Detailed Office Action
The communication dated 11/3/2025 has been entered and fully considered. Claims 17-34 are withdrawn from examination. Claims 1-34 remain pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I (claims 1-16) in the reply filed on 11/3/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the cited prior art of LONCKE does not disclose the limitations of claim 1. This is not found persuasive because under the unity of invention, the Examiner needs to show that the shared technical features between the identified groups are disclosed by the cited art and not all the limitations of one group of invention or claim 1 in this case (emphasis added by the Examiner). In this case, the shared technical features as correctly identified by Examiner are a subset of limitations of claim 1 and not the entirety of claim 1. The Examiner correctly identified the shared technical features and showed that LONCKE discloses these shared features in the restriction requirement of 9/9/2025. The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL. Claims 17-34 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Groups II and III, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In line 1: add “comprising:” after “veneered panel,”.
In lines 10 and 12 (two occurrences), replace “said at least one veneer element” with “said veneer element” to be consistent with the same limitation in line 8. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 8-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LUNDBLAD (US-2017/0190156), hereinafter LUNDBLAD. Note that the italicized text below are the instant claims.
Regarding claim 1, LUNDBLAD discloses A method to produce a veneered panel {[abstract], [FIG. 2] 10 is considered the panel}, comprising:
providing a first wood veneer layer, arranging at least one second wood veneer layer with a first binder layer comprising a first binder and starch, the first binder layer being applied intermediate the first wood veneer layer and said at least one second wood veneer layer {[0161] note more than one veneer layer, thus two wood veneer layers, note sub-layer 2 is the first binder layer that is between the two veneer layers, [0019] note veneer is wood, [0143]-[0144] note sub-layer 2 has a binder, [0148] note the sublayer has starch},
pressing said at least one second wood veneer layer to the first wood veneer layer to form a veneer element in a first pressing step {[0161] note pressing the two veneer layers that creates the veneer element, interpreted as the first pressing step},
applying the veneer element on a core with a second binder layer comprising a second binder applied between the core and said veneer element pressing said at least one veneer element and the core together in a second pressing step {[0161] note applying to core and pressing that is interpreted as the second pressing step, note the sub-layer also exists between the core and the veneer element, thus the second binder},
wherein, in the second pressing step, the first binder and the second binder are cured to adhere the veneer element to the core to form a veneered panel {[0051] note curing}.
The Examiner notes that claim 1 does not explicitly and positively recites that these two pressing steps are different and are performed in an order by performing the first pressing step and then the second pressing step (emphasis added by the Examiner).
However, and in the interest of compact prosecution, the Examiner interprets that the order is implied and the first pressing step is performed and then it is followed by the second pressing step. In this case, LUNDBLAD is silent on two separate pressing steps that are performed in order and only discloses one single pressing step.
At the effective filing date of the instant invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have separated the single pressing step of LUNDBLAD and have performed it in two separate steps of first pressing the two layers of wood veneer with the binder layer between them to obtain the veneer element and then a second pressing step pressing the veneer element and the core with the second binder between them.
Note that it has been held that in general, the transposition of process steps or the splitting of one step into two, where the processes are substantially identical or equivalent in terms of function, manner and result, was held to be not patentably distinguish the processes. Ex parte Rubin, 128 USPQ 440 (Bd. Pat. App. 1959).
One would have been motivated to do so, since it is more accurate to adhere two elements together (the veneer element and the core) as opposed to simultaneously attach three elements together (core, first veneer layer, and second veneer layer).
Regarding claim 2 limitation of “wherein, in the first pressing step, said at least one second wood veneer layer is adhered to the first wood veneer layer at least by the starch of the first binder layer”, as disclosed above LUNDBLAD teaches the presence of starch in first binder layer {[0148]}. Therefore, and since LUNDBLAD has the starch, it is the Examiner’s position that this starch provides some adhering functionality. In another word, this limitation is the intended result of the applying the binder layer. As LUNDBLAD discloses the same process steps in substantially the same manner as the instant claims, it is the Examiner’s position that substantially the same results will occur which is starch providing some adherence capability. Notably, the applicant’s disclosure does not specify any additional method steps that results in such adhesion. If applying the same method steps in substantially the same manner does not inherently result in this adherence, then a question of scope of enablement and/or omitting essential method limitation can be brought for claim 2.
Regarding claim 3 limitation of “wherein, after the first pressing step, the first binder is substantially uncured”, modified LUNDBLAD is silent on maintaining the first binder substantially uncured.
At the effective filing date of the instant invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have maintained the first binder layer uncured and have performed the curing in the last pressing step when both layers can be cured together. One would have been motivated to do so to save curing time since both the first binder layer and second binder layer of LUNDBLAD are identical and can be cured in the same process. Additionally, this allows further adjustment of the position between the first veneer layer and second veneer layer when they are located on the top of the core, since the binder is still soft and not cured.
