DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-7 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jeon et al. (US 20220256519 A1).
Considering claim 1, Jeon teaches a radio apparatus, comprising:
a radio (Fig.2-3), which in operation, performs radio communication in a frame unit (symbols/slots/subframes/frames) including a first resource group divided in a frequency direction and a second resource group divided in a time direction ([0409]-[0413] first set of symbols/slots/subframes/frames in the time pattern are configured for radar sensing, and a second set of symbols/slots/subframes/frames in the time pattern are configured for communication, [0416]); and
a controller (Fig.2-3), which in operation, selects a resource to be used for sensing from the first resource group (frequency-domain) and the second resource group (time pattern) included in the frame unit ([0409]-[0417] For example, a subset of time-domain resources for uplink (U) can be determined for radar sensing transmission, e.g., based on a parameter for subset selection, such as a periodicity and/or offset value to select a subset of uplink symbols/slots/resources, [0429]).
2, Jeon teaches wherein the radio apparatus senses a target based on a request from another radio apparatus ([0009], [0212]).
Considering claim 3, Jeon teaches wherein the radio apparatus transmits a sensing result to the another radio apparatus ([0208], [0259]).
Considering claim 4, Jeon teaches wherein the radio apparatus asks another radio apparatus for permission to sense a target and senses the target when receiving sensing permission from the another radio apparatus ([0439]).
Considering claim 5, Jeon teaches wherein, the frame unit is composed of a first communication unit (UE) and a second communication unit (gNB), the first resource group is included in the first communication unit, and the second resource group is included in the second communication unit ([0439]-[0440]).
Considering claim 6, Jeon teaches wherein the radio apparatus determines a resource to be used for data signal communication from the first resource group ([0439]-[0440]).
Considering claim 7, Jeon teaches a sensing method, comprising:
performing radio communication in a frame unit (symbols/slots/subframes/frames) including a first resource group divided in a frequency direction and a second resource group divided in a time direction ([0409]-[0413] first set of symbols/slots/subframes/frames in the time pattern are configured for radar sensing, and a second set of symbols/slots/subframes/frames in the time pattern are configured for communication, [0416]); and
selecting a resource to be used for sensing from the first resource group and the second resource group included in the frame unit ([0409]-[0417] For example, a subset of time-domain resources for uplink (U) can be determined for radar sensing transmission, e.g., based on a parameter for subset selection, such as a periodicity and/or offset value to select a subset of uplink symbols/slots/resources, [0429]).
Conclusion
/KHAI M NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641