DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Receipt is acknowledged of a request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, including the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) and a submission, filed on 2 March 2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 2 March 2026, with respect to claims 17, 19, 22-34 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Objections
Claim 22 is objected to because of the following informalities: “with one or more of: a brake actuator, a steering actuator, or an actuator for highly automated driving” are disclosed. Claim 22 is dependent on claim 17 which states “include a steering actuator, a brake actuator, an actuator, sensor, a computer for highly automated driving, and a lighting unit.” It is believed that components from claim 22 are now already within claim 17, but it is not fully clear. These components would already be referenced from “at least one first actuator component” and “at least one second actuator component.’
Claim 23 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 3 it is stated “a second control device is mounted on the at least one support element.” Claim 23 is dependent on claim 17 and this limitation is already disclosed in claim 17, line 11 “at least one second control device is mounted on the at least one support element.”
Claim 24 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 2 it is stated “a second control device is mounted on the at least one support element.” Claim 24 is dependent on claim 17 and this limitation is already disclosed in claim 17, line 11 “at least one second control device is mounted on the at least one support element.”
Claim 25 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 3 it is stated “first energy storage device is mounted on the at least one support element.” Claim 25 is dependent on claim 17 and this limitation is already disclosed in claim 17, line 5, that “first energy storage device is mounted on the at least one support element.” Also, it is stated “the at least one support element is associated with at least one brake actuator.” It is believed that this would mean that either the “at least one first actuator component” or “at least one second actuator component” are specifically selected as a brake actuator. If this is the case, please use language similar to “wherein the at least one first actuator component and/or the at least one second actuator component is a brake actuator.” Further, “the at least one first control device” is also already mounted on the at least one support element.
Claim 26 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 2 it is stated “a second control device is mounted on the at least one support element.” Claim 26 is dependent on claim 17, by way of claim 25, and this limitation is already disclosed in claim 17, line 11 “at least one second control device is mounted on the at least one support element.” Also, it is stated “the at least one support element is associated with at least one steering actuator.” It is believed that this would mean that either the “at least one first actuator component” or “at least one second actuator component” are specifically selected as a brake actuator. If this is the case, please use language similar to “wherein the at least one first actuator component and/or the at least one second actuator component is a brake actuator” keeping in mind that one of these would be a brake actuator according to claim 25.
Claim 27 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 2 it is stated “the at least one steering actuator and at least one brake actuator are/is mounted on the support element.” Claim 27 is dependent on claim 23 which claims “the at least one steering actuator” so it is believed that this would mean that either the “at least one first actuator component” or “at least one second actuator component” are now a brake actuator and a steering actuator.
Claim 30 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 2 it is stated “a second control device.” Claim 30 is dependent on claim 17, by way of claim 19, and this limitation is already disclosed in claim 17, line 11 “at least one second control device.” Please also use the full term used for each element that was introduced in claim 17.
Please review all of the claims and correct any other issues to increase clarity and unify components across the dependent claims.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 28-29 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Removed, please delete.
Removed, please delete.
Removed, please delete.
Removed, please delete
Regarding claim 28, it is stated “the device” and its mounting configuration in line 2 and “at least one brake actuator” The device itself is comprised of components that are mounted at different locations and therefore it is unclear how it itself could be mounted in different locations. Further, it is believed that the “steering actuator” would mean that either the “at least one first actuator component” or “at least one second actuator component” are specifically selected a brake actuator, but it is unclear and this could be another component. Please address this issue.
Regarding claim 29, it is stated “the device” and its mounting configuration in line 2 and “at least one steering actuator” The device itself is comprised of components that are mounted at different locations and therefore it is unclear how it itself could be mounted in different locations. Further, it is believed that the “steering actuator” would mean that either the “at least one first actuator component” or “at least one second actuator component” are specifically selected a steering actuator, but it is unclear and this could be another component. Please address this issue.
Regarding claim 31, it is stated “the first and second energy storage device supplies electrical energy, pneumatic energy, and hydraulic energy.” It is unclear how the energy storage device supplies all three of these. Please clarify. Further, please keep the terms consistent throughout the claims when referring to various components.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17, 19, 22, 25 and 30-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2010/0243388 by Holzwarth in view of US 2023/0150465 by Wu et al. (Wu hereinafter).