Regarding claim 4 limitation of “wherein pressure applied in the first pressing step is less than 15 bar” and claim 5 limitation of “wherein pressure applied in the second pressing step exceeds 30 bar”, modified LUNDBLAD, however, is silent on these numerical values. However, LUNDBLAD discloses that the design of the veneer element can be controlled by changing the pressure during the pressing steps {[0176]-[0177]}. As such, LUNDBLAD recognizes the pressure during the pressing steps as a result effective variable affecting the design of the veneer through permeation.
It is well established that determination of optimum values of result-effective variables (in this case the effect of pressing pressure on the final design) is within the skill of one practicing in the art {see MPEP 2144.05 (ll)(B)}. At the effective filing date of the instant invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have optimized the pressing pressure during the two steps which is a result-effective variable through routine experimentation to have determined the pressure necessary to achieve the desired design that in certain circumstance will lead to the levels that are claimed.
Regarding claim 6 limitation of “wherein starch is applied in an amount of 1-10 g/m2”, modified LUNDBLAD, however, is silent on this numerical value. However, LUNDBLAD discloses that the design of the veneer element can be controlled by the fluid pressure that is a function of binder concentration and formulation {[0073]/[0075]}. The amount of starch in the binder determines the formulation and the concentration of the binder. As such, LUNDBLAD recognizes the amount of starch as a result effective variable affecting the design of the veneer through permeation and control of fluid pressure.
It is well established that determination of optimum values of result-effective variables (in this case the effect of the amount of starch on the final design) is within the skill of one practicing in the art {see MPEP 2144.05 (ll)(B)}. At the effective filing date of the instant invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have optimized the amount of starch which is a result-effective variable through routine experimentation to have determined the amount necessary to achieve the desired design that in certain circumstance will lead to the levels that are claimed.
Regarding claim 8 limitation of “wherein said at least one second wood veneer layer has a porosity exceeding 50% as measured using mercury intrusion porosimetry”, modified LUNDBLAD, however, is silent on this numerical value. However, LUNDBLAD discloses that the design of the veneer element can be controlled by the holes or pores in the veneer {[0083]} and that the veneer is a porous structure including pores in which the sub-layer or binder may permeate {[0085]}. As such, LUNDBLAD recognizes the extent of the porosity of the veneer as a result effective variable affecting the design of the veneer through permeation in the pores. Note that LUNDBLAD discloses methods to increase the porosity {[0062]}.
It is well established that determination of optimum values of result-effective variables (in this case the effect of porosity on the final design) is within the skill of one practicing in the art {see MPEP 2144.05 (ll)(B)}. At the effective filing date of the instant invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have optimized the porosity of the veneer which is a result-effective variable through routine experimentation to have determined the needed porosity to achieve the desired design that in certain circumstance will lead to the levels that are claimed.
Regarding claim 9 limitation of “wherein said at least one second wood veneer layer has a thickness of less than of 0.6 mm”, claim 10 limitation of “wherein said at least one second wood veneer layer has a thickness of less than of 0.4 mm”, and claim 12 limitation of “wherein the first wood veneer layer has a thickness of less than 1 mm”, modified LUNDBLAD, however, is silent on these numerical values. However, LUNDBLAD discloses that the design of the veneer element can be controlled by controlling permeation thru controlling the thickness of the veneer layer {[0084]}. As such, LUNDBLAD recognizes the thickness of the veneer layer as a result effective variable affecting the design of the veneer through permeation.
It is well established that determination of optimum values of result-effective variables (in this case the effect of veneer thickness on the final design) is within the skill of one practicing in the art {see MPEP 2144.05 (ll)(B)}. At the effective filing date of the instant invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have optimized the veneer thickness which is a result-effective variable through routine experimentation to have determined the thickness necessary to achieve the desired design that in certain circumstance will lead to the levels that are claimed.
Regarding claims 11 and 13, LUNDBLAD discloses wherein said at least one second wood veneer layer is a sliced wood veneer (claim 11), wherein the first wood veneer layer is a rotary cut wood veneer {[0088] note cut veneer is sliced veneer}.
Regarding claims 14-15, LUNDBLAD discloses wherein a plurality of second wood veneer layers is applied adjacent each other on the first wood veneer layer (claim 14), wherein said plurality of second wood veneer layers are applied in a pattern on the first wood veneer layer (claim 15) {[0100], [0158]}.
Regarding claim 16, LUNDBLAD discloses further comprising brushing said at least one second wood veneer layer after being adhered to the first wood veneer layer {[0059], [0061]-[0062]}.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LUNDBLAD as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of YADAMA (US-2022/0371219), hereinafter YADAMA.
Regarding claim 7, modified LUNDBLAD discloses all the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. Modified LUNDBLAD, however, is silent on the second wood veneer being a thermo-treated wood.
In the same field of endeavor that is related to modified wood for construction, YADAMA discloses wherein said at least one second wood veneer layer comprises a thermo-treated wood veneer {[0057]}.
At the effective filing date of the instant invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated the teachings of YAMADA in the method of LUNDBLAD and have used a thermally treated wood veneer. As disclosed by YAMADA, the advantage of this treatment is that the veneer becomes more resistant to decay and moisture {[0057]}.
Conclusion
/S. BEHROOZ GHORISHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1748