DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The present application does not claim for foreign priority.
This application is a 371 of PCT/CN2021/105010 filed on 7/7/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) were submitted on 1/4/2024 and 5/31/2025. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 9, 19, and 22 are objected because of the following informalities:
In claims 1, 9, and 19, it is suggested amend the claims as follows for clarity.
1. (Currently Amended) A signal processing method, performed by a multi-link (ML) access point device, comprising:
sending a target radio frame, to at least one or more station (STA) devices, wherein the target radio frame carries Basic Service Set (BSS) Color Disable information of the ML access point device.
9. (Currently Amended) A signal processing method, performed by a station (STA) device, comprising:
receiving a target radio frame, sent by a multi-link (ML) access point device[[;]], wherein the target radio frame carries Basic Service Set (BSS) Color Disable information of the ML access point device.
19. (Currently Amended) A multi-link (ML) access point device, comprising:
a processor; and
a memory for storing a computer program executable by the processor[[;]],
wherein when executing the computer program, the processor is configured to:
send a target radio frame, to at least one or more station (STA) devices, wherein the target radio frame carries Basic Service Set (BSS) Color Disable information of the ML access point device.
In claim 22, it is suggested replace semi-colon (;) in line 3 with comma (,) for clarity and grammatical correction to read “… by the processor[[;]], wherein …”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 9-14, and 19-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Seok et al. (US 2021/0250848 A1, hereinafter Seok).
Regarding claim 1:
Seok teaches a signal processing method, performed by a multi-link (ML) access point device (e.g., access point (AP) multi-link device (MLD)) (see, Seok: Abstract), comprising:
sending a target radio frame (e.g., a beacon frame or a management frame), the target radio frame carrying Basic Service Set (BSS) Color Disable information of the ML access point device (see, Seok: Fig. 6, Step 605 and para. [0058], “At step 605, a beacon frame is wirelessly transmitted to a first STA of the non-AP MLD over the first wireless link of the wireless network by a first STA of the AP MLD. The beacon frame identifies the second wireless link (e.g., using a Link ID) and announces and/or includes a basic service set (BSS) parameter update for the second wireless link. The Link ID and BSS parameter update can be carried in ECSA (e.g., in an optional subelements field) Multi-link IE. The ECSA Multi-link IE can include a channel number, a channel switch count, a channel switch mode, and/or a change sequence, for example, used to indicate a channel switch or other BSS parameter update (e.g., BSS Color Change Announcement, modification of EDCA parameters, modification of MU EDCA Parameter Set element, modification of the Spatial Reuse Parameter Set element, etc.). According to some embodiments, at step 605, a management frame is transmitted instead of a beacon frame. The management frame can be carried in an OCT Request frame, for example.”; para. [0050], “According to other embodiments, multi-link parameter updates can be communicated to wireless STAs using a BSS Color Change Announcement (BCCA) carried in an optional subelements field of a multi-link IE, for example, Multi-link IE 100 depicted in FIG. 1. The optional subelements field in the Multi-link IE (e.g., optional subelements field 105) may contain the beacon interval (BI) and the TSF offset between two wireless links in order to track the TBTT. Importantly, when the BI and the TSF offset are not present in the Multi-link IE, the BSS color is disabled until the BSS color change indicated by the BCCA takes place.”).
Regarding claim 2:
As discussed above, Seok teaches all limitations in claim 1.
Seok further teaches wherein sending the target radio frame comprises at least one of: sending, on each communication link of the multi-link access point device, the target radio frame to a respective station (STA) corresponding to each communication link; or broadcasting the target radio frame on at least one communication link of the multi-link access point device (see, Seok: para. [0033], “FIG. 5 is a transmission and timing diagram depicting an AP MLD including STA1 operating on wireless Link1 and STA2 operating on wireless Link 2, where STA2 of the AP MLD broadcasts beacon frames on Link2 including a Change Sequence field for announcing a BSS parameter update according to embodiments of the present invention.”; para. [0046] [0048] [0049] [0054] [0055]).
Regarding claim 3:
As discussed above, Seok teaches all limitations in claim 2.
Seok further teaches wherein in response to sending target radio frame to the respective station corresponding to each communication link,
the BSS Color Disable information is carried in an ML information element, the ML information element being carried in the target radio frame (see, Seok: Fig. 6, Step 605 and para. [0058], “The beacon frame identifies the second wireless link (e.g., using a Link ID) and announces and/or includes a basic service set (BSS) parameter update for the second wireless link. The Link ID and BSS parameter update can be carried in ECSA (e.g., in an optional subelements field) Multi-link IE. The ECSA Multi-link IE can include a channel number, a channel switch count, a channel switch mode, and/or a change sequence, for example, used to indicate a channel switch or other BSS parameter update (e.g., BSS Color Change Announcement, modification of EDCA parameters, modification of MU EDCA Parameter Set element, modification of the Spatial Reuse Parameter Set element, etc.).”; para. [0050], “According to other embodiments, multi-link parameter updates can be communicated to wireless STAs using a BSS Color Change Announcement (BCCA) carried in an optional subelements field of a multi-link IE, for example, Multi-link IE 100 depicted in FIG. 1. The optional subelements field in the Multi-link IE (e.g., optional subelements field 105) may contain the beacon interval (BI) and the TSF offset between two wireless links in order to track the TBTT. Importantly, when the BI and the TSF offset are not present in the Multi-link IE, the BSS color is disabled until the BSS color change indicated by the BCCA takes place.”).
