This office action is in response to the application serial number 18/576,259 filed on 01/03/2024.
Claims 1-10, 11-20, 21-28, 29-30 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/03/2024 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 21-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because they are directed to non statutory subjection matter ( for signal per se ).
the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claims 21-28 are directed to a processor readable storage medium which given it broadcast reasonable interpretation (BRI), would typically covers forms of non transitory tangible media and transitory propagating signal per se in view of the ordinary and customary meaning of computer readable media. When the broadcast reasonable interpretation of a claim covers a signal per se, the claim must be rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as covering non-statutory subject matter. In an effort to assist the patent community in overcoming the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101, the USPTO suggest the following approach. A claim drawn to such a computer readable medium ( or the like ) that covers both transitory and non transitory embodiments may be amended to narrow the claim to cover only statutory embodiments to avoid a rejection 35 U.S.C. 101 by adding the limitation “ non-transitory “ to the claim. Such an amendment would typically no raise the issue of new matter, even when the specification is silent because the broadest reasonable interpretation relies on the ordinary and customary meaning that includes signal per se.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
Claim limitation “29, 30 ” has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder “means for” coupled with functional language “ means for determining, means for modifying ” without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, claim(s) 25 has/have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation: The Specification discloses “means for determining whether a measurement of a reference signal representative of radio frequency (RF) signal quality at the mobile communication apparatus indicates that the RF signal quality is less than a minimum RF signal quality level; and means for modifying signal strength of a transmitter coupled to a serial bus provided in the mobile communication apparatus, configured to reduce the signal strength of the transmitter when the RF signal quality falls below the minimum RF signal quality level, the serial bus configured to operate in accordance with a display serial interface (DSI) protocol ”.
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 8, 11, 18, 21, 27, 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brett et al. ( US Patent No. 10649946, hereinafter, Brett’s 946 ) in view of Wang et al. ( US 20210029516, hereinafter, Wang’s 516 ), and further in view of LIN ( US 20190297587, hereinafter, LIN’s 587 ).
Regarding to the claim 1, US Patent No. 10649946 teaches a mobile communication device comprising: a wireless transceiver configured to transmit and receive radio frequency (RF) signals; a bus interface circuit coupled to a serial bus and configured for operation as a display serial interface (DSI) ( a wireless transceiver configured to transmit and receive radio frequency (RF) signals; a bus interface circuit coupled to a serial bus and configured for operation as a display serial interface (DSI) ) [see Col. 4, Lines 1 – 57 and Figure 2 ] ;
a controller configured to: receive a measurement of a reference signal (reference ground voltage level) representative of RF signal quality at the mobile communication device ( a controller configured to: receive a measurement of a reference ground voltage level representative of RF signal quality at the mobile communication device
) [see Figure 2 and Col. 4, Lines 37-57 ];
However, US Patent No. 10649946 does not explicitly teach determine whether the measurement of the reference signal indicates that the RF signal quality is less than a minimum RF signal quality level.
US 20210029516, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches determine whether the measurement of the reference signal indicates that the RF signal quality is less than a minimum RF signal quality level ( determine whether the measurement of the reference signal indicates that the RF signal quality is less than a minimum RF signal quality level) [see Paragraphs 0041 & 115 & 0069 & 0116 & 0117]
( 0115] determining that a radio frequency signal quality for signals to or from the user equipment has dropped below a threshold value for signal quality. Example 13: The method of example 12, wherein the determining that the radio frequency signal quality for the user equipment has dropped below the threshold value for the signal quality comprises the base station: [0116] receiving one or measurements of a signal quality of downlink signals from the user equipment; and [0117] comparing the received measurements of the signal quality of the downlink signals to the threshold value for signal quality. Example 14: The method of example 12, wherein the determining that the radio frequency signal quality for the user equipment has dropped below the threshold value for the signal quality comprises the base station: [0118] measuring a signal quality of uplink signals from the user equipment; and [0119] comparing the measurements of the signal quality of the uplink signals to the threshold value for signal quality. Example 15: The method of any one of the preceding examples, wherein the determining to regroup the user equipment from the source user equipment-coordination set to the target user equipment-coordination set further comprises the base station: [0120] receiving a message from the coordinating user equipment of the source user equipment-coordination set indicating that a signal quality of communication with the user equipment over a local wireless network has dropped below a signal quality threshold for local wireless communication in the source user equipment-coordination set ).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of US Patent No. 10649946 in view of US 20210029516 because US 20210029516 suggests that the existing solutions for quickly and efficiently implementing turnaround commands that is robust against errors are extremely difficult at a practical level by virtue of the challenges with meeting the performance requirements for allowing real time and reliable configuration of devices in minimal time using turnaround and reverse high speed communication.
