DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Below is the Final Action on the Merits for claims 1, 3 – 12 and 14 – 20. Claims 2 and 13 are cancelled.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 6, 8 – 17 and 19 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ping (CN109106289 A) as cited by Applicant – see machine translation in view of Sedlak (CZ7005 U1) as cited by Applicant.
Regarding Independent Claim 1, Ping teaches a dust box (Fig. 7), comprising: a dust box body (box body, 1), comprising a bottom wall (Annotated Fig. 7) and at least one side wall (Annotated Fig. 7) disposed around an edge of the bottom wall (Annotated Fig. 7), wherein the side wall (Annotated Fig. 7) extends from the bottom wall (Annotated Fig. 7) in a direction away from the bottom wall (Annotated Fig. 7), and the bottom wall (Annotated Fig. 7) and the side wall (Annotated Fig. 7) enclose an accommodation space (117/121); and a dust box lid (cover, 4), pivotally connected to a wall (Annotated Fig. 7) of the dust box body (1) and configured to cover a top of the accommodation space (117/121), wherein a second side wall (Annotated Fig. 7) of the dust box (1) has an elastic sheet assembly (spring, 3) pivotally and elastically connected to the second side wall (Annotated Fig. 7),; and the dust box lid (4) has a protruding portion (bone portion, 41; Fig. 10) configured to cooperate with the elastic sheet assembly (3) in a process in which the dust box lid (4) covers the top of the accommodation space (Paragraph [0064]).
Although Ping teaches a dust box lid (cover, 4), pivotally connected (Fig. 7), the reference does not explicitly teach a dust box lid pivotally connected to a first side wall.
it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in th art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the dust box of Ping to teach a dust box lid pivotally connected to a first side wall, as claimed, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04).
Ping does not explicitly teach the elastic sheet assembly is rotatable relative to the second side wall about a first axis extending in a first direction, the first direction being parallel to the bottom wall, however, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in th art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the dust box of Ping to further explicitly teach the elastic sheet assembly is rotatable relative to the second side wall about a first axis extending in a first direction, the first direction being parallel to the bottom wall, as claimed, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04).
Ping does not teach wherein the elastic sheet assembly comprises: a rotating member, which is rotatable relative to the second side wall about the first axis between a first position and a second position; and an elastic member, which causes the rotating member to be biased at the first position.
Sedlak, however, teaches a dust box lid (lid, 12) pivotally connected to a first side wall (7); wherein the elastic sheet assembly (control arm, 3) is rotatable relative to the second side wall (6) about a first axis (axis of pin, 1) extending in a first direction (Figs. 1 and 2), the first direction being parallel to the bottom wall (8; Figs. 2 and 3); wherein the elastic sheet assembly (3) comprises: a rotating member (4), which is rotatable relative to the second side wall (6) about the first axis (axis of pin, 1; Figs. 1 and 2) between a first position (Fig. 1) and a second position (Fig. 2); and an elastic member (6), which causes the rotating member (4) to be biased at the first position (Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in th art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the dust box of Ping to further explicitly the elastic sheet assembly comprises: a rotating member, which is rotatable relative to the second side wall about the first axis between a first position and a second position; and an elastic member, which causes the rotating member to be biased at the first position, as taught by Sedlak, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04).
Regarding Claim 3, Ping, as modified, teaches the dust box (Fig. 7) wherein the rotating member (31) comprises a first portion (31) and a second portion (32), a common boundary between the first portion and the second portion is parallel to the first axis (Fig. 8), and the first portion and the second portion form a predetermined angle (Paragraph [0062]).
Regarding Claim 4, Ping, as modified, teaches the dust box (Fig. 7) wherein in response to the rotating member (31) being located at the first position, a first end of the first portion away from the bottom wall presses against the second side wall; and in response to the rotating member being located at the second position (Paragraphs [0064] and [0065), a gap is formed between the first end of the first portion and the second side wall; and the gap is configured to accommodate the protruding portion (41), such that the dust box lid (4) completely covers the top of the accommodation space (Paragraphs [0064] and [0065).
