DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 17, 22, and 29 are amended. A complete action on the merits of pending claims 1-4, 8, 17, and 20-33 appears below.
Response to Amendment
Acknowledgment is made to Applicant’s amendments filed on 07/08/2026 which are entered. With regards to the claim objection and 35 USC 112(b) rejection documented in the Non-Final Office Action sent on 04/08/2026, they’re overcome through Applicant’s amendments filed on 07/08/2026 and are withdrawn. With regards to the 35 USC 112(f) interpretations applied to limitations of claim 20, they’re maintained.
Claim Interpretation
Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “coil means for occluding a vessel”, “stretch resistant means for resisting stretching or unwinding of the coil means”, and “stopper means for preventing the stretch resistant means from withdrawing into the radiopaque marker band” in claim 20.
“coil means for occluding a vessel” – the corresponding structure disclosed in the specification (the embolic coil formed from wound wire (101), as described in Paragraph [0057] and Figures 1B-1C).
“stretch resistant means for resisting stretching or unwinding of the coil means” – the corresponding structure disclosed in the specification (the stretch resistant member (105)/tether (105A), including one-piece or two-piece configurations with filament, braid, or eyelet, as described in Paragraphs [0003], [0007], [0060]-[0061], and Figures 1C-8B).
“stopper means for preventing the stretch resistant means from withdrawing into the radiopaque marker band” – the corresponding structure disclosed in the specification (the enlargement/stopper (107), such as a knot formed from the tether, optionally with adhesive, as described in Paragraphs [0005], [0064]-[0068], and Figures 1C-1D) and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 8, and 22-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Purdy (US 5,263,964 A), in view of Jones (US 2008/0086163 A1 (and Jones2 (US 2008/0086217 A10), incorporated by reference therein)).
Regarding claim 1, Purdy discloses, a vaso-occlusive coil coaxial traction detachment apparatus. Purdy teaches, an embolic coil device (Figure 1, device (10); Col. 4, line 66-68), comprising:
a coiled wire (Figure 1, endovascular device (18); Col. 4, line 68-Col. 5, line 5) including a distal end (See annotated Figure 1 below, (Distal end)), a proximal end (See annotated Figure 1 below, (Proximal end)), and an interior (See annotated Figure 1 below, (Interior));
a tubular member (Figures 1-2, sheath (14); Col. 4, line 68-Col. 5, line 6) attached at or near the proximal end (Proximal end) of the coiled wire (Col. 5, line 12-13; Further as seen in Figures 1-2, sheath (14) is indeed attached near the (Proximal end) of endovascular device (18)), the tubular member (sheath (14)) including an interior lumen (See annotated Figure 1 below, (Interior lumen));
a tether (Figures 1-2, guide wire (16)) extending through the interior of the tubular member (Figures 1-2; Col. 4, line 68-Col. 5, line 6), wherein the tether comprises an enlargement (Figures 1-2, attachment point (20); Col. 5, line 2-4 and line 13-16); and
wherein the enlargement (attachment point (20)) is comprised of a greater width or diameter than the interior lumen (Interior lumen) of the tubular member (sheath (14)) (Col. 5, line 13-16, “The point of attachment 20 is of a diameter such that when traction is placed on the guide wire 16, the attachment cannot enter the sheath 14.”).
Purdy fails to teach, the tether connected with the distal end of the coiled wire and extending through the interior of the coiled wire.
