DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zewail (US 2021/0112540) [R1].
For claim 1, R1 discloses a control unit (paragraphs 40-45) configured to assume a beam switching gap between a plurality of signals or channels for transmission and reception to be a sufficient time corresponding to a larger subcarrier spacing (paragraphs 48-55, 26, 84).
For claim 2, R1 discloses the control unit (paragraphs 40-45) assumes the beam switching gap between the plurality of signals or channels to be a predefined period (paragraphs 48-55, 26, 84).
For claim 5, R1 discloses a control unit (paragraphs 40-45) configured to assume a beam switching gap between a plurality of signals or channels for transmission and reception to be a sufficient time corresponding to a larger subcarrier spacing (paragraphs 48-55, 26, 84).
For claim 6, R1 discloses assuming a beam switching gap between a plurality of signals or channels for transmission and reception to be a sufficient time corresponding to a larger subcarrier spacing (paragraphs 48-55, 26, 84).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over R1 in view of Beam-management enhancements for NR from 52.6 GHz to 71GHz (cited on IDS) [R2].
For claim 3, R1 does not explicitly state the control unit applies a same beam to the plurality of signals or channels in a case where the beam switching gap between the plurality of signals or channels is not sufficient. R2 discloses the control unit applies a same beam to the plurality of signals or channels in a case where the beam switching gap between the plurality of signals or channels is not sufficient (Section 2.4). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify R1 to use the control unit applies a same beam to the plurality of signals or channels in a case where the beam switching gap between the plurality of signals or channels is not sufficient taught by R2. The rationale to combine would be to use a more suitable beam (R2 Section 2.4).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over R1 in view of Enhancements on Multi-TRP for PDCCH, PUCCH, and PUSCH (cited on IDS) [R3].
For claim 4, R1 does not explicitly state the control unit cancels one of the plurality of signals or channels in a case where the beam switching gap between the plurality of signals or channels is not sufficient. R3 discloses the control unit cancels one of the plurality of signals or channels in a case where the beam switching gap between the plurality of signals or channels is not sufficient (Section 4.1). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to modify R1 to use the control unit cancels one of the plurality of signals or channels in a case where the beam switching gap between the plurality of signals or channels is not sufficient taught by R3. The rationale to combine would be to increase switch timing efficiency (R3 Section 4.1).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Khoshnevisan et al (US 20210021330) discloses beam switching gap determinations
/CHRISTOPHER R CROMPTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463