DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgement is made of applicant’s certified translation of CN202110757673.1. The effective filing date of the instant application is 07/05/2021.
Withdrawal of Rejections
The response and amendments filed on 08/07/2026 are acknowledged. Any previously applied minor objections and/or minor rejections (i.e., formal matters), not explicitly restated here for brevity, have been withdrawn necessitated by Applicant’s formality correction and/or amendments. For the purposes of clarity of the record, the reasons for the Examiner’s withdrawal, and/or maintaining, if applicable, of the substantive or essential claim rejections are detailed directly below and/or in the Examiner’s Response to Arguments section.
Briefly, the previous rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for indefiniteness has been withdrawn necessitated by Applicant’s amendments. The previous rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 for obviousness have been withdrawn necessitated by Applicant’s amendments; however, new grounds of rejection are set forth below.
The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
New and/or Maintained Grounds of Rejection Necessitated by Amendments
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103, Obviousness
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma (CN 107988286; Date of Publication: May 4, 2018 – previously cited) in view of Yang (CN 104313009; Date of Publication: January 28, 2015 – cited in the IDS filed on 01/03/2024 – previously cited), Lantero (U.S. Patent No. 4,355,105; Date of Publication: October 19, 1982 – previously cited), and Gu (CN 104351483; Date of Publication: February 18, 2015 – previously cited).
Ma’s general disclosure relates to a whole-cell catalytic method for preparing tagatose, wherein the method includes transforming Escherichia coli with an α-glucan phosphorylase gene, a glucose phosphomutase gene, a glucose phosphate isomerase gene, a 6-phosphate tagatose epimerase gene, and a 6-phosphate tagatose phosphatase gene (see, e.g., Ma, English Translation, Abstract). Moreover, Ma discloses performing an enzymatic reaction of the E. coli cells to obtain tagatose, wherein the reaction has the advantage of low cost, low pollution, and high yield (see, e.g., Ma, English Translation, Abstract).
Regarding claim 1 pertaining to the fermentation broth of E. coli, Ma teaches transferring an α-glucan phosphorylase gene, a glucose phosphomutase gene, a glucose phosphate isomerase gene, a 6-phosphate tagatose epimerase gene, and a 6-phosphate tagatose phosphatase gene into E. coli engineered bacteria, respectively, to obtain five transformed strains (see, e.g., Ma, English Translation, “Contents of the invention”, pg. 3). Ma teaches that the transformed E. coli cells were fermented to obtain whole cells expressing the enzymes (see, e.g., Ma, English Translation, Embodiment 1, pg. 4). Moreover, Ma teaches that plasmids comprising the α-glucan phosphorylase gene, a glucose phosphomutase gene, a glucose phosphate isomerase gene, a 6-phosphate tagatose epimerase gene, and a 6-phosphate tagatose phosphatase gene were transformed into E. coli BL21 and each transformed E. coli fermentation culture expressed the corresponding enzymes (see, e.g., Ma, English Translation, Embodiment 1, pg. 4). Ma teaches that the E. coli cells expressing the different enzymes were mixed to establish a whole-cell catalytic reaction system in order to obtain a tagatose product (see, e.g., Ma, English Translation, “Contents of the invention”, pgs. 3-4 & Embodiment 1, pg. 4).
Regarding claim 3 pertaining to the enzymes, Ma teaches “α-glucan phosphorylase is derived from Thermotoga maritima, and the gene number on KEGG is TM1168; glucose phosphomutase is also derived from Thermotoga maritima, and the gene number on KEGG is TM0769; The isomerase is derived from Clostridium thermocellum, and the gene number on KEGG is Cthe0217; the 6-phosphate tagatose epimerase is from Thermoanaerobacter indiensis, and the enzyme coded by the gene is numbered WP_019907213.1 on NCBI; 6- Phosphotagatose phosphatase is derived from Archaeoglobus fulgidus, and the gene number on KEGG is AF_0444” (see, e.g., Ma, English Translation, “Embodiment 1”, pg. 4), all of which are thermostable.
