DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 13, the claim limitation “extreme” is vague and indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1,2,7,11,15 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Thommana et al. (U.S. 2017/0041822)(IDS).
The claimed invention reads on Thommana et al. as follows:
Regarding claim 1, Thommana et al. discloses a method facilitating safe motion (moving) of objects (nodes) (fig. 8, P:0059 and P:0055-P0056), the method comprising providing GNSS jammer detection functionality (i.e. Additionally, the GPS receiver 202 may include an integrated atomic clock (e.g., chip scale atomic clock (CSAC) 205, a rubidium atomic clock, a cesium atomic clock or the like) to maintain sufficiently accurate time for extended periods (e.g., at least five days) of time when GPS is not available (e.g., being jammed))(P:0028-P:0029), including a hardware processor (processor) (fig. 3 number 303 and P:0033) configured to detect jammers (i.e. a processor configured to determine that the first receiver of a node of a mobile ad-hoc network (MANET) is in an electromagnetic contested environment (i.e. jamming environment) for a first frequency (P:0005 and P:0035), to at least one networked fleet (e.g., a mobile ad-hoc network (MANET) including plural moving objects (e.g., an aircraft, automobile, spacecraft, train, watercraft, submersible craft, or the like) (P:0027), wherein at least one object (node and/or node 110) has, aboard, GNSS functionality and a hardware processor (P:0005, P:0027-P:0029), and wherein information indicative of at least one GNSS jammer position (jamming environment) is shared between said plural moving objects (P:0021 and P:0037).
Regarding claim 2, Thommana et al. discloses said GNSS jammer detection functionality includes functionality for identifying positions of GNSS jammers (P:0021 and P:0037).
Regarding claim 7, Thommana et al. discloses said moving objects include at least one of the following groups: an aircraft, a drone, a car or other ground vehicle and a maritime vessel (P:0027).
Regarding claim 11, Thommana et al. discloses radio communication is provided between the plural moving objects thereby to yield a networked fleet of moving objects (i.e. a mission commander node can instruct at least one other node (such as node N6 606) to move into a position to prevent node isolation with respect to the jammed nodes) (e.g., nodes N1 601, N2 602, and N7 607), (P:0055).
Regarding claim 15, Thommana et al. discloses a system (fig. 3 and P:0031) facilitating safe motion (moving) of objects (nodes)(P:0055-P0056) , wherein at least one object has, aboard, GNSS functionality (P:0028-P:0029) and a hardware processor the system comprising: GNSS jammer detection functionality residing on a hardware processor (processor) (fig. 3 number 303 and P:0033) in data communication with at least one networked fleet including plural moving objects, (i.e. a processor configured to determine that the first receiver of a node of a mobile ad-hoc network (MANET) is in an electromagnetic contested environment (i.e. jamming environment) for a first frequency (P:0005 and P:0035), to at least one networked fleet (e.g., a mobile ad-hoc network (MANET) including plural moving objects (e.g., an aircraft, automobile, spacecraft, train, watercraft, submersible craft, or the like) (P:0027), which is configured to generate information indicative of at least one GNSS jammer position (jamming environment) is shared between said plural moving objects (P:0021 and P:0037).
Regarding claim 16, Thommana et al. discloses a computer program product (software) (fig. 3 number 302), comprising a non-transitory tangible computer readable medium (memory) (fig. 3 number 301) having computer readable program code embodied therein (P:0031), said computer readable program code adapted to be executed to implement a method facilitating safe motion (moving) of objects (nodes)(P:0055-P0056) , wherein at least one object has, aboard, GNSS functionality (P:0028-P:0029) and a hardware processor the system comprising: GNSS jammer detection functionality residing on a hardware processor (processor) (fig. 3 number 303 and P:0033) in data communication with at least one networked fleet including plural moving objects, (i.e. a processor configured to determine that the first receiver of a node of a mobile ad-hoc network (MANET) is in an electromagnetic contested environment (i.e. jamming environment) for a first frequency (P:0005 and P:0035), to at least one networked fleet (e.g., a mobile ad-hoc network (MANET) including plural moving objects (e.g., an aircraft, automobile, spacecraft, train, watercraft, submersible craft, or the like) (P:0027), which is configured to generate information indicative of at least one GNSS jammer position (jamming environment) is shared between said plural moving objects (P:0021 and P:0037).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claim(s) 3 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thommana et al. (U.S. 2017/0041822)(IDS) in view of Mcdonald et al. (US 2022/0066044).
Regarding claims 3 and 14, Thommana et al. discloses a method as discussed supra in claim 1 above. Thommana et al. differs from claim 3 of the present invention in that it does not explicit disclose the hardware processor is configured to maintain a table of jammed positions, each of which is indicative of a possible GNSS jammer position, and wherein at least a portion of said table is shared between the plural moving objects. Mcdonald et al. teaches a processing system of an entity, e.g., of an operations center or a vehicle, may receive the transmitted data, and utilize it, e.g., to warn other entities of the identified geographic region(s) of spoofing and/or jamming (P:0046). For example, an operations center processing center may communicate, to a vehicle, data that can be displayed, in the vehicle, on a geographic map illustrating the identified geographic regions of spoofing and/or jamming (P:0046). The graphical (i.e. table) representation may be implemented, e.g., by varying the color of the geographic region of jamming and/or spoofing (P:0046). Mcdonald et al. further teaches a satellite navigation system (GNSS) (abstract). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Thommana et al. with the hardware processor is configured to maintain a table of jammed positions, each of which is indicative of a possible GNSS jammer position, and wherein at least a portion of said table is shared between the plural moving objects in order for the node of the mobile ad-hoc network to display a graphical representation of jamming positions on a map in the environment where its moving so that the node could relay the regions of the jamming positions to other nodes to inform them of a potential threat, as taught by Mcdonald et al..
