DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang et al (Self-Catalyzed Living Radical Polymerization Using Quaternary Ammonium-Iodide-Containing Monomers, Macromolecules 2019, 52, 2712−2718, published on March 27, 2019, cited in IDS.
Wang discloses antibacterial copolymer (see page 2717, chapter “Conclusions”, meeting the limitations of claim 13) formed from methylmethacrylate (i.e., MMA, meeting the limitations of claims 7 and 8) and the following monomer (see Figure 1 at page 2713 and Table 1, entry 7 at page 2714, meeting the limitations of claims 2-6):
Regarding claim 9, Wang teaches MMA-C6MAI copolymer (see Table 1, entry 2), which has Mn value of 11000.
Claims 1-9 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhao et al (Self-Stratified Antimicrobial Acrylic Coatings via One-Step UV Curing, ACS Appl. Mater. Interfaces 2015, 7, 18467−18472, published on July 30, 2015, cited in IDS).
Zhao teaches an antibacterial coating effective against Gram positive and Gram negative E.coli (see page 18471, left column) used in healthcare settings, food industry, biomedical industry (see page 18471, right column) obtained via one-step UV curing of a mixture of acrylic monomers, including MMA, the cross linker EGDMA, and a QAC-containing perfluoroalkyl monomer (QAC-2) (see page 18471, left column).
Zhao teaches that QAC-2 can be equally replaced by QAC-1 having the following formula (meeting the limitations of claims 1-5):
As a result, all limitations of claims 1-5, 7-8 and 120-14 are met.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang as applied to claims 1-9 and 13 above, and further in view of Zhao.
Wang fails to teach an antibacterial property and a specific application for the antibacterial copolymer.
Zhao teaches an antibacterial coating effective against Gram positive and Gram negative E.coli (see page 18471, left column) used in healthcare settings, food industry, biomedical industry (see page 18471, right column) obtained via one-step UV curing of a mixture of acrylic monomers, including MMA, the cross linker EGDMA, and a QAC-containing perfluoroalkyl monomer (QAC-2) (see page 18471, left column).
The position isa taken that since Wang and Zhao disclose the polymer from the same or analogous monomers, they possess the same antibacterial properties and can be used in the same applications.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to expect the same properties from Wang’s and Zhao’s polymers and the same applications for them, since they built from the same monomers.
GL
/GREGORY LISTVOYB/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1765