Regarding claim 4 pertaining to enzymatic activity of the thermostable enzymes, Ma teaches that the whole cells expressing these thermostable enzymes were treated at 75oC for 5 minutes for cell permeabilization, followed by carrying out the whole-cell catalytic reaction at 70oC for 46 hours (see, e.g., Ma, Ma, English Translation, “Embodiment 1”, pg. 4). One of ordinary skill in the art would readily understand that since the whole-cell catalytic reaction is carried out for the cells expressing these thermostable enzymes at 70oC for 46 hours, that these enzymes have enzymatic activity at temperatures above 40oC.
Regarding claim 5 pertaining to the ratio of the ratio of the enzymes, Ma teaches “the amount of cells expressing α-glucan phosphorylase is 0.14 g DCW/mL, the expression The dosage of the cells of glucose phosphomutase is 0.08g DCW/mL, the dosage of the cells expressing glucose phosphoisomerase is 0.08g DCW/mL, and the dosage of the cells expressing 6-phosphate tagatose epimerase 0.5 g DCW/mL, the cells expressing 6-phosphate tagatose phosphatase were 0.5 g DCW/mL” (see, e.g., Ma, English Translation, Embodiment 1, pg. 4). Based on the teaching of Ma, the ratio of these mixed enzymes is calculated to be 1.75:1:1:6.25:6.25.
However, Ma does not teach: adding an inorganic soil to the fermentation mixture, and stirring homogeneously; further adding a flocculant to the fermentation mixture to flocculate bacteria, and then adding a cross-linking agent for cross-linking; filtering under vacuum to obtain a filter cake, extruding the filter cake to granulate into a strip with a rotary granulator, and then breaking into particles having a uniform length with a spherical shot blasting machine; and subjecting the resulting particles to boiling drying to obtain the immobilized cell for tagatose production (claim 1); or adding 1-10% w/v of inorganic soil to the fermentation mixture, and stirring homogeneously; further adding 0.1-2% w/v of flocculant to the fermentation mixture to flocculate bacteria, then adding 0.05-3% v/v of cross-linking agent, and cross-linking for 1-4 hours; filtering under vacuum to obtain a filter cake, extruding the filter cake to granulate into a strip with a rotary granulator, and then breaking the strip of immobilized cells into particles having a uniform length with a spherical shot blasting machine; and subjecting the resulting particles to boiling drying to obtain the immobilized cells for tagatose production, wherein the temperature at an air inlet for the boiling drying is controlled at 60-90°C (claim 1); or wherein the bacteria suspension obtained by mixing has an OD600 of 10-150 (claim 5); or wherein the inorganic soil is diatomite (claim 6); or wherein the flocculant is polyethyleneimine (claim 7); or wherein the flocculant is polyethyleneimine having a molecular weight of 600-70,000, or PDADMAC (claim 8); or wherein the cross-linking agent is glutaraldehyde (claim 9); or wherein the method further comprises a step of sieving the obtained immobilized cells to obtain morphologically uniform immobilized cells (claim 10).
Yang’s general disclosure relates to “a method for immobilizing whole cells of cellobiose epimerase, belonging to the technical field of food bioengineering. The method of the invention is to prepare the immobilized cells by flocculation embedding and cross-linking after the whole cells producing cellobiose epimerase are pretreated. The enzyme activity, enzyme activity recovery rate and pH stability of the enzyme prepared by the method of the present invention are all improved, and the production cost is reduced. In addition, the method has simple operation process and low energy consumption. The industrial production of lactulose provides a useful reference” (see, e.g., Yang, English Translation, Abstract).
Regarding claims 1 and 6 pertaining to the inorganic soil, Yang teaches adding diatomaceous earth (i.e., diatomite) as a filter aid, wherein the amount of diatomaceous earth is “0.1-1.0 g per 100 mL of bacterial suspension” (see, e.g., Yang, English Translation, “Contents of the invention”, pgs. 2-3). Therefore, the calculated amount of diatomaceous earth is 0.1-1% w/v (see, e.g., MPEP 2144.05(I)). Furthermore, Yang teaches that the diatomaceous earth is mixed evenly with the bacterial suspension to obtain a mixed solution (see, e.g., Yang, English Translation, Embodiment 3, pg. 4).
