DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
Information disclosure statements filed 2/27/2025 and 1/204/2024 have been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication No. US 2020/0209020 A1 to Issa et al. (hereinafter “Issa”) in view of US Patent No. 5,705,949 to Alelyunas et al. (hereinafter “Alelyunas”).
Regarding claim 1, Issa discloses a method for correcting imbalance in optical fiber distributed acoustic sensing (DAS) data (paragraphs [0008], [0039], [0172])), comprising obtaining in-phase/ quadrature (I/Q) signals (paragraph [0036], [0258]). Although Issa discloses the use of Hilbert Transform to obtain corrected phase values (paragraph [0172]), it does not explicitly disclose the steps of performing DC bias correction, performing amplitude imbalance correction, followed by performing phase imbalance correction, in the manner claimed in the present application.
On the other hand, such corrections steps are known in the art. For example, Alelyunas discloses a method for compensating for I/Q imbalance comprising the steps of performing DC bias correction (col. 4, ll. 31-43); performing amplitude imbalance correction after DC bias correction (col. 4, ll. 44- col. 5, ll. 23); performing phase imbalance correction after amplitude imbalance correction (col. 5, ll. 24-57). Alelyunas also discloses performing the imbalance corrections using Hilbert transform of I/Q signals (col. 6, ll. 8-24). One of ordinary skill in the art would readily recognize such imbalance corrections steps as advantageous and desirable, since these steps would allow for accurate and precise acoustic sensing signal substantially free from gain and phase errors and noise. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the present application to modify the invention of Issa to have the steps of performing DC bias correction, performing amplitude imbalance correction, followed by performing phase imbalance correction, in the manner claimed in the present application.
Regarding claim 2, Alelyunas discloses wherein the step of performing DC bias correction comprises calculating DC bias factors and performing DC bias correction on the I/Q signals using the DC bias factors (col. 4, ll. 31-43) to obtain the I/Q signals after the DC bias correction. As such, the claimed limitations of claim 2 are obvious when the invention of Issa is modified in view of Alelyunas as discussed in regards to claim 1.
Regarding claim 3, Alelyunas discloses wherein the step of calculating corresponding DC bias factors according to a mean value (i.e. average) of I/Q signals (col. 4, ll. 34-36). As such, the claimed limitations of claim 3 are obvious when the invention of Issa is modified in view of Alelyunas as discussed in regards to claim 1.
Regarding claim 10, Issa discloses a system for correcting imbalance in optical fiber distributed acoustic sensing (DAS) data (paragraphs [0008], [0039]-[0040], [0172])), comprising an obtaining module for obtaining in-phase/ quadrature (I/Q) signals (paragraph [0036], [0255] [0258]). Although Issa discloses the use of Hilbert Transform to obtain corrected phase values (paragraph [0172]), it does not explicitly disclose the use of of a DC bias correction module, an amplitude imbalance correction module, and a phase imbalance correction module, in the manner claimed in the present application.
On the other hand, such corrections modules are known in the art. For example, Alelyunas discloses a method and a system for compensating for I/Q imbalance comprising a module for DC bias correction (Figure; col. 4, ll. 31-43); a module for performing amplitude imbalance correction after DC bias correction (Figure; col. 4, ll. 44- col. 5, ll. 23); a module for performing phase imbalance correction after amplitude imbalance correction (Figure; col. 5, ll. 24-57). Alelyunas also discloses performing the imbalance corrections using Hilbert transform of I/Q signals (col. 6, ll. 8-24). One of ordinary skill in the art would readily recognize such imbalance corrections modules as advantageous and desirable, since these they would allow for accurate and precise acoustic sensing substantially free from gain and phase errors and noise. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the present application to modify the invention of Issa to have the steps of performing DC bias correction, performing amplitude imbalance correction, followed by performing phase imbalance correction, in the manner claimed in the present application.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: as discussed above, a method for correcting imbalance in optical fiber DAS data, comprising obtaining I/Q signals, performing DC bias correction, performing DC bias correction, performing amplitude imbalance correction, performing phase imbalance correction, is obvious in view of the cited prior art. However, none of the prior art fairly teaches or suggests such a method wherein the step of performing amplitude imbalance correction on the I/Q signals I1 and Q1 after DC bias correction by using Hilbert transform to obtain I/Q signals I2 and Q2 after amplitude imbalance correction comprises: calculating corresponding amplitude imbalance factors Ai and Aq by using Hilbert transform and the I/Q signals I1 and Q1 after DC bias correction; and performing amplitude imbalance correction on the I/Q signals I1 and Q1 after DC bias correction according to the amplitude imbalance factors Ai and Aq to obtain the I/Q signals I2 and Q2 after amplitude imbalance correction, in the manner claimed in claim 4 of the present application.
In addition, none of the prior art fairly teaches or suggests such a method, wherein the step of performing phase imbalance correction on the I/Q signals I2 and Q2 after amplitude imbalance correction by using Hilbert transform to obtain I/Q signals I3 and Q3 after imbalance phase correction comprises: calculating phases ѱi, and ѱq corresponding to the I/Q signals I2 and Q2 by using Hilbert transform and the I/Q signals I2 and Q2 after amplitude imbalance correction; calculating a phase imbalance factor θ according to the phases ѱi, and ѱq corresponding to the I/Q signals I2 and Q2; and performing phase imbalance correction on the I/Q signals I2 and Q2 after amplitude imbalance correction according to the phase imbalance factor θ to obtain the I/Q signals I3 and Q3 after phase imbalance correction, in the manner claimed in claim 6 of the present application.
Conclusion
/SUNG H PAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874