DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means,” and therefore are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses the word means coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the word means is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“means for engaging the flexible tube and moving” in claim 31. The specification discloses sufficient structure to perform the recited function, disclosing that “Preferably, the means for engaging a tube is provided by a tube gripping mechanism comprising a pair of jaws operable for relative movement between an open configuration for receiving the tube therebetween and a closed configuration for the tube therebetween.” The specification further discloses that “More preferably, the tube gripping mechanism may comprise a plurality of pairs of gripping elements arranged adjacently, each pair of gripping elements comprising a first gripping element and a second gripping element, and each pair of gripping elements being configured for movement between said open and closed configurations.”
“means for clamping a portion of the flexible tube” in claim 31. The specification discloses sufficient structure to perform the recited function, disclosing that “The means for clamping a portion of the tube may also be provided by the tube gripping mechanism, where the closed configuration of the pair of jaws is configured to clamp the tube therebetween.”
“means for removing an end section of the flexible tube” in claim 31. The specification discloses sufficient structure to perform the recited function, disclosing that “Preferably the means for removing an end section of the tube comprises a heated cutting element configured to cut through said pinched portion of the (or each) tube, thereby melting the pinched portion at the new end of said tube such that a butt weld can be formed between the ends of the tubes when joined together while still melted (i.e. before the material of the tubes cools and solidifies). The cutting element may comprise a blade, ribbon, or wire that is arranged to be heated. Preferably, the cutting element is a blade comprising a copper wafer. The heated cutting element may be configured to cut and/or melt the tube for a predetermined time period and/or may have a predetermined heat profile”
“means for joining the pinched portion” in claim 31. The specification discloses sufficient structure to perform the recited function, disclosing that “The means for joining may be configured to press the pinched portion of the first tube into the pinched portion of the second tube, thereby forming the butt weld.” Additionally structure that performs this function is disclosed in the specification as “The lifting mechanism 120 may equivalently be mounted to the first baseplate 102 and may instead move the upstream fingers 115a of the first gripping mechanism 110a via linear motion of the first mounting plate 106. In other embodiments, there may be a separate lifting mechanism 120 mounted both to the first baseplate 102 and the second baseplate 104. By actuating relative motion of the mounting plates 106, 108, there is no out-of-plane movement of the fingers 115. Alternatively, a lifting mechanism 120 may directly move the upstream fingers 115a, 115b relative to each other. Once the lifting mechanism 120 is actuated to press the upstream tubes 150a,150b into each other, the heat that was previously transferred to the tubes 150a, 150b by the blade 140 welds the upstream tubes 150a, 150b together so that they form a single tube 150. The joint or "interface" between the tubes 150a, 150b that have been joined together may further be referred to as a "butt weld". In Figure 3j, the upstream fingers 115a, 115b may be partially retracted so that the tube 150 is still engaged between the fingers 115a, 115b but is not tightly clamped by the fingers 115a, 115b. Similarly, the downstream fingers 115a', 115b' may also partially retract to engage but not tightly clamp the downstream tubes 150b', 150b'. The opposing pairs of fingers 115a, 115b that are closest to the cutting plane 141 may be moved fully into the open configuration to expose the butt weld between the tubes 150a, 150b. The opposing pairs of fingers 115a, 115b that are furthest from the cutting plane 141 may remain in position to engage the tube 150 and preferably to fluidly seal the butt weld from the sections of the tube 150 leading to the consumables 13. This means that even if the weld is unsuccessful, any fluid contained within the consumables 13 or the tubes 150 will not be exposed to the atmosphere.”
“means for manipulating the tube” in claim 34. The specification discloses sufficient structure to perform the recited function, disclosing that “More preferably, the means for manipulating the tube comprises an automated pinch-release mechanism arranged to press on an edge of the pinched portion of the tube thereby to release the pinched portion and open up the welded tubes.” See also the specification, disclosing “There are a number of ways in which the pinch release mechanism 170 may be implemented. For example, there may be a separate arm with a popper plate, which moves along the cutting plane 141 to compress the tube 150 against theseat portion 115-4 of the fingers 115. There may be a separate set of jaws (e.g. comprising a first release element and a second release element), which grip and compress the edges of the pinched portion of the tube 150 to remove the kink.”