Regarding claim 1 pertaining to the addition of the flocculant, Yang teaches “the immobilized cells are prepared by flocculation embedding and glutaraldehyde crosslinking” (see, e.g., Yang, English Translation, “Contents of the invention”, pg. 3). Furthermore, Yang teaches the addition of “chitosan as a cationic flocculant to flocculate with cells, and then adds a certain concentration of sodium tripolyphosphate (TPP) as an anionic flocculant, and at a suitable concentration, chitosan and TPP will not form a homogeneous system, can well achieve the effect of flocculation and immobilization, and the immobilization efficiency can reach more than 90%” (see, e.g., Yang, English Translation, “Contents of the invention”, pg. 3). Yang teaches that the final concentration of chitosan and TPP, which are both used for flocculation, are 0.5% (w/v) and 0.012% (w/v) TPP, respectively (see, e.g., Yang, English Translation, Example 6).
Regarding claim 1 pertaining to addition of the cross-linking agent, Yang teaches “After the bacteria in the immobilization method are flocculated, 1-100 mL of a cross-linking agent solution with a volume fraction of 0-0.25% of the cross-linking agent can be added to each 100 mL of the floc of the bacteria after discarding the supernatant to perform cross-linking. The crosslinking reaction condition for adding the crosslinking agent is 0-5h at 4-30°C. The enzyme activity of the immobilized cells obtained after adding the cross-linking agent was higher, and the stability of the enzyme activity was enhanced” (see, e.g., Yang, English Translation, “Contents of the invention”, pg. 3). Furthermore, Yang teaches that the cross-linking agent is glutaraldehyde (see, e.g., Yang, English Translation, “Contents of the invention”, pg. 3).
Regarding claim 5 pertaining to the OD600, Yang teaches that the recombinant E. coli was fermented until the bacterial cell concentration in the fermentation broth reached an OD600 of 5-10 (see, e.g., Yang, English Translation, “Detailed ways”, pg. 4).
Lantero’s general disclosure relates to immobilizing cells containing enzymes “by forming a reaction product of the cell in an aqueous medium with glutaraldehyde, reacting the reaction product with polyethylenimine to flocculate the reaction product, and recovering the flocculated reaction product from the aqueous medium” (see, e.g., Lantero, Abstract).
Regarding claim 1 pertaining to filtering under a vacuum and extruding, Lantero teaches following the addition of glutaraldehyde and polyethylenimine to the cell mixture, the cell mixture “was collected by low speed centrifugation, and the resulting pellet was further dewatered by filtration on a Buchner funnel” (see, e.g., Lantero, Example 1, col 3, lines 3-6). Furthermore, Lantero teaches that the resulting cell cake was extruded through a 1.1-1.5 mm orifice by means of a syringe” (see, e.g., Lantero, Example 1, col 3, lines 6-8).
Regarding claim 1 pertaining to boiling drying, Lantero teaches drying the extruded cell cake for 15 hours at 60oC to obtain immobilized cells (see, e.g., Lantero, Example 2, col 5, lines 63-64). “Air inlet” is not defined in the instant specification; therefore, the Examiner has interpreted this to mean any passageway by which air between 60-90oC is used to treat cells for immobilization.
Regarding claims 7-8 pertaining to the flocculant, Lantero teaches adding polyethylenimine at 5% (w/v) to a cell mixture until maximum flocculation appears (see, e.g., Lantero, Example 1). Furthermore, Lantero teaches “The selection of a particular polyethylenimine is not critical although those polymers having a molecular weight within the range from 1,800 to 60,000 are preferred” (see, e.g., Lantero, col 2, lines 34-37).
Gu’s general disclosure relates to “a preparation method of completely fermented oxytetracycline calcium granules. By taking oxytetracycline fermentation liquor as an initiating raw material, the preparation method is used for preparing granules of the oxytetracycline calcium by virtue of steps of calcifying an oxytetracycline fermentation liquor as a raw material, acidizing, filtering, crushing, pelletizing, straightening, drying and sieving. The preparation method disclosed by the invention can be used for overcoming the defects that a conventional spray drying process is high in energy consumption and not environmentally-friendly, and the completely fermented oxytetracycline calcium granules obtained by adopting a conventional method have the defect of inconvenience in use. The oxytetracycline calcium granules prepared by adopting the preparation method disclosed by the invention is uniform, compact, beautiful, good in mobility, unlikely to crush, convenient to use and capable of meeting the needs of a client very well” (see, e.g., Gu, English Translation, Abstract).
