DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 29, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The argument features Pawar does not disclose or suggest reporting an indication of the table to any other entity.
The examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant’s statement and asserts that the independent claims are broadly written. What is the network component? What is the antenna configuration? How is the table determined in a novel way? As written, the independent claim only refers to an indication of the table not even the actual table. It is known in the field of art for a “network component” to report data to another entity. Using the broadest reasonable interpretation, Pawar discloses an eNodeB that transmits a message using a radiation pattern to UE 16 [col. 6, lines 8-9]. [“eNodeB 12 could include… a table that maps various antenna radiation patterns to corresponding radiation pattern parameters…” (col. 5, lines 61-63)]. Transmitting a message using one of these radiation patterns to UE 16 [col. 6, lines 8-9] would be reporting an indication of the table, used to map these patterns [col. 5, lines 61-63], to the UE. The applicant would need to further amend the independent claims to clearly indicate the patentable subject matter.
In view of the above, the rejection using Pawar is maintained as repeated below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6, 7, 11, 12, 14, 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by Pawar et al. (U.S. Patent Number: 10,440,716).
Consider claim 1; Pawar discloses a method of operating a network component, comprising:
determining an antenna configuration associated with the network component [“… the eNodeB could utilize one or more radiation pattern parameters, which specify how the eNodeB may control such aspects of the antenna structure.” (col. 5, lines 48-51)];
determining a table that maps each antenna element of a set of antenna elements associated with the antenna configuration to a phase shift, or an amplitude shift, or a combination thereof [“… the eNodeB could utilize one or more radiation pattern parameters, which specify how the eNodeB may control such aspects of the antenna structure. For example, the one or more radiation pattern parameters could specify a relative phase, amplitude…of each antenna of the antenna structure for a given antenna radiation pattern.” (col. 5, lines 48-54) “eNodeB 12 could include… a table that maps various antenna radiation patterns to corresponding radiation pattern parameters…” (col. 5, lines 61-63)];
reporting an indication of the table to a position estimation entity [“eNodeB 12 could include… a table that maps various antenna radiation patterns to corresponding radiation pattern parameters…” (col. 5, lines 61-63) “…eNodeB 12 could transmit a DCI message to UE 16 using a radiation pattern…” (col. 6, lines 8-9)]; and
reporting an indication of the antenna configuration to the position estimation entity [“… the eNodeB could utilize one or more radiation pattern parameters, which specify how the eNodeB may control such aspects of the antenna structure. For example, the one or more radiation pattern parameters could specify a relative phase, amplitude…of each antenna of the antenna structure for a given antenna radiation pattern.” (col. 5, lines 48-54) “…eNodeB 12 could transmit a DCI message to UE 16 using a radiation pattern…” (col. 6, lines 8-9)],
wherein the position estimation entity is remote from the network component and corresponds to a user equipment (UE) or a location server [“…eNodeB 12 could transmit a DCI message to UE 16 using a radiation pattern…” (col. 6, lines 8-9)].
Consider claim 2; Pawar discloses the table maps the set of antenna elements per antenna element (col. 5, line 61 – col. 6, line 2), or wherein the table maps the set of antenna elements per group of antenna elements that are associated with a same phase shift, or a same amplitude shift, or wherein the indication of the table further specifies, for at least one antenna element, an association with one or more positioning reference signal (PRS) resources, or wherein the indication of the table and the indication of the antenna configuration are reported via a single measurement report, or wherein the indication of the table and the indication of the antenna configuration are reported via multiple measurement reports, or wherein the indication of the table is reported via location assistance data, or wherein the indication of the table is reported on-demand, or any combination thereof.
Consider claim 3; Pawar discloses the antenna configuration includes a number of antenna elements among the set of antenna elements (col. 5, lines 47-59), an antenna spacing associated with the set of antenna elements, or a combination thereof.
Consider claim 6; Pawar discloses the table maps each antenna element of the set of antenna elements to at least the phase shift (col. 5, lines 51-59, 61-66).
Consider claim 7; Pawar discloses the table maps at least one antenna element of the set of antenna elements to both the phase shift and the amplitude shift (col. 5, lines 51-59, 61-66).
