DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 15-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Dai et al. (US 2023/0328723, Dai hereafter).
RE claims 15 and 22, Dai discloses a communication apparatus and method, comprising: circuitry (Figure 11), which, in operation, determines a starting position of coded data in a first section based on a second section which is a previous section to the first section, the first section and the second section being one of a plurality of sections within a time domain resource assigned for a transmission of a signal (Figures 5, 7 and 9-10; and paragraphs 59-61 and 74-92 teaches a circular buffer of coded data whereby a UE outputs the data from the buffer for transmission and repetition in a plurality of slots. The UE receives a redundancy version (RV) mapping of a PUSCH transmission. The UE then determines a transport block size of the PUSCH transmission on a set of resources corresponding to a set of PUYSCH repetitions over a repetition unit comprising plurality of slots. The UE then determines the starting bit location of the first and each subsequent slot. For RV mapping each starting bit location corresponds to a different RV); and a transmitter (Figure 11), which, in operation, transmits the signal based on the starting position of coded data, wherein the starting position of coded data in the first section is determined without depending on whether uplink control information (UCI) is multiplexed in the second section (Figures 5 and 9-10. The starting positions of each slot is based upon the received RV mapping. Paragraph 46 further discloses the UCI is carried by the PUCCH. Figure 10 and paragraphs 74-92 also disclose three options for handling UCI/PUCCH. Step 1010 states the UE refrains from multiplexing UCI and instead performs one of steps 1012, 1014 and 1016).
RE claims 16 and 23, Dai discloses the apparatus or claim 15 and method of claim 22 as set forth above. Note that Dai further discloses wherein the starting position of coded data in the first section is determined based on the starting position of coded data in the second section and on a number of coded bits in the second section (Figures 5, 7 and 9-10; and paragraphs 59-61 and 74-92 teaches a circular buffer of coded data whereby a UE outputs the data from the buffer for transmission and repetition in a plurality of slots. The UE receives a redundancy version (RV) mapping of a PUSCH transmission. The UE then determines a transport block size of the PUSCH transmission on a set of resources corresponding to a set of PUYSCH repetitions over a repetition unit comprising plurality of slots. The UE then determines the starting bit location of the first and each subsequent slot. For RV mapping each starting bit location corresponds to a different RV. Starting bit position as shown is based on TBS and slot size, and thus the number of bits of each “section” as well as the start and end positions for data in each slot.).
RE claims 17 and 24, Dai discloses the apparatus or claim 15 and method of claim 22 as set forth above. Note that Dai further discloses wherein the second section is a first slot of the plurality of sections, and the starting position of coded data in the second section is a position indicated by a redundancy version 0, 1, 2 or 3 (Paragraph 59 discloses RV0, RV1, RV2 and RV3. See further Figures 4 and 7).
RE claims 18 and 25, Dai discloses the apparatus or claim 15 and method of claim 22 as set forth above. Note that Dai further discloses wherein a transport block size of the signal is calculated by multiplying an amount of resources of a slot assigned for the transmission of the signal with a scaling factor (Abstract discloses Paragraph 61 discloses PUSCH repetition with TBS scaling. Paragraph 67 and Table 3 shows multiplication of scaling factors B1 and B2 with an expression comprised of a lifting size of a LDPC code divided by the number of slots).
RE claims 19 and 26, Dai in view of Hosseini discloses the apparatus or claim 18 and method of claim 25 as set forth above. Note that Dai further discloses wherein the amount of resources of the slot is determined based on information relating to a length of symbols, which is indicated by a base station (Figure 10 and paragraph 84-85 steps 1002 and 1004).
RE claims 20 and 27, Dai discloses the apparatus or claim 15 and method of claim 22 as set forth above. Note that Dai further discloses wherein information relating to the plurality of sections is indicated from a base station (Figure 10 and paragraph 84-85 steps 1002 and 1004).
RE claims 21 and 28, Dai discloses the apparatus or claim 15 and method of claim 22 as set forth above. Note that Dai further discloses wherein the signal is transmitted on a Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) (Figures 9 and 10, transmission is on PUSCH).
Conclusion
/James P Duffy/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2461