DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1-3, 5, 10-12, 14, 16-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Harada et al. (US 2021/0385800 A1, hereinafter “Harada”).
Regarding claim 1, Harada teaches a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with at least one memory (fig. 7) and configured to cause the UE to: receive a signaling indicating that one or two Transmission Configuration Indication (TCI) states are activated for a Control Resource Set (CORESET) with index zero for transmission of Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) with common control information on PDCCH candidates (figs. 1-4, ¶ [0025]-¶ [0031], ¶ [0048], ¶ [0056], ¶ [0211], configuration information indicating a downlink reference signal that is quasi-co-location (for example, TCI-state for PDCCH, list of TCI-states for PDCCH, or MAC CE) for a control resource set (CORESET, for example, CORESET #0 or common CORESET) including the physical downlink control channel. ¶ [0048], ¶ [0100], ¶ [0114], ¶ [0137], When CORESET associated with a search space for OSI or paging is CORESET #0, UE may be notified of a TCI-state for PDCCH or a parameter corresponding thereto); determine a monitoring occasion and a Quasi Co-Location (QCL) based on at least one of the activated TCI states and a predefined association relationship between Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) indexes and PDCCH monitor occasions (figs. 1-4, ¶ [0048], Information regarding QCL may be referred to as transmission configuration indication (TCI) or a transmission configuration indicator state (TCI-state). ¶ [0064], mapping between the PDCCH monitoring occasion and SSB may be defined by specifications. ¶ [0083] When CORESET associated with a search space for OSI or paging is CORESET #0, UE may recognize a QCL source based on an association rule. ¶ [0100], NW may notify UE of the QCL source using MAC CE or DCI. ¶ [0101], ¶ [0102], ¶ [0084], ¶ [0114] In the example of FIG. 3, for UE, PDCCH monitoring occasions #0 and #1 are configured. When SSB #0 is activated as a TCI-state for PDCCH, UE recognizes SSB #0 as a QCL source of PDCCH. UE performs monitoring using SSB #0 which is a QCL source in all the configured PDCCH monitoring occasions #0 and #1. ¶ [0124], ¶ [0139]), wherein less than two activated TCI states are permitted for the CORESET with index zero if the determined monitoring occasion is associated with a Type0-PDCCH common search space (CSS) set, a Type0A-PDCCH CSS set, or a Type2-PDCCH CSS set (Note: the conditional limitation (i.e., less than two activated TCI states being permitted for the CORESET with index zero) need not be satisfied to meet the claim. See Ex Parte Schulhauser, Appeal No. 2013-007847 (PTAB April 28, 2016)); and perform a blind detection for the PDCCH with common control information on the determined monitoring occasion based on the determined QCL (figs. 1-4, ¶ [0024], The user terminal monitors (blind-decodes) a search space (SS) in CORESET and detects DCI for the user terminal. ¶ [0114]).
Regarding claim 10, Harada teaches a network equipment (NE) for wireless communication, comprising: at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory (fig. 6) and configured to cause the NE to:
transmit a signaling indicating that one or more Transmission
Configuration Indication (TCI) states are activated for a Control Resource Set
(CORESET) with index zero for transmission of Physical Downlink Control
Channel (PDCCH) with common control information on PDCCH candidates (figs. 1-4, ¶ [0025]-¶ [0031], ¶ [0048], ¶ [0056], ¶ [0211], configuration information indicating a downlink reference signal that is quasi-co-location (for example, TCI-state for PDCCH, list of TCI-states for PDCCH, or MAC CE) for a control resource set (CORESET, for example, CORESET #0 or common CORESET) including the physical downlink control channel. ¶ [0048], ¶ [0100], ¶ [0114], ¶ [0137], When CORESET associated with a search space for OSI or paging is CORESET #0, UE may be notified of a TCI-state for PDCCH or a parameter corresponding thereto. ¶ [139]); determine a monitoring occasion and a Quasi Co-Location (QCL) based on at least one of the activated TCI states and a predefined association relationship between Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) indexes and PDCCH monitor occasions (figs. 1-4, ¶ [0048], Information regarding QCL may be referred to as transmission configuration indication (TCI) or a transmission configuration indicator