8. Claim(s) 4 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thommana et al. (U.S. 2017/0041822)(IDS) in view of Lee et al. (US 2025/0080248).
Regarding claims 4 and 5, Thommana et al. discloses a method as discussed supra in claims 1 and 2 above. Thommana et al. differs from claims 4 and 5 of the present invention in that it does not explicit disclose a GNSS jammer position output generator, including a hardware processor configured to generate and present a display of an area, in which the moving object is moving, in which various levels of jamming intensity are differentially presented and said various levels of jamming intensity are color-coded. Lee et al. teaches The RF receiver 406 may include hardware and/or software that may capture and process RF signals from the surrounding environment, e.g., the test environment 100. The RF receiver 406 may receive RF signals transmitted by other devices or systems in the test environment 100 including the interference source 108 (P:0030). The persistent spectrum analyzer 408 may measure the amplitude (power or voltage) of RF signals at different frequencies and display the results in a graphical format, e.g., as spectrum data, in which various power levels of the frequencies may be displayed using multiple colors (P:0030-P:0031). The location predictor 410 may further include mapping software that provides (i.e. generates) visual and/or voice prompts to guide technicians to the suspected area of interference. For instance, the location predictor 410 may display locations and strengths of interference sources in a heat map (P:0032). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Thommana et al. with a GNSS jammer position output generator, including a hardware processor configured to generate and present a display of an area, in which the moving object is moving, in which various levels of jamming intensity are differentially presented and said various levels of jamming intensity are color-coded in order for the node of the mobile ad-hoc network to display multiple colors jamming sources frequencies intensities on a map in the environment where its moving so the node could relay the jamming sources frequencies to other nodes to inform them of a potential threat, as taught by Lee et al..
9. Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thommana et al. (U.S. 2017/0041822)(IDS) in view of Lee et al. (US 2025/0080248) as applied to claims 1,2 and 4 above and in further view of Singh et al. (US 2019/0386759).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Thommana et al. and Lee et al. differs from claim 6 of the present invention in that they do not explicit disclose connecting geographical positions for which a first level of jamming intensity was detected, to yield a first polygon which is presented in a first manner, and also to connect geographical positions for which at least a second level of jamming intensity was detected, to yield at least one second polygon which is presented in a second manner. Singh et al. teaches S570 can include S572, which functions to generate a spatial heatmap (as described herein) and provide the spatial heatmap to the operator device. In some variations, S570 includes generating a user interface that includes a visual representation of a rank ordered set of polygons representing a closed geographical region for a probable interference source location, and providing the user interface to the operator device. In some variations, S572 includes generating a user interface that includes a visual representation of a rank ordered set of polygons representing a closed geographical region for a probable interference source location, and providing the user interface to the operator device (P:0059, P:0096 and fig. 6). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Thommana et al. and Lee et al. with connecting geographical positions for which a first level of jamming intensity was detected, to yield a first polygon which is presented in a first manner, and also to connect geographical positions for which at least a second level of jamming intensity was detected, to yield at least one second polygon which is presented in a second manner in order for the node of the mobile ad-hoc network to display an order of polygons ranking jamming sources intensities on a map in the environment where the node is moving so that the node could relay the jamming sources intensities/frequencies to other nodes to inform them of a potential threat, as taught by Lee et al..
10. Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thommana et al. (U.S. 2017/0041822)(IDS) in view of Stockmaster et al. (US 2024/0171300).
Regarding claim 12, Thommana et al. discloses a method as discussed supra in claims 1 and 2 above. Thommana et al. differs from claim 12 of the present invention in that it does not explicit disclose said functionality for identifying positions of GNSS jammers processes GNSS data but GNSS data which is pre-known not to be reliable for identifying positions of GNSS jammers are filtered out rather than being processed. Stockmaster et al. teaches identifying characteristics of the extracted jamming signal and generating a characterization confidence indicator. The method further includes, for example, filtering the extracted jamming signal from a report of detected signal jammers (or otherwise demoting the extracted jamming signal to a non-jammer status) based on one or more of the DF confidence indicator)(P:0014-P:0015), the false alarm filtering circuit 240 will be described in detail below, but at a high level it is configured to demote the extracted jamming signal to a non-jammer status so that the signal can be ignored or passed downstream for further processing as deemed necessary (P:0024). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Thommana et al. with said functionality for identifying positions of GNSS jammers processes GNSS data but GNSS data which is pre-known not to be reliable for identifying positions of GNSS jammers are filtered out rather than being processed in order for the node of the mobile ad-hoc network to filter out false alarms of jammers within its environment before sending a jammers message to other nodes, as taught by Stockmaster et al..
Allowable Subject Matter
10. Claims 8-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
11. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Regarding claim 8, the prior art of record fails to teach or suggest alone, or in combination the hardware processor is configured to determine that certain object positions in the table of jammed positions are GNSS jammer positions, if a certain criterion is satisfied (e.g. the direction from which the jamming is coming from is a previously known GNSS jammer position).
Regarding claim 10, the prior art of record fails to teach or suggest alone, or in combination said first polygon presented in a first manner is presented as a first semi-transparent colored region having a first color and superimposed over a map of the area and wherein said second polygon presented in a second manner is presented as a second semi-transparent colored region having a second color, different from said first color, and superimposed over the map of the area.
Conclusion
/KEITH FERGUSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648