“means for stretching the interface” in claim 39. The specification discloses sufficient structure to perform the recited function, disclosing that “Preferably, the apparatus further comprises means for stretching the interface between the new ends of the first and second tubes when joined together (e.g. applying a tensile force to the respective tubes to gently pull them apart) to verify the integrity of the join, preferably wherein said means for joining is further configured to provide said means for stretching, thereby to perform quality control or quality assurance (QC) checks.” The same means as the means for gripping, clamping, and manipulating also perform this function
“means for visually inspecting the interface” in claim 40. The specification discloses sufficient structure to perform the recited function, disclosing that “Preferably, the apparatus further comprises means (e.g. a machine vision system) for inspecting the interface between the new ends of the first tube and another such (or second) tube when joined together, for example to verify the integrity of the join thereby to perform quality control or quality assurance (QC) checks, wherein said join is preferably a butt weld. The means for clamping may be configured to keep the tube clamped shut on at least one side, and preferably both sides of the join during the inspection, thereby maintaining a closed system until integrity of the join is verified. The apparatus may be configured to retain the join at a fixed location relative to the means for clamping during inspection of the join; in this way, there is a reduced risk of damaging a join prior to inspection, and a reduced risk of fluid moving between the upstream and downstream sections of the tubes. The means for inspecting the interface may also provide the sensor configured to determine whether the first tube and/or the second tube are engaged and/or aligned in the means for engaging the tube. Alternatively, separate sensors may be provided for inspecting the interface and for verifying engagement and alignment.” Later in the specification it is discloses that “A machine vision system, which may comprise a camera (not shown) and a processing unit (not shown) may also be used”
“means for inspecting said released or exposed part of said portion of tube” in claim 48. The specification discloses sufficient structure to perform the recited function, disclosing that “Preferably, the apparatus further comprises means (e.g. a machine vision system) for inspecting the interface between the new ends of the first tube and another such (or second) tube when joined together, for example to verify the integrity of the join thereby to perform quality control or quality assurance (QC) checks, wherein said join is preferably a butt weld. The means for clamping may be configured to keep the tube clamped shut on at least one side, and preferably both sides of the join during the inspection, thereby maintaining a closed system until integrity of the join is verified. The apparatus may be configured to retain the join at a fixed location relative to the means for clamping during inspection of the join; in this way, there is a reduced risk of damaging a join prior to inspection, and a reduced risk of fluid moving between the upstream and downstream sections of the tubes. The means for inspecting the interface may also provide the sensor configured to determine whether the first tube and/or the second tube are engaged and/or aligned in the means for engaging the tube. Alternatively, separate sensors may be provided for inspecting the interface and for verifying engagement and alignment.” Later in the specification it is discloses that “A machine vision system, which may comprise a camera (not shown) and a processing unit (not shown) may also be used”
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“automated pinch-release mechanism” in claim 35. The specification discloses sufficient structure to perform the recited function, disclosing that “There are a number of ways in which the pinch release mechanism 170 may be implemented. For example, there may be a separate arm with a popper plate, which moves along the cutting plane 141 to compress the tube 150 against the seat portion 115-4 of the fingers 115. There may be a separate set of jaws (e.g. comprising a first release element and a second release element), which grip and compress the edges of the pinched portion of the tube 150 to remove the kink.” The specification additionally discloses “In this embodiment, the pinch-release mechanism 170 comprises a popper heel 170 located on the mounting block 142.”
“gripping elements” in claim 43. The specification discloses sufficient structure to perform the recited function, disclosing that “also referred to herein as "finger elements" or "fingers"” and shown as elements 115 in the Figures.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” or a generic placeholder thereof but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“tube gripping mechanism” in claim 41. The claim further recites “a pair of jaws” which is sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 31-50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 31 recites the limitation "a pinched portion of the tube" in lines 5-6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 31 earlier introduced the language of “a flexible tube” and “another such tube” to distinguish these elements and amended much of the claim to insert “flexible” in front of the word “tube”; however, applicant did not do so in lines 5-6 and therefore the term “the tube” is unclear because it does not distinguish between the tubes introduced earlier claim 31. The examiner suggests amending the language to recite “a pinched portion of the flexible tube”.
