DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 49-54 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (US 2023/0144223 A1, hereinafter “Xu”) in view of Xu et al. (WO 2017/088143 A1, hereinafter “Xu’143”).
Regarding claims 49 and 51, Xu teaches a method performed by a terminal device (e.g., UE in figs. 3, 13, 14), the method comprising: receiving, from a network device, first message comprising a list of values for a first security parameter (fig. 14, ¶ [0138], The source gNB1 1104 may then transmit an RRC release message with suspend configuration information including a set of NCC values and NH parameters); deriving a first security key using a first value from the list of values for the security parameter (fig. 14, ¶ [0138], The UE 1102 may then vertically derive 1402 a first gNB key (KgNB2) based on a first NCC value from the set of NCC values for a first transmission to the first target gNB2 1106, a then forward security information of the first transmission along with gNB information to the source gNB1); and transmitting, to the network device, a second message (fig. 14, ¶ [0138], The UE 1102 may then vertically derive 1402 a first gNB key (KgNB2) based on a first NCC value from the set of NCC values for a first transmission to the first target gNB2 1106, a then forward security information of the first transmission along with gNB information to the source gNB1 1104. The source gNB1 1104 then vertically derives the first gNB key (K gNB2) based on the NCC values and NH parameters and transmits a response back to the first target gNB2 1106 including the first gNB key (K gNB2). As the source gNB1 1102 derives each gNB key, the source gNB1 1102 can track NCC value usage and knows which NCC value is currently active. ¶ [0139], the UE 1102 may perform an RRC resume procedure with, for example, first target gNB2 1106 and transition to an RRC connected mode. In this example, the UE 1102 may use a dedicated NCC value included with the set of NCC values to transmit the RRC resume message. In other cases, the last NCC value of the set of NCC values may be used to transmit the RRC resume message).
Xu does not explicitly teach second message comprising the first value.
However, Xu’143 teaches transmitting, to the network device, a message comprising an indication of a parameter value (figs. 3, 4, Pages 12- 13: “Optionally, the uplink data request further includes security parameter indication information, where the security parameter indication information is used to indicate a security parameter adopted by the UE. ..The uplink data request further includes a key derivation parameter, which is used to indicate the manner in which the UE deducts the key. The access network node may further derive the key in the security parameter used in the RRC connected state that the UE requests to enter based on the key and key derivation parameters in the last RRC connected state.”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to include the first value in the second message in the system of Xu to further improve industrial applicability by avoiding key derivation value/parameter uncertainty.
Regarding claims 50 and 52, Xu teaches a method performed by a network device (e.g., Base Station in figs. 4, 13, 14), the method comprising: transmitting, to a terminal device, a first message comprising a list of values for a first security parameter (fig. 14, ¶ [0138], The source gNB1 1104 may then transmit an RRC release message with suspend configuration information including a set of NCC values and NH parameters); and receiving, from the terminal device, a second message, wherein the first value is related to a first security key derived by the terminal device (fig. 14, ¶ [0138], The UE 1102 may then vertically derive 1402 a first gNB key (KgNB2) based on a first NCC value from the set of NCC values for a first transmission to the first target gNB2 1106, a then forward security information of the first transmission along with gNB information to the source gNB1 1104. The source gNB1 1104 then vertically derives the first gNB key (K gNB2) based on the NCC values and NH parameters and transmits a response back to the first target gNB2 1106 including the first gNB key (K gNB2). As the source gNB1 1102 derives each gNB key, the source gNB1 1102 can track NCC value usage and knows which NCC value is currently active. ¶ [0139], the UE 1102 may perform an RRC resume procedure with, for example, first target gNB2 1106 and transition to an RRC connected mode. In this example, the UE 1102 may use a dedicated NCC value included with the set of NCC values to transmit the RRC resume message. In other cases, the last NCC value of the set of NCC values may be used to transmit the RRC resume message).
Xu does not explicitly teach second message comprising a first value from the list of values of the first security parameter.
However, Xu’143 teaches transmitting, to the network device, a message comprising an indication of a parameter value (figs. 3, 4, Pages 12- 13: “Optionally, the uplink data request further includes security parameter indication information, where the security parameter indication information is used to indicate a security parameter adopted by the UE. ..The uplink data request further includes a key derivation parameter, which is used to indicate the manner in which the UE deducts the key. The access network node may further derive the key in the security parameter used in the RRC connected state that the UE requests to enter based on the key and key derivation parameters in the last RRC connected state.”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to include the first value in the second message in the system of Xu to further improve industrial applicability by avoiding key derivation value/parameter uncertainty.
Regarding claims 53 and 54, Xu in view of Xu’143 teaches the method of claim 49, deriving a second security key using a second value from the list of values for the first security parameter, wherein the second value is different from the first value; and
transmitting, to the network device, a third message (fig. 14, ¶ [0138], When the UE 1102 wants to transmit additional data, the UE 1102 may vertically derive 1404 a second gNB key (KgNB3) based on the next (e.g., last) NCC value from the set of NCC values. The second target gNB3 1108 may obtain the second gNB key (KgNB3) in a way similar to the way the first target gNB2 1106 obtained the first gNB key (KgNB2)).
Xu does not explicitly teach third message comprising the second value.
However, Xu’143 teaches transmitting, to the network device, a message comprising an indication of a parameter value (figs. 3, 4, Pages 12- 13: “Optionally, the uplink data request further includes security parameter indication information, where the security parameter indication information is used to indicate a security parameter adopted by the UE. ..The uplink data request further includes a key derivation parameter, which is used to indicate the manner in which the UE deducts the key. The access network node may further derive the key in the security parameter used in the RRC connected state that the UE requests to enter based on the key and key derivation parameters in the last RRC connected state.”).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to include the second value in the third message in the system of Xu to further improve industrial applicability by avoiding key derivation value/parameter uncertainty.
Response to Arguments
7. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 49-54 have been considered but are moot in view of new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
8. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Chirag Shah can be reached at 571-272-3144. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/MANDISH K RANDHAWA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477