DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-17 are pending wherein claims 3-17 are currently under examination and claims 1-2 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a non-elected high-plasticity dual-phase high-entropy alloy having the formula (FeCoNiCr)100-xTix where x is in the range of 2.0 to 2.8. Applicant’s election of claims 3-17 was made without traverse in the Response filed on May 27, 2026. 4
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The phrase “high plasticity” in claims 3-17 is a relative phrase which renders the claim indefinite. The phrase “high plasticity” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 3-4, 9-11 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu (Effects of C and Ti on Solidification Structure Refinement and Room-Temperature Tensile Properties of CrFeCoNi High Entropy Alloy).
In regard to claims 3-4 and 15, Liu discloses a method including previously prepared cobalt, chromium, iron, nickel and titanium raw materials and placing them in a water-cooled copper crucible inside a vacuum furnace with Cr3C-2 powder and melting using 300-400A current each sample being repeated five times and flipping each sample to ensure uniformity (2.2.2, the melting of the alloy). As such the repetition of melting would constitute a “pretreatment”. Additionally, Liu discloses adding 2.5 atomic percent titanium to the CrFeCoNi high entropy alloy and such that isoaxial crystals are formed (Summary of this chapter).
In regard to claims 9-11, Liu discloses a high purity argon gas (protective gas) to backfill the furnace (melting chamber) (2.2.2 melting the alloy).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (Effects of C and Ti on Solidification Structure Refinement and Room-Temperature Tensile Properties of CrFeCoNi High Entropy Alloy).
With respect to the recitation “wherein x is 2.4” in claim 17, Liu teaches adding titanium in an amount of 2.5 atomic percent (Summary of this chapter). The Examiner notes that 2.5 atomic percent as disclosed by Liu would be close enough to 2.4 atomic percent titanium as claimed to establish prima facie obviousness. MPEP 2144.05 I.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-8, 12-14 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) in claim 3 is remedied and rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
In regard to claim 5, Liu fails to disclose or adequately suggest subjecting nickel and chromium to pickling and ultrasonic cleaning and subjecting iron, titanium and cobalt to ultrasonic cleaning.
In regard to claim 12, Liu fails to specify subjecting the melting chamber to primary vacuumizing , and introducing a protective atmosphere until a pointer of a gas valve points to 0 MPa and then subjecting to second vacuumizing and introducing the protective atmosphere until the pointer of the gas valve points to -0.05 MPa.
In regard to claim 16, Liu fails to specify melting at a temperature of 1950 to 2050°C for 55 to 65 seconds each time.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The Examiner is not aware of additional pertinent prior art at this stage of prosecution.
/JESSEE R ROE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759