DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the thread of grinding wheel” should be “the thread of the grinding wheel”, for clarity.
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the:
“a dressing portion that is relatively movable in a first direction orthogonal to a grinding wheel rotation axis” and “a tool swivel assembly to turn the dressing tool around a tool turning axis orthogonal to the tool rotation axis and the first direction” of claim 9;
“at the distal end, a first dressing portion and a second dressing portion located at a distance from the first dressing portion in a direction in which the tool rotation axis extends” of claims 15-17 and the “pair of dressing surfaces” which are also located “at a distal end” of claim 9;
“a length in a direction in which the grinding wheel rotation axis extends when the grinding wheel rotates a predetermined number of times” of claims 18-20;
“in the cross section including the grinding wheel rotation axis, in the second portion” of claim 11,
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites: “a dressing portion that is relatively movable in a first direction orthogonal to a grinding wheel rotation axis” and “a tool swivel assembly to turn the dressing tool around a tool turning axis orthogonal to the tool rotation axis and the first direction”
The specification in paragraph [0032] discloses the “first direction” as belonging to the “grinding wheel support 41”, which is not the “dressing portion 50”, as claimed. Furthermore, it is unclear which “first direction” of the dressing portion is orthogonal to the “tool turning axis” of the “tool swivel assembly”. For examination purposes, and consistent with the specification, the limitation regarding the “first direction” pertains to a movement axis (“D1”) of the grinding tool (“T”).
Claim 10 recites: “wherein in a case where one tooth of a gear is ground”. As claimed, the language of “in a case” suggests the limitations are not specifically required.
Claims 12-14 recite: “wherein the dressing tool includes one dressing portion at the distal end”. Claim 9 recites: “wherein the dressing portion includes: a disk-shaped dressing tool”. Both claim limitations are including each other, and therefore, unclear. Additionally, claim 9 also has the pair of dressing surfaces at the distal end. For examination purposes, and consistent with claim 9, the limitation of “wherein the dressing tool includes one dressing portion at the distal end,” has been construed as “wherein the dressing portion includes the pair of dressing surfaces at the distal end”.
Claims 15-17 recite: “wherein the dressing tool includes, at the distal end, a first dressing portion and a second dressing portion located at a distance from the first dressing portion”. As claimed, it is unclear how both the first and second dressing portion are located at a distance from the first dressing portion. It is unclear what is required by the claims.
Claims 15-17 recite: “wherein the dressing tool includes, at the distal end, a first dressing portion and a second dressing portion located at a distance from the first dressing portion in a direction in which the tool rotation axis extends; and
the dressing surface defined in the first dressing portion and the dressing surface defined in the second dressing portion oppose each other in the direction in which the tool rotation axis extends.”. Claim 9 recites: “a disk-shaped dressing tool… and includes, at a distal end, a pair of dressing surfaces”. For examination purposes, and consistent with claim 9, the limitation of “wherein the dressing tool includes, at the distal end, a first dressing portion and a second dressing portion” has been construed as “wherein the dressing portion includes, at the distal end, the pair of dressing surfaces”.
Claims 24-28 have been interpreted as independent method claims including the previous independent and dependent apparatus claims written in short-hand and not depending on depending directly to the recited numbered claim.
Claims 10, 18, 19, and 20 recite: “thread of the grinding wheel in a spiral shape”. Claim 9 recites: “the thread of grinding wheel spirally continuous”. As claimed, it is unclear if the recited limitations are the same or a different feature. For examination purposes, the limitations have been construed as the same.
Claims 21-28 recite: “a grinding wheel”. “A grinding wheel” is introduced in claim 9, and it is unclear whether the recited “a grinding wheel” of claims 21-28 are the same or different. For examination purposes, the limitations of “a grinding wheel” of claims 21-28 have been construed as “the grinding wheel”, the same grinding wheel introduced in claim 9.
Claim 22, which depends on claim 10, recites: ”a workpiece serving as a gear”. Claim 10 introduces “a gear”, and as claimed, it is unclear if it’s referring to the same gear or an entirely different gear. For examination purposes, both gears have been construed as the same.
