DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 02/23/2024, 02/26/2024, 04/02/2024, 06/10/2025, 09/10/2025, 04/14/2026, 04/24/2026, 08/19/2026 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Response to Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election with traverse of Group I (claims 55, 57-64) in the reply filed on 09/15/2026 is acknowledge. Group II (claims 56, 65-72) is withdrawn from consideration.
Applicant alleged that “the office alleges that Groups I and II lack unity of invention because the technical feature required by these groups is not a special technical feature over Noh et al. (U.S. Patent No. 2007/0048893; Noh) because "Noh et al. discloses laser light, first substate, second substate, Galvano scanner, laser light is emitted towards irradiation target." Page 3 of the office action. Here, the office appears to have misunderstood the present claims and thus the special technical feature.
Specifically, Groups I and Il share at least the following special technical features: "laser light is emitted toward a first substrate having irradiation targets to move the irradiation targets from the first substrate to a second substrate" and "laser light is emitted toward an irradiation target by using a scanning reduced projection optical system comprising a galvano scanner and a photomask so that the irradiation target is moved to the second substrate." The office, however, is silent regarding how and where Noh discloses such special technical features.” – see detail on page 4 of the Remarks dated 09/15/2026.
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive because according to MPEP 1893.03(d), unity of invention exists when the claimed inventions have a technical relationship involving one or more of the same or corresponding technical features that define a contribution over the prior art. Furthermore, according to MPEP 1850, a lack of unity may become apparent after consideration of the prior art where the common feature or group of features does not define a contribution over that art. The determination is made based on the claims as interpreted in light of the description and drawings. In this case, this application contains the following inventions or groups of inventions which are not so linked as to form a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1.
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.499, applicant is required, in reply to this action, to elect a single invention to which the claims must be restricted.
Group I, Claims 55, 57-64, drawn to “A retransfer method”.
Group II, Claims 56, 65-72, drawn to “A LIFT method”.
The groups of inventions listed above do not relate to a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1 because, under PCT Rule 13.2, they lack the same or corresponding special technical features for the following reasons:
Groups I and II lack unity of invention because even though the inventions of these groups require the technical feature of laser light, first substrate, second substrate, galvano scanner, laser light is emitted toward irradiation target; this technical feature is not a special technical feature as it does not make a contribution over the prior art in view of Noh et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2007/0048893 A1). Noh et al. discloses laser light, first substrate, second substrate, galvano scanner, laser light is emitted toward irradiation target. Furthermore, with respect to Applicant’s assertion that the transfer of an irradiation target from a first substrate to a second substrate using laser constitutes a common special technical feature, Noh discloses a donor film having an organic light emission layer to be transferred onto acceptor substrate. Noh further discloses irradiating the donor film with laser through openings in a contact frame to expand and transfer the organic light emission layer from the donor film onto a sub-pixel region of the acceptor substrate. See Pars.0070-0072 of Noh. Thus, Noh discloses the relationship between laser irradiation of material on a first substrate and transfer that material to a second substrate. Noh also discloses a laser oscillator including two Galvano scanners 121 and 123, a scan lens 125, and a cylinder lens 127, see Par.0060 & Fig.4 of Noh. Noh further discloses a contact frame having openings through with the laser passes and explains that the contact frame functions as a mask to irradiate predetermined positions, see Par.0061 of Noh. Accordingly, laser irradiation using Galvano scanner, together with masking and transfer of material from a donor film to an acceptor substrate was known in the art.
Given above reasons, the requirement for restriction set forth in the office action dated 07/15/2026 is deemed proper. Accordingly, Group II (claims 56, 65-72) is withdrawn from consideration. Claims 55, 57-64 are examined as follows.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it contains more than 150 words in length. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 55, 57-64 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 55 recites the limitation “an irradiation target” in line 7. It is unclear what is meant by this limitation because “irradiation targets” recited previously in claim 55 (line 2). Therefore, it is unclear whether the limitation “an irradiation target” recited in claim 55 (line 7) refers to one of the “irradiation targets” recited previously in claim 55, or the limitation “an irradiation target” recited in claim 55 (line 7) refers to a different irradiation target. For examination purposes, the limitation “an irradiation target” recited in claim 55 (line 7) will be interpreted as to refer to one of the “irradiation targets” recited previously in claim 55.