Regarding claim 1 pertaining to granulation and breaking the particles into a uniform length, Gu teaches obtaining an oxytetracycline calcium filter cake, grinding the filter cake to a particle size of 0.8 mm, passing the powder into a rotary squeezing granulator to obtain a particle diameter of 0.6 mm, followed by putting the granulated filter cake into a shot blasting machine (see, e.g., Gu, English Translation, Embodiments 1-5).
Regarding claim 10 pertaining to sieving, Gu teaches that after the particles are dried, the particles can be further sieved because the particles obtained after sieving are more even (see, e.g., Gu, English Translation, “Summary of the invention”, pg. 3 & Embodiments 1-5).
It would have been first obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to produce a fermentation mixture comprising Escherichia coli expressing a α-glucan phosphorylase gene, a glucose phosphomutase gene, a glucose phosphate isomerase gene, a 6-phosphate tagatose epimerase gene, and a 6-phosphate tagatose phosphatase gene, as taught by Ma, wherein inorganic soil, such as diatomite, is added to the fermentation mixture, as taught by Yang. One would have been motivated to do so because Yang teaches that the diatomaceous earth (i.e., diatomite) acts as a filter aid (see, e.g., Yang, English Translation, “Contents of the invention”, pg. 2). Furthermore, Yang teaches that the filter aid, such as diatomite, affects the enzyme recovery rate and the recovery rate of enzyme activity (see, e.g., Yang, English Translation, Embodiments 9-10). Additionally, Yang teaches use of a diatomite filter aid in obtaining immobilized E. coli cells for production of cellobiose epimerase (see, e.g., Yang, abstract), wherein a diatomite filter aid affects the amount immobilized cell granules, which affects the total enzyme amount and enzyme activity due to its filtering activity (see, e.g., Yang, English Translation, Examples 9-10). Moreover, Ma teaches expression of a α-glucan phosphorylase gene, a glucose phosphomutase gene, a glucose phosphate isomerase gene, a 6-phosphate tagatose epimerase gene, and a 6-phosphate tagatose phosphatase gene in E. coli for production of tagatose (see, e.g., Ma, English Translation, Abstract). Therefore, based on the teachings of Ma and Yang, it would have been obvious to add a diatomite filter to the E. coli fermentation mixture in order to filter the immobilized cells for tagatose production.
It would have been secondly obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to produce a fermentation mixture comprising Escherichia coli expressing a α-glucan phosphorylase gene, a glucose phosphomutase gene, a glucose phosphate isomerase gene, a 6-phosphate tagatose epimerase gene, and a 6-phosphate tagatose phosphatase gene, as taught by Ma, wherein the cells are flocculated and cross-linked, as taught by Yang. One would have been motivated to do so because Yang teaches that flocculation and cross-linking is used to obtain immobilized enzyme-producing cells (see, e.g., Yang, English Translation, “Contents of the invention”, pg. 2). Furthermore, Yang teaches that “The enzyme activity of the immobilized cells obtained after adding the cross-linking agent was higher, and the stability of the enzyme activity was enhanced” (see, e.g., Yang, English Translation, “Contents of the invention”, pg. 3). Moreover, Ma teaches expression of a α-glucan phosphorylase gene, a glucose phosphomutase gene, a glucose phosphate isomerase gene, a 6-phosphate tagatose epimerase gene, and a 6-phosphate tagatose phosphatase gene in E. coli for production of tagatose (see, e.g., Ma, English Translation, Abstract). Based on the teachings of Ma and Yang, it would have been obvious to flocculate and cross-link the E. coli cells expressing a α-glucan phosphorylase gene, a glucose phosphomutase gene, a glucose phosphate isomerase gene, a 6-phosphate tagatose epimerase gene, and a 6-phosphate tagatose phosphatase gene in order to increase the yield and stability of the enzymes. One would have expected success because Ma and Yang both teach expression of enzymes in E. coli host cells.