Claims 23-28 recite: “an angle of the pair of dressing surfaces”. Claim 9 recites: “an angle of the pair of dressing surfaces”. Therefore, as claimed, it is unclear whether the angle recited in claims 23-28 is the same or different angle than claim 9’s recited angle. For examination purposes, the recited angles of claims 23-28 has been construed as the angle introduced in claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 9, 12, 15, 21, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yanase US 20070202774 A1.
Referring to Claim 9: Yanase discloses a dressing device (4 and 10 Fig. 1) comprising: a dressing portion (10 Fig. 1) that is relatively movable in a first direction (112(b)) first direction of 2, in “X” direction shown in Fig. 1. Which is orthogonal to the movements of dressing portion 10) orthogonal to a grinding wheel rotation axis (3a Fig. 2(c)) and is capable of dressing a thread of grinding wheel (threads of 3 Fig. 2(c); “threaded grinding wheel 3” [0083]), with respect to a grinding wheel (3 Figs. 1, 2(c), and 5(a)) including the thread of grinding wheel spirally continuous (“The threaded grinding wheel 3 of an annular shape has a rack tooth (a thread formed in a spiral shape) on the outer peripheral surface thereof” [0083]) around the grinding wheel rotation axis (3a Fig. 2(c)); and
a controller (20; “The timing of dressing of the threaded grinding wheel 3 by the rotary dressing device 10 is determined in the following manner: Before grinding is performed, the number of the works W to be ground continuously by the threaded grinding wheel 3 is set beforehand, as a predetermined set number, in the NC device 20” [0105]) configured or programmed to control an operation of the dressing portion;
wherein the dressing portion (10 Fig. 1) includes:
a disk-shaped dressing tool (10a and 10b Figs. 2(a-c)) that is rotationally drivable around a tool rotation axis (10c Figs. 2(a-c)) extending along the grinding wheel rotation axis (3a Fig. 2(c)) and includes, at a distal end (distal end of 10 Fig. 1), a pair of dressing surfaces (surfaces of 10a and 10b Figs. 2(a-c)) capable of dressing with respect to two grinding surfaces (two griding surfaces of 3 shown in Fig. 5(a)) that are surfaces defining the thread of grinding wheel (threads of 3 Fig. 2(c); “threaded grinding wheel 3” [0083]) and adjacent in a groove width direction (groove of 3 between peaks shown in Fig. 5(a)); and
a tool swivel assembly (6 Figs. 1, 2(a-c), and 3) to turn the dressing tool (10a and 10b Figs. 2(a-c)) around a tool turning axis (tool turning axis of “O” shown in Fig. 2(a)) orthogonal to the tool rotation axis (10c Figs. 2(a-c)) and the first direction (X direction of 2 shown in Fig. 1); and
the controller (20; “an NC device for NC-controlling movement of the moving mechanism in order to control a position of the threaded grinding wheel mounted on the moving mechanism; and a rotary dressing device having a disk-shaped dressing tool” [0036-0037]; “the NC device controls the rotation of the threaded grinding wheel” [0043]) is configured or programmed to rotate the grinding wheel around the grinding wheel rotation axis (3a Fig. 2(c)) and rotate the dressing tool around the tool rotation axis (10c Figs. 2(a-c)) to dress the two grinding surfaces (two griding surfaces of 3 shown in Fig. 5(a)) adjacent in the groove width direction (groove of 3 between peaks shown in Fig. 5(a)) with the pair of dressing surfaces (surfaces of 10a and 10b Figs. 2(a-c)), and turn the dressing tool (10a and 10b Figs. 2(a-c)) around the tool turning axis (tool turning axis of “O” shown in Fig. 2(a)) by the tool swivel assembly (6 Figs. 1, 2(a-c), and 3) to change an angle (angle of 6 shown in Figs. 2(a-c)) of the pair of dressing surfaces (surfaces of 10a and 10b Figs. 2(a-c)) with respect to the two grinding surfaces (two griding surfaces of 3 shown in Fig. 5(a)).
