DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Park (US 2023/0165145 A1).
Regarding claims 1-8, Park teaches an organic light emitting device having improved driving voltage, efficiency, and lifetime by comprising a heterocyclic compound represented by Chemical Formula 1 (abstract; ¶ [0038]). Examples of such devices include Example 33 which includes an anode, a light emitting layer comprising compound 274, and a cathode (¶ [0341]-[0346]; see Table 10 on pg. 199). Compound 274 is reproduced below in comparison to the claimed Chemical Formula 1 (see structure on pg. 75).
274:
1:
Compound 274 reads on the claimed Chemical Formula 1 wherein:
n is an integer of 6 (claim 2);
X is S;
Ar1 is a substituted C6 aryl and particularly a phenyl substituted with deuterium (claim 3); and
Ar2 and Ar3 are each an unsubstituted C12 aryl of biphenyl (claims 4-5).
Park teaches alternative compounds represented by Chemical Formula 1 including compound 393 (see structure on pg. 101).
393:
Compound 393 is identical to the first claimed compound on pg. 30 of claim 6 and thus additionally meets the limitations of claims 1-5.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of copending Application No. 18/272,067 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 6 of ‘067 recites compounds and devices comprising such compounds that meet the limitations of claims 1-8 of ‘707.
For example, claim 1 of ‘067 recites an organic light emitting device including an anode, a cathode, and a light emitting layer, wherein the light emitting layer includes a compound represented by Chemical Formula 1, and claim 6 of ‘067 recites specific examples of compounds represented by Chemical Formula 1 including the compound below (see pg. 33).
Compound of ‘067:
The compound above reads on the limitations of claims 1-5 of ‘707 and a device thereof reads on the limitations of claims 7-8 of ‘707.
‘067 recites Chemical Formula 1 in claims 1-5. As evidenced by the compounds in claim 6 of ‘067, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select variables of Chemical Formula 1 to arrive at the instant claimed Chemical Formula 1, because it would have been choosing from a list of variables specifically taught by ‘067, which would have been a choice from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions of a compound useful possessing the benefits of ‘067. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to produce additional compounds represented by Chemical Formula 1 of ‘067 having the benefits taught by ‘067 in order to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp with a reasonable expectation of success. See MPEP 2143.I.(E).
While ‘067 fails to specifically teach a compound that reads on a compound of claim 6 of ‘707, ‘067 does recite in Chemical Formula 1 of claim 1 that n may be an integer from 1 to 6 and Ar1 and Ar2 may each be unsubstituted phenyl groups, as exemplified by the first compound of claim 6 of ‘067.
Therefore, given the general formula and teachings of ‘067, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute n being 4 with n being 6 (and thus arrive at a compound comprising a fully deuterated dibenzofuran) and to substituted biphenyl with phenyl in the locations of Ar1 and Ar2, because ‘067 teaches the n may suitably be selected as 6 and Ar1 and Ar2 may suitably be selected as phenyl. The substitution would have been one known element for another and one of ordinary skill in the pertinent art would reasonably expect the predictable result that the modified compound would be useful as the compound represented by Chemical Formula 1 of ‘067 and possess the benefits taught by ‘067. See MPEP 2143.I.(B).
The resulting modified compound reads on the seventh claimed compound of claim 6 of ‘707.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2023/0115134 A1 teaches compound P-18 (see structure on pg. 42) which reads on the claimed Chemical Formula 1.
Contact Information
/BRAELYN R WATSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786