DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The applicant has amended the following:
Claims: 1, 5, 8, 12-13, 18 and 24 have been amended.
Claims: 2, 4, 6, 9, 11, 20-21, 23 and 25 have not been amended.
Claims: 26 have been added.
Claims: 3, 10, 14-17, 19 and 22 have been cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-2, 4-9, 11-13, 18, 20-21 and 23-26 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 12 and 24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The dependent claims 5, 12 and 24 are objected as allowable because the closest prior art found fails to disclose, teach or suggest either alone or render obvious in a combined teachings of the prior art, the uniquely distinct features in the specific order, structure and combination of limitations together as a whole of the limitations recited in dependent claims 5, 12 and 24 in combination with the all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims from which claims 5, 12 and 24 are dependent upon.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 7-9, 11, 13, 18, 20-21 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ma et al. (US Patent Publication 2024/0040646 herein after referenced as Ma).
Regarding claim 1 and claim 18, Ma discloses:
A signal processing method, performed by an access point device, comprising: and An access point device, comprising: a processor; and a memory having a computer program executable by the processor stored thereon, wherein the processor is configured to: sending a frame, (Ma, Fig. 12 & [0089] discloses After receiving the R-TWT response frame from the AP MLD (i.e. reads on performed by an access point device), the Non-AP MLD's affiliated STA e.g. the first STA and/or the second STA receives a beacon frame (i.e. reads on sending a frame) at Target Beacon Transmission Time TBTT. The specific process is shown in FIG. 12. and Fig. 12 shows the beacon on the AP side; Ma, [0040] discloses an Access Point AP device 110 and a STATION STA device 120; Ma, [0301] discloses The apparatus 600 shown in FIG. 27 includes a processor 610, and the processor 610 can invoke and execute a computer program from a memory to implement the method in the embodiment of the present disclosure. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it is inherent for complex devices such as the AP or the STA to include a processor, memory and program in order to be able to perform the disclosed functionalities).
wherein the frame comprises a restricted target wake time (rTWT) element and a quiet element corresponding to the rTWT element; (Ma, [0089] discloses The beacon frame contains (i.e. reads on the frame comprises) both an R-TWT element (i.e. reads on an rTWT element) and a Quiet element (i.e. reads on a quiet element). The R-TWT element indicates LL TWT SP related information. The quiet intervals indicated by the Quiet element (i.e. reads on quiet element) completely overlap (i.e. reads on corresponding to) with the TWT SP indicated by the TWT element (i.e. reads on the rTWT element); Ma, [0088] discloses Restricted TWT R-TWT).
wherein the quiet element indicates a quiet interval that overlaps with a service period (SP) indicated by the rTWT element; (Ma, [0089] discloses The beacon frame contains both an R-TWT element and a Quiet element. The R-TWT element indicates LL TWT SP related information. The quiet intervals indicated (i.e. reads on indicates a quiet interval) by the Quiet element (i.e. reads on the quiet element) completely overlap (i.e. reads on that overlaps) with the TWT SP (i.e. reads on with an SP) indicated by the TWT element (i.e. reads on indicated by the rTWT element); Ma, [0062] discloses Target Wake Time Service Period TWT SP).
wherein the rTWT element comprises first indication information indicating that the rTWT element is used for transmission of a low-latency service (Ma, [0089] discloses The R-TWT element (i.e. reads on the rTWT element comprises) indicates LL TWT SP related information (i.e. reads on first indication information indicating that the rTWT element is used for transmission of a low-latency service); Ma, [0056] discloses The idea of the TWT mechanism enhancement is to reuse the TWT mechanism to allocate periodic and protected Low Latency Target Wake Time Service Period LL TWT SP for delay-sensitive traffic).
Regarding claim 2 and claim 21, Ma discloses:
The signal processing method according to claim 1, (see claim 1) and The access point device according to claim 18 (see claim 18).