Jones discloses, embolic coils. Jones teaches, a coiled wire (Figure 1, wound coil (12a)) including a distal end (Figure 1, distal coil portion (20)), a proximal end (Figure 1, proximal coil portion (18)), and an interior (Figure 1, central lumen (16)) (Paragraph [0016]);
a tubular member (Figure 1, hypotube (21)/headpiece (22)) attached at or near the proximal end (proximal coil portion (18)) of the coiled wire (wound coil (12a)) (Paragraphs [0016]-[0017]), the tubular member (hypotube (21)/headpiece (22)) including an interior lumen (Figure 1, clearly shows hypotube (21) as possessing an interior lumen); and
a tether (Jones is a continuation-in-part of application Ser. No. 11/539,937 (Jones 2 (US 2008/0086217 A1)), filed Oct. 10, 2006, which is incorporated by reference into Jones; Jones2 discloses in Figure 4, stretch resistant member (26b); Paragraph [0032] of Jones2) connected with the distal end of the coiled wire and extending through the interior of the coiled wire (Figure 2 and Paragraph [0032] of Jones2), wherein the tether (stretch resistant member (26b)) comprises an enlargement (Figure 4 of Jones2, enlarged portion (28a); Paragraph [0032] of Jones2).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify the embolic coil device of Purdy with the embolic coil of Jones/Jones2 such that the tether is connected with the distal end of the coiled wire and is extending through the interior of the coiled wire as taught by Jones/Jones2, as both references and the claimed invention are directed to endovascular embolic coil devices. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the embolic coil device of Purdy with the embolic coil of Jones/Jones2 such that the tether is connected with the distal end of the coiled wire and is extending through the interior of the coiled wire as taught by Jones/Jones2, as such a modification would have been predictable, namely, to convert Purdy’s temporary detachment tether into a permanent stretch-resistant member that remains inside the deployed coil after detachment, thereby preventing unwanted stretching or unwinding of the coiled wire during delivery or repositioning while still utilizing Purdy’s enlargement-to-tubular-lumen stop mechanism at the proximal end. Furthermore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because Jones explicitly teaches that adding a distally-anchored stretch-resistant tether extending through the coil interior provides improved resistance to stretching/unwinding (see Jones2, Paragraphs [0019]-[0022] and [0032]), which is a known problem in soft embolic coils, and applying this known improvement to Purdy’s coil (which already has a proximal tubular member and enlargement-based stop) would yield the predictable benefit of a more robust, stretch-resistant implant without compromising the traction detachment function. This combination results in the tether being connected at the distal end, extending through both the coil interior and the proximal tubular member, with the enlargement sized greater than the tubular member’s interior lumen, as required by the claim (KSR v. Teleflex; MPEP 2143(A), (C) – combining known elements according to known methods to yield predictable results and applying a known technique to a known device for improvement).
Regarding claim 2, modified Purdy teaches, wherein the enlargement is not directly connected to the coiled wire (Purdy discloses the enlargement (attachment point (20)) is not directly connected to the coiled wire in the sense that it functions as an interface between the tether (guide wire (16)) and the coil rather than being fused or tied into the coil wire itself; Col. 5, line 2-4 and line 13-16) and wherein at least a portion of the tether is stretch-resistant (Jones2 further discloses that the tether (stretch resistant member (26b)) is stretch-resistant (Paragraphs [0019]-[0022] and [0032]; the member is formed of substantially non-ductile material such as PET or metallic alloys to bear axial load and resist stretching/unwinding of the coil) (It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate Jones2’s stretch-resistant tether material into the modified device of Purdy for the reasons stated in the rejection of claim 1 (predictable improvement in stretch resistance without compromising Purdy’s enlargement-to-tubular-lumen stop)).
Regarding claim 3, modified Purdy teaches, wherein the enlargement is positioned entirely within the interior of the coiled wire (Jones2 discloses the enlargement (proximal enlarged portion (28a)) is positioned entirely within the interior of the coiled wire (Figure 4; Paragraph [0032]; the enlargement engages the internal restrictor or remains inside the coil lumen)) (It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to position the enlargement entirely within the coil interior in the modified Purdy device for the reasons stated in the rejection of claim 1 (to maintain centering and utilize the proximal tubular member stop while keeping all components internal to the implant)).