Consider claim 11; Pawar discloses a method of operating a position estimation entity, comprising:
receiving [“… the eNodeB could utilize one or more radiation pattern parameters, which specify how the eNodeB may control such aspects of the antenna structure. For example, the one or more radiation pattern parameters could specify a relative phase, amplitude…of each antenna of the antenna structure for a given antenna radiation pattern.” (col. 5, lines 48-54) “…eNodeB 12 could transmit a DCI message to UE 16 using a radiation pattern…” (col. 6, lines 8-9)], from a network component [“… the eNodeB could utilize one or more radiation pattern parameters, which specify how the eNodeB may control such aspects of the antenna structure. For example, the one or more radiation pattern parameters could specify a relative phase, amplitude…of each antenna of the antenna structure for a given antenna radiation pattern.” (col. 5, lines 48-54) “…eNodeB 12 could transmit a DCI message to UE 16 using a radiation pattern…” (col. 6, lines 8-9)], an indication of an antenna configuration associated with the network component [“… the eNodeB could utilize one or more radiation pattern parameters, which specify how the eNodeB may control such aspects of the antenna structure. For example, the one or more radiation pattern parameters could specify a relative phase, amplitude…of each antenna of the antenna structure for a given antenna radiation pattern.” (col. 5, lines 48-54) “…eNodeB 12 could transmit a DCI message to UE 16 using a radiation pattern…” (col. 6, lines 8-9)];
receiving [“eNodeB 12 could include… a table that maps various antenna radiation patterns to corresponding radiation pattern parameters…” (col. 5, lines 61-63) “…eNodeB 12 could transmit a DCI message to UE 16 using a radiation pattern…” (col. 6, lines 8-9)], from the network component [“eNodeB 12 could include… a table that maps various antenna radiation patterns to corresponding radiation pattern parameters…” (col. 5, lines 61-63) “…eNodeB 12 could transmit a DCI message to UE 16 using a radiation pattern…” (col. 6, lines 8-9)], an indication of a table that maps each antenna element of a set of antenna elements associated with the antenna configuration to a phase shift, or an amplitude shift, or a combination thereof [“eNodeB 12 could include… a table that maps various antenna radiation patterns to corresponding radiation pattern parameters…” (col. 5, lines 61-63) “…eNodeB 12 could transmit a DCI message to UE 16 using a radiation pattern…” (col. 6, lines 8-9)]; and
determining beam shape information one or more antenna elements based on the indication of the antenna configuration and the indication of the table [“… the eNodeB could utilize one or more radiation pattern parameters, which specify how the eNodeB may control such aspects of the antenna structure. For example, the one or more radiation pattern parameters could specify a relative phase, amplitude…of each antenna of the antenna structure for a given antenna radiation pattern. As another example, some antenna radiation patterns could be specified by a set of beamforming coefficients in which each coefficient is a complex constant representing a relative amplitude and phase shift for a respective one of the antenna in a phased array of antennas.” (col. 5, lines 48-59) “eNodeB 12 could include… a table that maps various antenna radiation patterns to corresponding radiation pattern parameters…” (col. 5, lines 61-63) “…eNodeB 12 could transmit a DCI message to UE 16 using a radiation pattern…” (col. 6, lines 8-9)],
wherein the position estimation entity is remote from the network component and corresponds to a user equipment (UE) or a location server [“…eNodeB 12 could transmit a DCI message to UE 16 using a radiation pattern…” (col. 6, lines 8-9)].
Consider claim 12; Pawar discloses the indication of the table is received via location assistance data, or wherein the indication of the table is received on-demand, or wherein the table maps the set of antenna elements per antenna element (col. 5, line 61 – col. 6, line 2), or wherein the table maps the set of antenna elements per group of antenna elements that are associated with a same phase shift, or a same amplitude shift, or any combination thereof.
Consider claim 14; Pawar discloses the antenna configuration includes a number of antenna elements among the set of antenna elements (col. 5, lines 47-59), an antenna spacing associated with the set of antenna elements, or a combination thereof.
Consider claim 17; Pawar discloses the table maps each antenna element of the set of antenna elements to at least the phase shift (col. 5, lines 51-59, 61-66).
Consider claim 18; Pawar discloses the table maps at least one antenna element of the set of antenna elements to both the phase shift and the amplitude shift (col. 5, lines 51-59, 61-66).
Consider claim 19; Pawar discloses the indication of the table further specifies, for at least one antenna element, an association with one or more positioning reference signal (PRS) resources (col. 5, line 61 – col. 6, line 2; col.7, lines 58-60), or wherein the indication of the table and the indication of the antenna configuration are reported via a single measurement report, or wherein the indication of the table and the indication of the antenna configuration are reported via multiple measurement reports, or any combination thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pawar et al. (U.S. Patent Number: 10,440,716) in view of Noh et al. (U.S. Patent Application Number: 2016/0191133).
Consider claim 4, as applied in claim 3; Pawar discloses the claimed invention except: the number of antenna elements comprises a number of vertical antenna elements, a number of horizontal antenna elements, or a combination thereof or wherein the antenna spacing comprises vertical antenna spacing, horizontal antenna spacing, or a combination thereof.
In an analogous art Noh discloses the number of antenna elements comprises a number of vertical antenna elements, a number of horizontal antenna elements, or a combination thereof (par. 53) or wherein the antenna spacing comprises vertical antenna spacing, horizontal antenna spacing, or a combination thereof.
It is an object of Pawar’s invention to provide a method of controlling wireless communication. It is an object of Noh’s invention to provide a method for improving performance and resource usage efficiency. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Pawar by including horizontal and vertical antenna elements, as taught by Noh, for the purpose of effectively managing communication in a wireless network.
Consider claim 15, as applied in claim 14; Pawar discloses the claimed invention except: the number of antenna elements comprises a number of vertical antenna elements, a number of horizontal antenna elements, or a combination thereof or wherein the antenna spacing comprises vertical antenna spacing, horizontal antenna spacing, or a combination thereof.
In an analogous art Noh discloses the number of antenna elements comprises a number of vertical antenna elements, a number of horizontal antenna elements, or a combination thereof (par. 53) or wherein the antenna spacing comprises vertical antenna spacing, horizontal antenna spacing, or a combination thereof.
It is an object of Pawar’s invention to provide a method of controlling wireless communication. It is an object of Noh’s invention to provide a method for improving performance and resource usage efficiency. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Pawar by including horizontal and vertical antenna elements, as taught by Noh, for the purpose of effectively managing communication in a wireless network.
Manchanda is another reference that discloses the limitations above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Independent claims 21 and 30 contain patentable subject matter. However, regarding independent claim 21, what is the network component? How is the first beam shape determined in a novel way? How is the second beam shape determined in a novel way? Who performs the transforming step? How is the transforming performed in a novel way? What is the purpose, in a novel way, of reporting the transformation to the position estimation entity?
Regarding independent claim 30, what is the network component? How does the position estimation entity determine the second beam shape in a novel way? How does the position estimation entity derive the position estimate in a novel way?
Further amendments to the independent claims will be needed to clearly indicate the patentable subject matter.
Conclusion
Any response to this Office Action should be faxed to (571) 273-8300 or mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Jeanette Parker can be reached on (571) 270-3647. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist/customer service whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
/JOEL AJAYI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646