wherein the frame comprises oneat least one of: (Ma, [0089] discloses The beacon frame contains both an R-TWT element and a Quiet element. The R-TWT element indicates LL TWT SP related information. The quiet intervals indicated by the Quiet element completely overlap with the TWT SP indicated by the TWT element. EXAMINER’S NOTE: The examiner notes that the claims are written in an alternative limitation format requiring and contingent on the selection of only one of various alternative options presented and as such the non-selected alternative options and the limitations contingent on the selection of the non-selected alternative options are crossed out (i.e. the limitations reciting “or more” and “in the target radio frame, a first ranking order of a first quiet element of the one or more quiet elements is same as a second ranking order of a first rTWT element of the one or more rTWT elements;” and “or the one or more quiet elements each comprises a time offset value; wherein a second rTWT element carrying a time offset subfield, the time offset subfield comprising a target time offset value of a target quiet element corresponding to the second rTWT element”) and are not given patentable weight as being directed towards limitations that are not required to be performed as is indicated in MPEP 2143.03 that recites “Language that suggests or makes a feature or step optional but does not require that feature or step does not limit the scope of a claim under the broadest reasonable claim interpretation. In addition, when a claim requires selection of an element from a list of alternatives, the prior art teaches the element if one of the alternatives is taught by the prior art” and in MPEP 2111.04, Section ll that recites “The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition precedent are not met”).
Regarding claim 4 and claim 23, Ma discloses:
The signal processing method according to claim 1, (see claim 1) and The access point device according to claim 18, (see claim 18).
wherein the access point device comprises a (Ma, Fig. 12 & [0089] discloses After receiving the R-TWT response frame from the AP MLD, the Non-AP MLD's affiliated STA e.g. the first STA and/or the second STA receives a beacon frame at Target Beacon Transmission Time TBTT; Ma, [0188] discloses an Access Point Multi-Link Device AP MLD. EXAMINER’S NOTE: The examiner notes that the claims are written in an alternative limitation format requiring and contingent on the selection of only one of various alternative options presented and as such the non-selected alternative options are crossed out (i.e. the limitations reciting “single-link device or”) and are not given patentable weight as being directed towards limitations that are not required to be performed as is indicated in MPEP 2143.03 that recites “Language that suggests or makes a feature or step optional but does not require that feature or step does not limit the scope of a claim under the broadest reasonable claim interpretation. In addition, when a claim requires selection of an element from a list of alternatives, the prior art teaches the element if one of the alternatives is taught by the prior art” and in MPEP 2111.04, Section ll that recites “The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition precedent are not met”).
Regarding claim 7, Ma discloses:
The signal processing method according to claim 1, (see claim 1).
wherein the frame comprises at least one of a beacon frame, (Ma, Fig. 12 & [0089] discloses After receiving the R-TWT response frame from the AP MLD, the Non-AP MLD's affiliated STA e.g. the first STA and/or the second STA receives a beacon frame at Target Beacon Transmission Time TBTT; Ma, [0188] discloses an Access Point Multi-Link Device AP MLD. EXAMINER’S NOTE: The examiner notes that the claims are written in an alternative limitation format requiring and contingent on the selection of only one of various alternative options presented and as such the non-selected alternative options are crossed out (i.e. the limitations reciting “a probe response frame, a multi-link (ML) probe response frame, an association response frame, or a reassociation response frame”) and are not given patentable weight as being directed towards limitations that are not required to be performed as is indicated in MPEP 2143.03 that recites “Language that suggests or makes a feature or step optional but does not require that feature or step does not limit the scope of a claim under the broadest reasonable claim interpretation. In addition, when a claim requires selection of an element from a list of alternatives, the prior art teaches the element if one of the alternatives is taught by the prior art” and in MPEP 2111.04, Section ll that recites “The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition precedent are not met”).
Regarding claim 8, Ma discloses:
A signal processing method, performed by a station, comprising: receiving a frame, (Ma, Fig. 12 & [0089] discloses After receiving the R-TWT response frame from the AP MLD, the Non-AP MLD's affiliated STA e.g. the first STA and/or the second STA (i.e. reads on performed by a station) receives a beacon frame (i.e. reads on receiving a frame) at Target Beacon Transmission Time TBTT. The specific process is shown in FIG. 12. and Fig. 12 shows the beacon on the AP side; Ma, [0040] discloses an Access Point AP device 110 and a STATION STA device 120).
wherein the frame comprises a restricted target wake time (rTWT) element and a quiet element corresponding to the rTWT element; (Ma, [0089] discloses The beacon frame contains (i.e. reads on the frame comprises) both an R-TWT element (i.e. reads on an rTWT element) and a Quiet element (i.e. reads on a quiet element). The R-TWT element indicates LL TWT SP related information. The quiet intervals indicated by the Quiet element (i.e. reads on quiet element) completely overlap (i.e. reads on corresponding to) with the TWT SP indicated by the TWT element (i.e. reads on the rTWT element); Ma, [0088] discloses Restricted TWT R-TWT).
