Detailed Action
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Coleman (US20110315261A1).
Claim 1
Coleman teaches a processing tool (Coleman, Figure 1 teaches a drill pipe (10). The pipe is a part of a system that performs a process.) comprising: a tool body (16) comprising: a front end surface (lower surface in Figure 1); a rear end surface (upper surface in Figure 1); at least one side surface connecting the front end surface and the rear end surface (Figure 1); and a first coupling part extending between a first end and a second end (Figure 1 teaches a cavity with threads (34) that is a female coupling part.), wherein the first end is disposed at the rear end surface (Figure 1), wherein the first coupling part being one of: a female coupling part (Figure 1); (This alternative is not selected in this rejection); wherein the first coupling part includes a first identification marker including identification information of the processing tool (Figure 1 teaches a bar code (18) on the tool (16) in the region of the first coupling part.), wherein the first coupling part is arranged to be coupled to a second coupling part (Figure 1 shows a second, male, coupling part on the tube (12) that connects to the first, female, coupling part.), wherein the first identification marker is positioned at the first coupling part such that it is positioned in an interface between the first coupling part and the second coupling part when the first coupling part is coupled to the second coupling part. (Figure 1 teaches the identification marker (18) is positioned at the location of the joint (interface) between the two parts (16, 12).)
Claim 2
Coleman teaches the processing tool according to claim 1, wherein the first coupling part has a length L extending between the first end and the second end, and wherein the first identification marker is arranged, at least partly, at a distance l from the first end, wherein l≤ L/4. (Figure 1 shows the first coupling part (female socket in Item 16) has a length, and that the identification marker (18) is located at a length from the first end (top of Item 16 in Figure 1). Since the identification marker (18) is located immediately adjacent to the first end, it is clear from the Figure that location meets the claimed length requirement.)
“Drawings and pictures can anticipate claims if they clearly show the structure which is claimed.” In re Mraz, 455 F.2d 1069, 173 USPQ 25 (CCPA 1972) “The drawings must be evaluated for what they reasonably disclose and suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art.” In re Aslanian, 590 F.2d 911, 200 USPQ 500 (CCPA 1979) See MPEP 2125. Examiner asserts that an artisan attempting to practice Coleman, but having no measurements, would have reasonably at first attempted to copy the structure as shown in the Figure.
Claim 3
Coleman teaches the processing tool according to claim 1, wherein the first identification marker is etched, engraved, impressed, imprinted or painted to the first coupling part. (¶0033 teaches the mark is made by using laser engraving.)
Claim 4
Coleman teaches the processing tool according to claim 1, wherein the first coupling part has a maximum diameter d (Figure 1 shows the coupling part (the cavity where the threads (34) are in Item 16) has a maximum diameter, d, which is the inner diameter of Item 16 at the widest part of the truncated cone recess.), and the front end surface, the rear end surface, or the at least one side surface at which the first end is disposed has a diameter D (Figures 1 and 3 show the first end of the coupling part (where the opening of the cavity is) has a diameter, D, which is the outer diameter of Item 16 at this point.), wherein D/2≤ d<D. (The inner diameter, d, and outer diameter, D at the end (as shown in Figures 1 and 3) satisfies the claimed ratio since the inner diameter is smaller than the outer due to the thickness of the wall of Item 16, and the different between ID and OD is small, such that half of the OD is less than the ID.)
“Drawings and pictures can anticipate claims if they clearly show the structure which is claimed.” In re Mraz, 455 F.2d 1069, 173 USPQ 25 (CCPA 1972) “The drawings must be evaluated for what they reasonably disclose and suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art.” In re Aslanian, 590 F.2d 911, 200 USPQ 500 (CCPA 1979) See MPEP 2125. Examiner asserts that an artisan attempting to practice Coleman, but having no measurements, would have reasonably at first attempted to copy the structure as shown in the Figure.
Claim 5
Coleman teaches the processing tool according to claim 1, wherein the first coupling part includes a threaded portion (34), and wherein the first identification marker is arranged between the first end and the threaded portion. (Figure 3 shows a magnified view of the first end and threads, with the identification mark (18) arranged between the two parts of the structure.)