Regarding claim 4:
As discussed above, Seok teaches all limitations in claim 3.
Seok further teaches wherein the BSS Color Disable information is carried in a per-STA profile subelement or a Link info subelement of the ML information element (see, Seok: Fig. 6, Step 605 and para. [0058], “The beacon frame identifies the second wireless link (e.g., using a Link ID) and announces and/or includes a basic service set (BSS) parameter update for the second wireless link. The Link ID and BSS parameter update can be carried in ECSA (e.g., in an optional subelements field) Multi-link IE. The ECSA Multi-link IE can include a channel number, a channel switch count, a channel switch mode, and/or a change sequence, for example, used to indicate a channel switch or other BSS parameter update (e.g., BSS Color Change Announcement, modification of EDCA parameters, modification of MU EDCA Parameter Set element, modification of the Spatial Reuse Parameter Set element, etc.).”; para. [0050], “According to other embodiments, multi-link parameter updates can be communicated to wireless STAs using a BSS Color Change Announcement (BCCA) carried in an optional subelements field of a multi-link IE, for example, Multi-link IE 100 depicted in FIG. 1. The optional subelements field in the Multi-link IE (e.g., optional subelements field 105) may contain the beacon interval (BI) and the TSF offset between two wireless links in order to track the TBTT. Importantly, when the BI and the TSF offset are not present in the Multi-link IE, the BSS color is disabled until the BSS color change indicated by the BCCA takes place.”).
Regarding claim 5:
As discussed above, Seok teaches all limitations in claim 2.
Seok further teaches wherein in response to broadcasting the target radio frame, the BSS Color Disable information is carried in an enhancements for extremely high throughput (EHT) operation element, the EHT operation element being carried in the target radio frame (see, Seok: Title; the sub-title above para. [0043], “Novel Techniques for EHT Multi-Link BSS Parameter Update”; and para. [0043]).
Regarding claim 6:
As discussed above, Seok teaches all limitations in claim 5.
Seok further teaches wherein the BSS Color Disable information is carried in an EHT operation information subelement of the EHT operation element (see, Seok: Fig. 6, Step 605 and para. [0058], “The beacon frame identifies the second wireless link (e.g., using a Link ID) and announces and/or includes a basic service set (BSS) parameter update for the second wireless link. The Link ID and BSS parameter update can be carried in ECSA (e.g., in an optional subelements field) Multi-link IE. The ECSA Multi-link IE can include a channel number, a channel switch count, a channel switch mode, and/or a change sequence, for example, used to indicate a channel switch or other BSS parameter update (e.g., BSS Color Change Announcement, modification of EDCA parameters, modification of MU EDCA Parameter Set element, modification of the Spatial Reuse Parameter Set element, etc.).”; para. [0050], “According to other embodiments, multi-link parameter updates can be communicated to wireless STAs using a BSS Color Change Announcement (BCCA) carried in an optional subelements field of a multi-link IE, for example, Multi-link IE 100 depicted in FIG. 1. The optional subelements field in the Multi-link IE (e.g., optional subelements field 105) may contain the beacon interval (BI) and the TSF offset between two wireless links in order to track the TBTT. Importantly, when the BI and the TSF offset are not present in the Multi-link IE, the BSS color is disabled until the BSS color change indicated by the BCCA takes place.”).
Regarding claim 9:
Claim 9 is directed towards a signal processing method, performed by a station (STA) device (e.g., a first STA of a non-AP MLD), comprising: similar feature of claim 1 from the perspective of the station (STA) device (see, Seok: para. [0058], “At step 605, a beacon frame is wirelessly transmitted to a first STA of the non-AP MLD over the first wireless link of the wireless network by a first STA of the AP MLD.”). Therefore, claim 9 is rejected by applying the similar rationale used to reject claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 10:
Claim 10 is directed towards the method of claim 9 that is further limited to similar features to claim 2 from the perspective of the station (STA) device of claim 9. Therefore, claim 10 is rejected by applying the similar rationale used to reject claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 11:
Claim 11 is directed towards the method of claim 10 that is further limited to similar features to claim 3 from the perspective of the station (STA) device of claim 9. Therefore, claim 11 is rejected by applying the similar rationale used to reject claim 3 above.