wherein the quiet element indicates a quiet interval that overlaps with a service period (SP) indicated by the rTWT element; (Ma, [0089] discloses The beacon frame contains both an R-TWT element and a Quiet element. The R-TWT element indicates LL TWT SP related information. The quiet intervals indicated (i.e. reads on indicates a quiet interval) by the Quiet element (i.e. reads on the quiet element) completely overlap (i.e. reads on that overlaps) with the TWT SP (i.e. reads on with an SP) indicated by the TWT element (i.e. reads on indicated by the rTWT element); Ma, [0062] discloses Target Wake Time Service Period TWT SP).
wherein the rTWT element comprises first indication information indicating that the rTWT element is used for transmission of a low-latency service (Ma, [0089] discloses The R-TWT element (i.e. reads on the rTWT element comprises) indicates LL TWT SP related information (i.e. reads on first indication information indicating that the rTWT element is used for transmission of a low-latency service); Ma, [0056] discloses The idea of the TWT mechanism enhancement is to reuse the TWT mechanism to allocate periodic and protected Low Latency Target Wake Time Service Period LL TWT SP for delay-sensitive traffic).
Regarding claim 9, Ma discloses:
The signal processing method according to claim 8, (see claim 8).
wherein the frame comprises one at least one of: (Ma, [0089] discloses The beacon frame contains both an R-TWT element and a Quiet element. The R-TWT element indicates LL TWT SP related information. The quiet intervals indicated by the Quiet element completely overlap with the TWT SP indicated by the TWT element. EXAMINER’S NOTE: The examiner notes that the claims are written in an alternative limitation format requiring and contingent on the selection of only one of various alternative options presented and as such the non-selected alternative options and the limitations contingent on the selection of the non-selected alternative options are crossed out (i.e. the limitations reciting “or more” and “in the target radio frame, a first ranking order of a first quiet element of the one or more quiet elements is same as a second ranking order of a first rTWT element of the one or more rTWT elements;” and “or the one or more quiet elements each comprises a time offset value; wherein a second rTWT element carrying a time offset subfield, the time offset subfield comprising a target time offset value of a target quiet element corresponding to the second rTWT element”) and are not given patentable weight as being directed towards limitations that are not required to be performed as is indicated in MPEP 2143.03 that recites “Language that suggests or makes a feature or step optional but does not require that feature or step does not limit the scope of a claim under the broadest reasonable claim interpretation. In addition, when a claim requires selection of an element from a list of alternatives, the prior art teaches the element if one of the alternatives is taught by the prior art” and in MPEP 2111.04, Section ll that recites “The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition precedent are not met”).
Regarding claim 11, Ma discloses:
The signal processing method according to claim 8, (see claim 8).
wherein the station comprises a (Ma, Fig. 12 & [0089] discloses After receiving the R-TWT response frame from the AP MLD, the Non-AP MLD's affiliated STA e.g. the first STA and/or the second STA receives a beacon frame at Target Beacon Transmission Time TBTT; Ma, [0188] discloses an Access Point Multi-Link Device AP MLD. EXAMINER’S NOTE: The examiner notes that the claims are written in an alternative limitation format requiring and contingent on the selection of only one of various alternative options presented and as such the non-selected alternative options are crossed out (i.e. the limitations reciting “single-link device or”) and are not given patentable weight as being directed towards limitations that are not required to be performed as is indicated in MPEP 2143.03 that recites “Language that suggests or makes a feature or step optional but does not require that feature or step does not limit the scope of a claim under the broadest reasonable claim interpretation. In addition, when a claim requires selection of an element from a list of alternatives, the prior art teaches the element if one of the alternatives is taught by the prior art” and in MPEP 2111.04, Section ll that recites “The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition precedent are not met”).
Regarding claim 13, Ma discloses:
The signal processing method according to claim 8, (see claim 8).
wherein the frame comprises at least one of a beacon frame, (Ma, Fig. 12 & [0089] discloses After receiving the R-TWT response frame from the AP MLD, the Non-AP MLD's affiliated STA e.g. the first STA and/or the second STA receives a beacon frame at Target Beacon Transmission Time TBTT; Ma, [0188] discloses an Access Point Multi-Link Device AP MLD. EXAMINER’S NOTE: The examiner notes that the claims are written in an alternative limitation format requiring and contingent on the selection of only one of various alternative options presented and as such the non-selected alternative options are crossed out (i.e. the limitations reciting “a probe response frame, a multi-link (ML) probe response frame, an association response frame, or a reassociation response frame”) and are not given patentable weight as being directed towards limitations that are not required to be performed as is indicated in MPEP 2143.03 that recites “Language that suggests or makes a feature or step optional but does not require that feature or step does not limit the scope of a claim under the broadest reasonable claim interpretation. In addition, when a claim requires selection of an element from a list of alternatives, the prior art teaches the element if one of the alternatives is taught by the prior art” and in MPEP 2111.04, Section ll that recites “The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim having contingent limitations requires only those steps that must be performed and does not include steps that are not required to be performed because the condition precedent are not met”).