Referring to Claim 12: Yanase discloses the dressing device according to claim 9, wherein the dressing tool (10a and 10b Figs. 2(a-c)) includes one dressing portion (112(b)) at the distal end, and the pair of dressing surfaces (surfaces of 10a and 10b Figs. 2(a-c)) are provided on side surfaces (shown in Figs. 2(a-c)) of the dressing portion (10 Fig. 1) and opposing opposite sides in a direction (shown in Figs. 2(a-c)) in which the tool rotation axis (10c Figs. 2(a-c)) extends.
Referring to Claim 15: Yanase discloses the dressing device according to claim 9, wherein the dressing tool includes, at the distal end, a first dressing portion and a second dressing portion (surfaces of 10a and 10b Figs. 2(a-c)) located at a distance from the first dressing portion (112(b)) in a direction in which the tool rotation axis extends; and
the dressing surface defined in the first dressing portion and the dressing surface defined in the second dressing portion (surfaces of 10a and 10b Figs. 2(a-c)) oppose each other (shown in Figs. 2(a-c)) in the direction in which the tool rotation axis (10c Figs. 2(a-c)) extends.
Referring to Claim 21: Yanase discloses a gear grinding machine (shown in Fig. 1) comprising: a workpiece table (1 Fig. 1) to rotatably support a workpiece (workpiece of W, W1, and W2 Figs. 2(a-c)) serving as
a gear (W, W1, and W2 Figs. 2(a-c));
a grinding wheel (3 Figs. 1, 2(c) to grind the workpiece;
a grinding wheel support (14 Fig. 1) to rotationally drive (“The grinding spindle 14 rotates about a grinding wheel axis 3a, thereby enabling the work W to be ground by the threaded grinding wheel 3.” [0096]) the grinding wheel (3 Figs. 1, 2(c) around the grinding wheel rotation axis (3a Fig. 2(c)); and the dressing device (4 and 10 Fig. 1) according to claim 9.
Referring to Claim 23: Yanase discloses a dressing method for a grinding wheel (3 Figs. 1, 2(c)) in the dressing device (4 and 10 Fig. 1) according to claim 9, the dressing method comprising the steps of:
rotating the grinding wheel (3 Figs. 1, 2(c)) around the grinding wheel rotation axis (3a Fig. 2(c)); rotationally driving the dressing tool (10a and 10b Figs. 2(a-c)) around the tool rotation axis (10c Figs. 2(a-c)); and
dressing the two grinding surfaces (two griding surfaces of 3 shown in Fig. 5(a)) adjacent in the groove width direction with the pair of dressing surfaces (surfaces of 10a and 10b Figs. 2(a-c)), and turning the dressing tool (10a and 10b Figs. 2(a-c)) around the tool turning axis by the tool swivel assembly (tool turning axis of “O” shown in Fig. 2(a)) to change an angle (angle of 6 shown in Figs. 2(a-c)) of the pair of dressing surfaces (surfaces of 10a and 10b Figs. 2(a-c)) with respect to the two grinding surfaces (two griding surfaces of 3 shown in Fig. 5(a)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10, 11, 13, 14, 16-20, 22, and 24-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yanase (US 20070202774 A1) and Wuerfel (US 20170008148 A1).
Referring to Claim 10: Yanase discloses the dressing device according to claim 9, wherein in a case where one tooth of a gear (W, W1, and W2 Figs. 2(a-c)) is ground, the thread of grinding wheel in a spiral shape (“which is formed spirally on the circumferential surface of the threaded grinding wheel 3, is progressively changed (gradually increased or gradually decreased) along a spiral path beginning at the starting point of the thread toward the end point of the thread” [0114]) includes a first portion that is in contact with a first end on one side of the tooth in a tooth trace direction of the tooth and a second portion that is in contact with a second end on another side of the tooth in the tooth trace direction (“the starting point of the thread of the threaded grinding wheel contacts the tooth flank of the work on the one end side along the tooth trace direction of the work, while the end point of the thread of the threaded grinding wheel contacts the tooth flank of the work on the other end side along the tooth trace direction of the work” [0063]).
But is silent on when performing dressing, the controller is configured or programmed to specifically turn the dressing tool as specifically approaching the second portion from the first portion.