Regarding claim 4, modified Purdy teaches, wherein the enlargement is freely movable within the interior of the coiled wire (Jones2 discloses the enlargement (proximal enlarged portion (28a)) is freely movable within the interior of the coiled wire (Figure 4 and Paragraphs [0023]-[0026] and [0032]; the stretch resistant member is free-floating until the enlargement engages the restrictor under tension, allowing axial movement inside the lumen)) (It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the enlargement freely movable in the modified Purdy device for the reasons stated in the rejection of claim 1 (predictable result of allowing normal coil flexibility/softness while providing stretch resistance via the proximal stop)).
Regarding claim 8, modified Purdy teaches, wherein the tether is positioned along a central longitudinal axis of the interior of the coiled wire so as to provide on-axis torque (Jones2 discloses the tether (stretch resistant member (26b)) is positioned along a central longitudinal axis of the interior of the coiled wire so as to provide on-axis torque (Jones2, Paragraphs [0020]-[0022], [0032]; centrally placed stretch resistant member with proximal enlargement avoids off-axis forces and ensures more uniform torque transmission between the pusher and the coil)) (It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to position the tether along the central longitudinal axis in the modified Purdy device, as taught by Jones2, for the reasons stated in the rejection of claim 1 (to eliminate off-axis torque and improve predictable delivery behavior, a known benefit in centrally anchored stretch-resistant designs)).
Regarding claim 22, modified Purdy teaches, wherein the enlargement is freely movable within the interior of the coiled wire (Jones2 discloses the enlargement (proximal enlarged portion (28a)) is freely movable within the interior of the coiled wire (Figure 4 and Paragraphs [0023]-[0026] and [0032]; the stretch resistant member is free-floating until the enlargement engages the restrictor under tension, allowing axial movement inside the lumen)) (It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the enlargement freely movable in the modified Purdy device for the reasons stated in the rejection of claim 1 (predictable result of allowing normal coil flexibility/softness while providing stretch resistance via the proximal stop)).
Regarding claim 23, modified Purdy teaches, wherein the tubular member is comprised of a hypotube (Jones, Paragraphs [0016]-[0017]; hypotube (21) is explicitly used to form the headpiece at the proximal end of the coil) (It would have been obvious to use a hypotube for the tubular member in the modified Purdy device for the reasons given in claim 1 (hypotubes are a known, conventional proximal attachment structure in embolic coils for secure pusher interface and controlled detachment)).
Regarding claim 24, Purdy further teaches, wherein a distal end of the tubular member (Figure 2, distal end (14a) of the sheath (14)) is adjacent to the proximal end (Proximal end) of the coiled wire (endovascular device (18)) (Col. 4, line 68-Col. 5, line 4 and Col. 5, line 12-13; Figures 1-2).
Regarding claim 25, modified Purdy teaches, wherein at least a proximal-most coil of the coiled wire is attached to an outer circumference of the tubular member (Jones discloses at least a proximal-most coil of the coiled wire is attached to an outer circumference of the tubular member (Paragraph [0017] of Jones and Figure 1)) (It would have been obvious to attach the proximal-most coil to the outer circumference of the tubular member in the modified Purdy device for the reasons given in claim 1 (to create a reliable mechanical connection between the coil and the proximal tubular member using conventional attachment techniques)).
Claim(s) 17, 21, and 26-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Purdy, in view of Jones/Jones2, and further in view of Fitz (US 2006/0052815 A1).
Regarding claim 21, Purdy teaches, the tubular member (sheath (14)).
Purdy fails to teach, wherein the tubular member is radiopaque.
Jones teaches, aspects of the embolic coil device according to claim 1 (See above rejection of claim 1).
Fitz discloses, an embolic coil/implant delivery system. Fitz teaches, a tubular member (Figure 7, delivery pusher (350)) is radiopaque (Paragraph [0061]).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify the embolic coil device of Purdy to make the tubular member radiopaque as taught by Fitz, as all the references and the claimed invention are directed to endovascular embolic coil devices. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the embolic coil device of Purdy to make the tubular member radiopaque as taught by Fitz, as such a modification would have been predictable, namely, to allow real-time visualization of the proximal end of the implant/the position of the tubular member under fluoroscopy (Paragraph [0061] of Fitz).