Regarding Claim 5, Ping, as modified, teaches the dust box (Fig. 7) further comprising: a filter screen assembly (filter component, 2; Fig. 7) configured to be removably disposed in the accommodation space (Fig. 7), wherein a first raised portion is provided on a first side of the filter screen assembly (2), and the first raised portion is configured to cooperate with the elastic sheet assembly (3) in a process in which the filter screen assembly is placed in the accommodation space (Paragraph [0064]).
Regarding Claim 6, Ping, as modified, teaches the dust box (Fig. 7) wherein the second portion (32) is pressed by the first raised portion in the process in which the filter screen assembly is placed in the accommodation space, such that the rotating member (31) rotates from the first position to the second position (Paragraph [0062]).
Regarding Claim 8, Ping, as modified, teaches the dust box (Fig. 7) wherein the second side wall (Annotated Fig. 7) is provided with a recess (mounting groove, 117), and the elastic sheet assembly (3) is provided within the recess (Paragraph [0059]).
Regarding Claim 9, Ping, as modified, teaches the dust box (Fig. 7) wherein the second side wall (Annotated Fig. 7) abuts against the first side wall (Annotated Fig. 7), and the elastic sheet assembly (3) is provided at a portion of the second side wall close to the first side wall (Annotated Fig. 7).
Regarding Independent Claim 10, Ping teaches an automatic cleaning apparatus (sweeping robot, Fig. 20), comprising a dust box (Fig. 7), comprising: a dust box body (box body, 1), comprising a bottom wall (Annotated Fig. 7) and at least one side wall (Annotated Fig. 7) disposed around an edge of the bottom wall (Annotated Fig. 7), wherein the side wall (Annotated Fig. 7) extends from the bottom wall (Annotated Fig. 7) in a direction away from the bottom wall (Annotated Fig. 7), and the bottom wall (Annotated Fig. 7) and the side wall (Annotated Fig. 7) enclose an accommodation space(Annotated Fig. 7); and a dust box lid (cover, 4), pivotally connected to a wall (Annotated Fig. 7) of the dust box body (1) and configured to cover a top of the accommodation space (Annotated Fig. 7), wherein a second side wall (Annotated Fig. 7) of the dust box (1) has an elastic sheet assembly (spring, 3) pivotally and elastically connected to the second side wall (Annotated Fig. 7),; and the dust box lid (4) has a protruding portion (bone portion, 41; Fig. 10) configured to cooperate with the elastic sheet assembly (3) in a process in which the dust box lid (4) covers the top of the accommodation space (Paragraph [0064]).
Although Ping teaches a dust box lid (cover, 4), pivotally connected (Fig. 7), the reference does not explicitly teach a dust box lid pivotally connected to a first side wall.
it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in th art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the dust box of Ping to teach a dust box lid pivotally connected to a first side wall, as claimed, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04).
Ping does not explicitly teach the elastic sheet assembly is rotatable relative to the second side wall about a first axis extending in a first direction, the first direction being parallel to the bottom wall, however, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in th art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the dust box of Ping to further explicitly teach the elastic sheet assembly is rotatable relative to the second side wall about a first axis extending in a first direction, the first direction being parallel to the bottom wall, as claimed, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04).
Ping does not teach wherein the elastic sheet assembly comprises: a rotating member, which is rotatable relative to the second side wall about the first axis between a first position and a second position; and an elastic member, which causes the rotating member to be biased at the first position.
Sedlak, however, teaches a dust box lid (lid, 12) pivotally connected to a first side wall (7); wherein the elastic sheet assembly (control arm, 3) is rotatable relative to the second side wall (6) about a first axis (axis of pin, 1) extending in a first direction (Figs. 1 and 2), the first direction being parallel to the bottom wall (8; Figs. 2 and 3); wherein the elastic sheet assembly (3) comprises: a rotating member (4), which is rotatable relative to the second side wall (6) about the first axis (axis of pin, 1; Figs. 1 and 2) between a first position (Fig. 1) and a second position (Fig. 2); and an elastic member (6), which causes the rotating member (4) to be biased at the first position (Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in th art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the dust box of Ping to further explicitly the elastic sheet assembly comprises: a rotating member, which is rotatable relative to the second side wall about the first axis between a first position and a second position; and an elastic member, which causes the rotating member to be biased at the first position, as taught by Sedlak, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04).