Wuerfel in an analogous dressing device (204 Fig. 4) and teaches when performing dressing with the similar configuration grinding wheel (26’ Figs. 16A and 16B and see Figs. 22 and 36B; “gear cutting machine has the axes of movement A1, B1, V1, X1, Z1 for moving the tool holder C2, for moving the workpiece holder and B3, C5 for moving the dresser” [0202]), the controller (“Control unit 220 receives signals from the various sensors 240 and employs the various actuators 260 to adjust operation of the gear cutting machine” [0201]) is configured or programmed to specifically turn the similar configuration dressing tool (20’ Figs. 16A and 16B; “C5 allows a pivot movement of the dressing tool to change the pressure angle α at the tool” [0203]) as specifically approaching the similar configuration second portion from the first portion (similar configuration first and second portions of 24’ and 25’ shown in Figs. 16A and 16B).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the dressing device of Yanase for purpose of having an alternate configuration for adjusting the relative angle between the dressing portion and the grinding wheel, and since it has been held that a mere reversal of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art.
Referring to Claim 11: Yanase as modified teaches the dressing device according to claim 10, wherein in a cross section (cross section of 3 Figs. 1, 2(c) of Yanase) including the grinding wheel rotation axis (axis of 26’ Figs. 16A and 16B and see Fig. 36B of Wuerfel; 3a Fig. 2(c) of Yanase), in the first portion (similar configuration first and second portions of 24’ and 25’ Figs. 16A and 16B of Wuerfel);
the controller (“Control unit 220 receives signals from the various sensors 240 and employs the various actuators 260 to adjust operation of the gear cutting machine” [0201] of Wuerfel) is configured or programmed to incline the dressing tool (See Fig. 22; C5 for moving the dresser” [0202] of Wuerfel) such that the distal end (distal end of 20’ Figs. 16A and 16B of Wuerfel) is located on a first side (first side of 25’ in the groove shown in Figs. 16A and 16B of Wuerfel) in the groove width direction (groove of 3 between peaks shown in Fig. 5(a) of Yanase; groove width direction of 23’ Figs. 16A and 16B of Wuerfel) with respect to a groove central axis (groove central axis at the center of 23’ Figs. 16A and 16B of Wuerfel) located in a middle of the thread of grinding wheel (26’ Figs. 16A and 16B and see Fig. 22 of Wuerfel) in the groove width direction; and
in the cross section including the grinding wheel rotation axis, in the second portion (similar configuration second portion shown in Figs. 16A and 16B of Wuerfel), the controller (“Control unit 220” [0201]; See Fig. 22; C5 for moving the dresser” [0202] of Wuerfel) is configured or programmed to incline the dressing tool such that the distal end is located on a second side (side of 26’ Figs. 16A and 16B of Wuerfel) in the groove width direction with respect to the groove central axis.
Referring to Claim 13: Yanase as modified teaches the dressing device according to claim 10, wherein the dressing tool (10a and 10b Figs. 2(a-c)) includes one dressing portion (112(b)) at the distal end, and the pair of dressing surfaces (surfaces of 10a and 10b Figs. 2(a-c)) are provided on side surfaces (shown in Figs. 2(a-c)) of the dressing portion (10 Fig. 1) and opposing opposite sides in a direction (shown in Figs. 2(a-c)) in which the tool rotation axis (10c Figs. 2(a-c)) extends.
Referring to Claim 14: Yanase as modified teaches the dressing device according to claim 11, wherein the dressing tool (10a and 10b Figs. 2(a-c)) includes one dressing portion (112(b)) at the distal end, and the pair of dressing surfaces (surfaces of 10a and 10b Figs. 2(a-c)) are provided on side surfaces (shown in Figs. 2(a-c)) of the dressing portion (10 Fig. 1) and opposing opposite sides in a direction (shown in Figs. 2(a-c)) in which the tool rotation axis (10c Figs. 2(a-c)) extends.
Referring to Claim 16: Yanase as modified teaches the dressing device according to claim 10, wherein the dressing tool includes, at the distal end, a first dressing portion and a second dressing portion (surfaces of 10a and 10b Figs. 2(a-c)) located at a distance from the first dressing portion (112(b)) in a direction in which the tool rotation axis extends; and
the dressing surface defined in the first dressing portion and the dressing surface defined in the second dressing portion (surfaces of 10a and 10b Figs. 2(a-c)) oppose each other (shown in Figs. 2(a-c)) in the direction in which the tool rotation axis (10c Figs. 2(a-c)) extends.