Regarding claim 26, Purdy teaches, the enlargement (attachment point (20)).
Purdy fails to teach, wherein the enlargement is comprised of a knot.
Jones teaches, aspects of the embolic coil device according to claim 1 (See above rejection of claim 1).
Fitz teaches, a tether (Figure 4, tether (310)) comprising an enlargement (Figure 4, knot (316)), wherein the enlargement is comprised of a knot (knot (316) is explicitly used to tie tether (310) around the proximal end of the implant device (302) as seen in Figure 4) (Paragraph [0053]).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify the embolic coil device of Purdy to form the enlargement as a knot as taught by Fitz, as all the references and the claimed invention are directed to endovascular embolic coil devices. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the embolic coil device of Purdy to form the enlargement as a knot as taught by Fitz, as such a modification would have been predictable, namely, a knot is a simple, predictable, and commonly used way to create a reliable enlargement on a filamentary tether that cannot pass through the tubular lumen (Paragraphs [0007] and [0053] of Fitz).
Regarding claim 27, modified Purdy teaches, wherein the knot includes an adhesive (Figure 4 and Paragraph [0053] of Fitz disclose, “Further reinforcement is provided by an adhesive 314 that is disposed around the knot 316.” It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include adhesive with the knot in the modified Purdy device to prevent untying or otherwise unwanted decoupling (Paragraph [0053] of Fitz)).
Regarding claim 28, modified Purdy teaches, wherein the knot is formed from the tether (Paragraph [0053] of Fitz explicitly discloses that knot (316) is formed of tether (310) tying around proximal end of the implant device (302). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the knot from the tether material in the modified Purdy device for the reasons given in claim 26 (a self-knot in the tether is a simple and predictable method to create the required enlargement using only the existing tether filament)).
Regarding claim 17, Purdy teaches, a system for delivering an embolic coil to a target location (Figure 1, device (10); Col. 1, line 6-12 and Col. 4, line 66-68), comprising:
a delivery catheter (Figures 1-2, catheter (12); Col. 5, line 5-11);
a coiled wire (Figure 1, endovascular device (18); Col. 4, line 68-Col. 5, line 5) having a distal end (See annotated Figure 1 above, (Distal end)), a proximal end (See annotated Figure 1 above, (Proximal end)), and an interior (See annotated Figure 1 above, (Interior));
a tubular member (Figures 1-2, sheath (14); Col. 4, line 68-Col. 5, line 6) attached to the proximal end (Proximal end) of the coiled wire (Col. 5, line 12-13; Further as seen in Figure 2, sheath (14) is indeed attached to the (Proximal end) of endovascular device (18) through attachment point (20)), the tubular member (sheath (14)) including an interior lumen (See annotated Figure 1 above, (Interior lumen)) having an inner diameter which is smaller than an inner diameter of the interior (Interior) of the coiled wire (endovascular device (18)) (As seen in Figures 1-2 and disclosed in Col. 5, line 35-37, when endovascular device (18) is in the uncompressed state (outside sheath (14)) it has a grater diameter than sheath (14));
a tether (Figures 1-2, guide wire (16)) extending through the delivery catheter and the tubular member (Figures 1-2; Col. 4, line 68-Col. 5, line 11); and
wherein the tether (guide wire (16)) includes an enlargement (Figures 1-2, attachment point (20); Col. 5, line 2-4 and line 13-16) having a diameter or width greater than the inner diameter of the interior lumen (Interior lumen) of the tubular member (sheath (14)) (Col. 5, line 13-16, “The point of attachment 20 is of a diameter such that when traction is placed on the guide wire 16, the attachment cannot enter the sheath 14.”).
