DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is responsive to Applicant's Response to Election/Restriction filed August 10, 2026. As filed, claims 1-20 are pending.
Priority
This application filed 01/04/2024 is a National Stage entry of PCT/EP2022/065944 , International Filing Date: 06/13/2022 claims foreign priority to 21183693.7, filed 07/05/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
Applicants' information disclosure statements (IDS) filed have been considered except where lined through. Please refer to Applicants' copy of the 1449 submitted herewith.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-12, 15-20 in the reply filed on Aug. 10, 2026, is acknowledged.
Claims 13-14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claims 1-12, 15-20 will be examined on the merits herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12, 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2005/0177007 A1, Aug. 2005, by Neumann et al (“the ‘007 publication”; cited by Applicants in IDS) and further in view of Stichlmair "Distillation and Rectification"
Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry, 15 June 2000, vol. 49, pages 1-98 cited by Applicants in IDS).
The claims are drawn to a method for making bisphenol A by reacting phenol and acetone in the presence of an ion-exchange resin catalyst, crystallizing bisphenol A in one or more units, the reaction of phenol and acetone is done in the presence of an inert solvent, separating the crystals is solid-liquid separation unit,
heating the mother liquor in a heat recovery unit and feeding the heated mother liquor to a distillation column,
separating the mother liquor in the distillation column, bottom stream
comprising phenol, top stream comprising water; cooling the bottom stream in said heat recovery unit; wherein in the heat recovery unit heat is exchanged between the bottom stream and the mother liquor.
Regarding instant claim 1, the ‘007 publication teaches a process for producing bisphenol A by a) reacting phenol with acetone in the presence of an acidic catalyst (ion-exchange resin) to form a reaction mixture that includes bisphenol A and water, and b) removing water from the reaction mixture by distillation in a column to obtain a bottom product, and c) separating bisphenol-phenol adduct from the reaction mixture by crystallization and filtration. The bottom temperature of the column is 100 to 150° C, the overhead temperature of the column is 20 to 80°C, the absolute pressure is 50 to 300 mbar at the head of the column and 100 to 300 mbar at the bottom of the column and wherein said (c) is carried out before or after said (b); further comprising re-circulating the bottom product into reactor (abstract; example 1 on [0027]; claims of the refence).
Regarding instant claims 3-4,12,18-20 the ‘007 publication teaches in example 1, acetone and phenol converted into bisphenol A with 96 wt. % mother liquor containing 6 wt. % isomers, 7 wt. % bisphenol A, 0.05 wt. % water, 300 ppm mercaptopropionic acid and approx. 83 wt. % phenol; and the reaction mixture outcomes containing 1 wt. % reaction water and 0.3 wt. % unreacted acetone.
Regarding instant claims 5-7, the ‘007 publication teaches suitable apparatus for solid/liquid separation, such as rotary filters or centrifuges, and are supplied to a further purification stage on [0007]; the phenol that is present in the reaction solution may also
be removed by means of distillation [0009].
Regarding instant claims 9 and 16 the ‘007 publication teaches over 95% of the
reaction water introduced into the column is condensed at the head of the column (example 1 on [0027]). Regarding the pressure and temperature as claimed, the normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine the optimum condenser parameters by routine experimentation.
Furthermore, pertaining to the pressure and temperature of a process, it is noted that generally, differences such parameters will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such parameter is critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) See MPEP 2144.5.
Regarding instant claims 11 and 17, the ‘655 publication teaches reaction of addition of a co-catalyst such as divinylbiphenyl ([0003]).
The method of the present application differs from the method described in the ‘007 publication in that prior art does not disclose a heat exchange between the distillation product streams and the distillation feed stream.
However, it is noted that heat exchange in a recovery unit before distillation is discussed in the article by Stichlmair.
The prior art by Stichlmair teaches aspects of heart transfer for processes with distillation and rectification separation stage. Disclosed on page 60 of the article by Stichlmair is that the that the heat requirement of a single rectification column can be efficiently minimized by effective heat exchange between the high temperature products feed and the lower temperature feeds.
Regarding instant claims 8 and 15, in reviewing the instant disclosure for unexpected results, the simulated examples "using known modeling tools", the feed stage was varied from 5th to 8th stage and the corresponding reboiler heat duty, condenser heat duty and reflux ratio were calculated and the results are summarized in the table on page 12 of instant disclosure is to show that introducing the feed on 7th stage is more beneficial to reduce energy consumption of the distillation column for this feed. There is no comparative data for value falling outside of the range. The prior art by Stichlmair discusses aspects of equilibrium stage and advantages and disadvantage of different distillation stage in improving the efficiency of the separation process (page 23, 31, 72-73).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teachings of the ‘007 publication regarding preparation of bisphenol A by reaction of acetone and phenol mediated by ion-exchange catalyst with the teachings of Stichlmair regarding utilizing a heat exchange between the distillation product streams and the distillation feed stream and preheating the feed stream of the column- the mother liquor separated after separating the crystalline bisphenol - and have reasonable expectation of success in arriving at the claimed invention, because the prior art teach that preheating the feed
stream of the distillation column, reduce the energy demand of the distillation step.
Thus, the claimed invention as a whole is prima facie obvious over the combined teachings of the prior art.
Conclusion
Claims 1-12, 15-20 are rejected. Claims 13-14 are withdrawn from further consideration.
Telephone Inquiry
/ANA Z MURESAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1692