DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-2, 5, 10, 14-18, 21-26, 32, and 46; species: amino acid substitution at position 62 is T62G (SEQ ID NO:7)), in the reply filed on 8/14/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 10, 47, and 53-55 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 5/4/2026, and 6/7/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and have been considered by the examiner.
Applicant is reminded of their duty to disclose to the Office all information known to the person to be material to patentability as defined in 37 CFR 1.56. As stated therein, “[e]ach individual associated with the filing and prosecution of a patent application has a duty of candor and good faith in dealing with the Office, which includes a duty to disclose to the Office all information known to that individual to be material to patentability as defined in this section”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a), written description
4a. Claims 1-2, 5, 14-18, 21-26, 32, and 46, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The MPEP states that the purpose of the written description requirement is to ensure that the inventor had possession, as of the filing date of the application, of the specific subject matter later claimed. The MPEP lists factors that can be used to determine if sufficient evidence of possession has been furnished in the disclosure of the application. These include “level of skill and knowledge in the art, partial structure, physical and/or chemical properties, functional characteristics alone or coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between structure and function, and the method of making the claimed invention.”
The written description requirement for a claimed genus may be satisfied through sufficient description of a representative number of species by actual reduction to practice, disclosure of drawings, or by disclosure of relevant identifying characteristics, for example, structure or other physical and/or chemical properties, by functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show the Applicants were in possession of the claimed genus.
Independent claim 1 recites “a modified immune cell comprising a first heterologous nucleic acid sequence encoding an IL-15 polypeptide comprising one or more amino acid substitutions at positions 62, 8, 3 and/or 25, wherein numbering of the amino acid residue positions is according to SEQ ID NO: 1.”
Dependent claim 5 recites “….wherein the amino acid substitution at position 62 is T62G, wherein the IL-15 polypeptide comprises an amino acid sequence having at least 90% sequence identity to the amino acid sequence of SEQ ID NO: 7.”
Dependent claim 15 recites “…wherein the modified immune cell comprising the first heterologous nucleic acid sequence encoding an IL-15 polypeptide that induces secretion of an inflammatory cytokine by the modified immune cell at a level that is least 50% lower than that by a modified immune cell comprising a heterologous nucleic acid sequence encoding a wildtype IL-15 polypeptide.”
The claims as recited would represent a large pool of modified immune cells comprising nucleic acids encoding variant IL-15 polypeptides that must have similar functional activity. A 90% variance, for example, in the polypeptide set forth in SEQ ID NO: 1 that is 114 amino acids in length translates into 10% of the amino acid residues that may be added, deleted, substituted, or otherwise mutated anywhere throughout the entire length of the 114 residue amino acid polypeptide. There is no limit in the claims, as written, that the variance be contiguous. Moreover, there is no limitation stating that the substitution, for example, be a conservative substitution. As a result, there are potentially thousands of variant permutations that could be made. Applicants have not described which portions of SEQ ID NO: 1 are critical to the function of the protein. The specification provides limited guidance regarding which amino acids can be modified in the genus of polypeptides, while maintaining any given function. Therefore, these structures (i.e., sequence variants) are claimed only by their functional characteristics, and the specification fails to provide sufficient correlation between the claimed functional characteristics and the necessary structural components (i.e., critical domains within the sequences).
Thus, the genus of claimed peptides is extremely broad because the claims recite generic and incompletely described peptides. One of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the structure of the claimed peptides without adequate descriptions of its component parts or overall makeup. The claims as recited do not impart enough structural information to permit one of ordinary skill in the art to reasonably recognize or understand that Applicant was in possession of the full scope of the genus of variant peptides recited in the claims.
The invention contemplates a modified immune cell comprising a nucleic acid encoding IL-15 polypeptide variants characterized by having at least 90% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO:7. The specification does not provide adequate written description to identify the broad and variable genus of polypeptides because, inter alia, the specification does not disclose a correlation between the necessary structure of the polypeptide and the function(s) of the polypeptide; and thus, the specification does not distinguish the claimed genus from others. Accordingly, the specification does not define any structural features commonly possessed by members of the genus of variant IL-15 polypeptides. In addition, because the genus of claimed polypeptide is highly variable (i.e., each variant polypeptide would necessarily have a unique structure; see MPEP 2434), the generic description of the variant IL-15 polypeptides is insufficient to describe the genus.
