O’Driscoll in the combination further disclose wherein the additional bottom plate is made of foam (para 0093).
Regarding claim 18, the specimen receptacle system according to claim 16, O’Driscoll in the combination further disclose wherein the specimen receptacle includes an inwardly protruding edge (fig. 8, element 117; para 0089), and wherein the additional bottom plate includes a corresponding recess configured to receive said protruding edge of the specimen receptacle (fig. 12, element 182; para 0093).
Regarding claim 19, the specimen receptacle system according to claim 16, O’Driscoll in the combination further disclose wherein the additional bottom plate includes at least four distinctive orientation markers configured to indicate at least four anatomical directions of which at least two anatomical directions are substantially transverse to each other (para 0150), wherein in particular every two adjacent orientation markers are configured to indicate substantially transverse anatomical directions (figs. 45-46 and 48, elements 1000 and 1004; para 0138-0150).
Regarding claim 20, the specimen receptacle system according to claim 16, O’Driscoll in the combination further disclose wherein the specimen receptacle is at least partly transparent (para 0094 and 0096).
Regarding claim 22, the specimen receptacle system according to claim 16, O’Driscoll in the combination further disclose wherein an upper side of the specimen receptacle is open (fig. 12, element 104; para 0093-0094).
Regarding claim 23, the specimen receptacle system according to claim 16, O’Driscoll in the combination further disclose wherein an upper edge of the upstanding wall includes a visual indicator such as a notch (fig. 12, elements 132 and 136; para 0072 and 0094).
Regarding claim 24, the specimen receptacle system according to claim 16, O’Driscoll in the combination further disclose comprising a platform on which the bottom of the specimen receptacle is releasably fixable (fig. 12, elements 132 and 136; para 0072 and 0094).
Regarding claim 25, the specimen receptacle system according to claim 24, O’Driscoll in the combination further disclose wherein the specimen receptacle and/or the platform are configured to allow a releasable fixating of the specimen receptacle on the platform in a single orientation only (fig. 12, elements 132 and 136; para 0072 and 0094).
Regarding claim 26, O’Driscoll discloses an imaging apparatus system for imaging ex-vivo tissue specimens including a specimen receptacle system according to claim 16 (figs. 5 and 7, element 404; para 0070 and 0077; X-ray source).
Regarding claim 27, the imaging apparatus system according to claim 26, O’Driscoll in the combination further disclose comprising a positron emission tomography (PET) imaging module and/or a computed tomography (CT) imaging module (figs. 5 and 7, element 404; para 0070 and 0077).
Regarding claim 28, O’Driscoll discloses a computer-implemented method for assigning an orientation to an ex-vivo tissue specimen laying in a specimen receptacle (figs. 45-46, 48, and 51-52; para 0137-0150) according to claim 16, comprising the steps of:
optionally, displaying on a screen the at least two orientation markers and six anatomical directions (this limitation is not addressed because of the claimed “optionally”);
receiving from a user input an assignation of a first orientation marker of the at least two orientation markers to a first of six anatomical directions (figs. 45-46, 48, and 51-52; para 0137-0150);
optionally, displaying on a screen four of the six anatomical directions eliminating the anatomical direction to which the first orientation marker has been assigned and its opposite anatomical direction (this limitation is not addressed because of the claimed “optionally”);
receiving from a user input an assignation of a second orientation marker, which is next to the first orientation marker, to a second anatomical direction which is transverse to the first anatomical direction, and which is one of the four anatomical directions displayed on the screen (figs. 45-46, 48, and 51-52; para 0137-0150);
deriving from said first and second transverse anatomical directions the orientation of the ex-vivo tissue specimen (para 0144-0148);
optionally, displaying on a screen the assigned orientation of the ex-vivo tissue specimen (this limitation is not addressed because of the claimed “optionally”).
Regarding claim 29, this claim recites substantially the same limitations that are performed by claim 28 above, and it is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 30, this claim recites substantially the same limitations that are performed by claim 28 above, and it is rejected for the same reasons.
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O’Driscoll et al., US 2023/0204473 in view of Wismueller et al., US 2015/0083893 and further in view of Fan et al., US 2019/0062681.
Regarding claim 21, the specimen receptacle system according to claim 16, O’Driscoll and Wismueller in the combination do not explicitly disclose wherein the specimen receptacle is substantially cylindrical as claimed.
However, Fan discloses a cylindrical sample container (figs. 2-3; para 0061).
Therefore, taking the combined disclosures of O’Driscoll, Wismueller, and Fan as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a cylindrical sample container as taught by Fan into the inventions of O’Driscoll and Wismueller for the benefit of positioning and securing an excised biological tissue specimen for imaging and analysis (Fan: para 0002).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 16-30 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VAN D HUYNH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2665