Purdy fails to teach, that the tubular member is a radiopaque marker band; that the tether extends through an entire length of the coiled wire with a distal end of the tether connected with the distal end of the coiled wire; and that the enlargement is freely movable along an entire length of the interior of the coiled wire.
Jones teaches, a coiled wire (Figure 1, wound coil (12a)) including a distal end (Figure 1, distal coil portion (20)), a proximal end (Figure 1, proximal coil portion (18)), and an interior (Figure 1, central lumen (16)) (Paragraph [0016]);
a tubular member (Figure 1, hypotube (21)/headpiece (22)) attached at or near the proximal end (proximal coil portion (18)) of the coiled wire (wound coil (12a)) (Paragraphs [0016]-[0017]), the tubular member (hypotube (21)/headpiece (22)) including an interior lumen (Figure 1, clearly shows hypotube (21) as possessing an interior lumen); and
a tether (Jones is a continuation-in-part of application Ser. No. 11/539,937 (Jones 2 (US 2008/0086217 A1)), filed Oct. 10, 2006, which is incorporated by reference into Jones; Jones2 discloses in Figure 4, stretch resistant member (26b); Paragraph [0032] of Jones2), wherein a distal end of the tether is connected with the distal end of the coiled wire (Figure 2 and Paragraph [0032] of Jones2), wherein the tether (stretch resistant member (26b)) comprises an enlargement (Figure 4 of Jones2, enlarged portion (28a); Paragraph [0032] of Jones2).
Jones2 further teaches that the enlargement is freely movable within the interior of the coiled wire (Figures 1-4; Paragraphs [0019]-[0026] and [0032]; free floating configurations and axial movement of the stretch resistant member/enlargement within the lumen until engagement with a restrictor under tension).
Fitz teaches, a tubular member (Figure 7, delivery pusher (350)) that is radiopaque (Paragraph [0061]).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify the system of Purdy by firstly converting the temporary traction tether into a permanent stretch-resistant tether that extends through the entire length of the coiled wire and has its distal end connected with the distal end of the coiled wire, as taught by Jones/Jones2, secondly, configuring the enlargement so that it is freely movable along the length of the interior of the coiled wire until it abuts the distal end of the proximal tubular member, which is predictable from the free-floating/movable enlargements of Jones2 combined with Purdy’s enlargement-to-lumen stop, and thirdly, forming the proximal tubular member as a radiopaque marker band, as taught by Fitz, as all the references and the claimed invention are directed to endovascular embolic coil delivery systems. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Purdy by firstly converting the temporary traction tether into a permanent stretch-resistant tether that extends through the entire length of the coiled wire and has its distal end connected with the distal end of the coiled wire, as taught by Jones/Jones2, secondly, configuring the enlargement so that it is freely movable along the length of the interior of the coiled wire until it abuts the distal end of the proximal tubular member, which is predictable from the free-floating/movable enlargements of Jones2 combined with Purdy’s enlargement-to-lumen stop, and thirdly, forming the proximal tubular member as a radiopaque marker band, as taught by Fitz, as such a modification would have been predictable, namely, because Jones/Jones2 explicitly teach that a distally-anchored stretch resistant tether extending through the coil interior provides improved resistance to stretching/unwinding (Paragraphs [0019]-[0022] and [0032] of Jones2), a known problem in soft embolic coils, while Fitz teaches radiopacity for real-time fluoroscopic visualization of the proximal end of the implant (Paragraph [0061] of Fitz). Applying these known techniques to Purdy’s system (which already includes a proximal tubular member and enlargement-based stop) would yield the predictable benefit of a more robust, stretch-resistant implant that remains after detachment, with the tether extending through the entire length of each of the delivery catheter, the radiopaque marker band, and the coiled wire, while preserving the traction-detachment function and adding visualization capability (KSR v. Teleflex; MPEP 2143(A), (C)).