However, US Patent No. 10649946 and US 20210029516 do not explicitly teach reduce signal strength of a transmitter in the bus interface circuit when the RF signal quality falls below the minimum RF signal quality level.
US 20190297587, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches reduce signal strength of a transmitter in the bus interface circuit when the RF signal quality falls below the minimum RF signal quality level ( reduce signal strength of a transmitter in the bus interface circuit when the RF signal quality falls below the minimum RF signal quality level ) [see Paragraph 0052].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the combined system ( US Patent No. 10649946 and US 20210029516), and further in view of US 20190297587 because US 20190297587 suggests that techniques to improve cell-edge issues lack capabilities to manage effects caused by user-equipment mobility or dynamically changing radio environments of the user equipment.
Regarding to the claim 8, US Patent No. 10649946 and US 20210029516 and US 20190297587 teach the limitations of the claim 1 above.
However, US Patent No. 10649946 does not explicitly teach wherein the reference signal comprises a Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) signal transmitted in a fifth-generation new radio (5G-NR) wireless network.
US 20210029516, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein the reference signal comprises a Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) signal transmitted in a fifth-generation new radio (5G-NR) wireless network ( wherein the reference signal comprises a Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) signal transmitted in a fifth-generation new radio (5G-NR) wireless network ) [see Paragraphs 0041 & 115 & 0069 & 0116 & 0117].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of US Patent No. 10649946 in view of US 20210029516 because US 20210029516 suggests that the existing solutions for quickly and efficiently implementing turnaround commands that is robust against errors are extremely difficult at a practical level by virtue of the challenges with meeting the performance requirements for allowing real time and reliable configuration of devices in minimal time using turnaround and reverse high speed communication.
Regarding to the claim 11, US Patent No. 10649946 teaches a method for controlling radio frequency (RF) interference at a mobile communication device, comprising:
receiving a measurement of a reference signal (reference ground voltage level) representative of RF signal quality at the mobile communication device ( a controller configured to: receive a measurement of a reference ground voltage level representative of RF signal quality at the mobile communication device
) [see Figure 2 and Col. 4, Lines 37-57 ];
However, US Patent No. 10649946 does not explicitly teach determining whether the measurement of the reference signal indicates that the RF signal quality is less than a minimum RF signal quality level.
US 20210029516, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches determining whether the measurement of the reference signal indicates that the RF signal quality is less than a minimum RF signal quality level ( determine whether the measurement of the reference signal indicates that the RF signal quality is less than a minimum RF signal quality level) [see Paragraphs 0041 & 115 & 0069 & 0116 & 0117].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of US Patent No. 10649946 in view of US 20210029516 because US 20210029516 suggests that the existing solutions for quickly and efficiently implementing turnaround commands that is robust against errors are extremely difficult at a practical level by virtue of the challenges with meeting the performance requirements for allowing real time and reliable configuration of devices in minimal time using turnaround and reverse high speed communication.
However, US Patent No. 10649946 and US 20210029516 do not explicitly teach reducing signal strength of a transmitter in the bus interface circuit when the RF signal quality falls below the minimum RF signal quality level.
US 20190297587, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches reducing signal strength of a transmitter in the bus interface circuit when the RF signal quality falls below the minimum RF signal quality level ( reduce signal strength of a transmitter in the bus interface circuit when the RF signal quality falls below the minimum RF signal quality level ) [see Paragraph 0052].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the combined system ( US Patent No. 10649946 and US 20210029516), and further in view of US 20190297587 because US 20190297587 suggests that techniques to improve cell-edge issues lack capabilities to manage effects caused by user-equipment mobility or dynamically changing radio environments of the user equipment.
Regarding to the claim 18, US Patent No. 10649946 and US 20210029516 and US 20190297587 teach the limitations of the claim 11 above.
However, US Patent No. 10649946 does not explicitly teach wherein the reference signal comprises a Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) signal transmitted in a fifth-generation new radio (5G-NR) wireless network.
US 20210029516, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein the reference signal comprises a Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) signal transmitted in a fifth-generation new radio (5G-NR) wireless network ( wherein the reference signal comprises a Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) signal transmitted in a fifth-generation new radio (5G-NR) wireless network ) [see Paragraphs 0041 & 115 & 0069 & 0116 & 0117].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of US Patent No. 10649946 in view of US 20210029516 because US 20210029516 suggests that the existing solutions for quickly and efficiently implementing turnaround commands that is robust against errors are extremely difficult at a practical level by virtue of the challenges with meeting the performance requirements for allowing real time and reliable configuration of devices in minimal time using turnaround and reverse high speed communication.