Regarding claim 17, Holzwarth discloses a device for controlling and supplying energy to components in commercial vehicles [see at least Abstract; Figure 1], comprising: at least a first actuator component [see at least Figure 1, (BAE1)]; a first energy storage device [see at least Figure 1, (HVE)] is configured to supply energy to the at least one first actuator component [see at least Figure 1, (HVE); Figure 2, (HVE) to (BAE1)], wherein the at least one first actuator component and at least one first control device [see at least Figure 1, (SG1)], and the at least one first control device [see at least Figure 1, (SG1)] is configured to at least partly activate the at least one first actuator component [see at least paragraphs 0036, 0039-0040] at least one second control device [see at least Figure 1, (C1)], the at least one second control device is configured to at least partly activate the at least one first actuator component [see at least paragraph 0058, “The control units C1 and C2…which can be used to evaluate the voltages and/or currents present at the brake actuator units BAE1-BAE4” and “This produces at least two further switching paths for disconnecting a defective brake module BM1-BM4”] and at least one second actuator component [see at least Figure 1, (BAE2); [see at least paragraph 0058, “The control units C1 and C2…which can be used to evaluate the voltages and/or currents present at the brake actuator units BAE1-BAE4” and “This produces at least two further switching paths for disconnecting a defective brake module BM1-BM4”], the at least one first actuator component [see at least Figure 1, (BAE1)] and the at least one second actuator component [see at least Figure 1, (BAE2)] comprise safety-relevant consumer devices of the vehicle [see at least paragraph 0036, “brake actuator”] and the safety relevant consumer devices of the vehicle include a steering actuator, a brake actuator, an actuator, sensor, a computer for highly automated driving, and a lighting unit [see at least paragraph 0036, “brake actuator”].
Holzwarth shows location configurations for the components of the system throughout the vehicle [see at least Figure 1, (BM1), (BM2), (BM3), (BM4), (ECU), (HVE), (NVE1) and (NVE2)] each of which could be attached to a support element either together or individually, but fails to explicitly disclose the at least one support element and the at least one support element is not associated with the at least one second actuator. However, Wu discloses a mounting structure [see at least Figures 1-2; Abstract] in which a housing [see at least Figures 1-2, (100)] contains a brake system control module [see at least Figure 1, (400)] and an energy storage device [see at least Figure 1, (200)] with space for other components [see at least paragraph 0044, “alternatively, the saved space is usable for mounting other devices”].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention to modify the system of Holzwarth to use the mounting structure and housing of Wu for the various components in order to securely attach and keep the components from being impacted by environmental elements (rain, snow, dirt, etc.) at the locations associated with the various component shown in Holzwarth. Thus, providing physical protection from environmental elements and preventing corrosion, extending component life. Removed, please delete.
Regarding claim 19, Holzwarth in view of Wu teaches the device according to claim 17.
Holzwarth discloses wherein a second energy storage device [see at least Figure 1, (NVE1)], said second energy storage device being configured to supply energy to the at least one second actuator component [see at least Figure 1, (BAE2)].
Wu discloses a support element [see at least Figure 1, (100); Abstract].
Regarding claim 22, Holzwarth in view of Wu teaches the device according to claim 17.
Holzwarth discloses wherein the first and the second control device and the first and the second energy storage device are configured to communicate [see at least Figures 1 and 2, connections between all of the components] with one or more of: a brake actuator, a steering actuator, or an actuator for highly automated driving [see at least Figure 1, (BAE1)].
Regarding claim 25, Holzwarth in view of Wu teaches the device according to claim 17.
Holzwarth discloses wherein the at least one support element is associated with at least one brake actuator [see at least Figure 1, (BAE1) associated with (BM1)]; the first energy storage device [see at least Figure 1, (HVE)] is configured to supply energy to the at least one brake actuator [see at least paragraphs 0039-0040]; the at least one first control device is mounted on the at least one support element [see at least Figure 1, (SG1) associated with (BM1)] and is configured to activate the at least one brake actuator [see at least paragraphs 0037-0038].
Wu discloses a support element [see at least Figure 1, (100); Abstract].
Regarding claim 30, Holzwarth in view of Wu teaches the device according to claim 19.
Wu discloses wherein the support element comprises a housing [see at least Figure 1, (100)], and the first and/or a second control device and/or the first and/or a second energy storage device are/is mounted in or on the housing [see at least Figure 1, (200) and (400)].
Regarding claim 31, Holzwarth in view of Wu teaches the device according to claim 17.
Holzwarth discloses wherein the first and second energy storage device [see at least Figure 1, (NVE1)] supplies electrical energy, pneumatic energy, and hydraulic energy to the respective first and a second actuator component [see at least paragraph 0039].
Regarding claim 32, Holzwarth in view of Wu teaches a commercial vehicle [see at least paragraph 0002 of Holzwarth] comprising a device according to claim 17 [see at least Rejection of claim 17].