Referring to Claim 17: Yanase as modified teaches the dressing device according to claim 11, wherein the dressing tool includes, at the distal end, a first dressing portion and a second dressing portion (surfaces of 10a and 10b Figs. 2(a-c)) located at a distance from the first dressing portion (112(b)) in a direction in which the tool rotation axis extends; and
the dressing surface defined in the first dressing portion and the dressing surface defined in the second dressing portion (surfaces of 10a and 10b Figs. 2(a-c)) oppose each other (shown in Figs. 2(a-c)) in the direction in which the tool rotation axis (10c Figs. 2(a-c)) extends.
Referring to Claim 18: Yanase discloses the dressing device according to claim 9, wherein the thread of the grinding wheel in a spiral shape has a non-uniform lead dimension (“which is formed spirally on the circumferential surface of the threaded grinding wheel 3, is progressively changed (gradually increased or gradually decreased) along a spiral path beginning at the starting point of the thread toward the end point of the thread” [0114]) that is a length (length of 3) in a direction in which the grinding wheel rotation axis (3a Fig. 2(c)) extends when the grinding wheel rotates a predetermined number of times (“is progressively changed (gradually increased or gradually decreased)” [0114]); and
when performing dressing, the controller (20; “an NC device for NC-controlling movement of the moving mechanism in order to control a position of the threaded grinding wheel mounted on the moving mechanism; and a rotary dressing device having a disk-shaped dressing tool” [0036-0037]) is configured or programmed to adjust a turning amount to make the turning amount be corresponding to a change amount of the lead dimension (“with the dressing tools 10a, 10b kept in contact with the thread of the threaded grinding wheel 3 in the above-mentioned manner, the threaded grinding wheel 3 is moved in the Y-direction in synchronism with the rotation of the threaded grinding wheel 3. Concretely, during one rotation of the threaded grinding wheel 3, the threaded grinding wheel 3 is moved in the Y-direction by a distance corresponding to the lead of the spiral thread” [0120]).
But is silent on the turning amount is specifically of the dressing tool.
Wuerfel in an analogous dressing device (204 Fig. 4) and teaches adjusting the turning amount of specifically the similar configuration dressing tool (“C5 allows a pivot movement of the dressing tool to change the pressure angle α at the tool” [0203]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the dressing device of Yanase for purpose of having an alternate configuration for adjusting the relative angle between the dressing portion and the grinding wheel, and since it has been held that a mere reversal of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art.
Referring to Claim 19: Yanase as modified teaches the dressing device according to claim 10, wherein the thread of the grinding wheel in a spiral shape has a non-uniform lead dimension (“which is formed spirally on the circumferential surface of the threaded grinding wheel 3, is progressively changed (gradually increased or gradually decreased) along a spiral path beginning at the starting point of the thread toward the end point of the thread” [0114]) that is a length (length of 3) in a direction in which the grinding wheel rotation axis (3a Fig. 2(c)) extends when the grinding wheel rotates a predetermined number of times (“is progressively changed (gradually increased or gradually decreased)” [0114]); and
when performing dressing, the controller (20; “an NC device for NC-controlling movement of the moving mechanism in order to control a position of the threaded grinding wheel mounted on the moving mechanism; and a rotary dressing device having a disk-shaped dressing tool” [0036-0037]) is configured or programmed to adjust a turning amount of the dressing tool (“C5 allows a pivot movement of the dressing tool to change the pressure angle α at the tool” [0203] of Wuerfel) to make the turning amount be corresponding to a change amount of the lead dimension (“with the dressing tools 10a, 10b kept in contact with the thread of the threaded grinding wheel 3 in the above-mentioned manner, the threaded grinding wheel 3 is moved in the Y-direction in synchronism with the rotation of the threaded grinding wheel 3. Concretely, during one rotation of the threaded grinding wheel 3, the threaded grinding wheel 3 is moved in the Y-direction by a distance corresponding to the lead of the spiral thread” [0120]).