Regarding to the claim 21, US Patent No. 10649946 teaches a processor-readable storage medium comprising code for:
receiving a measurement of a reference signal (reference ground voltage level) representative of RF signal quality at the mobile communication device ( a controller configured to: receive a measurement of a reference ground voltage level representative of RF signal quality at the mobile communication device
) [see Figure 2 and Col. 4, Lines 37-57 ];
However, US Patent No. 10649946 does not explicitly teach determining whether the measurement of the reference signal indicates that the RF signal quality is less than a minimum RF signal quality level.
US 20210029516, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches determining whether the measurement of the reference signal indicates that the RF signal quality is less than a minimum RF signal quality level ( determine whether the measurement of the reference signal indicates that the RF signal quality is less than a minimum RF signal quality level) [see Paragraphs 0041 & 115 & 0069 & 0116 & 0117].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of US Patent No. 10649946 in view of US 20210029516 because US 20210029516 suggests that the existing solutions for quickly and efficiently implementing turnaround commands that is robust against errors are extremely difficult at a practical level by virtue of the challenges with meeting the performance requirements for allowing real time and reliable configuration of devices in minimal time using turnaround and reverse high speed communication.
However, US Patent No. 10649946 and US 20210029516 do not explicitly teach reducing signal strength of a transmitter in the bus interface circuit when the RF signal quality falls below the minimum RF signal quality level.
US 20190297587, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches reducing signal strength of a transmitter in the bus interface circuit when the RF signal quality falls below the minimum RF signal quality level ( reduce signal strength of a transmitter in the bus interface circuit when the RF signal quality falls below the minimum RF signal quality level ) [see Paragraph 0052].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the combined system ( US Patent No. 10649946 and US 20210029516), and further in view of US 20190297587 because US 20190297587 suggests that techniques to improve cell-edge issues lack capabilities to manage effects caused by user-equipment mobility or dynamically changing radio environments of the user equipment.
Regarding to the claim 27, US Patent No. 10649946 and US 20210029516 and US 20190297587 teach the limitations of the claim 1 above.
However, US Patent No. 10649946 does not explicitly teach wherein the reference signal comprises a Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) signal transmitted in a fifth-generation new radio (5G-NR) wireless network.
US 20210029516, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein the reference signal comprises a Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) signal transmitted in a fifth-generation new radio (5G-NR) wireless network ( wherein the reference signal comprises a Reference Signal Received Power (RSRP) signal transmitted in a fifth-generation new radio (5G-NR) wireless network ) [see Paragraphs 0041 & 115 & 0069 & 0116 & 0117].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of US Patent No. 10649946 in view of US 20210029516 because US 20210029516 suggests that the existing solutions for quickly and efficiently implementing turnaround commands that is robust against errors are extremely difficult at a practical level by virtue of the challenges with meeting the performance requirements for allowing real time and reliable configuration of devices in minimal time using turnaround and reverse high speed communication.
Regarding to the claim 29, US Patent No. 10649946 teaches a mobile communication apparatus, comprising:
The serial bus configured to operate in accordance with a display serial interface (DSI) (The serial bus configured to operate in accordance with a display serial interface) [see Figure 2 and Col. 4, lines 1-57];
However, US Patent No. 10649946 does not explicitly teachmeans for determining whether a measurement of a reference signal representative of radio frequency (RF) signal quality at the mobile communication apparatus indicates that the RF signal quality is less than a minimum RF signal quality level.