Claim 6
Coleman teaches the processing tool according to claim 1, wherein the first coupling part includes a frusto-conical surface, and wherein the first identification marker is arranged at the frusto-conical surface. (There are two relevant interpretation of Coleman in relation to Claim 6. Both rely on Coleman teaching that the cross section as shown in Figures 1 and 3 is that of a cylinder. [1] Coleman teaches the identification marker (18) is located in an angled cross sectional portion of the surface of Item 16. Since Item 16 is a cylinder, the angled portion is a truncated cone. [2] The inner surface of the coupling part (area where the threads (34) are located) is angled in cross section. As shown in Figure 3, the identification mark is located “at” this surface, on the outer side of the tool (16).)
Claim 7
Coleman teaches the processing tool assembly (Figure 1), comprising: a processing tool according to claim 1 (16); and a connecting tool unit (12), wherein the connecting tool unit includes a second coupling part (Figure 1 shows the connecting tool unit (12) has a male coupling part with cooperating threads.), the second coupling part being one of: a male coupling part (Figure 1) arranged to be coupled to the female coupling part of the processing tool (Figure 1); (This alternative was not selected for this rejection.), wherein the first coupling part is coupled to the second coupling part, and wherein the first identification marker is positioned in an interface between the first coupling part and the second coupling part. (Figures 1 and 3 show the first identification marker (18) is located in an area of the interface between the two members (12, 16).)
Claims 1-3 and 5-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kammann (US20050230109A1).
Claim 1
Kammann teaches a processing tool (Figure 3A-3C and Figure 5D disclose tubes/pipes (114) that are connected pin to box.) comprising: a tool body (Figure 3A-3C, Item 480) comprising: a front end surface (top surface in Figure 3A); a rear end surface (bottom surface in Figure 3A); at least one side surface connecting the front end surface and the rear end surface (Figure 3A); and a first coupling part (481) extending between a first end and a second end (Figure 3C), wherein the first end is disposed at the rear end surface (Figure 3A), wherein the first coupling part being one of: (This alternative was not selected in this rejection.); and a male coupling part (Figure 3A shows the pin end (481) is a male coupling part.); wherein the first coupling part includes a first identification marker including identification information of the processing tool (Figure 3C teaches an RFIDT (484) located at the end of the first coupling part. ¶0071 teaches the RFIDT contains data relating to the size, weight or other information associated with the drilling component.), wherein the first coupling part is arranged to be coupled to a second coupling part (¶0089 teaches that these tubular members/pipe are connected pin to box end. Therefore, Kammann teaches multiple of item 480 being connected to one another. Item 480 has a female coupling part (482) at one end.), wherein the first identification marker is positioned at the first coupling part such that it is positioned in an interface between the first coupling part and the second coupling part when the first coupling part is coupled to the second coupling part. (When connecting the pin (481) to box end (482) of the tubular (480), the identification marker (484) in the rear end surface will be within the joint.)
Claim 2
Kammann teaches the processing tool according to claim 1, wherein the first coupling part has a length L extending between the first end and the second end, and wherein the first identification marker is arranged, at least partly, at a distance l from the first end, wherein l≤ L/4. (Figures 3A and 3C show the first coupling part (481) has a length, and that the identification marker (484) is located at a length from the first end (bottom of Item 480 in Figure 3A). Since the identification marker (484) is located immediately adjacent to the first end, it is clear from the Figure that location meets the claimed length requirement.)
“Drawings and pictures can anticipate claims if they clearly show the structure which is claimed.” In re Mraz, 455 F.2d 1069, 173 USPQ 25 (CCPA 1972) “The drawings must be evaluated for what they reasonably disclose and suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art.” In re Aslanian, 590 F.2d 911, 200 USPQ 500 (CCPA 1979) See MPEP 2125. Examiner asserts that an artisan attempting to practice Coleman, but having no measurements, would have reasonably at first attempted to copy the structure as shown in the Figure.
Claim 3
Kammann teaches the processing tool according to claim 1, wherein the first identification marker is etched, engraved, impressed, imprinted or painted to the first coupling part. (Figure 3C teaches the RFIDT (484) is impressed within a groove formed in the end of the coupling part (481).)
Claim 5
Kammann teaches the processing tool according to claim 1, wherein the first coupling part includes a threaded portion, and wherein the first identification marker is arranged between the first end and the threaded portion. (Figure 3C shows the first coupling part (481) has threads (indicated by the angled/horizontal lines in Figure 3C). The RFIDT (484) is located between the first end (lower end) and a portion of the threads.)