Regarding claim 29, modified Purdy teaches, wherein the radiopaque marker band is comprised of a radiopaque hypotube (Paragraphs [0016]-[0017] of Jones hypotube (21) is explicitly used to form the headpiece at the proximal end of the coil; Paragraph [0061] of Fitz teaching radiopacity. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form the radiopaque marker band as a radiopaque hypotube for the reasons given in the rejection of claim 17 (hypotubes are a known, conventional proximal attachment structure in embolic coils for secure interface and controlled detachment, and radiopacity permits visualization)).
Regarding claim 30, Purdy teaches, the enlargement (attachment point (20)).
Purdy fails to teach, wherein the enlargement is comprised of a knot.
Jones teaches, aspects of the embolic coil device according to claim 17 (See above rejection of claim 17)
Fitz teaches, a tether (Figure 4, tether (310)) comprising an enlargement (Figure 4, knot (316)), wherein the enlargement is comprised of a knot (knot (316) is explicitly used to tie tether (310) around the proximal end of the implant device (302) as seen in Figure 4) (Paragraph [0053]).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify the embolic coil device of Purdy to form the enlargement as a knot as taught by Fitz, as all the references and the claimed invention are directed to endovascular embolic coil devices. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the embolic coil device of Purdy to form the enlargement as a knot as taught by Fitz, as such a modification would have been predictable, namely, a knot is a simple, predictable, and commonly used way to create a reliable enlargement on a filamentary tether that cannot pass through the tubular lumen (Paragraphs [0007] and [0053] of Fitz).
Claim(s) 20 and 31-33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Purdy, in view of Fitz, and further in view of Jones/Jones2.
Regarding claim 20, Purdy teaches, an embolic coil device (Figure 1, device (10); Col. 4, line 66-68), comprising:
a coil means (Figure 1, endovascular device (18); Col. 4, line 68-Col. 5, line 5) for occluding a vessel (Col. 1, line 6-12), the coil means including a distal end (See annotated Figure 1 above, (Distal end)), a proximal end (See annotated Figure 1 above, (Proximal end)), and an interior (See annotated Figure 1 above, (Interior));
a band (Figures 1-2, sheath (14); Col. 4, line 68-Col. 5, line 6) attached at or near the proximal end (Proximal end) of the coil means (Col. 5, line 12-13; Further as seen in Figures 1-2, sheath (14) is indeed attached near the (Proximal end) of endovascular device (18)), the band (sheath (14)) including an interior lumen (See annotated Figure 1 above, (Interior lumen)); and
a stretch resistant means (Figures 1-2, guide wire (16)) extending through the band (Figures 1-2; Col. 4, line 68-Col. 5, line 6), wherein the stretch resistant means comprises a stopper means (Figures 1-2, attachment point (20); Col. 5, line 2-4 and line 13-16) for preventing the stretch resistant means (guide wire (16)) from withdrawing into the band (sheath (14)) (Col. 5, line 13-16, “The point of attachment 20 is of a diameter such that when traction is placed on the guide wire 16, the attachment cannot enter the sheath 14.” This effectively prevents at least part of guide wire (16) from withdrawing into sheath (14)).
Purdy fails to teach the band as a radiopaque marker band; and the stretch resistant means for resisting stretching or unwinding of the coil means extending through the interior of the coil means.
Fitz teaches, a radiopaque marker band (Figure 7, delivery pusher (350); Paragraph [0061]).