Regarding claim 20, Ma discloses:
A station, comprising: a processor; and a memory having a computer program executable by the processor stored thereon, (Ma, Fig. 12 & [0089] discloses After receiving the R-TWT response frame from the AP MLD, the Non-AP MLD's affiliated STA e.g. the first STA and/or the second STA receives a beacon frame at Target Beacon Transmission Time TBTT. The specific process is shown in FIG. 12. and Fig. 12 shows the beacon on the AP side; Ma, [0040] discloses an Access Point AP device 110 and a STATION STA device 120; Ma, [0301] discloses The apparatus 600 shown in FIG. 27 includes a processor 610, and the processor 610 can invoke and execute a computer program from a memory to implement the method in the embodiment of the present disclosure. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it is inherent for complex devices such as the AP or the STA to include a processor, memory and program in order to be able to perform the disclosed functionalities).
wherein the processor is configured to perform the method according to claim 8 (see claim 8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma et al. (US Patent Publication 2024/0040646 herein after referenced as Ma) in view of Chu et al. (US Patent 10,827,428 herein after referenced as Chu).
Regarding claim 6 and claim 25, Ma discloses:
The signal processing method according to claim 1, (see claim 1) and The access point device according to claim 18, (see claim 18).
Ma discloses an access point AP transmitting different types of frames such as a beacon frame and response frame but fails to explicitly recite that a determination is made prior to the transmission and therefore fails to disclose “wherein before sending the frame, the method comprises: / the processor is configured to: determining the frame.”
In a related field of endeavor, Chu discloses:
wherein before sending the frame, the method comprises: / the processor is configured to: determining the frame (Chu, Column 9, Lines 42-47 & 55-58 discloses the wireless AP determines a type of the management frame to be transmitted. At 704, when the type of the management frame is a beacon frame, the wireless AP continues to configure a WUR frame with an association identifier field e.g., 103 in FIGS. 2-3 at 706 and discloses the wireless AP transmits the WUR frame with AID and subsequently transmit the beacon frame to the low power device; Chu, Column 4, Lines 27-30 discloses However, when the frames include a beacon, a probe response etc., a low power device needs to wake up to receive such management frames even if these frames do not announce any new BSS operation parameter).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Ma to incorporate the teachings of Chu for the purpose of providing the system with a means to determine what type of frame to utilize and its corresponding configuration before transmission (Chu, Column 9, Lines 42-47 & 55-58) when multiple different types of frames are available for transmission (Chu, Column 4, Lines 27-30) and for the purpose of making the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with added functionalities and various different alternatives in design, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios and thereby, preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario (Ma, [0329]) and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of an access point transmitting different types of frames including a beacon frame and a response frame as taught by Ma) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of an access point transmitting different types of frames including a beacon frame and a response frame, wherein a determination of what type of frame is performed prior to the transmission as taught by Chu) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of an access point transmitting different types of frames including a beacon frame and a response frame (i.e. as taught by both Ma & Chu) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Claim(s) 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma et al. (US Patent Publication 2024/0040646 herein after referenced as Ma).
Regarding claim 26, Ma discloses:
The signal processing method according to claim 11, (see claim 11).
Ma discloses in one embodiment the use of a quiet interval overlapping with the Low Latency Target Wake Time Service Period LL TWT SP for delay-sensitive traffic but fails to explicitly recite in the same embodiment that a station is not allowed to access when the station has no low latency service and therefore fails to disclose in the same embodiment, the limitations of “wherein, in the quiet interval, a station is not allowed to access when the station has no low latency service.”