Claims 57-64 are rejected by virtue of their dependence on claim 55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 55, 57-59, 61-62 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kazuya et al. (WO 2020188780 A1).
Regarding claim 55, Kazuya discloses a retransfer method (Kazuya Translated Abstract & Fig.1) in which laser light (laser beam L2, Kazuya Fig.1) is emitted toward a first substrate (transfer source substrate 10, Kazuya Fig.1) having irradiation targets (micro LEDs 12 includes red micro LEDs 12R, green micro LEDs 12G and blue micro LEDs 12B, Kazuya Fig.1) to move the irradiation targets (micro LEDs 12 includes red micro LEDs 12R, green micro LEDs 12G and blue micro LEDs 12B, Kazuya Fig.1) from the first substrate (transfer source substrate 10, Kazuya Fig.1) to a second substrate (transfer destination substrate 20, Kazuya Fig.1) (Kazuya Translated Document on page 2 – paragraph 7 discloses: “As shown in FIG. 1, the laser transfer device 100 irradiates a transfer source substrate 10 (also referred to as a wafer) on which a micro LED (Light Emitting Diode) 12 is formed on a substrate 11with laser light, and laser ablates the substrate 10. The micro LED 12 is peeled off (lifted off) from the substrate 11. The peeled micro LED 12 falls downward (minus Z direction) and moves (transfers) to a transfer destination substrate 20 (TFT (Thin Film Transistor) substrate or the like) located below the transfer source substrate 10. The micro LED 12 that has moved to the transfer destination substrate20 is fixed to the transfer destination substrate 20 by an appropriate method.”),
wherein the second substrate (transfer destination substrate 20, Kazuya Fig.1) has a region (region where the red micro LEDs 12R are mounted on the transfer destination substrate 20, Kazuya Fig.1) in which the irradiation targets (red micro LEDs 12R, Kazuya Fig.1) have been mounted in advance (Kazuya discloses the transfer destination substrate 20 has a region in which the red micro LEDs 12R have been mounted in advance because Kazuya discloses the red micro LEDs 12R are first transferred before the green micro LEDs 12G and the blue micro LEDs 12B, specifically, Kazuya Translated Document on page 2 – paragraph 10 discloses: “The laser transfer apparatus 100 first transfers the red micro LED 12R through the transfer source substrate 10 on which the red micro LED 12R is formed, and then uses the transfer source substrate10 on which the green micro LED 12G is formed. The green micro LED 12G is transferred in one step. The laser transfer device 100 then transfers the blue micro LED 12B using the transfer source substrate 10 on which the blue micro LED 12B is formed.”), and a defective region (defective region is the region where the green micro LEDs 12G have to be transferred to the destination substrate 20 later on, Kazuya Fig.1) in which no irradiation target is mounted in a mounting target region (mounting target region corresponds to region in which LEDs are mounted to the transfer destination substrate 20), and
laser light (laser beam L2, Kazuya Fig.1) is emitted toward an irradiation target (green micro LEDs 12G, Kazuya Fig.1) on the first substrate (transfer source substrate 10, Kazuya Fig.1) by using a scanning reduced projection optical system (scanning reduced projection optical system includes optical system 120 having beam expander 121, DOE (Diffractive Optical Element) 122, beam reducer 123; scanning mechanism 130 having galvano scanner 131; and mask 140; Kazuya Fig.1) comprising a galvano scanner (galvano scanner 131, Kazuya Fig.1) and a photomask (mask 140, Kazuya Fig.1) so that the irradiation target (green micro LEDs 12G, Kazuya Fig.1) is moved to the defective region (defective region is the region where the green micro LEDs 12G have to be transferred to the destination substrate 20 later on, Kazuya Fig.1) in the second substrate (transfer destination substrate 20, Kazuya Fig.1) (Kazuya Translated Document on page 2 – paragraph 10 discloses: “The laser transfer apparatus 100 first transfers the red micro LED 12R through the transfer source substrate 10 on which the red micro LED 12R is formed, and then uses the transfer source substrate10 on which the green micro LED 12G is formed. The green micro LED 12G is transferred in one step”).