Jones teaches, a coil means (Figure 1, wound coil (12a)) including a distal end (Figure 1, distal coil portion (20)), a proximal end (Figure 1, proximal coil portion (18)), and an interior (Figure 1, central lumen (16)) (Paragraph [0016]);
a band (Figure 1, hypotube (21)/headpiece (22)) attached at or near the proximal end (proximal coil portion (18)) of the coil means (wound coil (12a)) (Paragraphs [0016]-[0017]), the band (hypotube (21)/headpiece (22)) including an interior lumen (Figure 1, clearly shows hypotube (21) as possessing an interior lumen); and
a stretch resistant means (Jones is a continuation-in-part of application Ser. No. 11/539,937 (Jones 2 (US 2008/0086217 A1)), filed Oct. 10, 2006, which is incorporated by reference into Jones; Jones2 discloses in Figure 4, stretch resistant member (26b); Paragraph [0032] of Jones2) for resisting stretching or unwinding of the coil means (Paragraphs [0019]-[0022] and [0032] of Jones2; the member is formed of substantially non-ductile material such as PET or metallic alloys to bear axial load and resist stretching/unwinding of the coil) extending through the interior of the coil means (Figure 2 and Paragraph [0032] of Jones2), wherein the stretch resistant means (stretch resistant member (26b)) comprises a stopper means (Figure 4 of Jones2, enlarged portion (28a); Paragraph [0032] of Jones2).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify the embolic coil device of Purdy to make the band as a radiopaque marker band as taught by Fitz, and further modify the embolic coil device of Purdy with the coil means of Jones/Jones2 such that it possess stretch resistant means for resisting stretching or unwinding of the coil means extending through the radiopaque marker band and into the interior of the coil means as taught by Jones/Jones2, as all the references and the claimed invention are directed to endovascular embolic coil devices. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the embolic coil device of Purdy to make the band as a radiopaque marker band as taught by Fitz, and further modify the embolic coil device of Purdy with the coil means of Jones/Jones2 such that it possess stretch resistant means for resisting stretching or unwinding of the coil means extending through the radiopaque marker band and into the interior of the coil means as taught by Jones/Jones2, as such a modification would have been predictable, namely, to convert Purdy’s temporary stretch resistant means into permanent stretch-resistant means that remains inside the coil means after detachment, thereby preventing unwanted stretching or unwinding of the coiled means during delivery or repositioning while still utilizing Purdy’s stop-means-to-radiopaque-marker-band stop mechanism at the proximal end. Furthermore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because Jones explicitly teaches that adding a distally-anchored stretch-resistant means extending through the coil means interior provides improved resistance to stretching/unwinding (see Jones2, Paragraphs [0019]-[0022] and [0032]), which is a known problem in soft embolic coils, and applying this known improvement to Purdy’s coil (which already has a proximal radiopaque marker band and stop means-based stop) would yield the predictable benefit of a more robust, stretch-resistant implant without compromising the traction detachment function. This combination results in the stretch resistant means extending into the interior of the coil means, with the stopper means preventing the stretch resistant means from withdrawing into the radiopaque marker band, as required by the claim (KSR v. Teleflex; MPEP 2143(A), (C) – combining known elements according to known methods to yield predictable results and applying a known technique to a known device for improvement).
Regarding claim 31, modified Purdy teaches, wherein the radiopaque marker band is comprised of a hypotube (Jones, Paragraphs [0016]-[0017]; hypotube (21) is explicitly used to form the headpiece at the proximal end of the coil) (It would have been obvious to use a hypotube for the radiopaque marker band in the modified Purdy device for the reasons given in claim 20 (hypotubes are a known, conventional proximal attachment structure in embolic coils for secure pusher interface and controlled detachment)).
Regarding claim 32, modified Purdy teaches, wherein the stretch resistant means is comprised of a tether (tether under the broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) is “a line to which someone or something is attached”, as such, guide wire (16) is indeed a “tether”. Further, stretch resistant member (26b) of Jones/Jones is also considered a “tether”).
Regarding claim 33, Purdy teaches, the stopper means (attachment point (20))
Purdy fails to teach, wherein the stopper means is comprised of a knot.
Fitz teaches, a stretch resistant means (Figure 4, tether (310)) comprising a stopper means (Figure 4, knot (316)), wherein the stopper means is comprised of a knot (knot (316) is explicitly used to tie tether (310) around the proximal end of the implant device (302) as seen in Figure 4) (Paragraph [0053]).
