Election/Restrictions
Claims 19-20 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II or Group III, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on October 30, 2025.
Claims 10-11 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on October 30, 2025.
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-20 are pending. Claim 21 has been cancelled. Claims 10-11 and 19-20 have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9 and 12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Delwel (US 4,582,263).
Regarding claim 1, Delwell discloses a material handling system (drum granulator, abstract, Fig. 2) comprising a rigid frame (outer steel layer 34, col. 2 ll. 29-36, Fig. 2) and a moveable liner (inner rubber layer 35, col. 2 ll. 29-36, Fig. 2), wherein the frame includes at least one aperture having an area (apertures 36-39, col. 2 ll. 29-36, Fig. 2) and wherein the system comprises an actuator system for applying a force to a surface of the liner in the area of the aperture (deforming roller drops into apertures 36-39 to press on rubber layer 35, col. 2 ll. 50 to col. 3 ll. 2, Figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 2, Delwell discloses wherein the moveable liner is a flexible liner (inner rubber layer 35, col. 2 ll. 29-36, Fig. 2), optionally an elastomeric or rubber liner (inner rubber layer 35, col. 2 ll. 29-36, Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 3, Delwell discloses wherein the moveable liner comprises a rigid or resilient member flexibly or elastically mounted to the frame (inner rubber layer 35 is resilient because it is rubber that is elastically mounted to the frame, col. 2 ll. 29-36, Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 4, Delwell discloses wherein the moveable liner is not a mesh (inner rubber layer 35 is not a mesh, col. 2 ll. 29-36, Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 5, Delwell discloses wherein the actuator system applies a force to the liner (deforming roller drops into apertures 36-39 to deform rubber layer 35, the deformation is indicative that the deforming roller is applying a force to rubber layer 35, col. 2 ll. 50 to col. 3 ll. 2, Figs. 1-2.
Regarding claim 6, Delwell discloses wherein the force applied to the liner is substantially perpendicular to a surface of the liner (deforming roller drops into apertures 36-39 to press on rubber layer 35, as shown this force is going to be perpendicular because it is pressing in a direction opposite of a radial direction, col. 2 ll. 50 to col. 3 ll. 2, Figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 7, Delwell discloses wherein the force applied to the liner is a tapping force (deforming roller drops into apertures 36-39 to press on rubber layer 35, col. 2 ll. 50 to col. 3 ll. 2, Figs. 1-2; the nature of this force constitutes a tapping force).
Regarding claim 8, Delwell discloses wherein the rigid frame is in the form of a rotatable drum (outer steel layer 34 of a drum rotating on rotatable shaft 15, col. 2 ll. 29-36, Fig. 2; col. 2 ll. 50 to col. 3 ll. 2, Figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 9, Delwell discloses wherein the rotatable drum has a longitudinal axis of rotation (axis of shaft 15, Fig. 2), wherein the axis of rotation is inclined to the horizontal at an angle of from 0° to about 30° (depicted as horizontal, which is inclined 0° or at least close to it, Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 12, Delwell discloses wherein the actuator system comprises a rotatable shaft having at least one actuator arm mounted radially thereto (rotatable shaft 15 with cam rollers 14 mounted radially thereto connected to deforming means 13, col. 2 ll. 7-28, Fig. 1), wherein the or each actuator arm is arranged to bear against the moveable liner (deforming means 13 deform the liner col. 2 ll. 50 to col. 3 ll. 2, Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 13, Delwell discloses a prime mover for rotating the rotatable shaft (external power source drives a wheel, which rotates the drum, which rotates shaft 15, col. 2 ll. 7-28, Figs. 1-2).
Regarding claim 14, Delwell discloses wherein the actuator system comprises at least one actuator arm pivotally mounted adjacent an area of an aperture (arm 28 is so mounted, col. 2 ll. 37-49, Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 15, Delwell discloses wherein the or each arm comprises a distally-mounted wheel or roller (deforming roller mounted to arm 28, col. 2 ll. 37-49, Fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Delwel (US 4,582,263) as applied to claims 12 and 1 above, respectively, and further in view of Webster (US 2,812,541).
Regarding claim 16, Delwell teaches a system substantially as claimed. Delwell does not disclose wherein at least one of the or each arms is cranked.
However, in the same field of endeavor of removing adhering particles from the edge of a rotating drum with a flexible liner (Fig. 3), Webster teaches wherein at least one of the or each arms is cranked (oblique plate 54 is cranked, Fig. 2; separately, connection between support brace 58 and oblique plate 54 is also bent and therefore cranked, Fig. 2).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Delwell such that the structure of an arm is cranked because Fig. 2 of Webster teaches an arm that is cranked performing the same task in the same technical context, namely supporting a structure for deforming a flexible liner in a rotating drum of particulate.
Regarding claim 17, Delwell teaches a system substantially as claimed. Delwell does not disclose wherein the actuator system comprises at least one linear actuator adapted to bear against the moveable liner.
However, in the same field of endeavor of removing adhering particles from the edge of a rotating drum with a flexible liner (Fig. 3), Webster teaches wherein the actuator system comprises at least one linear actuator adapted to bear against the moveable liner (mechanical flexing device 49, col. 4 ll. 15-40, Figs. 2-3).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Delwell to replace cam roller 24 with mechanical flexing device 49 of Webster because mechanical flexing device 49 of Webster performs the same function in the same technical context to deform a flexible liner in a rotating drum of particulate.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Delwel (US 4,582,263) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Baker (US 3,254,801).
Regarding claim 18, Delwell teaches a system substantially as claimed. Delwell does not disclose load cells for weighing material in or passing through the system.
However, in the same field of endeavor of particular material in a rotary cylinder (col. 1 ll. 10-20), Baker teaches load cells for weighing material in or passing through the system (col. 5 ll. 19-30).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Delwell to include load cells because col. 5 ll. 19-30 of Baker teaches that load cells can measure the weight of material in the drum at a period of time, and the change in weight over time.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. KR 20120000774 teaches a lifting device 70 that adjust an inclination angle of drum member 10. JP 2017128413 teaches a cam 12 that is rotated to press against a liner 7.
/NICHOLAS J CHIDIAC/Examiner, Art Unit 1744
/XIAO S ZHAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1744