DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-7, 10-11, 14-18, and 21-22, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Futaki et al. (US 2019/0182716 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 15-16, Futaki discloses:
a network device (fig.1 depicts a network device), comprising:
a transceiver (fig.23 depicts a transceiver);
a memory (fig.23 depicts a memory); and
a processor (fig.23 depicts a processor), connected to the transceiver and the memory (fig.23 depicts a processor communicatively coupled with the memory), respectively, and configured to execute computer-executable instructions stored on a non-transitory computer readable medium, to control the transceiver to transmit or receive a radio signal and to implement:
a communications method (fig.1 depicts a wireless communications network), comprising:
obtaining, by a network device (fig.1 depicts a network device element NR-gNB, and fig.2 depicts a LTE eNB and a gNB), a subband of a bandwidth part (BWP) in a carrier (implicit, as the network device, (i.e. the eNB or gNB) are configured to configure and/or signal a configuration of BWP (i.e. subbands fig(s). 6-7) to the user equipment in its cells. Additionally, the network (i.e. the eNB or gNB) can exchange BWP information with one another via the X2 interface as shown in fig.2 and fig(s).10-11, par.[0081- 0083]);
determining, by the network device, a type of each subband or each BWP (as discussed above, the configuration BWP configuration. In addition the disclosure teaches that the BWP comprises different types of BWP for uplink (UL) and/or downlink (DL) communications, par.[0023] the configuration, describes which BWP are for UL and which are for DL communications. Thus, the configuration determined at the network node comprises a determination of which BWPs are used for UL and which are used for DL);
determining, by the network device, configuration information according to the type (par.[0023] the network devices determine (e.g. configure configuration information) to be sent to the UE comprising the type of BWP either UL/DL for communication between the UE and the network);
sending, by the network device, the configuration information to at least one user equipment (UE) via configuration signaling (par.[0023] the network node uses Radio Resource Control signaling to transmit the BWP configuration comprising the types of BWP previously configured); and
communicating, by the network device, with the at least one UE in a unit of subband or the BWP according to the configuration information (par.[0023] the UE receives the BWP configurations which it will use to communicate with the base station, fig.17, par.[0117 – 0118]).
Regarding claim 4, 10, and 21, Futaki discloses:
wherein the configuration signaling comprises the configuration information, and the configuration information is used to configure the type of the subband or the BWP in the carrier (par.[0023] which teaches the signaling with the configuration information, and par.[0090-0099] describe the information elements in the configuration which assist the UE in determining the configuration).
Regarding claims 5, 11, and 22, Futaki discloses:
wherein the configuration signaling comprises radio resource control (RRC) common signaling, RRC dedicated signaling, or downlink control information (DCI) signaling (par.[0023] describes RRC signaling to transmit the BWP configuration information).
Regarding claims 6, 14, and 17, Futaki discloses:
a user equipment (fig.24 depicts a user equipment), comprising:
a transceiver (fig.24 depicts a transceiver);
a memory (fig.24 depicts a memory); and
a processor (fig.24 depicts a processor), connected to the transceiver and the memory, respectively, and configured to execute computer-executable instructions stored on a non-transitory computer readable medium, to control the transceiver to transmit or receive a radio signal and to implement:
a communications method (fig.1 depicts a wireless communications network), comprising:
obtaining, by a user equipment (fig.1 depicts a network device element NR-gNB, communicating with a user equipment), configuration signaling carrying configuration information sent by a network device, wherein the configuration information is used to configure a type of a subband or a bandwidth part (BWP) in a carrier (par.[0023] which recites, in part, “One or more BWP configurations for each component carrier are semi-statically signaled to the UE. To be specific, for each UE-specific serving cell, one or more DL BWPs and one or more UL BWPs can be configured for the UE via a dedicated RRC message.”);
receiving, by the UE, the configuration information sent by the network device via the configuration signaling (par.[0023] the transmission of the RRC signaling with the BWP configuration); and
communicating, by the UE, with network device in a unit of at least one subband or BWP in carrier according to the configuration information (par.[0023] the UE receives the BWP configurations which it will use to communicate with the base station, fig.17, par.[0117 – 0118]).
Regarding claims 7 and 18, Futaki discloses:
determining whether the at least one subband or BWP in the carrier corresponds to the UE (par.[0023] which teaches that the UE receives the BWP configuration it would use for communications with the network);
determining a type of the at least one subband or BWP,wherein in response to determining that the at least one subband or BWP in the carrier corresponds to the UE (par.[0023] teaches that the configuration comprises the type of BWP in the configuration); and
communicating with the network device in a unit of the at least one subband or BWP according to the type of the at least one subband or BWP (par.[0023] the UE receives the BWP configurations which it will use to communicate with the base station, fig.17, par.[0117 – 0118]).