In a different embodiment, Ma discloses:
wherein, in the quiet interval, a station is not allowed to access when the station has no low latency service (Ma, [0073] discloses On one hand, the Quiet element can prevent non-LL TWT SP member STAs from contending for channels during an LL TWT SP. On the other hand, LL TWT SP member STAs can ignore the Quiet element, so as to wake and perform data transmission at the start time of the LL TWT SP; Ma, [0063] discloses A restricted TWT mechanism requires that transmissions of other STAs must be stopped before a Restricted TWT SP starts, so as to ensure normal starting of the Restricted TWT SP and ensure that transmission of LL Traffic can be completed within the limited delay. As shown in FIG. 4, before start of a restricted TWT SP, Transmission Opportunities TXOPs of other regular STAs that is, STAs that do not support low-latency services should be ended, and the STA's TXOP should be ended before the TXOP expires, such that the STA that supports low-latency services Low-latency STA can exchange frames within a specified SP; Ma, [0051] discloses In order to facilitate understanding of the technical solutions of the embodiments of the present disclosure, the technical solutions related to the present disclosure will be described below. The following related technologies as optional solutions may be arbitrarily combined with the technical solutions of the embodiments of the present disclosure, and all these combinations are to be encompassed by the protection scope of the embodiments of the present disclosure; Ma, [0329] discloses While the specific embodiments of the present disclosure have been described above, the scope of the present disclosure is not limited to these embodiments. Various variants and alternatives can be made by those skilled in the art without departing from the scope of the present disclosure. These variants and alternatives are to be encompassed by the scope of the present disclosure as defined by the claims as attached).
Therefore, at the time before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Ma to incorporate the teachings of the different embodiments for the purpose of conforming to the intent of the invention to modify and combine the various different embodiment (Ma, [0051]) to make the system more dynamic and adaptable by providing the system with various different alternatives in design and functionality, thereby allowing the system to handle a number of various different combination of specific design structure and scenarios and preventing the system from being limited to a single specific design structure and scenario (Ma, [0329]) and furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize based on the guidelines to rationales supporting a conclusion of obviousness seen on MPEP 2143, that the modification would involve use of a simple substitution of one known element and base device (i.e. performing a process of an embodiment of utilizing a quiet interval overlapping with the Low Latency Target Wake Time Service Period LL TWT SP for delay-sensitive traffic as taught by Ma) with another known element and comparable device utilizing a known technique (i.e. performing a process of a similar embodiment of utilizing quiet interval overlapping with the Low Latency Target Wake Time Service Period LL TWT SP for delay-sensitive traffic with additional and/or alternative features and functionalities of the other embodiments as taught by Ma) to improve the similar devices in the same way and to obtain the predictable result of the system performing a process of an embodiment of utilizing quiet interval overlapping with the Low Latency Target Wake Time Service Period LL TWT SP for delay-sensitive traffic (i.e. as taught by Ma) and is dependent upon the specific intended use, design incentives, needs and requirements (i.e. such as due to teachings of a known standard, current technology, conservation of resources, personal preferences, economic considerations, etc.) of the user and the system as has been established in MPEP 2144.04.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kwon et al. (US Patent Publication 2022/0132419) discloses a system wherein a management frame may be a beacon frame, a probe response frame, a (re)association response frame, etc. and the management frame may be transmitted by an AP MLD to a non-AP MLD on a link via an AP of the AP MLD, and received by the non-AP MLD from the AP MLD via a non-AP STA of the non-AP MLD and discloses a management frame indicating and/or including a Channel Switch Announcement CSA element, an extended CSA eCSA element, a Quiet element, a Quiet Channel element, and/or an insertion or a Target Wake Time TWT element that includes a restricted access service period SP wherein the Quiet element is included in a beacon frame transmitted by an AP of an AP MLD on a link where a restricted TWT is established.
LU et al. (US Patent Publication 2023/0413331) discloses a system wherein an R-TWT SP Quiet Elements may be included in management MGMT frames sent from AP1/AP3 to STA 1/STA3 and discloses the R-TWT DL/UL TID Bitmap subfields in the R-TWT Traffic Info field are set to indicate which TID(s) is identified by the TWT scheduling APs or the TWT scheduled STAs as latency sensitive traffic streams in the downlink direction on the links which are indicated in the Link ID Bitmap subfield and the Restricted TWT UL TID Bitmap subfield is set to indicate which TID(s) is identified by the TWT scheduling APs or the TWT scheduled STAs as latency sensitive traffic streams in the uplink direction on the links which are indicated in the Link ID Bitmap subfield and discloses a second format of a Broadcast R-TWT Parameter Set field of an R-TWT element with TID-to-Link mapping information according to some embodiments of the invention and the Broadcast R-TWT Parameter Set field further includes a Link ID Bitmap field and a R-TWT Traffic Info field.
/MICHAEL Y MAPA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645