state (TCI-state). ¶ [0064], mapping between the PDCCH monitoring occasion and SSB may be defined by specifications. ¶ [0083] When CORESET associated with a search space for OSI or paging is CORESET #0, UE may recognize a QCL source based on an association rule. ¶ [0100], NW may notify UE of the QCL source using MAC CE or DCI. ¶ [0101], ¶ [0102], ¶ [0084], ¶ [0114] In the example of FIG. 3, for UE, PDCCH monitoring occasions #0 and #1 are configured. When SSB #0 is activated as a TCI-state for PDCCH, UE recognizes SSB #0 as a QCL source of PDCCH. UE performs monitoring using SSB #0 which is a QCL source in all the configured PDCCH monitoring occasions #0 and #1. ¶ [0124], ¶ [0139]), wherein less than two activated TCI states are permitted for the CORESET with index zero if the determined monitoring occasion is associated with a Type0-PDCCH common search space (CSS) set, a Type0A-PDCCH CSS set, or a Type2-PDCCH CSS set (Note: the conditional limitation (i.e., less than two activated TCI states being permitted for the CORESET with index zero) need not be satisfied to meet the claim. See Ex Parte Schulhauser, Appeal No. 2013-007847 (PTAB April 28, 2016)); and transmit the PDCCH with common control information on the determined monitoring occasion based on the determined QCL (figs. 1-4, 6, ¶ [0024], The user terminal monitors (blind-decodes) a search space (SS) in CORESET and detects DCI for the user terminal. ¶ [0025]- ¶ [0031], ¶ [0114], ¶ [0182], The transmitting/receiving section 120 may transmit the above-described downlink channel, synchronization signal, downlink reference signal, and the like.¶ [0192]).
Regarding claim 16, Harada teaches a processor for wireless communication, comprising: at least one controller coupled with at least one memory (fig. 7) and configured to cause the processor to: receive a signaling indicating that one or two Transmission Configuration Indication (TCI) states are activated for a Control Resource Set (CORESET) with index zero for transmission of Physical Downlink Control
Channel (PDCCH) with common control information on PDCCH candidates (figs. 1-4, ¶ [0025]-¶ [0031], ¶ [0048], ¶ [0056], ¶ [0211], configuration information indicating a downlink reference signal that is quasi-co-location (for example, TCI-state for PDCCH, list of TCI-states for PDCCH, or MAC CE) for a control resource set (CORESET, for example, CORESET #0 or common CORESET) including the physical downlink control channel. ¶ [0048], ¶ [0100], ¶ [0114], ¶ [0137], When CORESET associated with a search space for OSI or paging is CORESET #0, UE may be notified of a TCI-state for PDCCH or a parameter corresponding thereto.); determine a monitoring occasion and a Quasi Co-Location (QCL) based on at least one of the activated TCI states and a predefined association relationship between Synchronization Signal Block (SSB) indexes and PDCCH monitor occasions (figs. 1-4, ¶ [0048], Information regarding QCL may be referred to as transmission configuration indication (TCI) or a transmission configuration indicator state (TCI-state). ¶ [0064], mapping between the PDCCH monitoring occasion and SSB may be defined by specifications. ¶ [0083] When CORESET associated with a search space for OSI or paging is CORESET #0, UE may recognize a QCL source based on an association rule. ¶ [0100], NW may notify UE of the QCL source using MAC CE or DCI. ¶ [0101], ¶ [0102], ¶ [0084], ¶ [0114] In the example of FIG. 3, for UE, PDCCH monitoring occasions #0 and #1 are configured. When SSB #0 is activated as a TCI-state for PDCCH, UE recognizes SSB #0 as a QCL source of PDCCH. UE performs monitoring using SSB #0 which is a QCL source in all the configured PDCCH monitoring occasions #0 and #1. ¶ [0124], ¶ [0139]), wherein less than two activated TCI states are permitted for the CORESET with index zero if the determined monitoring occasion is associated with a Type0-PDCCH common search space (CSS) set, a Type0A-PDCCH CSS set, or a Type2-PDCCH CSS set (Note: the conditional limitation (i.e., less than two activated TCI states being permitted for the CORESET with index zero) need not be satisfied to meet the claim. See Ex Parte Schulhauser, Appeal No. 2013-007847 (PTAB April 28, 2016)); and perform a blind detection for the PDCCH with common control information on the determined monitoring occasion based on the determined QCL (figs. 1-4, ¶ [0024], The user terminal monitors (blind-decodes) a search space (SS) in CORESET and detects DCI for the user terminal. ¶ [0114]).