Jones teaches, aspects of the embolic coil device according to claim 20 (See above rejection of claim 20).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify the embolic coil device of Purdy to form the stopper means as a knot as taught by Fitz, as all the references and the claimed invention are directed to endovascular embolic coil devices. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the embolic coil device of Purdy to form the stopper means as a knot as taught by Fitz, as such a modification would have been predictable, namely, a knot is a simple, predictable, and commonly used way to create a reliable stopper means on a filamentary tether/stretch resistant means that cannot pass through the tubular lumen/radiopaque marker band (Paragraphs [0007] and [0053] of Fitz).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 07/08/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With regards to Applicant’s amendments to claims 17 and 29 and the accompanying arguments, they have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Applicant argues that none of the references, alone or in combination, teach or suggest a tether that (1) is connected to the distal end of the coiled wire, (2) extends through the interior of the coiled wire, and (3) extends through the interior of the tubular member (now radiopaque marker band).
This argument is not persuasive because the rejection relies on the combined teachings of the references, not on any single embodiment containing every feature. Purdy supplies the tether extending through the delivery catheter and proximal tubular member together with the enlargement that cannot enter the tubular lumen. Jones/Jones2 supply the stretch-resistant tether connected at its distal end to the distal end of the coiled wire and extending through the coil interior, including free-floating or axially movable enlargements. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have combined these known elements by known methods to convert Purdy’s temporary tether into a permanent stretch-resistant member for the predictable result of preventing unwanted stretching or unwinding while retaining Purdy’s proximal stop mechanism (KSR; MPEP 2143).
Further, Applicant’s characterization of Purdy - that the guide wire “forms the coil and thus cannot by definition extend through an interior of itself” - misstates the reference. Purdy’s endovascular device (18) is a separate coil attached to the distal end of the guide wire (16) at attachment point (20) (see Figures 1-2 and Col. 4, line 66-Col. 5, line 16 of Purdy). The guide wire does not form the coil.
Applicant further argues that Jones/Jones2 contain no single embodiment having all three features and that there is no rationale or motivation to combine the embodiments, nor would the combination be feasible or operable. These arguments are unpersuasive. Jones expressly incorporates Jones2 by reference, and different embodiments within the same (or incorporated) reference may be combined when the combination yields a predictable result (MPEP 2143.01). The prior Office Action and the rejection above supply an explicit motivation grounded in the known problem of coil stretching/unwinding and the predictable improvement obtained by adding distal anchoring and interior extension of a stretch-resistant member. The resulting structure is fully operable: a continuous tether passes through the proximal radiopaque marker band into the coil interior, is secured at the distal end of the coil, and carries an enlargement that remains freely movable along the coil interior until seated against the marker band under proximal tension.
In addition, Applicant’s assertion that Fitz fails to teach the combination is likewise unpersuasive. Fitz is properly cited for the limited teaching of radiopacity of a tubular member/marker (MPEP 2143).
Lastly, the amendments introducing “radiopaque marker band,” extension of the tether through an “entire length of each of” the delivery catheter, radiopaque marker band, and coiled wire, and free movability of the enlargement “along an entire length of the interior of the coiled wire” do not overcome the rejection. These features are taught by the combination as mapped above. Claims 17 and 29 remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103.
See updated rejections above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: US 2015/0196304 A1 is relevant because it discloses an embolic coil having a stretch-resistant fiber/tether that extends through the full length of the coil lumen, is distally anchored (via distal knot, sphere, peg, or tip), and includes a proximal enlargement (constraint sphere and knot) that is prevented from entering the coil lumen by a proximal bond or washer, thereby providing the same stretch-resistance stop function as the claimed enlargement abutting a proximal tubular member/marker band.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/O.N./Examiner, Art Unit 3771 /TAN-UYEN T HO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3771