DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
1. Applicant's arguments filed 3/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant discloses (see pages 14 and 15 of the Remarks) “Accordingly, Yerramalli discloses the UE determines that second positioning assistance data corresponds to first positioning assistance data if any one of the following conditions is met: a first applicability area includes a second applicability area (e.g., the first applicability area is the same as the second applicability area, or the second applicability area is a subset of the first applicability area), or the frequency layer of the first positioning assistance data is the same as that of the second positioning assistance data. In the case that the second positioning assistance data corresponds to the first positioning assistance data, the UE uses the first positioning assistance data. In other words, if the first positioning assistance data is not completely same as the second positioning assistance data but they meet the above conditions, the UE uses only the first positioning assistance data, rather than the second positioning assistance data. However, Yerramalli does not disclose or suggest "using the first positioning assistance information or the second positioning assistance information in response to determining that the first positioning assistance information is consistent with the second positioning assistance information" as recited in amended claim 1 (emphasis added).”
However, Yerramalli (US 2023/0319763) discloses receiving positioning information to measure/process positioning signals (see section 0099), wherein this process includes determining whether a network device sends second positioning assistance information (second positioning assistance data as disclosed in sections 0120-0121 and 0124) required for applying a current positioning technology (as disclosed in sections 0118-0124); determining (as disclosed in sections 0120-0121) whether a first positioning assistance information is consistent (corresponds) with the second positioning assistance information in response to determining that the network device sends the second positioning assistance information; and using the first positioning assistance information (as disclosed in section 0121) or the second positioning assistance information in response to determining that the first positioning assistance information is consistent with the second positioning assistance information. It is the understanding of the Examiner that since the claims recite the use of the first positioning assistance information or the second positioning assistance information in the alternative, the claim is anticipated as long as Yerramalli et al. discloses using either the first positioning assistance information or the second positioning assistance information in response to the determination. Therefore, based on the above disclosure, it is the understanding of the Examiner that Yerramalli et al. anticipates these limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 1, 2, 6, 7, 10, 11, 13, 15, 16, 20, and 21 and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gunnarsson et al. (previously cited in Office Action 12/19/2025) in view of Yerramalli et al. (previously cited in Office Action 12/19/2025).
Regarding claim 1, Gunnarsson et al. discloses a positioning method, performed by a terminal device, comprising:
receiving (as disclosed in sections 0135 and 0137) pre-configured first positioning assistance information (ProvidePositioningAssistance message); and
receiving a message (ProvideAssistanceData message as disclosed in section 0121-0122) triggering the terminal device to use the first positioning assistance information.
Gunnarsson et al. does not specifically disclose determining whether a network device sends second positioning assistance information required for applying a current positioning technology; determining whether the first positioning assistance information is consistent with the second positioning assistance information in response to determining that the network device sends the second positioning assistance information; and using the first positioning assistance information or the second positioning assistance information in response to determining that the first positioning assistance information is consistent with the second positioning assistance information. Gunnarson et al. also does not disclose using the second positioning assistance information in response to determining that the first positioning assistance information is inconsistent with the second positioning assistance information.
However, Yerramalli et al. also discloses receiving positioning information to measure/process positioning signals (see section 0099), wherein this process includes determining whether a network device sends second positioning assistance information (second positioning assistance data as disclosed in sections 0120-0121 and 0124) required for applying a current positioning technology (as disclosed in sections 0118-0124); determining (as disclosed in sections 0120-0121) whether the first positioning assistance information is consistent (corresponds) with the second positioning assistance information in response to determining that the network device sends the second positioning assistance information; and using the first positioning assistance information (as disclosed in section 0121) or the second positioning assistance information in response to determining that the first positioning assistance information is consistent with the second positioning assistance information. Yerramalli et al. further discloses using the second positioning assistance information (as disclosed in section 0124) in response to determining that the first positioning assistance information is inconsistent (different) with the second positioning assistance information. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the method/device of Gunnarsson et al. to provide second positioning assistance data as taught by Yerramalli et al. since Yerramalli et al. discloses the second positioning assistance data enables a positioning reference signal to be measured in the case that first positioning assistance data is not applicable to perform the measurement (see section 0124).
Regarding claim 2, Gunnarsson discloses sending a request message for positioning assistance information (as disclosed in section 0139, see also section 0134) to a location management function (LMF) device (see section 0111, wherein all positioning (location) assistance requests are provided to the LMF, see also section 0120) in response to determining that the first positioning assistance information is unavailable (not persistent as disclosed in section 0139).
