DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to amendment received on 12/20/2025.
Claims 1 – 3, 6 – 8, 11 – 13 and 16 – 18 are presented for examination.
Claims 4 – 5, 9 – 10 and 14 – 15 have been canceled by the applicant.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/20/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s argument that “Applicant submits that Sugitani does not show, teach or suggest that a seal of a rolling bearing is a transmitter having the structure recited in respective independent claims 1 and 11.”. Examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant’s argument because there is no such limitation in the claim that transmitter is a seal of a rolling bearing. Applicant must recite the argued features in the claim if applicant wishes these features to be given patentable weight.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 3, 6 – 8, 11 - 13 and 16 - 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sugitani (6,147,487).
As to claim 1, Sugitani discloses a magnetic rotation detector for detecting characteristic of a rotary member comprising a device for contactlessly detecting rotational (Col. 1, lines 8 - 11) or linear movements, the device comprising a stationary magnetoresistive sensor (30), (Col. 1, lines 43 - 44) and a transmitter (10), wherein the transmitter has sections which are alternatingly inversely magnetized along a trajectory (in the circumferential direction) extending in a first spatial direction, and magnetic poles of said sections opposing each other in a second spatial direction (the axial spatial direction) orthogonal to the first spatial direction (Fig. 22B), wherein the sensor is spaced from the transmitter by a gap in the second spatial direction (Fig. 21B), and the sections of the transmitter have an extent in a third spatial direction (the radial spatial direction) orthogonal to the first and second spatial directions, wherein the sections of the transmitter are magnetized over a length in the third spatial direction that is shorter than their extent in the third spatial direction, and transmitter is a seal (magnetic rotary element 10 is mounted on to a cylindrical rotor 53) (Fig. 30[A]-[C] show magnetized elements 10 which are shorter in the radial direction than the cast element 11 in which they are embedded; Col. 15, lines 46 - 55).
As to claim 11, Sugitani discloses a magnetic rotation detector for detecting characteristic of a rotary member comprising a transmitter (10) configured as a seal on a component (53) of the rolling bearing the transmitter having sections, the sections: being alternatingly inversely magnetized along a trajectory extending in a first spatial direction (in the circumferential direction); comprising respective magnetic poles that oppose each other in a second spatial direction (the axial spatial direction), orthogonal to the first spatial direction (Fig. 21B); and comprising an extent in a third spatial direction (the radial spatial direction) orthogonal to the first spatial direction and to the second spatial direction, the sections being magnetized over a length in the third spatial direction that is less than the extent; and a magnetoresistive sensor (30) spaced from the transmitter (10) by a gap in the second spatial direction, the magnetoresistive sensor being stationary (Fig. 30[A]-[C] show magnetized elements 10 which are shorter in the radial direction than the cast element 11 in which they are embedded; Col. 15, lines 46 - 55).
As to claims 2 and 12, Sugitani discloses that the first spatial direction is a circumferential direction (in the circumferential direction), the second spatial direction (the axial spatial direction) is an axial direction and the third spatial direction is a radial direction (the radial spatial direction) of a cylindrical coordinate system (Fig. 30(A)-(C)).
As to claims 3 and 13, Sugitani discloses that the first spatial direction is an X- direction (in the circumferential direction), the second spatial direction is a Z- direction (the axial spatial direction) and the third spatial direction is a Y- direction (the radial spatial direction) of a Cartesian coordinate system (Fig. 30(A)-(C)).
As to claims 6 and 16, Sugitani discloses the transmitter (10) is arranged on a surface of the rolling bearing, the surface normal of which points in an axial direction [Col. 10, lines 7 - 16].
As to claims 7 and 17, Sugitani discloses that the transmitter (10) is made from an elastomer (Col. 22, lines 31 - 33).
As to claims 8 and 18, Sugitani discloses that the magnetoresistive region (10, 30) of the sensor (Col. 1, lines 43 - 44) is arranged in the third spatial direction (the radial spatial direction) centrally or immediately adjacent to the center (L1) of the magnetized length of the sections of the transmitter (Fig. 21(A), 21(B)).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/REENA AURORA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858