It would have been thirdly obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to produce a fermentation mixture comprising Escherichia coli expressing a α-glucan phosphorylase gene, a glucose phosphomutase gene, a glucose phosphate isomerase gene, a 6-phosphate tagatose epimerase gene, and a 6-phosphate tagatose phosphatase gene, as taught by Ma, wherein the cells are filtered under vacuum and boil dried, as taught by Lantero. One would have been motivated to do so because Lantero teaches that filtering under vacuum results in dewatering of the cell pellet (see, e.g., Lantero, Example 1, col 3, lines 3-6). Furthermore, Lantero teaches immobilization of whole microbial cells and recovery of these immobilized cells from an aqueous medium following flocculation and cross-linking (see, e.g., Lantero, col 2, lines 16-23). Additionally, Lantero teaches further drying of the cell cake obtained from vacuum filtration by means of boil drying for 15 hours at 60oC to obtain immobilized cells (see, e.g., Lantero, Example 2, col 5, lines 63-64). Moreover, Ma teaches expression of a α-glucan phosphorylase gene, a glucose phosphomutase gene, a glucose phosphate isomerase gene, a 6-phosphate tagatose epimerase gene, and a 6-phosphate tagatose phosphatase gene in E. coli for production of tagatose (see, e.g., Ma, English Translation, Abstract). Additionally, Ma teaches an aqueous catalytic reaction system for production of tagatose from E. coli expressing a α-glucan phosphorylase gene, a glucose phosphomutase gene, a glucose phosphate isomerase gene, a 6-phosphate tagatose epimerase gene, and a 6-phosphate tagatose phosphatase gene (see, e.g., Ma, English Translation, Embodiment 1). Ma also teaches that boil drying the cells can result in permeabilization of the cells (see, e.g., Ma, English Translation, Embodiment 1). Therefore, based on the teachings of Ma and Lantero, it would be obvious to immobilize E. coli cells expressing a α-glucan phosphorylase gene, a glucose phosphomutase gene, a glucose phosphate isomerase gene, a 6-phosphate tagatose epimerase gene, and a 6-phosphate tagatose phosphatase gene, followed by vacuum filtering the cells, because this would result in recovery of a cell cake comprising immobilized cells expressing a α-glucan phosphorylase gene, a glucose phosphomutase gene, a glucose phosphate isomerase gene, a 6-phosphate tagatose epimerase gene, and a 6-phosphate tagatose phosphatase gene, wherein the immobilized cells are permeabilized. One would have expected success because Ma and Lantero both teach expression of enzyme in E. coli host cells.
It would have been fourthly obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to produce a fermentation mixture comprising Escherichia coli expressing a α-glucan phosphorylase gene, a glucose phosphomutase gene, a glucose phosphate isomerase gene, a 6-phosphate tagatose epimerase gene, and a 6-phosphate tagatose phosphatase gene, as taught by Ma, wherein the fermentation mixture is vacuum filtered and dried, as taught by Lantero, followed by granulating the particles with a rotary granulator and shot blasting machine, as taught by Gu. One would have been motivated to do so because Gu teaches grinding the filter cake to a particle size of 0.8 mm, passing the powder into a rotary squeezing granulator to obtain a particle diameter of 0.6 mm, followed by putting the granulated filter cake into a shot blasting machine (see, e.g., Gu, English Translation, Embodiments 1-5). Furthermore, Gu teaches that after the particles are dried, the particles can be further sieved because the particles obtained after sieving are more even (see, e.g., Gu, English Translation, “Summary of the invention”, pg. 3 & Embodiments 1-5). The combined teachings of Ma and Lantero teach production of a dried cell cake containing immobilized E. coli cells expressing a α-glucan phosphorylase gene, a glucose phosphomutase gene, a glucose phosphate isomerase gene, a 6-phosphate tagatose epimerase gene, and a 6-phosphate tagatose phosphatase gene for tagatose production (see, e.g., Ma, English Translation, Embodiment 1 & Lantero, Example 2, col 5, lines 63-64). Therefore, based on the teachings of Ma, Lantero, and Gu, it would be obvious to granulate the cell cake comprising the immobilized E. coli cells expressing a α-glucan phosphorylase gene, a glucose phosphomutase gene, a glucose phosphate isomerase gene, a 6-phosphate tagatose epimerase gene, and a 6-phosphate tagatose phosphatase gene because this would result in production of uniform particles comprising immobilized cells for tagatose production. One would have expected success because Ma, Lantero, and Gu all teach fermentation for production of products. Additionally, Ma and Lantero both teach production of E. coli cells expressing enzymes, and Lantero and Gu both teach vacuum filtering to obtain filter cakes.
