DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of claims 1-12 in the reply filed on 7/2/26 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the restriction does not state why claim 13 and claim 10 lack unity. This is not found persuasive because claim 13 was found unpatentable by the PCT written opinion. Also please see the art rejection below.
Applicant Also elected activated carbon as the species.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
At the outset, the use of terms “preferably” and “more preferably” in the claims is indefinite.
Claims 1: the term BVT or bed volume treated is not clearly defined in the specification. The examiner assumes this as the ratio of the total volume of liquid treated by the bed until it is exhausted / volume of the bed material. This BVT would also depend on the degree of contamination of the liquid being treated. That is, the treatment volume in terms of BVT would reduce when the contamination is higher, because the bed would be exhausted faster.
The “a fresh adsorbent medium” makes the claims unclear. The term “fresh” connotates new, unused medium, whereas “regeneration” is applied to used and exhausted medium.
Claim 3: “the activated carbon bed” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 5: “or even consisting of” is indefinite – range within range situation.
Claim 8: the Markush groups for fluid to be treated and adsorbent medium are both improper. See MPEP 2117. The Markush group for the adsorbent medium is also indefinite because it lists disparate materials. Also, “biomaterials” and “mineral materials” are unlimited and have no metes and bounds. Applicant fails to disclose what are included in these groups. The “fluid to be treated” in claim 8 also may have antecedent issues because claim 1 does not have a fluid to be treated, and does not treat a fluid.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 11 removes the regeneration step which broadens claims 1 and 10 or changes their scope. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 7 recites an electrochemical process to regenerate adsorbents in combination with the chemical regeneration – before, after or during. The disclosure also only makes the same statement, and provides no further details as to how this is accomplished, which shows applicant may not have possession of this invention.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2 and 4-12 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of copending Application No. 18/575,145 (reference application.) Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because: see the table below..
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim no.
Reference
claim
Remarks
1, 2
1
The reduction rates are inherent – same GAC material
4
3
5-7
4,5
8
8
9
10
10
12
11
4, 5
Not regenerating is not inventive
12
10
Ref: regen. based on freshness means measuring implied
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 and 103
Claim(s) 1-6 and 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Kumfer et al (US 10,053,375.).
Kumfer teaches regenerating spent activated carbon using caustic soda (NaOH). The water to be treated is industrial effluent containing spent caustic soda and organic contaminants (col. 5 lines 53-67.) Fig. 3 copied herein is highlighted to show the recirculation of NaOH solution in the regeneration mode – lines 103-115-180, and through beds 160 A and B, and col. 16, lines 17-20. Example 1 teaches using both fresh and spent NaOH for regeneration. The bed is rinsed after regeneration (example 1.) Since the reference does not state the temperature, room temperature is implied. Example 1 (col. 21, lines 22-25) and fig. 3 (col. 15, lines 31-35) also teach cycles of using the activated carbon and then regenerating it.
The capacity of the activated carbon (reduction rate or BVT or iodine number) would be inherent material property because applicant uses same activated carbon as in the reference (example, coconut shell, etc.)
The freshness of the activated carbon is determined after regeneration because in column 19, lines 6-22, Kumfer teaches capacity recovery up to 95% upon regeneration. This requires determining capacities before and after regeneration. These teachings anticipate claims 1-5, 8, 10 and 12, or make them at the least obvious.
"[T]he discovery of a previously unappreciated property of a prior art composition, or of a scientific explanation for the prior art’s functioning, does not render the old composition patentably new to the discoverer." Atlas Powder Co. v. IRECO Inc., 190 F.3d 1342, 1347, 51 USPQ2d 1943, 1947 (Fed. Cir. 1999). Thus the claiming of a new use, new function or unknown property which is inherently present in the prior art does not necessarily make the claim patentable. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1254, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). In In re Crish, 393 F.3d 1253, 1258, 73 USPQ2d 1364, 1368 (Fed. Cir. 2004)
The express, implicit, and inherent disclosures of a prior art reference may be relied upon in the rejection of claims under 35 U.S.C. 102 or 103. "The inherent teaching of a prior art reference, a question of fact, arises both in the context of anticipation and obviousness." In re Napier, 55 F.3d 610, 613, 34 USPQ2d 1782, 1784 (Fed. Cir. 1995) (affirmed a 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection based in part on inherent disclosure in one of the references). See also In re Grasselli, 713 F.2d 731, 739, 218 USPQ 769, 775 (Fed. Cir. 1983)
Claim 9: the periodic regeneration comprising next regeneration step: see example 1, col. 21, lines 8-36, and figs. 6 and 5.
Claim 11: not performing a regeneration is not patentable over the teachings in example 1, last paragraph, wherein repeated washing is done without regeneration.
Claim 6: dewatering before rinsing: applicant’s disclosure states this as a draining step, which is unpatentable over Kumfer. While Kumfer is silent about draining the caustic soda solution before rinsing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the Art to drain the reagent completely before rinsing so that the rinsing water volume can be reduced. This is also common sense. See for evidence, Kopinke, et.al., US 2017/0232421.
MPEP 2143: rationales: Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way; Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Claim(s) 1, 2, 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Zhou et al, “ Electrochemical regeneration of carbon-based adsorbents: a review of regeneration mechanisms, reactors, and future prospects,” Chemical Engineering Journal Advances 5 (2021) 100083.
Zhou teaches electrochemical regeneration of activated carbon in which the electrolyte is NaOH. See table 1 and also section 2, cathodic regeneration. This meets the limitations of claims 1 and 2 – GAC is brought in contact with aqueous NaOH solution. It meets claim 7 because it simultaneously contacts NaOH solution with GAC and also treats it electrochemically. GAC as in claim 8. The fluid to be treated is not a patentable limitation since there is no active treatment step. Regarding the bed capacity, this would be an inherent material property of GAC, unless otherwise shown.
Conclusion
/KRISHNAN S MENON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771