DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s amendment filed 4/16/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1, 4, 5, 9, 12, 13, 19, and 21 are amended.
Claims 2, 3, 8, 10, 11, 23, and 24 are canceled.
Response to Amendment
Amendments filed on 4/16/2026 are entered for prosecution. Claims 1, 4-7, 9, 12-14, and 19-22 remain pending in the application.
Applicant’s amendment to claim 21 has overcome the objection to claim 21 (mistakenly noted as claim 22) previously set forth in the Non-Final Action mailed on 1/20/2026.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to independent claims 1, 9, and 19 (pages 6-11) in a reply filed 4/16/2026 have been considered but are moot because the arguments are based on newly changed limitations in the amendment and new ground of rejections using newly introduced references or a newly introduced portion of an existing reference are applied in the current rejection.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 9, and 19 are objected because of the following informalities:
In claims 1, 9, and 19, it is suggested amend the claims as follows for clarity of the limitations.
1. (Currently Amended) A signal processing method, performed by a multi-link (ML) access point device, comprising:
in a case where Basic Service Set (BSS) parameters change count information in an ML information element indicates that a BSS parameter change has occurred[[,]]:
setting BSS Color Disable information to a state indicating that a BSS Color is disabled; and
sending a target radio frame to at least one or more station (STA) devices, wherein the target radio frame carries the BSS Color Disable information of the ML access point device[[;]],
wherein sending the target radio frame comprises at least one of:
sending, on each communication link of the multi-link access point device, the target radio frame to a respective station (STA) corresponding to each communication link, wherein the BSS Color Disable information is carried in a per-STA profile subelement of the ML information element carried in the target radio frame; or
broadcasting the target radio frame on at least one communication link of the multi-link access point device[[;]], wherein the target radio frame carries BSS Color Disable information of communication links other than the at least one communication link.
9. (Currently Amended) A signal processing method, performed by a station (STA) device, comprising:
receiving a target radio frame sent by a multi-link (ML) access point device in a case where Basic Service Set (BSS) parameters change count information in an ML information element indicates that a BSS parameter change has occurred, wherein BSS Color Disable information is set to a state indicating that a BSS Color is disabled, and the target radio frame carries the BSS Color Disable information of the ML access point device[[;]],
wherein receiving the target radio frame sent by the ML access point device comprises at least one of:
receiving the target radio frame sent by the ML access point device on a communication link, wherein the BSS Color Disable information is carried in a per-STA profile subelement of the ML information element carried in the target radio frame; or
receiving the target radio frame broadcast by the ML access point device on at least one communication link[[;]], wherein the target radio frame carries BSS Color Disable information of communication links other than the at least one communication link.
19. (Currently Amended) A multi-link (ML) access point device, comprising:
a processor; and
a memory for storing a computer program executable by the processor,
wherein when executing the computer program, the processor is configured to:
in a case where Basic Service Set (BSS) parameters change count information in an ML information element indicates that a BSS parameter change has occurred[[,]]:
set BSS Color Disable information to a state indicating that a BSS Color is disabled; and
send a target radio frame to at least one or more station (STA) devices, wherein the target radio frame carries the BSS Color Disable information of the ML access point device[[;]],
wherein the processor is further configured to send the target radio frame by at least one of:
sending, on each communication link of the multi-link access point device, the target radio frame to a respective station (STA) corresponding to each communication link, wherein the BSS Color Disable information is carried in a per-STA profile subelement of the ML information element carried in the target radio frame; or
broadcasting the target radio frame on at least one communication link of the multi-link access point device[[;]], wherein the target radio frame carries BSS Color Disable information of communication links other than the at least one communication link.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 7, 9, 12, and 19-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gidvani et al. (US 2018/0220368 A1, hereinafter Gidvani).