Further, Applicants have not shown possession of a representative number of species of immune cells comprising nucleic acids encoding the claimed variant IL-15 polypeptides. As noted above, the claims are generic for the components of the polypeptides. The disclosure of only a few species encompassed within a genus adequately describes a claim directed to that genus only if the disclosure "indicates that the patentee has invented species sufficient to constitute the gen[us]." See Enzo Biochem, 323 F.3d at 966, 63 USPQ2d at 1615; Noelle v. Lederman, 355 F.3d 1343, 1350, 69 USPQ2d 1508, 1514 (Fed. Cir. 2004) (Fed. Cir. 2004) ("[A] patentee of a biotechnological invention cannot necessarily claim a genus after only describing a limited number of species because there may be unpredictability in the results obtained from species other than those specifically enumerated.") (MPEP 2163).
Vas-Cath Inc. v. Mahurkar, 19 USPQ2d 1111, makes clear that
"applicant must convey with reasonable clarity to those skilled in the art that, as of the filing date sought, he or she was in possession of the invention. The invention is, for purposes of the 'written description' inquiry, whatever is now claimed." (See page 1117.) The specification does not "clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that [he or she] invented what is claimed." (See Vas-Cath at page 1116.)
Protein chemistry is probably one of the most unpredictable areas of biotechnology. Consequently, the effects of sequence dissimilarities upon protein structure and function cannot be predicted. Bowie et al. (Science, 1990, 247:1306-1310) teach that an amino acid sequence encodes a message that determines the shape and function of a protein and that it is the ability of these proteins to fold into unique three-dimensional structures that allows them to function and carry out the instructions of the genome and further teaches that the problem of predicting protein structure from sequence data and in turn utilizing predicted structural determinations to ascertain functional aspects of the protein is extremely complex (column 1, page 1306). Bowie et al. further teach that while it is known that many amino acid substitutions are possible in any given protein, the position within the protein's sequence where such amino acid substitutions can be made with a reasonable expectation of maintaining function are limited. Certain positions in the sequence are critical to the three-dimensional structure/function relationship and these regions can tolerate only conservative substitutions or no substitutions at all (column 2, page 1306). The sensitivity of proteins to alterations of even a single amino acid in a sequence are exemplified by Burgess et al. (J. Cell Biol. 111:2129-2138, 1990) who teach that replacement of a single lysine reside at position 118 of acidic fibroblast growth factor by glutamic acid led to the substantial loss of heparin binding, receptor binding and biological activity of the protein and by Lazar et al. (Mol. Cell. Biol., 8:1247-1252, 1988) who teach that in transforming growth factor alpha, replacement of aspartic acid at position 47 with alanine or asparagine did not affect biological activity while replacement with serine or glutamic acid sharply reduced the biological activity of the mitogen. These references demonstrate that even a single amino acid substitution will often dramatically affect the biological activity and characteristics of a protein.
Additionally, Bork (Genome Research, 2000, 10:398-400) clearly teaches the pitfalls associated with comparative sequence analysis for predicting protein function because of the known error margins for high-throughput computational methods. Bork specifically teaches that computational sequence analysis is far from perfect, despite the fact that sequencing itself is highly automated and accurate (page 398, column 1). One of the reasons for the inaccuracy is that the quality of data in public sequence databases is still insufficient. This is particularly true for data on protein function. Protein function is context dependent, and both molecular and cellular aspects have to be considered (page 398, column 2). Conclusions from the comparison analysis are often stretched with regard to protein products (page 398, column 3). Further, although gene annotation via sequence database searches is already a routine job, even here the error rate is considerable (page 399, column 2). Most features predicted with an accuracy of greater than 70% are of structural nature and, at best, only indirectly imply a certain functionality (see legend for table 1, page 399). As more sequences are added and as errors accumulate and propagate it becomes more difficult to infer correct function from the many possibilities revealed by database search (page 399, paragraph bridging columns 2 and 3). The reference finally cautions that although the current methods seem to capture important features and explain general trends, 30% of those features are missing or predicted wrongly. This has to be kept in mind when processing the results further (page 400, paragraph bridging columns 1 and 2).