Regarding claim 6, Gunnarsson et al. discloses determining that the first positioning assistance information is unavailable comprises: determining that the first positioning assistance information has a timeliness characteristic (as disclosed in sections 0162-0164), and determining that the first positioning assistance information is invalid (not persistent).
Regarding claim 7, Gunnarsson et al. discloses sending the request message (as disclosed in section 0139, see also section 0148) for the positioning assistance information to the LMF device (as disclosed in section 0120) in response to determining that the first positioning assistance information is invalid (not persistent as disclosed in section 0139).
Regarding claim 10, discloses sending (as disclosed in section 0139, see also section 0134) a request message for positioning assistance information to an LMF device (see section 0111, wherein all positioning (location) assistance requests are provided to the LMF, see also section 0120) in response to determining that the first positioning assistance information is inconsistent (based on a persistence indicator as disclosed in sections 0139 and 0155) with second positioning assistance information (second part of assistance data as disclosed in sections 0140-0141).
Regarding claim 11, Gunnarsson et al. discloses receiving the pre-configured first positioning assistance information comprises one of: receiving the first positioning assistance information (ProvideAssistanceData message as disclosed in sections 0120-0121) sent by an LMF device through a long term evolution positioning protocol (LPP) message (as disclosed in sections 0120-0121); or receiving the first positioning assistance information sent by a network device, the first positioning assistance information being provided by the LMF device.
Regarding claims 13, 16, 20, 21, Gunnarsson et al. and Yerramalli et al. disclose a terminal device (see Gunnarsson et al, Fig. 16) comprising: a processor (block 1610) and a memory (block 1620) configured to perform the method of claims, 1, 2, 6, and 7, the rejections of which are applicable hereto.
Regarding claim 15, Gunnarsson et al. and Yeramelli et al. disclose a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (see Gunnarsson et al., section 0038) having stored therein instructions that, when executed by a processor of a terminal, cause the terminal to perform the method of claim 1, the rejection of which is applicable hereto.
4. Claims 3-5 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gunnarsson et al. (previously cited in Office Action 12/19/2025) in view of Yerramalli et al. (previously cited in Office Action 12/19/2025), and in further view of Belghoul et al. (previously cited in Office Action 12/19/2025).
Regarding claims 3-5 and 17-19, Gunnarsson et al. and Yerramalli et al. do not specifically disclose sending an error indication message to an LMF device to indicate that the first positioning assistance information is unavailable in response to determining that the first positioning assistance information is unavailable. Gunnarsson et al. and Yerramalli et al. also does not disclose sending a location providing information message to an LMF device in response to determining that the first positioning assistance information is unavailable, wherein the location providing information message contains error indication information for indicating that the first positioning assistance information is unavailable. Gunnarsson et al. and Yerramalli et al. further do not disclose receiving a message triggering the terminal device to use the first positioning assistance information, and determining that the terminal device is unable to measure a positioning reference signal (PRS) based on the first positioning assistance information.
However, Belghoul et al. also discloses receiving positioning (location) assistance data (as disclosed in sections 0010 and 0038-0039), and sending an error indication message (“UE positioning error” as disclosed in sections 0140-0147) to an LMF device (in a measurement report which is provided to a UTRAN (LMF device) as disclosed in section 0029) to indicate that the first positioning assistance information is unavailable in response to determining that the first positioning assistance information is unavailable (missing assistance data as disclosed in sections 0140-0147). Belghoul et al. also discloses sending a location providing information message (measurement report as disclosed in sections 0029 and 0140-0147) to an LMF device (see section 0029) in response to determining that the first positioning assistance information is unavailable (as disclosed in sections 0140-0147), wherein the location providing information message contains error indication information (“UE positioning error”) for indicating that the first positioning assistance information is unavailable. Belghoul et al. further discloses receiving a message (query as disclosed in section 0055, see also sections 0127-0128) triggering the terminal device to use the first positioning assistance information, and determining (as disclosed in sections 0140-0147) that the terminal device is unable to measure a positioning reference signal (PRS) based on the first positioning assistance information (due to missing assistance data as disclosed in section 0142). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the method/device of
Gunnarsson et al. and Yerramalli et al. to provide an error indication when positioning assistance data is unavailable as taught by Belghoul et al. since Belghoul et al. discloses that determining when the positioning information is unavailable provides the benefit of providing additional information for estimating a location when the positioning information is determined to be unavailable (see section 0007).
Conclusion
5. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CURTIS B ODOM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2631 April 16, 2026