Claims 32-50 are rejected based on their dependency from claim 31.
Claim 33 recites the limitation "the first tube and the second tube" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. This appears to be the first reference to either a first tube or a second tube in the claim. It is noted that parent claim 31 recites “a flexible tube” and “another such tube” and it appears that the first tube and the second tube is an attempt to reference back to those limitations. The examiner suggests using consistent language to describe the tubes in claim 33, such as by exclusively using “the flexible tube and the another tube” or by adding language clarifying the relationship between “the flexible tube and the another tube” and “the first tube and the second tube”.
Claim 33 recites the limitation "the means for engaging the tube" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. As discussed above, the examiner suggests amending this limitation to recite “the means for engaging the flexible tube”.
Claim 34 recites the limitation "means for manipulating the tube" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 31 introduced the language of “a flexible tube” and “another such tube” to distinguish these elements; the term “the tube” is unclear because it does not distinguish between the tubes introduced in parent claim 31. The examiner suggests amending claim 34 to recite “means for manipulating the flexible tube”.
Claims 35-38 are rejected based on their dependency from claim 34.
Claim 35 recites the limitation "means for manipulating the tube" in line 1 and recites “the tube” in line 2 . There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 31 introduced the language of “a flexible tube” and “another such tube” to distinguish these elements; the term “the tube” is unclear because it does not distinguish between the tubes introduced in parent claim 31. The examiner suggests amending claim 35 in both locations to recite “means for manipulating the flexible tube” in line 1 and “the flexible tube” in line 2.
Claims 36-38 are rejected based on their dependency from claim 35.
Claim 36 recites the limitation "the pinched portion of the tube" in line 2 and “means for engaging and moving the tube and the means for clamping a portion of the tube” in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. See the discussion above. The examiner suggests amending claim 36 in all three locations by inserting flexible front of each instance of the word tube.
Claim 37 recites the limitation "the new ends" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Parent claim 31 does recite “a new end” and “the new end”; however, this is only with respect to the flexible tube in the singular context. It is unclear how the limitation is now plural with respect to the new ends.
Claim 37 recites the limitation "the first and second tubes" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. This appears to be the first reference to either a first tube or a second tube in the claim (it is noted that similar language is used in claim 33, but claim 33 is not a parent claim to claim 37). It is noted that parent claim 31 recites “a flexible tube” and “another such tube” and it appears that the first tube and the second tube is an attempt to reference back to those limitations. The examiner suggests using consistent language to describe the tubes in claim 37, such as by exclusively using “the flexible tube and the another tube” or by adding language clarifying the relationship between “the flexible tube and the another tube” and “the first tube and the second tube”.
Claim 37 recites the limitation "the pinched portion of the tube" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. See the discussion above. The examiner suggests amending claim 37 at this location to recite “the pinched portion of the flexible tube”
Claim 39 recites the limitation "the new ends" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Parent claim 31 does recite “a new end” and “the new end”; however, this is only with respect to the flexible tube in the singular context. It is unclear how the limitation is now plural with respect to the new ends.
Claim 39 recites the limitation "the first tube and the second tube" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. This appears to be the first reference to either a first tube or a second tube in the claim. It is noted that parent claim 31 recites “a flexible tube” and “another such tube” and it appears that the first tube and the second tube is an attempt to reference back to those limitations. The examiner suggests using consistent language to describe the tubes in claim 39, such as by exclusively using “the flexible tube and the another tube” or by adding language clarifying the relationship between “the flexible tube and the another tube” and “the first tube and the second tube”.
Claim 39 recites the limitation "the interface" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. This appears to be the first instance of any interface in claim 39 or parent claim 31. Although the term “an interface” is introduced in claim 37, claim 39 does not depend from claim 37. The examiner suggests using the term “an interface” in claim 39.
Claim 39 recites the limitation "the integrity" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. This appears to be the first instance of any integrity in claim 39 or parent claim 31. The examiner suggests using the term “an integrity” in claim 39.
Claim 40 recites the limitation "the new ends" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Parent claim 31 does recite “a new end” and “the new end”; however, this is only with respect to the flexible tube in the singular context. It is unclear how the limitation is now plural with respect to the new ends.
