DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I, claims 1-12, in the reply filed on 12/12/2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 13-15 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 1/4/2024 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. Applicant did not provide original copies of cited documents CN107351474A and KR1504434B1. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered with respect to these references.
The information disclosure statement filed 7/13/2026 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. Applicant did not provide original copies of the cited foreign patent documents. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered with respect to these references.
Claim Objections
Claims 4 and 5 are objected to under 37 CFR 1.75(c) as being in improper form because a multiple dependent claim should refer to other claims in the alternative only and cannot depend from any other multiple dependent claim. See MPEP § 608.01(n). Accordingly, the claims have not been further treated on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 6-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al, US2019/0352439.
Xu discloses a linear low density polyethylene (LLDPE) (¶0013, 0015) characterized by a density in the range of 0.890 to 0.935 g/cm3 (¶0016), overlapping the claimed range (for claim 1); a melt index (I2) in the range of 0.5 to 10 dg/min (i.e., 0.5 to 10 g/10 min), overlapping the claimed range (for claim 1) (¶0017); a ratio Mw/Mn in the range of 2.5 to 80 (¶0098), overlapping the claimed range (for claims 1, 6); a ratio Mz/Mw in the range of 3.0 to 10 (¶0019), overlapping the claimed range (for claims 1, 7).
Regarding the claimed molecular weight comonomer distribution index: Xu teaches that the prior art polymer has a reversed comonomer distribution index (abstract)-i.e., the high molecular weight fraction has a greater amount of comonomer. This corresponds to a comonomer distribution index that is less than zero, overlapping the claimed range (for claim 1).
Regarding the claimed storage modulus: Xu further teaches that the prior art LLDPE has a ratio of storage modulus to loss modulus in the range of 0.1 to 5 (¶0022); based on this teaching it is calculated that the prior art LLDPE has a storage modulus in the range of 100 to 5000 Pa when the loss modulus is 1000 Pa, overlapping the claimed range (for claims 1, 8).
Regarding claim 3: Xu specifically teaches that the prior art LLDPE may be an ethylene/1-butene copolymer (¶0094).
Regarding claim 11: The prior art polymer is a Ziegler Natta catalyzed polymer (abstract) which may be prepared via gas phase polymerization (¶0088).
Xu does not specifically exemplify the production of a LLDPE which simultaneously meets all of claimed properties (a) to (f).
It has been held that in the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed in the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists; see In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages; see In re Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382 (" (MPEP § 2144.05).
Xu discloses the production of a LLDPE, wherein said LLDPE is characterized by density, I2, Mw/Mn, Mz/Mw, comonomer distribution index, and storage modulus that overlap the claimed ranges. Barring a showing of evidence demonstrating unexpected results, it therefore would have been obvious before the effective filing date to one of ordinary skill in the art to prepare a LLDPE having the claimed properties in view of the teachings of Xu.
Regarding the claimed properties of short chain branching (for claim 2), elastic modulus (for claim 9), ratio of tan δ at 0.1 rad/sec to tan δ at 100 rad/sec (for claim 10): “[T]he PTO can require an applicant to prove that the prior art products do not necessarily or inherently possess the characteristics of his [or her] claimed product. Whether the rejection is based on inherency under 35 U.S.C. 102, on prima facie obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103, jointly or alternatively, the burden of proof is the same…" as that required with respect to product-by-process claims. In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 70, 205 USPQ 594, 596 (CCPA 1980) (MPEP § 2112).
As discussed above, the prior art renders obvious a LLDPE which has the same properties of density, I2, Mw/Mn, Mz/Mw, comonomer distribution index, and storage modulus as the claimed invention. Furthermore, the prior art LLDPE is made via a similar method of gas phase polymerization using a Ziegler Natta catalyst. As the prior art LLDPE appears to be identical to the claimed invention, it is reasonably expected that its properties would not be materially different from those of the claimed LLDPE. The burden is therefore shifted to the applicant to provide evidence that the properties used to define the claimed LLDPE would not be present in the LLDPE disclosed by Xu.
Regarding claim 12: "[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (MPEP § 2113). As discussed in the previous paragraphs, the prior art renders obvious a LLDPE which has the same properties as the claimed LLDPE and is made via a similar process of gas phase polymerization as the claimed LLDPE. As the prior art LLDPE appears to be the same as the claimed LLDPE, the burden is shifted to applicant to provide evidence that the claimed use of a catalyst comprising a tetrahydrofuran/ethanol modifier results in a nonobvious difference between the claimed invention and the prior art.
Conclusion
/JEFFREY S LENIHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1765