DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 49-52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by
Xu et al. (WO 2017/088143 A1, hereinafter “Xu”).
Regarding claim 49, Xu teaches a method performed by a terminal device (e.g., UE in figs. 3, 4), the method comprising: receiving, from a network device, a message comprising a list of security parameters (figs. 3, 4, Page 2: “the UE and the base station use the original security parameters to perform security protection on the service data.” Page 9: “the security parameters are negotiated by the UE with the core network node.” Page 12: the UE uses the foregoing target security parameters negotiated with the access network node to perform security protection on the uplink data.); deriving a first security key using a first security parameter in the list of security parameters (figs. 3, 4, Page 12: “Optionally, the uplink data request further includes security parameter indication information, where the security parameter indication information is used to indicate a security parameter adopted by the UE…The UE and the access network node may derive a key for protecting user plane data and a key for protecting control plane signaling… the UE may derive a key in the security parameter adopted in the RRC connected state that the request enters based on the key in the last RRC connected state); and transmitting, to the network device, the first security parameter that was used for the deriving the first security key (figs. 3, 4, Pages 12- 13: “Optionally, the uplink data request further includes security parameter indication information, where the security parameter indication information is used to indicate a security parameter adopted by the UE. ..The uplink data request further includes a key derivation parameter, which is used to indicate the manner in which the UE deducts the key. The access network node may further derive the key in the security parameter used in the RRC connected state that the UE requests to enter based on the key and key derivation parameters in the last RRC connected state.”).
Regarding claim 50, Xu teaches a method performed by a network device (e.g., an access network node of figs. 3-8), , the method comprising: transmitting, to a terminal device, a message comprising a list of security parameters (figs. 3, 4, Page 2: “the UE and the base station use the original security parameters to perform security protection on the service data.” Page 9: “the security parameters are negotiated by the UE with the core network node.” Page 12: the UE uses the foregoing target security parameters negotiated with the access network node to perform security protection on the uplink data); and receiving, from the terminal device, a first security parameter in the list of security parameters, wherein the first security parameter is used for deriving a first security key (figs. 3, 4, Pages 12- 13: “Optionally, the uplink data request further includes security parameter indication information, where the security parameter indication information is used to indicate a security parameter adopted by the UE. ..The uplink data request further includes a key derivation parameter, which is used to indicate the manner in which the UE deducts the key. The access network node may further derive the key in the security parameter used in the RRC connected state that the UE requests to enter based on the key and key derivation parameters in the last RRC connected state.”).
Regarding claim 51, Xu teaches a terminal device (e.g., UE in figs. 3, 4), comprising a processor configured to cause the terminal device (figs. 3-8, Page 6: “ UE comprising: a processor, a memory and a transceiver) to: receive, from a network device, a message comprising a list of security parameters (figs. 3, 4, Page 2: “the UE and the base station use the original security parameters to perform security protection on the service data.” Page 9: “the security parameters are negotiated by the UE with the core network node.” Page 12: the UE uses the foregoing target security parameters negotiated with the access network node to perform security protection on the uplink data); derive a first security key using a first security parameter in the list of security parameters (figs. 3, 4, Page 12: “Optionally, the uplink data request further includes security parameter indication information, where the security parameter indication information is used to indicate a security parameter adopted by the UE…The UE and the access network node may derive a key for protecting user plane data and a key for protecting control plane signaling… the UE may derive a key in the security parameter adopted in the RRC connected state that the request enters based on the key in the last RRC connected state ); and transmit, to the network device, the first security parameter that was used for the deriving the first security key (figs. 3, 4, Pages 12- 13: “Optionally, the uplink data request further includes security parameter indication information, where the security parameter indication information is used to indicate a security parameter adopted by the UE. ..The uplink data request further includes a key derivation parameter, which is used to indicate the manner in which the UE deducts the key. The access network node may further derive the key in the security parameter used in the RRC connected state that the UE requests to enter based on the key and key derivation parameters in the last RRC connected state.”).
Regarding claim 52, Xu teaches a network device (e.g., access network node of figs. 3, 4), comprising a processor configured to cause the network device (figs. 3-8, Page 6: “ an access network node comprising: a processor, a memory and a transceiver) to: transmit, to a terminal device, a message comprising a list of security parameters (figs. 3, 4, Page 2: “the UE and the base station use the original security parameters to perform security protection on the service data.” Page 9: “the security parameters are negotiated by the UE with the core network node.” Page 12: the UE uses the foregoing target security parameters negotiated with the access network node to perform security protection on the uplink data); and receive, from the terminal device, a first security parameter in the list of security parameters, wherein the first security parameter is used for deriving a first security key (figs. 3, 4, Pages 12- 13: “Optionally, the uplink data request further includes security parameter indication information, where the security parameter indication information is used to indicate a security parameter adopted by the UE. ..The uplink data request further includes a key derivation parameter, which is used to indicate the manner in which the UE deducts the key. The access network node may further derive the key in the security parameter used in the RRC connected state that the UE requests to enter based on the key and key derivation parameters in the last RRC connected state.”).