Regarding claim 57, Kazuya discloses the method set forth in claim 55, Kazuya also discloses
wherein each of the irradiation targets (micro LEDs 12 includes red micro LEDs 12R, green micro LEDs 12G and blue micro LEDs 12B, Kazuya Fig.1) is a micro device or a film (It is noted that the limitation “a micro device or a film” is in alternative form; therefore, only one of these was required during examination. In this case, Kazuya discloses each of the irradiation targets is a micro device because each of the irradiation targets is micro LED.).
Regarding claim 58, Kazuya discloses the method set forth in claim 57, Kazuya also discloses
wherein the irradiation targets (micro LEDs 12 includes red micro LEDs 12R, green micro LEDs 12G and blue micro LEDs 12B, Kazuya Fig.1) are the micro devices (Kazuya discloses the irradiation targets are micro devices because the irradiation targets are micro LEDs), and the micro devices (micro LEDs 12 includes red micro LEDs 12R, green micro LEDs 12G and blue micro LEDs 12B, Kazuya Fig.1) are micro LEDs (Kazuya discloses the irradiation targets are micro devices because the irradiation targets are micro LEDs).
Regarding claim 59, Kazuya discloses the method set forth in claim 57, Kazuya also discloses
wherein the irradiation targets (micro LEDs 12 includes red micro LEDs 12R, green micro LEDs 12G and blue micro LEDs 12B, Kazuya Fig.1) are the micro devices (Kazuya discloses the irradiation targets are micro devices because the irradiation targets are micro LEDs), and the micro devices (micro LEDs 12 includes red micro LEDs 12R, green micro LEDs 12G and blue micro LEDs 12B, Kazuya Fig.1) are arranged in a matrix on the first substrate (transfer source substrate 10, Kazuya Fig.1) (as shown in Kazuya Fig.3, and Kazuya Translated Document on page 2 – paragraph 9 discloses: “As shown in FIG. 3, the transfer source substrate 10 includes micro LEDs 12 arranged in a matrix in the XY directions”).
Regarding claim 61, Kazuya discloses the method set forth in claim 55, Kazuya also discloses
wherein the photomask (mask 140, Kazuya Fig.1) has a circular, elliptical, square, or rectangular opening (It is noted that the limitation “circular, elliptical, square, or rectangular opening” is in alternative form; therefore, only one of these was required during examination. In this case, Kazuya discloses rectangular optical openings 146, as shown in Kazuya Figs.7-9, Kazuya Translated Document on page 4 – paragraph 1 discloses: “The laser light L2 passes through the transmission portion 146”).
Regarding claim 62, Kazuya discloses the method set forth in claim 55, Kazuya also discloses
wherein the photomask (mask 140, Kazuya Fig.1) has a region in which openings (transmission portions 146 are optical openings, Kazuya Figs.7-9; Kazuya discloses optical openings 146 because Kazuya Translated Document on page 4 – paragraph 1 discloses: “The laser light L2 passes through the transmission portion 146”) are arranged in a matrix (Kazuya Figs.7-9 show the optical openings 146 are arranged in a matrix).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 60 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kazuya et al. (WO 2020188780 A1) in view of Smits et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2015/0294951 A1).
Regarding claim 60, Kazuya discloses the method set forth in claim 57, but does not explicitly disclose
wherein each of the irradiation targets is the film, and the film is an electrically conductive film or an adhesive film.