The state of the art regarding the structure-function correlation cannot be relied upon because functional characteristics of any peptide/protein are determined by its structure as evidenced by Greenspan et al. 1999 (Defining epitopes: It's not as easy as it seems; Nature Biotechnology, 17:936-937). Greenspan et al. teach that as little as one substitution of an amino acid (e.g., alanine) in a sequence, results in unpredictable changes in the 3-dimenstional structure of the new peptide sequence which, in turn, results in changes in the functional activity such as binding affinity of the peptide sequence (page 936, 1st column). Greenspan et al. teach that contribution of each residue (i.e., each amino acid) cannot be estimated with any confidence if the replacement affects the properties of the free form of the molecule (page 936, 3rd column).
Given not only the teachings of Bowie et al., Lazar et al., Burgess et al., and Greenspan et al., but also the limitations and pitfalls of using computational sequence analysis and the unknown effects of alternative splicing, post translational modification and cellular context on protein function as taught by Bork, the claimed peptides could not be predicted as claimed.
Applicant has provided little or no descriptive support beyond the mere presentation of generic or partially named structures to enable one of ordinary skill in the art to determine the actual structural composition of the claimed genus of IL-15 polypeptides. Although the prior art outlines art-recognized procedures for producing and screening for recombinant proteins this is not sufficient to impart possession of the genera of variant proteins to Applicant. Even if a few structurally identifiable composition components were described in the specification, they may not be sufficient, as the ordinary artisan would not necessarily immediately recognize how to put them together in such a way as to form a completely constructed peptide such that one would be able to distinguish it from the peptides of the prior art. Without an adequate structural description of the claimed components and descriptive support on how to put them together, one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised that Applicant was in possession of the genus of modified immune cells comprising nucleic acids encoding variant IL-15 polyproteins as claimed.
While "examples explicitly covering the full scope of the claim language" typically will not be required, a sufficient number of representative species must be included to "demonstrate that the patentee possessed the full scope of the [claimed] invention." Lizard tech v. Earth Resource Mapping, Inc., 424 F.3d 1336, 1345, 76 USPQ2d 1724,1732 (Fed. Cir. 2005).
In the absence of sufficient recitation of distinguishing characteristics, the specification does not provide adequate written description of the claimed genus. One of skill in the art would not recognize from the disclosure that the applicant was in possession of the claimed method which encompasses treating any cancer. Possession may not be shown by merely describing how to obtain possession of members of the claimed genus or how to identify their common structural features (see, Univ. of Rochester v. G.D. Searle& Co., 358 F.3d 916,927, 69 USPQ2d 1886, 1895 (Fed. Cir. 2004); accord Ex Parte Kubin, 2007-0819, BPAI 31 May 2007, opinion at p. 16, paragraph 1). The specification does not clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that he or she invented what is claimed (see Vas-Cath at page 1116).
Applicant is reminded that Vas-Cath makes clear that the written description provision of 35 U.S.C. 112 is severable from its enablement provision (see page 1115).
Therefore, the full breadth of the claims fails to meet the written description provision of 35 U.S.C. §112, first paragraph. In the instant case, for example, Applicants have failed to describe which modified immune cell comprising a nucleic acid encoding an IL-15 polypeptide with an “amino acid sequence having at least 90% sequence identity” to the IL-15 polypeptide having SEQ ID NO:7 and with the recited mutations have the desired properties claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
5a. Claims 1-2, 5, 14-18, 21-26, 32, and 46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is vague and indefinite for several reasons.
Claim 1, line 1, is vague and indefinite because it recites "a modified immune cell” and it is unclear which immune cells are encompassed by the clam. This rejection can be obviated by reciting the specific immune cells for which there is a basis in the instant specification.
Claim 1, line 3, is vague and indefinite because it recites the limitation “and/or” and it is unclear what this limitation specifically encompasses. Does the IL-15 variant polypeptide have not or have a substitution at position 25?
