DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “detection unit” and “correction unit” in claims 6 and 8. Examiner interprets them to correspond to a processor along with an algorithm needed to perform the functions of the detection and corrections units, which are described in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 US 20210190968 A1.
Regarding claims bellow D1 teaches
Claim 1, 6. (Original) An object detection system comprising:
an infrastructure sensor(30 ) mounted to an arm(32) extending from a stationary object fixed to a road surface or equipment[0032](street light pole),(fig. 1)
the arm being rotatable in a circumferential direction of the stationary object(fig. 2)+[0002]; and
an angle sensor(40) disposed at the arm(fig. 3)[0034]
the angle sensor being configured to detect a rotation angle of the arm, [0034]
wherein the infrastructure sensor(30) includes a detection unit configured to detect a position of an object present in a detection target area of the infrastructure sensor,([0033]) and
a correction unit configured to correct the position of the object detected by the detection unit, based on the rotation angle detected by the angle sensor.[0033-0034](tracking performed with calibrated parameters and hence correction was performed)
but does not teach
an angle sensor disposed at a place where the arm is connected to the stationary object,
Although D1 does not explicitly teach an angle sensor disposed at a place where the arm is connected to the stationary object it is just a matter of simple placement of the parts In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) MPEP 2144.04 VI (c).
Claim 4. (Currently Amended) The object detection system according to claim 1, wherein when the rotation angle detected by the angle sensor exceeds a first threshold, the correction unit outputs abnormality information [0036]
But does not explicitly teach
without correcting the position of the object.
Although D1 does not explicitly teach Due to the fact that fault information is transmitted calculating or not calculating unnecessary value is just a matter of Omission of an Element and Its Function Is Obvious if the Function of the Element Is Not Desired. In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975) MPEP 2144.04 II (a).
Claim 5. (Currently Amended) The object detection system according to claim 1, further comprising an inclination sensor(42) configured to detect an inclination angle of the stationary object relative to a reference direction, wherein when the inclination angle detected by the inclination sensor exceeds a second threshold, the correction unit outputs abnormality information[0036]
But does not explicitly teach
without correcting the position of the object.
Although D1 does not explicitly teach Due to the fact that fault information is transmitted calculating or not calculating unnecessary value is just a matter of Omission of an Element and Its Function Is Obvious if the Function of the Element Is Not Desired. In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975) MPEP 2144.04 II (a).
Claim(s) 7, 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 US 20210190968 A1 in view of D2 US 20030055561 A1 .
Regarding claims 7 and 8 D1 teaches
Claim 7. (Original) An object detection system comprising:
an infrastructure sensor mounted to an arm extending from a stationary object fixed to a road surface or equipment, the arm being rotatable in a circumferential direction of the stationary object; and(See rejection for claim 1)
the infrastructure sensor includes
a detection unit configured to detect a position of an object present in a detection target area of the infrastructure sensor, and(See rejection for claim 1)
a correction unit configured to correct the position of the object detected by the detection unit, based on a rotation angle of the arm relative to the stationary object, (See rejection for claim 1)
but does not explicitly teach
a gyro sensor configured to detect an angular velocity of the arm, wherein
the rotation angle being obtained based on the angular velocity detected by the gyro sensor.
D2 teaches alternative type of sensor to measure the rotation angle
a gyro sensor configured to detect an angular velocity of the arm, wherein
the rotation angle being obtained based on the angular velocity detected by the gyro sensor. [0050]
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the filing to modify invention by D1 with invention by D2 in order provide alternative well known instrument form measuring the angle especially in scenarios when the magnetic field is shielded or obscured.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 and 3 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the Examiner has not found any prior art that would render obvious the claim limitations directed to
“wherein the angle sensor includes:
a first member fixed to the stationary object; and
a second member fixed to the arm and configured to rotate in a circumferential direction of the first member in accordance with rotation of the arm, and
detects a rotation angle of the second member relative to the first member, thereby detecting the rotation angle of the arm relative to the stationary object”.
Conclusion
/HELENA H SERAYDARYAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3648C
/RESHA DESAI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3648