DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-8 mad 15-16 in the reply filed on 04/03/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 9-14 and 17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 04/03/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8, and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pallotta et al. (US 2015/0140354).
Regarding claim 1, Pallotta et al. teaches a coated article comprising a glass substrate and a low emissivity coating, wherein the low emissivity coating (paragraph [0001]) comprises dielectric coatings alternating with silver coatings (Fig. 2 Embodiment, paragraphs [0045] and [0054]), wherein the thicknesses of the dielectric coatings and second silver layer are in angstroms and clearly meet the claimed ranges and ratio. While the thickness ratio of the third silver layer to first silver layer is approximately 1.10 (120/109 = 1.10), it is apparent, however, that the instantly claimed ratio and that taught by Pallotta et al. are so close to each other that the fact pattern is similar to the one in In re Woodruff , 919 F.2d 1575, USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) or Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed.Cir. 1985). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the ratio disclosed in the present claims is but an obvious variant of that disclosed in Pallotta et al., and thereby one of ordinary skill in the art would have arrived at the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 2 and 15, Pallotta et al. teaches wherein the first silver coating (Ag (layer 9)) has a thickness of 5-25 nm (50-250 Å), wherein the second silver coating (Ag (layer 19)) has a thickness of 6-16 nm, wherein the third silver coating (Ag (layer 29)) has a thickness of 5-25 nm (paragraph [0045]).
Regarding claim 3, Pallotta et al. teaches wherein the thickness of first dielectric coating is between 5-105 nm (thickness ranges of SixNy (layer 3) + TiOx (layer 5) + ZnAlOx (layer 7)), wherein the thickness of second dielectric coating is between 33-145 nm, wherein the thickness of third dielectric coating is between 11-180 nm, wherein the thickness of fourth dielectric coating is between 1-150 nm (paragraph [0045]), wherein thicknesses are calculated excluding NiCrOx layers, i.e. blocking layers.
Regarding claim 4, given that Pallotta et al. teaches wherein the thickness of the second silver coating is from 60-160 Å and the thickness of the second silver coating is from 50-250 Å, a ratio of the thicknesses would be between 0.24 and 3.2.
Regarding claim 5, Pallotta et al. teaches wherein each dielectric coating comprises titanium oxide, silicon nitride, silicon nitride, and silicon nitride, respectively (paragraph [0045]).
Regarding claim 6, Pallotta et al. teaches wherein each silver coating is located below and/or above and in contact with a NiCrOx layer (paragraph [0045]), i.e. blocking layer.
Regarding claim 8, given that Pallotta et al. teaches a material comprising materials and structure identical those presently claimed, the material of Pallotta et al. would necessarily have an interior and exterior light reflection and light transmission as presently claimed, absent evidence to the contrary.
Regarding claim 16, note that because claim 5 is in the form of an alternative group, and Pallotta et al. teaches oxide and nitride layers, it is not required that Pallotta et al. meet the further limitation of the non-selected groups via subsequent dependent claims.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/CHENG YUAN HUANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787