Regarding claims 2 and 17, Harada teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to determine the monitoring occasion based on a first one of the activated TCI states (fig. 3, ¶ [0113], ¶ [0114], ¶ [0116], ¶ [0122] and ¶ [0211]).
Regarding claims 3 and 18, Harada teaches the UE of claim 1 wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to determine the QCL based on the first indicated TCI state (fig. 3, ¶ [0113], ¶ [0114], ¶ [0116], ¶ [0122], and ¶ [0211]).
Regarding claim 5 and 20, Harada teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein two TCI states are not activated for the CORESET with index zero (¶ [0048], ¶ [0054], ¶ [0056], UE may receive a MAC CE (MAC CE for activation) that indicates one TCI-state for PDCCH (tci-StatesPDCCH) in the list. ¶ [0121], UE may activate one of the TCI-states for PDCCH in the list by MAC CE.).
Regarding claim 11, Harada teaches the NE of claim 10, wherein at least one processor is configured to cause the NE to determine the monitoring occasion based on a first one of the activated TCI states (fig. 3, ¶ [0113], ¶ [0114], ¶ [0116], ¶ [0122], and ¶ [0211]).
Regarding claim 12, Harada teaches the NE of claim 10, at least one processor is configured to cause the NE to determine the QCL based on the first indicated TCI state (fig. 3, ¶ [0113], ¶ [0114], ¶ [0116], ¶ [0122], and ¶ [0211]).
Regarding claim 14, Harada teaches the NE of claim 10, wherein two TCI states are not to be activated for the CORESET with index zero (¶ [0048], ¶ [0054], ¶ [0056], UE may receive a MAC CE (MAC CE for activation) that indicates one TCI-state for PDCCH (tci-StatesPDCCH) in the list. ¶ [0121], UE may activate one of the TCI-states for PDCCH in the list by MAC CE.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harada.
Regarding claim 7, Harada teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to receive a first signaling for indicating that, where one or more TCI states are activated for the CORESET with index zero, one or more of the activated TCI states are used for determining the monitoring occasion and the QCL for the blind detection of the PDCCH with common control information (fig. 3, ¶ [0056], UE may receive a MAC CE (MAC CE for activation) that indicates one TCI-state for PDCCH, [0113], ¶ [0114], ¶ [0116], ¶ [0122], ¶ [0124], since a plurality of PDCCH monitoring occasions configured by configuration information of a search space is limited by the active TCI-state for PDCCH. ¶ [0137], When CORESET associated with a search space for OSI or paging is CORESET #0, UE may be notified of a TCI-state for PDCCH or a parameter corresponding thereto).
Harada does not explicitly teach a first signaling bit.
However, Harada teaches determining/judging may be performed in values represented by one bit (0 or 1)) (¶ [0260]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to include a signaling bit for indicating that, where one or more TCI states are activated for the CORESET with index zero, one or more of the activated TCI states are used for determining the monitoring occasion and the QCL for the blind detection of the PDCCH with common control information in the system of Harada to utilize conventional techniques in the art.
9. Claims 4, 6, 8, 13, 15 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harada in view of Zhang et al. (US 2023/0180307 A1, hereinafter “Zhang”).
Regarding claims 4 and 19, Harada teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to determine the QCL based on the indicated TCI state (figs. 1-4, ¶ [0122]-¶ [0124]).
Harada does not explicitly teach wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to determine the QCL based on the two indicated TCI states .
Zhang teaches indicating two TCI states (¶ [0137], it may be possible for one CORESET to be configured with two TCI states. ¶ [0144], a gNB may be able to indicate 2 TCI states for CORESET 0. Different TCI states can be QCLed with different SSBs. It may be the case that a UE monitors the PDCCH in SS/CORESET 0 instances associated with SSBs from the 2 TCI states. ¶ [0140]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to indicate two TCI states and configured the UE to determine the QCL based on the two indicated TCI states in the system of Harada to further improve industrial applicability.
Regarding claim 6, Harada teaches the UE of claim 1.
Harada does not explicitly teach wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to determine, based at least in part on the signaling indicating that two TCI states are activated for the CORESET with index zero, the monitoring occasion
and the QCL according to previously determined monitoring occasion and QCL.