Claim 14, line 2, is unclear because it recites “reduce affinity” but fail to recite by how much the affinity is reduced. It is suggested that the claim be amended to recite the “reduced affinity” as disclosed in the specification [0067], pages 15-16.
Claim 22, line 3, is unclear because it recites “common gamma chain (γc)” and it is unclear which “gamma chain” is being referred to in the claim.
Claim 24 is vague and indefinite for several reasons.
Claim 24, line 2, is vague and indefinite because it recites “antigen binding domain” and it is unclear which “antigen binding domain” is encompassed by the claim.
Claim 24, line 2, is vague and indefinite because it recites “an IL-15 fragment” and it is unclear which “fragment” of the 114 amino acids of IL-15 polypeptide is encompassed by the claim.
Claim 25, line 3, is vague and indefinite because it recites “an engineered receptor” and it is unclear which engineered receptors are encompassed by the claim. It is suggested that the limitations of claim 26 be recited in claim 25 to obviate this rejection.
Claims 2, 15-18, 21, 23, 26, 32, and 46, are rejected as vague and indefinite insofar as they are dependent on the above rejected claims for their limitations.
Claim rejections-35 U.S.C. 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
6a. Claims 1-2, 5, 14-18, 21-22, 24-26, 32, and 46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2016158285A1 in view of US 2020392235A1.
The claims of the instant invention are directed to a modified immune cell comprising a first heterologous nucleic acid sequence encoding an IL-15 polypeptide comprising one or more amino acid substitutions at positions 62, 8, 3 and/or 25, wherein numbering of the amino acid residue positions is according to SEQ ID NO: 1.
US 2016158285A1 (‘285) discloses an isolated T-cell comprising an expressed chimeric T-cell receptor (CAR) and an expressed membrane-bound IL-15, wherein the membrane-bound IL-15 comprises a fusion protein between IL-15 and IL-15Rα, by co-modifying CAR T cells with a human cytokine mutein of IL-15 (mIL15), the fusion protein is comprised of codon-optimized cDNA sequence of IL-15 fused to full length IL-15 receptor via a flexible serine-glycine linker. This IL-15 mutein was designed in such a fashion so as to restrict the mIL15 expression Io the surface of the CAR+ T cells to limit diffusion of the cytokine to non-target in vivo environments, thereby potentially improving its safety profile as soluble cytokine administration has led to toxicities, and to present IL-15 in the context of IL-15Rα to mimic physiologically relevant and qualitative signaling as well as stabilization and recycling of the IL-15/IL-15Rα complex for a longer cytokine half-life because T cells expressing mIL15 are capable of supportive cytokine signaling, which is critical to their survival post-infusion (claims 78-105; paragraphs [0012]-[0017], [0029], [0088], [0124], and [0147]-[0155]). The reference is silent with respect to the T cell comprising an IL-15 mutein with a T62G substitution in SEQ ID NO:1.
However, US 2020392235A1 (‘235) discloses a prodrug comprising an IL-I5 cytokine moiety (A), and a masking moiety (M), wherein the masking moiety binds to the IL-15 cytokine moiety and inhibits a biological activity of the IL-15 cytokine moiety, and the IL-15 cytokine moiety is a human IL-15 polypeptide wherein the human polypeptide comprises one or more mutations from D8A, D8T. D8E, D8N, T62L, T62A, D8N/D61N, D8N/E64Q in SEQ ID NO:2 (which has 100% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO:1 in the instant application) (See claims 1-41).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the instant invention was conceived, to modify the immune cell as disclosed by ‘285 to comprise a nucleic acid encoding an IL-15 polypeptide with a T62G mutation as disclosed by ‘235 (with a T62G substitution instead to a T62A substitution since G and A are both nonpolar hydrophobic amino acids) because ‘285 teaches the advantage of a modified immune cell comprising an expressed chimeric T-cell receptor (CAR) and an expressed membrane-bound IL-15, wherein the membrane-bound IL-15 comprises a fusion protein between IL-15 and IL-15Rα (by co-modifying CAR T cells with mIL15). One of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have had a reasonable expectation of success for combining the IL-15 mutein of ‘235 with the immune cell of ‘285 because ‘285 discloses the advantages of an immune cell with the IL-15/IL-15Rα fusion and ‘235 teaches the advantage of the prodrug IL-15 T62 mutein. With respect to the modified cell comprising an IL-15 variant with reduced affinity for IL-15Rβ and the IL-15 variant inducing secretion of an inflammatory cytokine compared to wild-type IL-15, the modified cell of the prior art would be expected to have these properties. Therefore, the teachings of ‘285 provides the motivation and expectation of success to obtain an immune cell comprising an IL-15 mutein which was designed in such a fashion so as to restrict the mIL15 expression to the surface of the CAR+ T, and ‘235 provides the teaching of a prodrug comprising an IL-I5 cytokine with a T62 mutation.
Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made from the combination of references which renders obvious claims 1-2, 5, 14-18, 21-22, 24-26, 32, and 46, in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
6b. Claims 1-2, 5, 14-18, 21-26, 32, and 46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2016158285A1 in view of US 2020392235A1 as applied to claims 1-2, 5, 14-18, 21-22, 24-26, 32, and 46 above, and further in view of Lorenzen et al (2006).
The teachings of US 2016158285A1 and US 2020392235A1 are set forth above in paragraph 6a. The reference is silent with respect to a modified immune cell wherein the second polypeptide fragment is a sushi domain of IL-15Rα fragment (SEQ ID NO:50).
Lorenzen et al teach the amino acid sequence of the IL-15Rα sushi domain, which has exceptionally high affinity for IL-15, which is important for the biological effects of IL-15 and is not observed in other cytokine/cytokine receptor complexes (See abstract). The sequence comparison between SEQ ID NO:50 of the instant invention and sushi domain of IL-15Rα is set forth below in SEQUENCE COMPARISON “A”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the instant invention was conceived, to obtain a modified immune cell as taught by US 2016158285A1 and US 2020392235A1 with the IL-15 polypeptide fused to the sushi domain of IL-15Rα (SEQ ID NO:50) as taught by Lorenzen et al because Lorenzen et al teach that the IL-15Rα sushi domain, has exceptionally high affinity for IL-15, which is important for the pro-inflammatory biological effects of IL-15. Therefore, Lorenzen et al provides the motivation and expectation of success to substitute the IL-15R of US 2016158285A1 with the IL-15Rα sushi domain, which has exceptionally high affinity for IL-15, which is important for the biological effects of IL-15.
Therefore, the combination of references renders obvious claims 1-2, 5, 14-18, 21-26, 32, and 46 in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
SEQUENCE COMPARISON “A”
RT "The structure of the interleukin-15 alpha receptor and its implications for ligand binding.";
RL J. Biol. Chem. 281:6642-6647(2006).
RP X-RAY CRYSTALLOGRAPHY (1.85 ANGSTROMS) OF 31-132 IN COMPLEX WITH IL15, AND
RP DISULFIDE BONDS.
RX PubMed=17643103; DOI=10.1038/ni1492;
Query Match 100.0%; Score 930; Length 267;
Best Local Similarity 100.0%;
Matches 175; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
Qy 1 ITCPPPMSVEHADIWVKSYSLYSRERYICNSGFKRKAGTSSLTECVLNKATNVAHWTTPS 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 31 ITCPPPMSVEHADIWVKSYSLYSRERYICNSGFKRKAGTSSLTECVLNKATNVAHWTTPS 90
Qy 61 LKCIRDPALVHQRPAPPSTVTTAGVTPQPESLSPSGKEPAASSPSSNNTAATTAAIVPGS 120
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 91 LKCIRDPALVHQRPAPPSTVTTAGVTPQPESLSPSGKEPAASSPSSNNTAATTAAIVPGS 150
Qy 121 QLMPSKSPSTGTTEISSHESSHGTPSQTTAKNWELTASASHQPPGVYPQGHSDTT 175
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 151 QLMPSKSPSTGTTEISSHESSHGTPSQTTAKNWELTASASHQPPGVYPQGHSDTT 205
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
Claims 1-2, 5, 14-18, 21-26, 32, and 46 are rejected.
Advisory Information
/PREMA M MERTZ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1674