Referring to Claim 20: Yanase as modified teaches the dressing device according to claim 11, wherein the thread of the grinding wheel in a spiral shape has a non-uniform lead dimension (“which is formed spirally on the circumferential surface of the threaded grinding wheel 3, is progressively changed (gradually increased or gradually decreased) along a spiral path beginning at the starting point of the thread toward the end point of the thread” [0114]) that is a length (length of 3) in a direction in which the grinding wheel rotation axis (3a Fig. 2(c)) extends when the grinding wheel rotates a predetermined number of times (“is progressively changed (gradually increased or gradually decreased)” [0114]); and
when performing dressing, the controller (20; “an NC device for NC-controlling movement of the moving mechanism in order to control a position of the threaded grinding wheel mounted on the moving mechanism; and a rotary dressing device having a disk-shaped dressing tool” [0036-0037]) is configured or programmed to adjust a turning amount of the dressing tool (“C5 allows a pivot movement of the dressing tool to change the pressure angle α at the tool” [0203] of Wuerfel) to make the turning amount be corresponding to a change amount of the lead dimension (“with the dressing tools 10a, 10b kept in contact with the thread of the threaded grinding wheel 3 in the above-mentioned manner, the threaded grinding wheel 3 is moved in the Y-direction in synchronism with the rotation of the threaded grinding wheel 3. Concretely, during one rotation of the threaded grinding wheel 3, the threaded grinding wheel 3 is moved in the Y-direction by a distance corresponding to the lead of the spiral thread” [0120]).
Referring to Claim 22: Yanase as modified teaches a gear grinding machine comprising:
a workpiece table (1 Fig. 1) to rotatably support a workpiece (workpiece of W, W1, and W2 Figs. 2(a-c)) serving as
a gear (W, W1, and W2 Figs. 2(a-c)); a grinding wheel (3 Figs. 1, 2(c)) to grind the workpiece;
a grinding wheel support (14 Fig. 1) to rotationally drive (“The grinding spindle 14 rotates about a grinding wheel axis 3a, thereby enabling the work W to be ground by the threaded grinding wheel 3.” [0096]) the grinding wheel (3 Figs. 1, 2(c)) around the grinding wheel rotation axis (3a Fig. 2(c)); and the dressing device (4 and 10 Fig. 1) according to claim 10.
Referring to Claim 24: Yanase as modified teaches a dressing method for a grinding wheel (3 Figs. 1, 2(c)) in the dressing device (4 and 10 Fig. 1) according to claim 10, the dressing method comprising the steps of:
rotating the grinding wheel (3 Figs. 1, 2(c)) around the grinding wheel rotation axis (3a Fig. 2(c)); rotationally driving the dressing tool (10a and 10b Figs. 2(a-c)) around the tool rotation axis (10c Figs. 2(a-c)); and
dressing the two grinding surfaces (two griding surfaces of 3 shown in Fig. 5(a)) adjacent in the groove width direction with the pair of dressing surfaces (surfaces of 10a and 10b Figs. 2(a-c)), and turning the dressing tool (10a and 10b Figs. 2(a-c)) around the tool turning axis by the tool swivel assembly (tool turning axis of “O” shown in Fig. 2(a)) to change an angle (angle of 6 shown in Figs. 2(a-c)) of the pair of dressing surfaces (surfaces of 10a and 10b Figs. 2(a-c)) with respect to the two grinding surfaces (two griding surfaces of 3 shown in Fig. 5(a)).
Referring to Claim 25: Yanase as modified teaches a dressing method for a grinding wheel (3 Figs. 1, 2(c)) in the dressing device (4 and 10 Fig. 1) according to claim 11, the dressing method comprising the steps of:
rotating the grinding wheel (3 Figs. 1, 2(c)) around the grinding wheel rotation axis (3a Fig. 2(c)); rotationally driving the dressing tool (10a and 10b Figs. 2(a-c)) around the tool rotation axis (10c Figs. 2(a-c)); and
dressing the two grinding surfaces (two griding surfaces of 3 shown in Fig. 5(a)) adjacent in the groove width direction with the pair of dressing surfaces (surfaces of 10a and 10b Figs. 2(a-c)), and turning the dressing tool (10a and 10b Figs. 2(a-c)) around the tool turning axis by the tool swivel assembly (tool turning axis of “O” shown in Fig. 2(a)) to change an angle (angle of 6 shown in Figs. 2(a-c)) of the pair of dressing surfaces (surfaces of 10a and 10b Figs. 2(a-c)) with respect to the two grinding surfaces (two griding surfaces of 3 shown in Fig. 5(a)).