Claim(s) 1, 6, and 14-17, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Huang et al. (US 2021/0314131 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 15-16, Futaki discloses:
a network device (fig.1 depicts a plurality of base station), comprising:
a transceiver (fig.2 depicts a transceiver);
a memory (fig.2 depicts a memory); and
a processor (fig.2 depicts a processor), connected to the transceiver and the memory (fig.2 depicts the memory coupled to the processor), respectively, and configured to execute computer-executable instructions stored on a non-transitory computer readable medium, to control the transceiver to transmit or receive a radio signal and to implement:
a communications method (fig.1 depicts a wireless communications network), comprising:
obtaining, by a network device (fig.1 depicts a network device element NR-gNB,), a subband of a bandwidth part (BWP) in a carrier (fig.3a and par.[0055] describes the base station configuring subbands for uplink and downlink communications in a carrier);
determining, by the network device, a type of each subband or each BWP (par.[0055] describes the network device configuring the subbands for uplink and/or downlink communications);
determining, by the network device, configuration information according to the type (par.[0055] describes the network device configuring the configuration information with the type for transmission (SIB) to the user device);
sending, by the network device, the configuration information to at least one user equipment (UE) via configuration signaling (par.[0055] which describes the SIB which comprises the configuration); and
communicating, by the network device, with the at least one UE in a unit of subband or the BWP according to the configuration information (par.[0055] the configuration can be used for initial access, hence the SIB configuration information).
Regarding claims 6, 14, and 17, Futaki discloses:
a user equipment (fig.1 depicts a user equipment in a wireless communications network), comprising:
a transceiver (fig.2 depicts a transceiver);
a memory (fig.2 depicts a memory); and
a processor (fig.2 depicts a processor), connected to the transceiver and the memory (fig.2 depicts the components being coupled), respectively, and configured to execute computer-executable instructions stored on a non-transitory computer readable medium, to control the transceiver to transmit or receive a radio signal and to implement:
a communications method (fig.1 depicts a wireless communications network), comprising:
obtaining, by a user equipment (fig.1 depicts a network device element NR-gNB, communicating with a user equipment), configuration signaling carrying configuration information sent by a network device, wherein the configuration information is used to configure a type of a subband or a bandwidth part (BWP) in a carrier (par.[0055] describes the network device configuring the configuration information with the type for transmission (SIB) to the user device);
receiving, by the UE, the configuration information sent by the network device via the configuration signaling (par.[0055] describes the network device configuring the configuration information with the type for transmission (SIB) to the user device); and
communicating, by the UE, with network device in a unit of at least one subband or BWP in carrier according to the configuration information (par.[0055] the configuration can be used for initial access, hence the SIB configuration information).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 8, and 19, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Futaki as applied to claim 1, in view of Zhou et al. (US 2019/0141742 A1).
Regarding claims 2, 8, and 19, Futaki discloses:
wherein the communicating comprises:
sending, by the network device data to the UE on the subband or the BWP, wherein type is a downlink type (par.[0023] describes the downlink type BWP/subband);
receiving, by the network device, data sent by the UE on the subband or the BWP, wherein type is an uplink type (par.[0023] which describes the uplink BWP/subband);
While the disclosure of Futaki teaches the above method, it does not disclose:
configuring, by the network device, the subband or the BWP to be for one of uplink transmission, downlink transmission, or null according to the configuration information, wherein the type is flexible type.
In an analogous art, the disclosure of Jia teaches:
configuring, by the network device, the subband or the BWP to be for one of uplink transmission, downlink transmission, or null according to the configuration information, wherein the type is flexible type (par.[0280 – 0281] which describes BWP which are flexible, being either DL, or UL, or zero).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to combine the teachings of Futaki for BWP configuration with the disclosure of Zhou, for having a flexible BWP. The motivation/suggestion would have been to flexibly transmit and receive on BWP to facilitate communications between the network and the UE.
Claim(s) 3, 9, and 20, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Futaki as applied to claim 1, in view of Yerramalli et al. (US 2019/0104416 A1).
Regarding claim 3, the disclosure of Futaki utilizes BWP to mitigate interference between neighboring cells or between UE’s as discussed in par.[0087 – 0088, and 0101], but does not disclose:
wherein determining the type of each subband or each BWP comprises: receiving inter-UE interference measurement reporting information; and
determining types of subbands or BWPs for a plurality of UEs in the carrier separately according to the interference measurement reporting information.
In an analogous art, the disclosure of Yerramalli discloses:
wherein determining the type of each subband or each BWP comprises: receiving inter-UE interference measurement reporting information (par.[0078 – 0079] which describes the interference experience near the UE, (i.e. the inter-UE) interference); and
determining types of subbands or BWPs for a plurality of UEs in the carrier separately according to the interference measurement reporting information (par.[0078 – 0079] describes the configuration of the BWP based on the interference measurements received from the UE).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to combine the teachings of Futaki with the disclosure of Yerramalli. The motivation/suggestion would have been to efficiently share the medium across all users of the spectrum by modifying the spectrum allocation in view of UE reports.
Regarding claims 9 and 20, Yerramalli discloses:
sending inter-UE interference measurement reporting information to the network device (par.[0066] which recites, in part, “In that regard, the downlink BW parts for the UE 115 (or other UEs being scheduled) may be determined based on measurement reporting of the UE's interferers (e.g., interference measured or obtained at the UE 115).”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Jia et al. (US 2023/0254836 A1) “Communications Method and Apparatus”
Hong et al. (WO 2020/009498 A1) “Method for Transmitting Uplink Data in Unlicensed Band and Device Therefor”
JAMAAL HENSON
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2411
/JAMAAL HENSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411