Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-31 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "said packing" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the packing" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "wherein each preform" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "said packing" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the packing" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-10, and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by PARMENTIER (2018/0318794).
Regarding claims 1, 15, and 16, PARMENTIER discloses a method for producing
a multi-capillary packing comprising a plurality of channels suitable for convection of a fluid between an inlet face and an outlet face of said packing, said method comprising:
providing a plurality of preforms (precursor fibres, [0200]-[0204]) suitable for forming, after ablation, a respective capillary channel of the packing;
assembling said plurality of preforms into a bundle [0205];
coating each preform with a plurality of porous layers by depositing alternating layers of a polyelectrolyte and nanoparticles [0216]-[0222]; [0292];
bonding the plurality of coated preforms to form a porous monolith [0232]-[0233], [0258];
ablating the plurality of preforms to form the channels in said porous monolith [0261].
Regarding claim 4, PARMENTIER discloses the nanoparticles comprise silica [0208].
Regarding claim 5, PARMENTIER discloses bonding is carried out by sintering [0234].
Regarding claims 6-7, and 9, PARMENTIER discloses a binder [0218] obtained
by sol gel method and is a silica [0224], [0230].
Regarding claim 8, PARMENTIER discloses the binder is obtained by drying a sol
[0242].
Regarding claim 10, PARMENTIER discloses the ablating comprises dissolution,
oxidation, chemical reaction [0204].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
a) Parmentier (US 2014/0349839) discloses multi-capillary monolith
b) D’urso et al. (US 7,638,182) discloses method for producing microchannels in drawn material.
STELLA YI
Examiner
Art Unit 1742
/STELLA K YI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742