5. Claims 49-52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by
Yilmaz et al. (US 2020/0077266 A1, hereinafter “Yilmaz”).
Regarding claim 49, Yilmaz teaches a method performed by a terminal device (e.g., UE 100 of fig. 6), the method comprising: receiving, from a network device, a message comprising a list of security parameters (fig. 6, ¶ [0118], CN 300 sends the NAS security command in step S610, with relevant security parameters, capabilities and integrity protection, for both LTE and 5G. After receiving NAS Security Mode Command, which is valid for both RATs, UE 100 can derive further security keys and parameters. ¶ [0116], ¶ [0117]); deriving a first security key using a first security parameter in the list of security parameters (fig. 6, ¶ [0118], After receiving NAS Security Mode Command, which is valid for both RATs, UE 100 can derive further security keys and parameters); and transmitting, to the network device, the first security parameter that was used for the deriving the first security key (fig. 6, ¶ [0118], After receiving NAS Security Mode Command, with relevant security parameters, which is valid for both RATs, UE 100 can derive further security keys and parameters. Next, UE 100 sends CN 300 the NAS Security Mode Complete with relevant security parameters, capabilities and integrity protection, for both LTE and 5G in step S612).
Regarding claim 50, Yilmaz teaches a method performed by a network device (e.g., MME/CN 300 of fig. 6), , the method comprising: transmitting, to a terminal device, a message comprising a list of security parameters (fig. 6, ¶ [0118], CN 300 sends the NAS security command in step S610, with relevant security parameters, capabilities and integrity protection, for both LTE and 5G. After receiving NAS Security Mode Command, which is valid for both RATs, UE 100 can derive further security keys and parameters. ¶ [0116], ¶ [0117]); and receiving, from the terminal device, a first security parameter in the list of security parameters, wherein the first security parameter is used for deriving a first security key (fig. 6, ¶ [0118], After receiving NAS Security Mode Command, with relevant security parameters, which is valid for both RATs, UE 100 can derive further security keys and parameters. Next, UE 100 sends CN 300 the NAS Security Mode Complete with relevant security parameters, capabilities and integrity protection, for both LTE and 5G in step S612).
Regarding claim 51, Yilmaz teaches a terminal device (e.g., UE 100 of fig. 6), comprising a processor configured to cause the terminal device (figs. 2, 7, ¶ [0058]) to:
receive, from a network device, a message comprising a list of security parameters (fig. 6, ¶ [0118], CN 300 sends the NAS security command in step S610, with relevant security parameters, capabilities and integrity protection, for both LTE and 5G. After receiving NAS Security Mode Command, which is valid for both RATs, UE 100 can derive further security keys and parameters. ¶ [0116], ¶ [0117]); derive a first security key using a first security parameter in the list of security parameters (fig. 6, ¶ [0118], After receiving NAS Security Mode Command, which is valid for both RATs, UE 100 can derive further security keys and parameters); and transmit, to the network device, the first security parameter that was used for the deriving the first security key (fig. 6, ¶ [0118], After receiving NAS Security Mode Command, with relevant security parameters, which is valid for both RATs, UE 100 can derive further security keys and parameters. Next, UE 100 sends CN 300 the NAS Security Mode Complete with relevant security parameters, capabilities and integrity protection, for both LTE and 5G in step S612).
Regarding claim 52, Yilmaz teaches a network device (e.g., MME/CN 300 of fig. 6), comprising a processor configured to cause the network device (figs. 2, 7, ¶ [0058] ) to: transmit, to a terminal device, a message comprising a list of security parameters (fig. 6, ¶ [0118], CN 300 sends the NAS security command in step S610, with relevant security parameters, capabilities and integrity protection, for both LTE and 5G. After receiving NAS Security Mode Command, which is valid for both RATs, UE 100 can derive further security keys and parameters. ¶ [0116], ¶ [0117]); and receive, from the terminal device, a first security parameter in the list of security parameters, wherein the first security parameter is used for deriving a first security key (fig. 6, ¶ [0118], After receiving NAS Security Mode Command, with relevant security parameters, which is valid for both RATs, UE 100 can derive further security keys and parameters. Next, UE 100 sends CN 300 the NAS Security Mode Complete with relevant security parameters, capabilities and integrity protection, for both LTE and 5G in step S612).
Conclusion
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Chirag Shah can be reached at 571-272-3144. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/MANDISH K RANDHAWA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477