Claim 6
Kammann teaches the processing tool according to claim 1, wherein the first coupling part includes a frusto-conical surface, and wherein the first identification marker is arranged at the frusto-conical surface. (Figure 3A shows the tubular member (480) (which is a cylindrical shape) has an angled region at the first coupling part (481). An angled region of a cylindrical cross section is a truncated cone region. Figure 3C shows the identification marker (484) is located in this region.)
Claim 7
Kammann teaches a processing tool assembly (¶0089 teaches a plurality of the pipes are connected pin to box end. The assembly in Kammann is a plurality of tubes (480) connected pin to box end.), comprising: a processing tool according to claim 1 (See rejection of Claim 1); and a connecting tool unit (480), wherein the connecting tool unit includes a second coupling part (482), the second coupling part being one of: (This alternative was not selected for the rejection.) and a female coupling part arranged to be coupled to the male coupling part of the processing tool (Figure 3A teaches a box end (482) that is a female coupling part that interacts with the pin end (481) of an adjacent tube (480).), wherein the first coupling part is coupled to the second coupling part, and wherein the first identification marker is positioned in an interface between the first coupling part and the second coupling part. (Figure 3C shows the first identification marker (484) is located at the first coupling part (481). When the first coupling part (481) is coupled with the second (482), the identification marker will be in the interface/joint.)
Claim 8
Kammann teaches the processing tool assembly according to claim 7, wherein the second coupling part includes a second identification marker including identification information of the connecting tool unit. (Figure 3B teaches the box end (482) of the tube (480) in detail. The box end has an RFIDT (484) at the coupling area. ¶0089 teaches that when a pin/box connection is made, each piece has a RFIDT in the pin and box end.)
Claim 9
Kammann teaches the processing tool assembly according to claim 8, wherein the second identification marker is positioned in the interface between the first coupling part and the second coupling part. (When the male coupling part (481) of the pin end is connected with the female coupling part (482) of the box end, the RFIDT (484) at the box end will be in the interface/joint.)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found on the PTO-892 Notice of References Cited form.
Document
Date
Description of Relevant Subject Matter
US20110315261A1
2010-06-23
Figure 1 teaches a tool (16) connected to a connecting tool unit (12). The tool has a female coupling part (34) that coupled to a male coupling part of the tool unit (12). The tool (16) has an identification marker (18) connected to a frustoconical shaped portion (26) arranged between the threads (34) and the end of the tool (16). The identification mark (18) is arranged adjacent the first end. ¶0038 teaches the mark (18) is created using laser etching/engraving with the advantage of leaving no fractures in the material of the tool.
US20050230109A1
2004-04-15
¶0089 teaches the pin (252) and box (254) of adjacent pieces (114) of tubular drill pipe are connected to one another and that each have a identifier assembly. Figures 3A-3C teach a tubular member (480) having a pin end (481) and a box end (482). The pin end has a threaded portion (Figure 3C) and an identifier (492) disposed therein. The box end has an identifier (484) disposed therein. See ¶0067. When the pin and box ends are connected, the two identifiers (484 and 492) will be within the joint. ¶0013 teaches that etched indicia is a known alternative to the RFIDTs.
US20150363710A1
2014-06-11
Figure 2 teaches an identification (200) located on a processing tool outer surface. The identification plate (200) has the information engraved (¶0027).
US20200356077A1
2018-11-13
Figures 5a-5d teach cutting tools (1) that have identifier marks (2) located thereon.
US20150300165A1
2015-07-06
Figure 4 teaches a cutting tool (22) having an identifier (24) located on a portion of the shaft.
US20060127197A1
2006-02-08
Figure 1 teaches a tool holder for a cutting tool that comprises holes that contain microchips. The microchips contain data memory containing identification codes for the tools. ¶0015 teaches the tool or tool head can be identified using the microchips during automatic operations to automatically identify the tool head. The microchip is located within the hole, which is an interface of the tool holder with a cutting tool.
US20220009008A1
2021-07-08
Figure 5 teaches a cutting tool (10) having a 3D code (56) formed on the surface thereof.
/MICHAEL W HOTCHKISS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3726