Regarding claim 1:
Gidvani teaches a signal processing method, performed by a multi-link (ML) access point device (see, Gidvani: Fig. 3, Access Point, AP 310), comprising:
in a case where Basic Service Set (BSS) parameters change count information in an ML information element (see, Gidvani: Fig. 5 and para. [0071], “FIG. 5 shows an example BSS color change announcement element 500. In some implementations, the BSS color change announcement element 500 may correspond to a change-in-BSS (ΔBSS) announcement message that may be provided within beacon frames, probe response frames, association or re-association frames, or various other communication frames that may be transmitted or broadcast by an AP to one or more STAs. The example BSS color change announcement element 500 includes an element identification (ID) field 510, a length field 520, an element ID extension field 530, a color switch countdown field 540, and a new color information field 550. In some aspects, each of the fields 510-550 may be an octet in length.”) indicates that a BSS parameter changes (see, Gidvani: Fig. 4 and para. [0065], “At time t0, the AP broadcasts a beacon (or other management) frame in accordance with the primary PHY format. The beacon frame broadcast at time t0 may include a change-in-BSS (ΔBSS) announcement message signaling a change to be implemented to one or more BSS parameters of the AP. For example, the ΔBSS announcement message may include information specifying the type of change to occur (such as a change in wireless channel or BSS color) and the time at which the change in BSS is to be implemented (such as at time t4 or in two subsequent primary TBTTs). STA1 receives the information from the beacon broadcast at time t0, and may prepare to implement the change in BSS at the target transition time (time t4).”),
setting BSS Color Disable information to a state indicating that a BSS Color is disabled (see, Gidvani: Fig. 6 and para. [0075], “the AP may decide to implement a change to its BSS color. To implement the change in BSS color, the AP may first disable color-related features in each HE device associated with the BSS (including the AP and the stations STA1 and STA2). For example, the AP may disable a BSS color check procedure using the HE Operation element of beacon (or other management) frames transmitted to its associated STAs.”); and
sending a target radio frame (e.g., a beacon (or other management) frame) to at least one or more station (STA) devices (see, Gidvani: Fig. 6, AP and STA1 & STA2) wherein the target radio frame carries the BSS Color Disable information of the ML access point device (see, Gidvani: Fig. 6; para. [0074], “the AP may broadcast beacon information to STA1 at primary TBTTs and may broadcast beacon information to STA2 at secondary TBTTs.”; and para. [0075], “To implement the change in BSS color, the AP may first disable color-related features in each HE device associated with the BSS (including the AP and the stations STA1 and STA2). For example, the AP may disable a BSS color check procedure using the HE Operation element of beacon (or other management) frames transmitted to its associated STAs.”);
wherein sending the target radio frame (e.g., beacon frame) comprises at least one of:
sending, on each communication link of the multi-link access point device, the target radio frame to a respective station (STA) corresponding to each communication link (see, Gidvani: Fig. 6 and para. [0074], “the AP may communicate with STA1 using a primary PHY format (such as a non-ER format) and may communicate with STA2 using a secondary PHY format (such as the ER format). Accordingly, the AP may broadcast beacon information to STA1 at primary TBTTs and may broadcast beacon information to STA2 at secondary TBTTs.”), wherein the BSS Color Disable information is carried in a per-STA profile subelement of the ML information element carried in the target radio frame (see, Gidvani: Fig. 6 and para. [0075], “the AP may decide to implement a change to its BSS color. To implement the change in BSS color, the AP may first disable color-related features in each HE device associated with the BSS (including the AP and the stations STA1 and STA2). For example, the AP may disable a BSS color check procedure using the HE Operation element of beacon (or other management) frames transmitted to its associated STAs.”); or
broadcasting the target radio frame (e.g., beacon frame) on at least one communication link of the multi-link access point device (see, Gidvani: Fig. 6 and para. [0077], “the AP broadcasts a beacon (or other management) frame in accordance with the secondary PHY format.”); wherein the target radio frame carries BSS Color Disable information of communication links other than the at least one communication link (see, Gidvani: Fig. 6 and para. [0077], “the AP broadcasts a beacon (or other management) frame in accordance with the secondary PHY format. The beacon frame broadcast at time t0 may be used to disable a BSS color check operation in STAs operating in accordance with the secondary PHY format.”).
Regarding claim 4:
As discussed above, Gidvani teaches all limitations in claim 1.
Gidvani further teaches wherein the BSS Color Disable information is carried in a Link info subelement of the ML information element (see, Gidvani: Fig. 2, “BSS Color Disabled” subfiled 244; para. [0051], “FIG. 2 shows an example HE Operation element 200 that may be provided in beacon (or other management) frames transmitted by the AP 110.”; and para. [0073], “With reference for example to FIG. 2, an AP may disable a BSS color check procedure by storing a value of 1 in the BSS Color Disabled subfield 244 in the HE Operation element 200 of beacon (or other management) frames transmitted to its associated STAs. The AP may then re-enable the BSS color-related features after each of its associated STAs has successfully switched to the new BSS color.”).
Regarding claim 7:
As discussed above, Gidvani teaches all limitations in claim 1.
Gidvani further teaches wherein before sending the target radio frame, the method comprises: determining the target radio frame (see, Gidvani: para. [0075], “the AP may decide to implement a change to its BSS color. To implement the change in BSS color, the AP may first disable color-related features in each HE device associated with the BSS (including the AP and the stations STA1 and STA2). For example, the AP may disable a BSS color check procedure using the HE Operation element of beacon (or other management) frames transmitted to its associated STAs.”).
Regarding claim 9:
Claim 9 is directed towards a signal processing method, performed by a station (STA) device (see, Gidvani: Fig. 6, STA1 and/orSTA2), comprising: similar feature of claim 1 from the perspective of the station (STA) device (see, Gidvani: Fig. 6 and para. [0074], “the AP may broadcast beacon information to STA1 at primary TBTTs and may broadcast beacon information to STA2 at secondary TBTTs.” Also, see para. [0075-0088]). Therefore, claim 9 is rejected by applying the similar rationale used to reject claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 12:
Claim 12 is directed towards the method of claim 11 that is further limited to similar features to claim 4 from the perspective of the station (STA) device of claim 9. Therefore, claim 12 is rejected by applying the similar rationale used to reject claim 4 above.
