DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Claims 1-2 and 4-13 in the reply filed on September 3, 2025 is acknowledged. The election has been treated as an election without traverse because no statement was made indicating whether the election was made with or without traverse.
Claims 3 and 14-17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on September 3, 2025.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2 and 4-13 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11865789. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because US Pat. 11865789 teaches all the instantly claimed limitations.
Claim Objections
Claims 5, 8, and 12 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In Claim 5, Line 3, “secured to the generally planar member” should read “secured to one of the generally planar members”.
In Claim 5, Line 4, “to open and close the jaw” should read “to open and close the jaws” (jaws should be plural as previously recited).
In Claim 8, Line 4, “the holes and/or channels” should read “the at least one hole and/or channel”.
In Claim 12, Line 2-3, “the contacts surface” should read “the contact surfaces”(contact should be singular and surfaces should be plural).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claims 11 and 13, the terms "preferably" and “most preferably” render the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 4-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jacobs (WO2020243773 cited in IDS with references to related PGPub 2022/0219404 for ease of reference).
Regarding Claim 1, Jacobs teaches a material welder for welding portions of a material together (Abstract), including:
elongate top and bottom bar assemblies (Fig. 5) extending in a longitudinal direction and configured in overlying arrangement to define a welding zone between them (Fig. 1 and 5 showing each assembly extending in a longitudinal direction),
each of the top and bottom bar assemblies including a first and second heating element [0038] substantially in the same plane [0034],
the first and second heating elements being substantially adjacent one another (Fig. 1 and 5) such that when all the heating elements are heated, the welding process results in a weld that is substantially continuous in a transverse direction [0019]; and
an actuator device adapted to move the top bar assembly towards the bottom bar assembly and/or the bottom bar assembly towards the top bar assembly such that the first heating element of the top bar assembly aligns with the first heating element of the bottom bar assembly and the second heating element of the top bar assembly aligns with the second heating element of the bottom bar assembly [0008];
wherein the top and bottom bar assemblies each include:
a mounting underlying each of the first and second heating elements [0038], the mounting of each of the first and second heating elements being generally adjacent each other (Fig. 5);
a first layer of non-stick material disposed between a respective heating element and the mounting on which it is mounted, the first layer extending to a location between the adjacent mountings ([0027]- the weld bars may comprise non-stick materials);
a second layer of non-stick material extending over a respective heating element and to a location between the adjacent mounting elements ([0040]- the heating elements may be embedded into the non-stick coating); and
a third layer of non-stick material forming a cover which extends over the second layers of the heating elements and over sides of the mountings, the third layer forming a contact surface for contacting the material during the welding process ([0021]- the contact surface may be coated with a non-stick material).
Regarding Claim 2, Jacobs further teaches generally planar members positioned closely adjacent to either side of the bottom bar assembly [0065], each planar member being height adjustable so that, in use, an edge of each generally planar member which is proximal to the bottom bar assembly can be used to position respective portions of material [0065]; and
a clamp under one of the generally planar members, the clamp releasably engaging an end of a first portion of material to be welded to a second portion of material [0065].
Regarding Claim 4, Jacobs further teaches a height of the clamp is variable to allow the height of the first portion of material to be raised and sit generally parallel with the second portion of material ([0065]- discussing the clamp).
Regarding Claim 5, Jacobs further teaches the clamp includes upper and lower members forming jaws, the upper member being secured to the generally planar member and the lower member pivotable relative to the upper member to open and close the jaw ([0065]- discussing the clamp).
Regarding Claim 6, Jacobs further teaches the clamp is configured to accept a zip [0018] or a portion of material having a generally circular profile, formed by an internal core around which the material is wrapped [0065].
Regarding Claim 7, Jacobs further teaches the heating elements can be selectively activated to heat either the first heating elements or all the first and second heating elements [0053].
Regarding Claim 8, Jacobs further teaches at least one of the top and bottom bar assemblies further includes at least one hole and/or channel adapted such that fluid or air is circulated through the holes and/or channels and through a cooling device to cool the heating elements [0058].
Regarding Claim 9, Jacobs further teaches at least one tensioning mechanism is attached to each end of each of the heating elements and is adapted to pull the heating elements into a state of tension [0045].
Regarding Claim 10, Jacobs further teaches the actuator device is adapted to move the top bar assembly towards the bottom bar assembly [0028].
Regarding Claim 11, Jacobs further teaches the first and second heating elements are between about 5 to 20mm wide, preferably between about 8 to 16mm wide, most preferably about 10mm wide [0041].
Regarding Claim 12, Jacobs further teaches the contact surfaces of the top bar assembly and/or the contacts surface of the bottom bar assembly are substantially flat [0021].
Regarding Claim 13, Jacobs further teaches the contact surfaces of the top bar assembly and/or the contact surfaces of the bottom bar assembly are coated with a non-stick material, preferably polytetrafluoroethylene (Teflon), fluorinated ethylene propylene, or similar non-stick materials [0027].
Conclusion
/A.K./Examiner, Art Unit 1748 1/28/26
/Abbas Rashid/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1748