Detailed Action
1. This Office Action is responsive to the Preliminary Amendment filed 01/04/2024. Claims 1-20 are presented for examination. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Priority
2. Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, or 365(c) is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statements (IDSes) submitted on 01/04/2024 and 10/24/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Specification
4. The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
6. Claims 8-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
7. As to claims 8-20, dependent claims 8-20 recite different statutory categories “a controller”, “a node” and “a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium” than independent method claims 1-7. Each of the controller, the node and the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of dependent claims 8-20 is NOT “a product made by the base method claims 1-7” and it can be made by a method other than that recited in the base method claim 1. Also, claims 8-20 currently claim a controller, a node and a non-transitory computer storage medium being used to perform the base method claims 1-7, that do not further limit the base method claims 1-7. Therefore, they would NOT be proper dependent claims of the base method claim 1.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements (Examiner respectfully suggests to amend (or rewrite) claims 8-20 as independent claims including all limitations as in claims 1-7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
9. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pignataro et al. (US 2019/0238448 A1), hereinafter “Pignataro”.
10. As to claim 1, Pignataro discloses a Seamless Bidirectional Forwarding Detection (SBFD) path optimization method, which is applied to a controller, the method comprising:
acquiring SBFD information, wherein the SBFD information represents performing SBFD on a first path ([0021-0023]);
determining configuration routing information according to the SBFD information, wherein the configuration routing information comprises a path identifier and first path information corresponding to the first path, the path identifier (i.e., Your Discriminator (YD) identifier) corresponds to second path information pre-configured in a reflector node on the first path, and nodes through which a second path corresponding to the second path information passes are the same as nodes through which the first path passes (i.e., S-BFD control packet 300 is transmitted through network 10 from first network element 100 to sixth network element 106 along forward path 312 including first network element 100, second network element 102, fourth network element 104, and sixth network element 106 which are the same nodes in the first return path 332) (FIG. 3 and [0022-0026]); and
sending a packet carrying the configuration routing information to an initiator node on the first path, such that the packet is sent from the initiator node to the reflector node along the first path and sent from the reflector node to the initiator node along the second path (i.e., response S-BFD control packet 320 is transmitted by the S-BFD reflector from sixth network element 106 to first network element 100 along first network return path 332 which is the reverse order of forward path 312) (FIG.3 and [0026]).
11. As to claim 2, Pignataro discloses the SBFD path optimization method of claim 1, wherein determining configuration routing information according to the SBFD information comprises: acquiring a preset mapping table (i.e., assignment table 200), wherein the preset mapping table comprises the first path information and the path identifier; and determining the configuration routing information according to the SBFD information and the preset mapping table (FIG. 3 and [0022-0026]).
12. As to claim 3, Pignataro discloses the SBFD path optimization method of claim 2, wherein determining the configuration routing information according to the SBFD information and the preset mapping table comprises: obtaining the first path information corresponding to the first path according to the SBFD information; querying the preset mapping table according to the first path information to obtain the path identifier mapped to the first path information; and determining the configuration routing information according to the first path information and the path identifier (FIG. 3 and [0022-0026]).
13. As to claim 4, Pignataro discloses the SBFD path optimization method of claim 2, wherein the preset mapping table is generated by: acquiring the first path information of the initiator node; acquiring the second path information of the reflector node and the path identifier corresponding to the second path information; and establishing the mapping table between the first path information and the path identifier corresponding to the second path information, wherein nodes through which the first path corresponding to the first path information passes are the same as nodes through which the second path corresponding to the second path information passes (i.e., S-BFD control packet 300 is transmitted through network 10 from first network element 100 to sixth network element 106 along forward path 312 including first network element 100, second network element 102, fourth network element 104, and sixth network element 106 which are the same nodes in the first return path 332) (FIG. 3 and [0022-0026]).
14. As to claim 5, Pignataro discloses the SBFD path optimization method of claim 4, wherein establishing the mapping table between the first path information and the path identifier corresponding to the second path information comprises: determining, according to the first path information, the second path which passes through the same nodes as the first path corresponding to the first path information; determining the path identifier corresponding to the second path information according to the second path information corresponding to the second path; and establishing the mapping table according to the first path information and the determined path identifier (i.e., Once S-BFD control packet 300 is received by sixth network element 106, the YD identifier 310 is compared with stored data entries in discriminator column 210 of assignment table 200. In this example, YD identifier 310 matches first discriminator identifier 211 associated with the first discriminator. This initiates an S-DFD control packet 320 to be transmitted to first network element 100 along a first return path 332 determined based on first action 221 associated with first discriminator 211) (FIG. 3 and [0022-0026]).
15. As to claims 6-7, claims 6-7 recite similar limitations as of method claim 1 and do not contain any additional limitations with respect to novelty and/or inventive steps; therefore, they are rejected under the same rationale.
16. As to claims 8-20, claims 8-20 are corresponding controller, node and non-transitory computer-readable storage medium claims that recite similar limitations as of method claims 1-7 and do not contain any additional limitations with respect to novelty and/or inventive steps; therefore, they are rejected under the same rationale.
17. Further references of interest are cited on Form PTO-892, which is an attachment to this Office Action.
/QUANG N NGUYEN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2441