Claim 40 recites the limitation "the first tube and the second tube" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. This appears to be the first reference to either a first tube or a second tube in the claim. It is noted that parent claim 31 recites “a flexible tube” and “another such tube” and it appears that the first tube and the second tube is an attempt to reference back to those limitations. The examiner suggests using consistent language to describe the tubes in claim 40, such as by exclusively using “the flexible tube and the another tube” or by adding language clarifying the relationship between “the flexible tube and the another tube” and “the first tube and the second tube”.
Claim 40 recites the limitation "the interface" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. This appears to be the first instance of any interface in claim 40 or parent claim 31. Although the term “an interface” is introduced in claim 37, claim 40 does not depend from claim 37. The examiner suggests using the term “an interface” in claim 40.
Claim 40 recites the limitation "the integrity" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. This appears to be the first instance of any integrity in claim 40 or parent claim 31. The examiner suggests using the term “an integrity” in claim 40.
Claim 41 recites the limitation "the means for engaging a tube" in line 1. Additionally, claim 41 also recites the limitation "the tube" twice in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. Parent claim 31 recites “means for engaging the flexible tube”. It is unclear why the limitation has been changed to now recite “a tube”. Additionally, it is noted that parent claim 31 recites “a flexible tube” and “another such tube” and it appears that a tube as used in line 1 and the tube as used twice in line 3 might be one of these previously recited tubes. The examiner suggests inserting “flexible” in front of each instance of “the tube” be amended to recite “the flexible tube”.
Claims 42-50 are rejected based on their dependency from claim 41.
Claim 42 recites the limitation "the means for " in line 1. Additionally, claim 42 also recites the limitation "the tube" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. Parent claim 31 recites “means for clamping a portion of the flexible tube”. It is unclear why the limitation has been changed to now recite “a portion of the tube”. Additionally, it is noted that parent claim 31 recites “a flexible tube” and “another such tube” and it appears that a tube as used in line 1 and the tube as in line 3 might be one of these previously recited tubes. The examiner suggests inserting “flexible” in front of each instance of “the tube” be amended to recite “the flexible tube”.
Claims 43-50 are rejected based on their dependency from claim 42.
Claim 44 recites the limitation "means for removing an end section of the tube" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitations in the claim. Parent claim 31 recites “means for removing an end section of the flexible tube”, and this appears to be the same element. It is also unclear why the limitation has been changed to now recite “the tube”. The examiner suggests amending claim 44 to recite “the means for removing the end section of the flexible tube”
Claim 45 recites the limitation " the end section of tube" in line 2 and "the end section of the tube" in in line 3. Additionally, claim 45 also recites the limitation "the tube" at the very end of line 3 and again recites "the tube" twice in line 4, and again in lines 5-6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for each of these limitations in the claim. As noted above, parent claim 31 recites “a flexible tube” and “another such tube” and it is appears each of these recitations of the tube or tube might be one of these previously recited tubes. The examiner suggests inserting “flexible” in front of each instance of “the tube” be amended to recite “the flexible tube”.
Claim 45 recites the limitation "means for removing an end section of the tube" in lines 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitations in the claim. Parent claim 31 recites “means for removing an end section of the flexible tube”, and this appears to be the same element. It is also unclear why the limitation has been changed to now recite “the tube”. The examiner suggests amending claim 45 to recite “the means for removing the end section of the flexible tube”
Claim 46 recites the limitation "said portion of tube" twice in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for each of these limitations in the claim. As noted above, parent claim 31 recites “a flexible tube” and “another such tube” and it is appears each of these recitations of the tube or tube might be one of these previously recited tubes. The examiner suggests inserting “the flexible” in front of each instance of “tube” such that claim can be amended to recite “the flexible tube”.
Claims 47-49 are rejected based on their dependency from claim 46.
Claim 47 recites the limitation "portion of tube" in line 2 and twice in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for each of these limitations in the claim. As noted above, parent claim 31 recites “a flexible tube” and “another such tube” and it is appears each of these recitations of the tube or tube might be one of these previously recited tubes. The examiner suggests inserting “flexible” in front of each instance of “tube” such that claim can be amended to recite “the flexible tube”.
Claims 48 and 49 are rejected based on their dependency from claim 47.