Zhang teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to determine, based at least in part on the signaling indicating that two TCI states are activated for the CORESET with index zero, the monitoring occasion
and the QCL according to previously determined monitoring occasion and QCL (figs. 7-10, ¶ [0135], It may be the case that a UE does not need to monitor all instances for the SS/CORESET 0; instead, the UE may only need to monitor the SS/CORESET 0 instance associated with one SSB from the most recent of a SSB associated with a random access channel (RACH) procedure or a SSB quasi-co-located (QCL) with the CSI-RS in the TCI state for the CORESET 0, at least according to some embodiments. ¶ [0140], ¶ [0141], ¶ [0144]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to indicate two TCI states and configure the UE to determine, based at least in part on the signaling indicating that two TCI states are activated for the CORESET with index zero, the monitoring occasion and the QCL according to previously determined monitoring occasion and QCL in the system of Harada to further improve industrial applicability.
Regarding claim 8, Harada teaches the UE of claim 7.
Harada does not explicitly teach wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to receive a second signaling bit for indicating a selected one of the two TCI states for determining the monitoring occasion.
Zhang teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to receive a second signaling for indicating a selected one of the two TCI states for determining the monitoring occasion (¶ [0137], it may be possible for one CORESET to be configured with two TCI states. ¶ [0141], which TCI state is to be selected can be configured by higher layer signaling (e.g., via RRC or MAC CE signaling), ¶ [0108]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to receive a second signaling bit for indicating a selected one of the two TCI states for determining the monitoring occasion in the system of Harada to further improve industrial applicability.
Regarding claim 13, Harada teaches the NE of claim 10.
Harada does not explicitly teach wherein at least one processor is configured to cause the NE to determine the QCL based on the two indicated TCI states.
Zhang teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to indicate two TCI states (¶ [0137], it may be possible for one CORESET to be configured with two TCI states. ¶ [0144], a gNB may be able to indicate 2 TCI states for CORESET 0. Different TCI states can be QCLed with different SSBs. It may be the case that a UE monitors the PDCCH in SS/CORESET 0 instances associated with SSBs from the 2 TCI states. ¶ [0140]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to indicate two TCI states and to configure the UE to determine the QCL based on the two indicated TCI states in the system of Harada to further improve industrial applicability.
Regarding claim 15, Harada teaches the NE of claim 10.
Harada does not explicitly teach wherein, at least one processor is configured to cause the NE to determine transmit signaling indicating that one or more TCI states are activated for the CORESET with index zero, and determines the monitoring occasion and the QCL are determined according to previously determined monitoring occasion and QCL.
Zhang teaches wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to determine, based at least in part on the signaling indicating that two TCI states are activated for the CORESET with index zero, the monitoring occasion
and the QCL according to previously determined monitoring occasion and QCL (figs. 7-10, ¶ [0135], It may be the case that a UE does not need to monitor all instances for the SS/CORESET 0; instead, the UE may only need to monitor the SS/CORESET 0 instance associated with one SSB from the most recent of a SSB associated with a random access channel (RACH) procedure or a SSB quasi-co-located (QCL) with the CSI-RS in the TCI state for the CORESET 0, at least according to some embodiments. ¶ [0140], ¶ [0141], ¶ [0144]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to indicate two TCI states and to configure the NE to determine, based at least in part on the signaling indicating that two TCI states are activated for the CORESET with index zero, the monitoring occasion and the QCL according to previously determined monitoring occasion and QCL in the system of Harada to further improve industrial applicability.
Allowable Subject Matter
10. Claim 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 9, prior art of record fails to teach or fairly suggest the combination of limitations specified in the base claim and intervening claim(s) and “wherein two TCI states are activated for the CORESET with index zero; and the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to receive a Media Access Control – Control Element (MAC CE) that comprises a first TCI state indication and a second TCI state indication; the second TCI state indication uses one bit less than the first TCI state indication; and the one bit not used by the second TCI state indication is reused as the one or more of the first signaling bit or second signaling bit.”
Response to Arguments
11. Applicant's arguments filed on April 22, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Examiner respectfully submits that the amended claims (1, 10 and 16) are anticipated by Harada, as set forth above.
Conclusion
12. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MANDISH K RANDHAWA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477