Regarding claim 12:
Claim 12 is directed towards the method of claim 11 that is further limited to similar features to claim 4 from the perspective of the station (STA) device of claim 9. Therefore, claim 12 is rejected by applying the similar rationale used to reject claim 4 above.
Regarding claim 13:
Claim 13 is directed towards the method of claim 10 that is further limited to similar features to claim 5 from the perspective of the station (STA) device of claim 9. Therefore, claim 13 is rejected by applying the similar rationale used to reject claim 5 above.
Regarding claim 14:
Claim 14 is directed towards the method of claim 13 that is further limited to similar features to claim 6 from the perspective of the station (STA) device of claim 9. Therefore, claim 14 is rejected by applying the similar rationale used to reject claim 6 above.
Regarding claim 19:
Claim 19 is directed towards a multi-link (ML) access point device (see, Seok: Fig. 8 and para. [0066-0067], Wireless Device 800 acting as an AP MPD), comprising: a processor (see, Seok: Fig. 8, Processor 805); and a memory (see, Seok: Fig. 8, Memory 810) for storing a computer program executable by the processor; wherein when executing the computer program, the processor is configured to: perform the method of claim 1. Therefore, claim 19 is rejected by applying the similar rationale used to reject claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 20:
Claim 20 is directed towards a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (see, Seok: Fig. 8, Memory 810), having a computer program stored thereon, wherein when the computer program is executed by a processor (see, Seok: Fig. 8, Processor 805), the method of claim 1 is performed. Therefore, claim 20 is rejected by applying the similar rationale used to reject claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 21:
Claim 21 is directed towards an electronic device (see, Seok: Fig. 8 and para. [0066-0067], Wireless Device 800 acting as a non-AP MPD), comprising: a processor (see, Seok: Fig. 8, Processor 805); and a memory (see, Seok: Fig. 8, Memory 810) for storing a computer program executable by the processor; wherein when executing the computer program, the processor is configured to perform the method of claim 9. Therefore, claim 21 is rejected by applying the similar rationale used to reject claim 9 above.
Regarding claim 22:
Claim 22 is directed towards a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (see, Seok: Fig. 8, Memory 810), having a computer program stored thereon, wherein when the computer program is executed by a processor (see, Seok: Fig. 8, Processor 805), the method of claim 9 is performed. Therefore, claim 22 is rejected by applying the similar rationale used to reject claim 9 above.
Regarding claim 23:
Claim 23 is directed towards the ML access point device of claim 19 that is further limited to similar features to claim 2. Therefore, claim 23 is rejected by applying the similar rationale used to reject claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 24:
Claim 24 is directed towards the electronic device of claim 21 that is further limited to similar features to claim 10. Therefore, claim 24 is rejected by applying the similar rationale used to reject claim 10 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seok in view of Gidvani et al. (US 2018/0220368 A1, hereinafter Gidvani).
Regarding claim 7:
As discussed above, Seok teaches all limitations in claim 1.
Seok does not explicitly teach wherein before sending the target radio frame, the method comprises: determining the target radio frame.
In the same field of endeavor, Gidvani teaches wherein before sending the target radio frame, the method comprises: determining the target radio frame (see, Gidvani: para. [0075], “the AP may decide to implement a change to its BSS color. To implement the change in BSS color, the AP may first disable color-related features in each HE device associated with the BSS (including the AP and the stations STA1 and STA2). For example, the AP may disable a BSS color check procedure using the HE Operation element of beacon (or other management) frames transmitted to its associated STAs.”).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Seok in combination of the teachings of Gidvani in order for the AP to implement a change to its BSS color and disable a BBS color check using an operation element of beacon frames (see, Gidvani: para. [0075]).
Regarding claim 8:
As discussed above, Seok teaches all limitations in claim 1.
Seok does not explicitly teach wherein sending the target radio frame comprises: setting the BSS Color Disable information to a state indicating that the BSS Color is disabled and sending the target radio frame, in response to BSS parameters change count information in an ML information element indicating that a BSS parameter changes.
In the same field of endeavor, Gidvani teaches wherein sending the target radio frame comprises: setting the BSS Color Disable information to a state indicating that the BSS Color is disabled and sending the target radio frame, in response to BSS parameters change count information in an ML information element indicating that a BSS parameter changes (see, Gidvani: para. [0050], “the AP 110 may temporarily disable certain BSS features (associated with the BSS parameter to be changed) to allow STAs operating in accordance with different frame formats to implement the change in BSS according to their respective TBTTs. For example, if the change in BSS corresponds to a change in BSS color, the AP 110 may temporarily disable a “BSS color check” procedure to allow the stations STA1-STA3 (and the AP 110) to ignore the BSS color information in received communication frames.”; Also see para. [0061]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the teachings of Seok in combination of the teachings of Gidvani in order to prevent from filtering or discarding incoming communication frames based on their BSS color (see, Gidvani: para. [0050]).
Conclusion
/JI-HAE YEA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471