Regarding claim 33, Holzwarth in view of Wu teaches a method for controlling and supplying energy to components in commercial vehicles [see at least paragraph 0002 of Holzwarth] utilizing the device according to claim 17 [see at least Rejection of claim 17].
Regarding claim 34, Holzwarth in view of Wu teaches the device according to claim 17.
Wu disclose wherein the at least one support element comprises a housing [see at least Figure 1, (100)], the housing being a housing for the first energy storage device, and wherein the at least one first control device is additionally accommodated in the housing [see at least Figure 1, (200) and (400)].
Claims 23-24 and 26-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2010/0243388 by Holzwarth in view of US 2023/0150465 by Wu et al. (Wu hereinafter) in further view of US 2017/0028992 by Sautter.
Regarding claim 23, Holzwarth in view of Wu teaches the device according to claim 18.
Holzwarth discloses wherein the at least one support element is associated with at least one actuator [see at least Figure 1, (BAE1) associated with (BM1)], the first energy storage device [see at least Figure 1, (HVE)] is configured to supply energy to the at least one actuator [see at least paragraphs 0039-0040], and the at least one first control device is mounted on the at least one support element [see at least Figure 1, (SG1) associated with (BM1)] and is configured to activate the at least one actuator [see at least paragraphs 0037-0038].
Wu discloses a support element [see at least Figure 1, (100); Abstract].
Holzwarth in view of Wu fails to teach at least one steering actuator. However, Sautter discloses both brake actuators and steering actuators for use in a vehicle [see at least Abstract, “brake actuator” and “steering actuator”].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the Applicant's invention to allow the system of Holzwarth in view of Wu to have a redundant control of a steering actuator in a vehicle to as this is a common component that allows a user or controller the ability to easily turn the vehicle. Thus, allowing the vehicle to operate on roads in a safe and responsive manner.
Regarding claim 24, Holzwarth in view of Wu in further view of Sautter teaches the device according to claim 23.
Holzwarth discloses wherein a second control device [see at least Figure 1, (C1)], said second control device being configured to activate at least one brake actuator [see at least paragraph 0057], and/or a second energy storage device is mounted on the at least one support element, said second energy storage device being configured to supply energy to the at least one brake actuator [see at least paragraph 0040].
Wu discloses a support element [see at least Figure 1, (100); Abstract].
Sautter discloses the use of both brake and steering actuators [see at least Abstract].
Regarding claim 26, Holzwarth in view of Wu in further view of Sautter teaches the device according to claim 25.
Holzwarth discloses wherein a second control device [see at least Figure 1, (C1)], said second control device being configured to activate at least one actuator [see at least paragraph 0057], and/or a second energy storage device, said second energy storage device being configured to supply energy to the at least one actuator [see at least paragraph 0040].
Wu discloses a support element [see at least Figure 1, (100); Abstract].
Sautter discloses the use of both brake and steering actuators [see at least Abstract].
Regarding claim 27, Holzwarth in view of Wu in further view of Sautter teaches the device according to claim 23.
Wu discloses a support element [see at least Figure 1, (100); Abstract] with space for other devices [see at least paragraph 0044, “alternatively, the saved space is usable for mounting other devices”].
Sautter discloses wherein the at least one steering actuator and/or at least one brake actuator are/is mounted on the support element [see at least Abstract, “brake actuator” and “steering actuator”].
Regarding claim 28, Holzwarth in view of Wu in further view of Sautter teaches the device according to claim 23.
Holzwarth discloses location configurations for the components of the system throughout the vehicle [see at least Figure 1, (BM1), (BM2), (BM3), (BM4), (ECU), (HVE), (NVE1) and (NVE2)].
Wu discloses a support element [see at least Figure 1, (100); Abstract].
Sautter discloses wherein the device is configured to be mounted spatially in a vicinity of at least one brake actuator and of at least one steering actuator [see at least Abstract, “brake actuator” and “steering actuator”].
Regarding claim 29, Holzwarth in view of Wu in further view of Sautter teaches the device according to claim 23.
Holzwarth discloses location configurations for the components of the system throughout the vehicle [see at least Figure 1, (BM1), (BM2), (BM3), (BM4), (ECU), (HVE), (NVE1) and (NVE2)] including by a front or rear axle of a vehicle [see at least paragraphs 0017 and 0027, “by axle”].
Wu discloses a support element [see at least Figure 1, (100); Abstract].
Sautter discloses the use of both brake and steering actuators [see at least Abstract].
Conclusion
/JOEL BARNETT/Examiner, Art Unit 2849
/Menatoallah Youssef/SPE, Art Unit 2849