Claim 48 recites the limitation "portion of tube" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for each of these limitations in the claim. As noted above, parent claim 31 recites “a flexible tube” and “another such tube” and it is appears each of these recitations of the tube or tube might be one of these previously recited tubes. The examiner suggests inserting “flexible” in front of each instance of “tube” such that claim can be amended to recite “the flexible tube”.
Claim 49 recites the limitation "means for manipulating the tube" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for each of these limitations in the claim. As noted above, parent claim 31 recites “a flexible tube” and “another such tube” and it is appears each of these recitations of the tube or tube might be one of these previously recited tubes. The examiner suggests inserting “flexible” in front of each instance of “tube” such that claim can be amended to recite “means for manipulating the flexible tube”.
Claim 49 recites the limitation "said portion of tube" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for each of these limitations in the claim. As noted above, parent claim 31 recites “a flexible tube” and “another such tube” and it is appears each of these recitations of the tube or tube might be one of these previously recited tubes. The examiner suggests inserting “flexible” in front of each instance of “tube” such that claim can be amended to recite “said portion of the flexible tube”.
Claim 50 recites the limitation "the tube" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for each of these limitations in the claim. As noted above, parent claim 31 recites “a flexible tube” and “another such tube” and it is appears each of these recitations of the tube or tube might be one of these previously recited tubes. The examiner suggests inserting “flexible” in front of each instance of “tube” such that claim can be amended to recite “the flexible tube”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 31-32, 34-38, 41-47 and 49-50 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patil (US 20170113402 A1) in view of Hodge (US 20240252803 A1, also published as WO 2022256404 A1)
As to claim 31, Patil discloses an automated apparatus for joining a first flexible tube to another such tube whereby to form a fluidic path therethrough, comprising:
means for engaging the flexible tube and moving it into one or more positions to be manipulated (Paragraph 0042, disclosing “The fusing unit 204 includes two holders such as a holder 206 and a holder 208. The holders 206 and 208 are capable of receiving two tubes i.e. a tube 210 and a tube 212 respectively.”);
means for clamping a portion of the flexible tube whereby to form a pinched portion of the tube such that the flexible tube is fluidly sealed upstream of the pinched portion (also holders 206 and 208, see paragraph 0042, disclosing “The holders 206 and 208 have respective covers 214 and 216 that can be closed with respect to a point 218. The covers 214 and 216 may be hingedly coupled to the point 218. The covers 214 and 216 may be clamps or any other locking units that can ensure that the tubes 210 and 212 are held securely in their respective holders.”);
means for removing an end section of the flexible tube downstream of the pinched portion such that a new end of the flexible tube is thereby formed within the pinched portion that has not previously contacted another such tube (see paragraph 0042, disclosing “A cutting blade 220 is positioned proximally below the holders 206 and 208. The cutting blade 220 is operated by a driving assembly 222. The cutting blade 220 is moved in a vertical direction to pass between the holders 206 and 208 to cut the tubes 210 and 212. In certain embodiments the cutting blade 220 is in a hot state, such as at a temperature sufficient to melt the tubes.”); and
means for joining the pinched portion at the new end of the flexible tube with a corresponding pinched portion of another such tube (see paragraph 0046, disclosing “A sealing unit 262 is used to seal the end of the tube. The sealing unit 262 includes a first seal pad 264 and a second seal pad 266. The first seal pad 264 is arranged in a stationary position. The second seal pad 266 is arranged oppositely facing the first seal pad 264. The second seal pad 266 is configured to move closer to the first seal pad 264 to seal the end of the tube received between the first seal pad 264 and the second seal pad 266.”);
See especially Figure 2, below:
See especially paragraphs 0042-47, below:
[0042] FIG. 2 is a schematic illustration of an integrated system 200 for sealing and fusing multiple tubes configured in a handheld device 202 according to some embodiments. The integrated system 200 includes a fusing unit 204. The fusing unit 204 includes two holders such as a holder 206 and a holder 208. The holders 206 and 208 are capable of receiving two tubes i.e. a tube 210 and a tube 212 respectively. The holders 206 and 208 have respective covers 214 and 216 that can be closed with respect to a point 218. The covers 214 and 216 may be hingedly coupled to the point 218. The covers 214 and 216 may be clamps or any other locking units that can ensure that the tubes 210 and 212 are held securely in their respective holders. A cutting blade 220 is positioned proximally below the holders 206 and 208. The cutting blade 220 is operated by a driving assembly 222. The cutting blade 220 is moved in a vertical direction to pass between the holders 206 and 208 to cut the tubes 210 and 212. In certain embodiments the cutting blade 220 is in a hot state, such as at a temperature sufficient to melt the tubes. The cut ends of the tubes 210 and 212 needs to be arranged opposite each other. Thus the driving assembly 222 moves one holder with respect to the other to align the tubes. For example, the holder 208 moves to align the cut end of the tube 212 opposite to the cut end of the tube 210 as shown in FIG. 3. The driving assembly 222 moves the holder 208 closer to the holder 206 so that the cut ends of the tube 212 and the tube 210 will come in contact with each other to fuse. The holders 206 and 208 illustrated and described herein with reference to FIG. 2 are according to certain embodiments and in other embodiments different configurations and arrangements may be possible.