US 20210029516, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches means for determining whether a measurement of a reference signal representative of radio frequency (RF) signal quality at the mobile communication apparatus indicates that the RF signal quality is less than a minimum RF signal quality level (means for determining whether a measurement of a reference signal representative of radio frequency (RF) signal quality at the mobile communication apparatus indicates that the RF signal quality is less than a minimum RF signal quality level ) [see Paragraphs 0041 & 115 & 0069 & 0116 & 0117]
( 0115] determining that a radio frequency signal quality for signals to or from the user equipment has dropped below a threshold value for signal quality. Example 13: The method of example 12, wherein the determining that the radio frequency signal quality for the user equipment has dropped below the threshold value for the signal quality comprises the base station: [0116] receiving one or measurements of a signal quality of downlink signals from the user equipment; and [0117] comparing the received measurements of the signal quality of the downlink signals to the threshold value for signal quality. Example 14: The method of example 12, wherein the determining that the radio frequency signal quality for the user equipment has dropped below the threshold value for the signal quality comprises the base station: [0118] measuring a signal quality of uplink signals from the user equipment; and [0119] comparing the measurements of the signal quality of the uplink signals to the threshold value for signal quality. Example 15: The method of any one of the preceding examples, wherein the determining to regroup the user equipment from the source user equipment-coordination set to the target user equipment-coordination set further comprises the base station: [0120] receiving a message from the coordinating user equipment of the source user equipment-coordination set indicating that a signal quality of communication with the user equipment over a local wireless network has dropped below a signal quality threshold for local wireless communication in the source user equipment-coordination set ).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of US Patent No. 10649946 in view of US 20210029516 because US 20210029516 suggests that the existing solutions for quickly and efficiently implementing turnaround commands that is robust against errors are extremely difficult at a practical level by virtue of the challenges with meeting the performance requirements for allowing real time and reliable configuration of devices in minimal time using turnaround and reverse high speed communication.
However, US Patent No. 10649946 and US 20210029516 do not explicitly teach means for modifying signal strength of a transmitter coupled to a serial bus provided in the mobile communication apparatus, configured to reduce the signal strength of the transmitter when the RF signal quality falls below the minimum RF signal quality level.
US 20190297587, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches means for modifying signal strength of a transmitter coupled to a serial bus provided in the mobile communication apparatus, configured to reduce the signal strength of the transmitter when the RF signal quality falls below the minimum RF signal quality level (means for modifying signal strength of a transmitter coupled to a serial bus provided in the mobile communication apparatus, configured to reduce the signal strength of the transmitter when the RF signal quality falls below the minimum RF signal quality level) [see Paragraph 0052].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the combined system ( US Patent No. 10649946 and US 20210029516), and further in view of US 20190297587 because US 20190297587 suggests that techniques to improve cell-edge issues lack capabilities to manage effects caused by user-equipment mobility or dynamically changing radio environments of the user equipment.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 3, 4 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The prior art fails to disclose determine that a transmission error occurred in a transmission over the serial bus; and increase the signal strength of the transmitter in response to the transmission error.
Claims 5, 6, 7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The prior art fails to disclose change the signal strength of the transmitter while the serial bus is idle; and calibrate timing of signals transmitted over the serial bus after changing the signal strength of the transmitter.
Claims 9, 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The prior art fails to disclose maintain a list of calibrated signal strengths at the mobile communication device, wherein each entry in the list of calibrated signal strengths indicates a signal strength level that has been verified as enabling the transmitter to transmit data over the serial bus without error.
Claims 12, 13, 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The prior art fails to disclose determining that a transmission error occurred in a transmission over the serial bus; and increasing the signal strength of the transmitter in response to the transmission error.
Claims 15, 16, 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The prior art fails to disclose changing the signal strength of the transmitter while the serial bus is idle; and calibrating timing of signals transmitted over the serial bus after changing the signal strength of the transmitter.
Claims 19, 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The prior art fails to disclose maintaining a list of calibrated signal strengths at the mobile communication device, wherein each entry in the list of calibrated signal strengths indicates a signal strength level that has been verified as enabling the transmitter to transmit data over the serial bus without error.
Claims 22, 23, 24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The prior art fails to disclose determining that a transmission error occurred in a transmission over the serial bus; and increasing the signal strength of the transmitter in response to the transmission error.
Claims 25, 26 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The prior art fails to disclose changing the signal strength of the transmitter while the serial bus is idle; and calibrating timing of signals transmitted over the serial bus after changing the signal strength of the transmitter.
Claim 28 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The prior art fails to disclose maintaining a list of calibrated signal strengths at the mobile communication device, wherein each entry in the list of calibrated signal strengths indicates a signal strength level that has been verified as enabling the transmitter to transmit data over the serial bus without error, and wherein the list of calibrated signal strengths is configured during manufacture or assembly of the mobile communication device.
Claim 30 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The prior art fails to disclose means for determining that a transmission error occurred in a transmission over the serial bus, wherein the means for modifying signal strength of a transmitter is further configured to increase the signal strength of the transmitter in response to the transmission error, wherein an entry in a list of calibrated signal strengths is deleted after repeated transmission errors have occurred while the signal strength of the transmitter is defined by the entry in the list of calibrated signal strengths.
Conclusion
/CHUONG T HO/Examiner, Art Unit 2412