DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
Claims 1-8 are included in the prosecution.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-8 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “Pharmaceutical” which should read as “A pharmaceutical”.
Claims 2-7 recite “Pharmaceutical” which should read as “The pharmaceutical”.
Claim 8 recites “Medical” which should read as “A medical”.
Claims 4-8 are objected to under 37 CFR 1.75(c) as being in improper form because a multiple dependent claim should refer to other claims in the alternative only and/or cannot depend from any other multiple dependent claim. See MPEP § 608.01(n). Accordingly, the claims have not been further treated on the merits.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 3, the phrase "namely" renders the claims indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over.
Regarding claims 1-8, Kurkayev is drawn to antimicrobial compositions, and discloses antiviral composition comprises titanium dioxide, silicon dioxide nanoparticles, (2-hydroxy)propyl beta-cyclodextrin (HPBCD) aqueous solution (abstract).
Kurkayev discloses the most commonly used types of cyclodextrins are 6-membered alphacyclodextrin, 7-membered beta-cyclodextrin, and 8-membered gammacyclodextrin, respectively. Cyclodextrins have been disclosed as being useful for decreasing viral infections. Kurkayev discloses nanosized metal and metalloid oxides such as titanium-dioxide and silicon30 dioxide - due to their unique submicrometer size and nano-crystalline state (pg. 1). Kurkayev discloses combinations with antiviral pharmaceutical actives (pg. 2). Kurkayev discloses cyclodextrins in their natural forms represent a class of substances that are known to interact with certain compounds occurring in cell surfaces and thus providing remarkable antimicrobial effects (pg. 2-3).
Kurkayev discloses the preparation of antiviral compositions based on stabilized metal- oxide dispersions in combination with different excipients and additives to prevent and control infections caused by herpes virus family. These excipients ensure the long-term kinetic stability of the dispersed nanoparticles, eliminate incompatibility between dispersed nanoparticles and (2- hydroxy)propyl beta-cyclodextrin (HPBCD). The resulting gel forms also improve spreadability (pg. 4). Kurkayev discloses titanium dioxide nanosuspension of 0.05-5% and HPBCD 0.05-50% (pg. 8).
Kurkayev does not explicitly disclose each of the components of the composition in a single embodiment.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Kurkayev, to arrive at the instant invention.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Kurkayev discloses all the required components and Kurkayev is drawn to antimicrobial compositions, and discloses antiviral composition comprises titanium dioxide, silicon dioxide nanoparticles, (2-hydroxy)propyl beta-cyclodextrin (HPBCD) (abstract), and that cyclodextrins have been disclosed as being useful for decreasing viral infections (pg. 1). Further, one having ordinary still in the art would reasonably expect success in combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, see MPEP 2141.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/QUANGLONG N TRUONG/Examiner, Art Unit 1615