[0043] Now referring to the driving assembly 222, according to some embodiments the driving assembly 222 includes cam members such as a first cam member 224 and a second cam member 226, and a carriage unit 228 movably engaged with the second cam member 226 and the holder 208. The first cam member 224 is operatively connected to the cutting blade 220. Further the second cam member 226 is operatively connected to the holder 208. The first cam member 224 and the second cam member 226 are driven by a motor unit 230 through a connecting unit 232. Once the tubes 210 and 212 are arranged in the holders 206 and 208, the motor unit 230 functions to drive the first cam member 224 to operate a blade mover 234 connecting the first cam member 224 and the cutting blade 220. When the blade mover 234 is moved, the cutting blade 220 moves in a vertical direction or orientation. The blade mover 234 may e.g. be a two bar linkage arrangement. For example, the blade mover 234 includes bar 236 and a component 238 hingedly coupled to each other at one of their ends. In certain embodiments the component 238 is an integrated component of the blade mover 234. Another end of the bar 236 is movably engaged to the first cam member 224. The first cam member 224 includes a cam track profile 240 to which the end of the blade holder 234 is movably engaged. The cam track profile 240 is shown in FIG. 6 which transmits motion to the blade mover 234. At this stage the cam profile 242 will transmit any movements i.e. this will be in a dwell or idle position. When the first cam member 224 rotates while driven by the motor unit 230, the end of the bar 236 moves along traversing the cam track profile 240. The movement along the cam track profile 240 enables the blade mover 234 (i.e. the bars 236 and 238 fold and unfold with respect to a point 242) to move the cutting blade 220 in the vertical direction i.e. ‘Z’ axis as shown in FIG. 4 and FIG. 5A. As discussed earlier the cutting blade 220 moves up to cut the tubes 210 and 212. The first cam member 224 and the second cam member 226 can be operated at the same time by motor unit 230. The cam track profile 240 of the first cam member 224 and the cam track profile 242 of the second cam member 226 may be designed or arranged such that while one cam track profile causes motion to drive any element or carriages other cam track profile may be in dwelling or idle position.
[0044] Subsequently in order to align the cut ends of the tubes 210 and 212 in line the holders 206 and 208 need to be moved with respect to each other. To this end the motor unit 230 drives the second cam member 226 to rotate so that the carriage unit 228 movably engaged to a cam track profile 242 of the second cam member 226 starts operating. In some embodiments both cam members i.e. the first cam member 224 and the second cam member 226 may be operated at the same time moving blade 220 to complete the cutting of the tubes 210 and 212. The cam profile 240 of the first cam member 224 becomes dwelling or in idle state. At this stage the blade 220 is held in the same position causing no motion to the blade 220. The cam track profile 242 of the second cam member 226 is shown in FIG. 6. An end portion 244 of the carriage unit 228 moves in a ‘Y’ axis to traverse along the cam track profile 242 so that the holder 208 moves with respect to the holder 206 to align the cut ends of the tubes 210 and 212. The holder 206 includes a slot 246 and a slot 248 and the holder 208 includes a slot 250 and a slot 252 as shown in FIG. 5B. So while aligning the slot 246 of holder 206 is aligned to the slot 250 of the holder 208. At this stage the second cam member 226 may be idle. Once the cut ends of the tubes 210 and 212 are aligned the second cam member 226 shifts to a dwelling or idle position holding the tubes 210 and 212 in an aligned position. Further the cam track profile 240 of the first cam member 224 shifts from dwelling or idle position to transmit motion for moving the cutting blade 220 down or away from the holders 206 and 208. This is done because the cutting blade 220 may be placed between the holder 206 and 208 and thus blocks the fusing process of the cut ends of the tubes 210 and 212. However, it may be envisioned that the cutting blade 220 may be moved down or retracted before alignment of the tubes 210 and 212. Hence the order of operation of the cutting blade 220 and the alignment of holders can be performed in any manner without limiting the scope of this disclosure.