Smits teaches a transfer method in which laser light is emitted toward a first substrate having irradiation targets to move the irradiation targets from the first substrate to a second substrate (Smits Abstract, Par.0023 & Fig.2A):
wherein each of the irradiation targets (irradiation targets 1511 comes from donor film comprising a curable conductive adhesive 151, Smits Par.0038 & Fig.2A) is the film (Smits Par.0024 teaches: “providing a donor film comprising a curable conductive adhesive 151 and a dynamic release layer 152”), and the film (Smits Par.0024 teaches: “providing a donor film comprising a curable conductive adhesive 151 and a dynamic release layer 152”) is an electrically conductive film or an adhesive film (It is noted that the limitation “an electrically conductive film or an adhesive film” is in alternative form; therefore, only one of these was required during examination. In this case, Smits teaches the irradiation targets 1511 comes from donor film comprising a curable conductive adhesive 151, Smits Pars.0024, 0038 & Fig.2A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kazuya, by adding the teaching of each of the irradiation targets is the film, and the film is an electrically conductive film or an adhesive film, as taught by Smits, in order to provide localized bonding material at the LED electrodes, thereby enabling the subsequently transferred LEDs to be mechanically secured and electrically connected.
Claims 63-64 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kazuya et al. (WO 2020188780 A1) in view of Bai et al. (CN 112599551 A).
Regarding claim 63, Kazuya discloses the method set forth in claim 55, but does not explicitly disclose
wherein the photomask has at least two kinds of opening groups.
Bai teaches a transfer method in which laser light is emitted toward a first substrate having irradiation targets to move the irradiation targets from the first substrate to a second substrate (Bai Translated Abstract & Fig.1):
wherein the photomask (mask 10, Bai Fig.2) has at least two kinds of opening groups (at least P1 and P2, Bai Fig.2) (Bai Translated Document on page 8 – paragraph 3 teaches: “a plurality of patterns P may be formed in the mask 10”, and Bai Translated Document on page 8 – paragraph 4 teaches: “A plurality of patterns P may be referred to as a plurality of row r patterns P. Here, a plurality of rows r may include, for example, a first row r1, a second row r2, a third row r3, a fourth row r4, and a fifth row r5. A plurality of patterns P can be formed along each row, and comprises a first row pattern P1, a second row pattern P2, a third row pattern P3, a fourth row pattern P4 and a fifth row pattern P5.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kazuya, by adding the teaching of the photomask has at least two kinds of opening groups, as taught by Bai, in order to permit selection of an opening pattern corresponding to the size and arrangement of the micro LEDs being transferred without replacing the mask, thereby reducing equipment downtime and the readjustment associated with mask replacement and improving transfer productivity.
Regarding claim 64, Kazuya in view of Bai teaches the method set forth in claim 63, and also teaches:
wherein the at least two kinds of opening groups (at least P1 and P2, Bai Fig.2; as cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 63 above) are different from each other in size of openings forming each of the opening groups, shape of the openings, number of the openings, or arrangement of the openings (It is noted that the limitation “size of openings forming each of the opening groups, shape of the openings, number of the openings, or arrangement of the openings” is in alternative form; therefore, only one of these was required during examination. In this case, Kazuya in view of Bai teaches size of openings forming each of the opening groups and shape of the openings of P1 and P2 are different, see Bai Fig.2, as cited and incorporated in the rejection of claim 63 above.).
Conclusion
The following prior art(s) made of record and not relied upon is/are considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure.
Pique et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2009/0217517 A1) discloses a laser direct write method used to transfer entire single components such as semiconductor bare dies or surface mount passive and active components on a substrate or inside recess in a substrate for making embedded microelectronics. A component is a discrete element which adds active or passive functionality to a planar or non-planar device or structure. Typical examples include but are not limited to surface mount resistors, capacitors, batteries, LED’s, laser diodes, thin film structures, integrated circuits, ASIC's (application specific integrated circuit).
Sandstrom et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2018/0015671 A1) discloses material deposition using Laser-Induced Forward Transfer (LIFT). Specifically, the technology relates to reusing, or recycling, unused donor material by recoating target substrates with donor material after a writing process is performed with the target substrate. Further, the technology relates to target substrates including a pattern of discrete separated dots to be individually ejected from the target substrate using LIFT.
/THAO UYEN TRAN-LE/Examiner, Art Unit 3761 10/27/2026