Regarding claim 1’s percentage limitation for the flocculant, those working in the biological and/or pharmaceutical arts would understand that adjustments of particular convention working conditions (e.g., concentrations, amounts, percentages, etc.) is deemed a matter of judicious selection and routine optimization, which is within the purview of the skilled artisan. For example, Yang teaches that the addition of chitosan for flocculation by itself results in low efficiency of the final enzyme immobilization; however, addition of TPP to the chitosan results in immobilization efficiency of more than 90% (see, e.g., Yang, English Translation, “Contents of the invention”, pg. 3). Additionally, Yang teaches that manipulating the amount of chitosan and/or TPP results in alterations in the recovery rate of the enzyme (see, e.g., Yang, English Translation, Example 7). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably understand that the percentage of the flocculant will influence the amount of flocs produced. This is motivation for someone of ordinary skill in the art to practice or test the parameter widely to find those that are functional or optimal which then would be inclusive or cover the steps as instantly claimed. Absent any teaching of criticality by the Applicant concerning concentration, it would be prima facie obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize these limitations are result effective variables which can be met as a matter of routine optimization.
Regarding claim 5’s OD600 limitations for the E. coli fermentation culture, those working in the biological and/or pharmaceutical arts would understand that adjustments of particular convention working conditions (e.g., concentrations, amounts, percentages, etc.) is deemed a matter of judicious selection and routine optimization, which is within the purview of the skilled artisan. For example, Yang teaches that an OD600 of 0.6 is a logarithmic phrase for E. coli (see, e.g., Yang, English Translation, “Detailed ways”, pg. 4), wherein E. coli is growing rapidly. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably understand that the higher the OD600 value, the more E. coli bacteria there are within the fermentation culture. This is motivation for someone of ordinary skill in the art to practice or test the parameter widely to find those that are functional or optimal which then would be inclusive or cover the steps as instantly claimed. Absent any teaching of criticality by the Applicant concerning concentration, it would be prima facie obvious that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize these limitations are result effective variables which can be met as a matter of routine optimization.
Examiner’s Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/07/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments pertaining to how claim 1 differs from the teachings of Ma (remarks, page 8), this argument is not persuasive for multiple reasons. First, Applicant argues that Ma’s method comprises additional steps pertaining to centrifugation, resuspension in buffer, and permeabilization, all of which are not part of the instantly claimed invention; however, Applicant uses the transitional phrase “comprising”, which is “inclusive or open-ended and does not exclude additional, unrecited elements or method steps” (see, e.g., MPEP 2111.03(I)). Therefore, Ma’s teaching can include additional steps pertaining to centrifugation, resuspension in buffer, and permeabilization, along with steps pertaining to the claimed invention, such as mixing E. coli fermentation broths together wherein each fermentation broth of E. coli is expressing a different enzyme selected from an α-glucan phosphorylase gene, a glucose phosphomutase gene, a glucose phosphate isomerase gene, a 6-phosphate tagatose epimerase gene, and a 6-phosphate tagatose phosphatase gene (see, e.g., Ma, English Translation, Embodiment 1, pg. 4). Secondly, Applicant is arguing against references individually and one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Applicant argues that Ma does not teach the addition and amount of time for the organic soil, flocculant, cross-linking agent, as well as the filtering, granulating, and boiling drying of the particles. However, as discussed above, Ma was not relied upon to teach these claim limitations. Yang was relied upon to teach the limitations pertaining to the organic soil, flocculant, and cross-linking agent. Lantero was relied upon to teach the vacuuming and filtering of the cells to obtain a filter cake, as well as the step(s) of boiling drying. Gu was relied upon to teach breaking the particles into a uniform length. Therefore, Applicant argues that Ma does not teach these limitations; however, Ma was not relied upon in the above presented rejection for teaching these limitations.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments pertaining to the present disclosure achieving a significant effect (remarks, pages 9-10), this argument is not persuasive because the result Applicant obtained are not commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. Applicant argues that experiments show a significant effect when the immobilized B. subtilis and/or E. coli cells were used to catalyze consecutive rounds of reaction; however, catalysis of consecutive rounds of reactions is not part of the instantly claimed invention. Therefore, Applicant’s results are not commensurate in scope with the instantly claimed invention.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments pertaining to Ma teaching additional steps that are not claimed (remarks, page 10), this argument is not persuasive because, as discussed above, Applicant uses the transitional phrase “comprising” which is open-ended and can include additional, unrecited method steps. Therefore, Ma’s intermediate steps related to cell collection, resuspension, and permeabilization can still read upon the instantly claimed invention.