Regarding claim 19:
Claim 19 is directed towards a multi-link (ML) access point device (see, Gidvani: Fig. 8, Access Point, AP 800), comprising: a processor (see, Gidvani: Fig. 8, Processor 830); and a memory (see, Gidvani: Fig. 8, Memory 840) for storing a computer program executable by the processor; wherein when executing the computer program, the processor is configured to: perform the method of claim 1. Therefore, claim 19 is rejected by applying the similar rationale used to reject claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 20:
Claim 20 is directed towards a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (see, Gidvani: Fig. 8, Memory 840), having a computer program stored thereon, wherein when the computer program is executed by a processor (see, Gidvani: Fig. 8, Processor 830), the method of claim 1 is performed. Therefore, claim 20 is rejected by applying the similar rationale used to reject claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 21:
Claim 21 is directed towards an electronic device (see, Gidvani: Fig. 9, Station, STA 900), comprising: a processor (see, Gidvani: Fig. 9, Processor 930); and a memory (see, Gidvani: Fig. 9, Memory 940) for storing a computer program executable by the processor, wherein when executing the computer program, the processor is configured to perform the method of claim 9. Therefore, claim 21 is rejected by applying the similar rationale used to reject claim 9 above.
Regarding claim 22:
Claim 22 is directed towards a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (see, Gidvani: Fig. 9, Memory 940), having a computer program stored thereon, wherein when the computer program is executed by a processor (see, Gidvani: Fig. 9, Processor 930), the method of claim 9 is performed. Therefore, claim 22 is rejected by applying the similar rationale used to reject claim 9 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 6, 13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gidvani in view of Seok et al. (US 2021/0250848 A1, hereinafter Seok).
Regarding claim 5:
As discussed above, Gidvani teaches all limitations in claim 1.
Gidvani does not explicitly teach wherein in response to broadcasting the target radio frame, the BSS Color Disable information is carried in an enhancements for extremely high throughput (EHT) operation element, the EHT operation element being carried in the target radio frame.
In the same field of endeavor, Seok further teaches wherein in response to broadcasting the target radio frame, the BSS Color Disable information is carried in an enhancements for extremely high throughput (EHT) operation element, the EHT operation element being carried in the target radio frame (see, Seok: Title; the sub-title above para. [0043], “Novel Techniques for EHT Multi-Link BSS Parameter Update”; and para. [0043]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Gidvani in combination of the teachings of Seok in order to apply multi-link BSS parameter updates for EHT(see, Seok: Title; the sub-title above para. [0043], “Novel Techniques for EHT Multi-Link BSS Parameter Update”; and para. [0043].).
Regarding claim 6:
As discussed above, Gidvani in view of Seok teaches all limitations in claim 5.
Seok further teaches wherein the BSS Color Disable information is carried in an EHT operation information subelement of the EHT operation element (see, Seok: Fig. 6, Step 605 and para. [0058], “The beacon frame identifies the second wireless link (e.g., using a Link ID) and announces and/or includes a basic service set (BSS) parameter update for the second wireless link. The Link ID and BSS parameter update can be carried in ECSA (e.g., in an optional subelements field) Multi-link IE. The ECSA Multi-link IE can include a channel number, a channel switch count, a channel switch mode, and/or a change sequence, for example, used to indicate a channel switch or other BSS parameter update (e.g., BSS Color Change Announcement), modification of EDCA parameters, modification of MU EDCA Parameter Set element, modification of the Spatial Reuse Parameter Set element, etc.).”; para. [0050], “According to other embodiments, multi-link parameter updates can be communicated to wireless STAs using a BSS Color Change Announcement (BCCA) carried in an optional subelements field of a multi-link IE, for example, Multi-link IE 100 depicted in FIG. 1. The optional subelements field in the Multi-link IE (e.g., optional subelements field 105) may contain the beacon interval (BI) and the TSF offset between two wireless links in order to track the TBTT. Importantly, when the BI and the TSF offset are not present in the Multi-link IE, the BSS color is disabled until the BSS color change indicated by the BCCA takes place.”).
Regarding claim 13:
Claim 13 is directed towards the method of claim 10 that is further limited to similar features to claim 5 from the perspective of the station (STA) device of claim 9. Therefore, claim 13 is rejected by applying the similar rationale used to reject claim 5 above.
Regarding claim 14:
Claim 14 is directed towards the method of claim 13 that is further limited to similar features to claim 6 from the perspective of the station (STA) device of claim 9. Therefore, claim 14 is rejected by applying the similar rationale used to reject claim 6 above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JI-HAE YEA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471