Referring to Claim 26: Yanase as modified teaches a dressing method for a grinding wheel (3 Figs. 1, 2(c)) in the dressing device (4 and 10 Fig. 1) according to claim 12, the dressing method comprising the steps of:
rotating the grinding wheel (3 Figs. 1, 2(c)) around the grinding wheel rotation axis (3a Fig. 2(c)); rotationally driving the dressing tool (10a and 10b Figs. 2(a-c)) around the tool rotation axis (10c Figs. 2(a-c)); and
dressing the two grinding surfaces (two griding surfaces of 3 shown in Fig. 5(a)) adjacent in the groove width direction with the pair of dressing surfaces (surfaces of 10a and 10b Figs. 2(a-c)), and turning the dressing tool (10a and 10b Figs. 2(a-c)) around the tool turning axis by the tool swivel assembly (tool turning axis of “O” shown in Fig. 2(a)) to change an angle (angle of 6 shown in Figs. 2(a-c)) of the pair of dressing surfaces (surfaces of 10a and 10b Figs. 2(a-c)) with respect to the two grinding surfaces (two griding surfaces of 3 shown in Fig. 5(a)).
Referring to Claim 27: Yanase as modified teaches a dressing method for a grinding wheel (3 Figs. 1, 2(c)) in the dressing device (4 and 10 Fig. 1) according to claim 15, the dressing method comprising the steps of:
rotating the grinding wheel (3 Figs. 1, 2(c)) around the grinding wheel rotation axis (3a Fig. 2(c)); rotationally driving the dressing tool (10a and 10b Figs. 2(a-c)) around the tool rotation axis (10c Figs. 2(a-c)); and
dressing the two grinding surfaces (two griding surfaces of 3 shown in Fig. 5(a)) adjacent in the groove width direction with the pair of dressing surfaces (surfaces of 10a and 10b Figs. 2(a-c)), and turning the dressing tool (10a and 10b Figs. 2(a-c)) around the tool turning axis by the tool swivel assembly (tool turning axis of “O” shown in Fig. 2(a)) to change an angle (angle of 6 shown in Figs. 2(a-c)) of the pair of dressing surfaces (surfaces of 10a and 10b Figs. 2(a-c)) with respect to the two grinding surfaces (two griding surfaces of 3 shown in Fig. 5(a)).
Referring to Claim 28: Yanase as modified teaches a dressing method for a grinding wheel (3 Figs. 1, 2(c)) in the dressing device (4 and 10 Fig. 1) according to claim 18, the dressing method comprising the steps of:
rotating the grinding wheel (3 Figs. 1, 2(c)) around the grinding wheel rotation axis (3a Fig. 2(c)); rotationally driving the dressing tool (10a and 10b Figs. 2(a-c)) around the tool rotation axis (10c Figs. 2(a-c)); and
dressing the two grinding surfaces (two griding surfaces of 3 shown in Fig. 5(a)) adjacent in the groove width direction with the pair of dressing surfaces (surfaces of 10a and 10b Figs. 2(a-c)), and turning the dressing tool (10a and 10b Figs. 2(a-c)) around the tool turning axis by the tool swivel assembly (tool turning axis of “O” shown in Fig. 2(a)) to change an angle (angle of 6 shown in Figs. 2(a-c)) of the pair of dressing surfaces (surfaces of 10a and 10b Figs. 2(a-c)) with respect to the two grinding surfaces (two griding surfaces of 3 shown in Fig. 5(a)).
Conclusion
CHRISTOPHER SOTO
Examiner
Art Unit 3723
/CHRISTOPHER SOTO/Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/MONICA S CARTER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723