Regarding Application’s arguments pertaining to Yang’s teachings (remarks, pages 10-11), these arguments are not persuasive because Yang was not relied upon to teach the five-enzyme system claimed, since Ma teaches these claim limitations. Instead, Yang was only relied upon to teach the addition of the organic soil, flocculant, and cross-linking agent to the bacterial fermentation mixture. Yang teaches that flocculation and cross-linking is used to obtain immobilized enzyme-producing cells (see, e.g., Yang, English Translation, “Contents of the invention”, pg. 2). Furthermore, Yang teaches that “The enzyme activity of the immobilized cells obtained after adding the cross-linking agent was higher, and the stability of the enzyme activity was enhanced” (see, e.g., Yang, English Translation, “Contents of the invention”, pg. 3). Moreover, Yang teaches adding diatomaceous earth (i.e., diatomite) as a filter aid, wherein the amount of diatomaceous earth is “0.1-1.0 g per 100 mL of bacterial suspension” (see, e.g., Yang, English Translation, “Contents of the invention”, pgs. 2-3). Therefore, Yang provides motivation for addition of an organic soil, flocculant, and cross-linking agent to the bacterial fermentation mixture. Additionally, Applicant argues that Yang explicitly focuses on permeabilized cells, which is contrary to the present application’s use of non-permeabilized fermentation broth; however the instantly claimed invention does not claim “non-permeabilized” fermentation broth or cells. Additionally, the instantly claimed invention can include permeabilized cells, as taught by Yang, due to “comprising” as an open-ended transitional phrase.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments pertaining to the teachings of Lantero (remarks, page 10), these arguments are not persuasive because Lantero was relied upon to teach the vacuuming and filtering of the cells to obtain a filter cake, as well as the step(s) of boiling drying. Lantero teaches immobilization of microbial cells expressing sucrose mutase or glucose isomerase, while the instantly claimed invention pertains to immobilization of microbial cells (i.e., E. coli cells) expressing α-glucan phosphorylase gene, a glucose phosphomutase gene, a glucose phosphate isomerase gene, a 6-phosphate tagatose epimerase gene, and a 6-phosphate tagatose phosphatase gene. Therefore, Lantero is analogous art to the instantly claimed invention because Lantero and the instantly claimed invention both pertain to immobilization of microbial cells expressing enzymes.
In response to applicant's argument that Gu is nonanalogous art (remarks, page 11), it has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). In this case, Gu’s teachings pertain to production of an oxytetracycline fermentation product, wherein the fermentation product is developed into an oxytetracycline calcium filter cake, grinding the filter cake to a particle size of 0.8 mm, passing the powder into a rotary squeezing granulator to obtain a particle diameter of 0.6 mm, followed by putting the granulated filter cake into a shot blasting machine (see, e.g., Gu, English Translation, Embodiments 1-5). Therefore, Gu is analogous art to the instantly claimed invention because both pertain to a fermentation product that is developed into a filter cake followed by granulation of the filter cake to obtain particles of uniform size.
Regarding Applicant’s arguments pertaining to unexpected results (remarks, pages 11-12), these arguments are not persuasive because the results are not commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. Applicant is relying on specific growth conditions (i.e., media, temperature, inoculum volume, IPTG induction, etc.) for the B. subtilis and E. coli strains (see, e.g., instant specification, Examples 1 and 9). Additionally, Applicant is relying on a reaction system comprising starch, sodium phosphate, and a water bath shaker to carry out the reaction for B. subtilis (see, e.g., instant specification, Example 2). Applicant is relying on consecutive rounds of reaction (see, e.g., instant specification, Example 3). Applicant is relying on these conditions for their results; however, these are not part of the instantly claimed invention and Applicant’s results are not commensurate in scope with the instantly claimed invention.
Conclusion
Claims 1 and 3-10 are rejected.
No claims are allowed.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence Information
/NATALIE IANNUZO/Examiner, Art Unit 1653
/SHARMILA G LANDAU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1653