Regarding Claim 11, Ping, as modified, teaches the dust box (Fig. 7) wherein the accommodation space (Annotated Fig. 7) is divided into a first accommodation space (117) and a second accommodation space (121), the first accommodation space is configured to accommodate the filter screen assembly (2), and the second accommodation space (121) is configured to accommodate garbage collected by the dust box (Paragraph [0082]).
Regarding Claim 12, Ping, as modified, teaches the dust box (Fig. 7) with the filter screen assembly and further with sides that can be used as a handle structure but fails to explicitly teach a handle structure is provided at a middle position of a surface of the filter screen assembly.
it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in th art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the dust box of Ping to further explicitly teach a handle structure but fails to explicitly teach a handle structure is provided at a middle position of a surface of the filter screen assembly, as claimed, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04).
Regarding Claim 14, Ping, as modified, teaches the automatic cleaning apparatus (sweeping robot, Fig. 20) wherein the rotating member (31) comprises a first portion (31) and a second portion (32), a common boundary between the first portion and the second portion is parallel to the first axis (Fig. 8), and the first portion and the second portion form a predetermined angle (Paragraph [0062]).
Regarding Claim 15, Ping, as modified, teaches the automatic cleaning apparatus (sweeping robot, Fig. 20) wherein in response to the rotating member (31) being located at the first position, a first end of the first portion away from the bottom wall presses against the second side wall; and in response to the rotating member being located at the second position (Paragraphs [0064] and [0065), a gap is formed between the first end of the first portion and the second side wall; and the gap is configured to accommodate the protruding portion (41), such that the dust box lid (4) completely covers the top of the accommodation space (Paragraphs [0064] and [0065).
Regarding Claim 16, Ping, as modified, teaches the automatic cleaning apparatus (sweeping robot, Fig. 20) further comprising: a filter screen assembly (filter component, 2; Fig. 7) configured to be removably disposed in the accommodation space (Fig. 7), wherein a first raised portion is provided on a first side of the filter screen assembly (2), and the first raised portion is configured to cooperate with the elastic sheet assembly (3) in a process in which the filter screen assembly is placed in the accommodation space (Paragraph [0064]).
Regarding Claim 17, Ping, as modified, teaches the automatic cleaning apparatus (sweeping robot, Fig. 20) wherein the second portion (32) is pressed by the first raised portion in the process in which the filter screen assembly is placed in the accommodation space, such that the rotating member (31) rotates from the first position to the second position (Paragraph [0062]).
Regarding Claim 19, Ping, as modified, teaches the automatic cleaning apparatus (sweeping robot, Fig. 20) wherein the second side wall (Annotated Fig. 7) is provided with a recess (mounting groove, 117), and the elastic sheet assembly (3) is provided within the recess (Paragraph [0059]).
Regarding Claim 20, Ping teaches the automatic cleaning apparatus (sweeping robot, Fig. 20) wherein the second side wall (Annotated Fig. 7) abuts against the first side wall (Annotated Fig. 7), and the elastic sheet assembly (3) is provided at a portion of the second side wall close to the first side wall (Annotated Fig. 7).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Although Ping teaches a dust box and an autonomous cleaning apparatus, the reference fails to teach, suggest or make obvious a second raised portion is provided on a second side of the filter screen assembly, the first side is provided opposite the second side, and the first raised portion is centro-symmetrical to the second raised portion with respect to a center of the filter screen assembly.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicants Arguments/Remarks dated April 15, 2026 with respect to the rejection of claims 1 – 20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of Sedlak.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/KATINA N. HENSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723