[0045] While the second cam member 226 is still driven by the motor unit 230 so that a protruding member 254 pushes the carriage unit 228 to pivot in ‘X’ axis direction. This enables the holder 208 to move in the ‘X’ axis direction to fuse the cut ends of the tubes 210 and 212. More specifically the protruding member 254 pushes an end portion 256 of the carriage unit 228 so that carriage unit 228 pivots at a point 258. A resilient member 260 (for example a spring mechanism) goes in compression due to movement of the carriage end 256. The pivoting of the carriage unit 228 with respect to the point 258 facilitates the holder 208 to move closer to the holder 206 and in turn the fusing of the cut ends of the tubes 210 and 212 occurs. As shown in FIG. 4, the first cam member 224 and the second cam member 226 are held together using a cam holder 261. The cam holder 261 is connected to the connecting unit 232.
[0046] The integrated system 100 is also capable of sealing an end of a tube. A sealing unit 262 is used to seal the end of the tube. The sealing unit 262 includes a first seal pad 264 and a second seal pad 266. The first seal pad 264 is arranged in a stationary position. The second seal pad 266 is arranged oppositely facing the first seal pad 264. The second seal pad 266 is configured to move closer to the first seal pad 264 to seal the end of the tube received between the first seal pad 264 and the second seal pad 266. The tube may be received through a window 268 in the integrated system 100 as illustrated in FIG. 3 in accordance to some embodiments. The window 268 may be a safety window with a shutter that can be opened and closed for inserting the tube. The shutter operation is controlled using a spring arrangement. The shutter can hold the tube in place once inserted into the window 268. The sealing unit 262 includes one or more springs such as a spring 270 and a spring 272 engaged to the second seal pad 266. Further one or more springs such as a spring 274 are engaged to the shutter. In certain embodiments the springs 270, 272 and 274 are compression springs. In some embodiments the second seal pad 266 may have springs arranged within this pad. Whereas the first seal pad 264 may also have springs arranged within the pad. The first seal pad 264 may be arranged on a base member 276. The spring 274 may be connected to a portion of the integrated system 100. Further the second seal pad 266 may be arranged on a base member 278. Here the springs 270 and 272 have one end connected to the base member 278.
[0047] To operate the second seal pad 266 an actuating member 280 is used which is connected to the second seal pad 266 at an end 282. Another end 284 of the actuating member 280 is connected to a trigger holder 286. Upon operating the trigger holder 286 by the user the actuating member 280 functions to move the second seal pad 266 closer and away from the first seal pad 264. In some embodiments the actuating member 280 may be a three bar linkage i.e. three bars may be hingedly coupled to each other at their ends. The actuating member 280 includes three bars 288, 290 and 292 linked to each other. The three bars extend or unfold to attain a lock pinch position for pushing the second seal pad 266 closer to the first seal pad 264. When the trigger holder 286 is pressed or pulled using a hand of the user the three bars extend substantially straight to push the second seal pad 266 closer to the first seal pad 264. The compression action of the springs 270 and 272 facilitates the second seal pad 266 to move back to its resting position in response to releasing the trigger holder 286 by the user. When the second seal pad 266 moves back the three bars 288, 290 and 292 gets folded at positions they are linked to each other to be in at its position. The springs 270 and 272 enable the second seal pad 266 and the spring 274 enables operation of a window shutter. Due to varying deflection capability of the first seal pad 264 and the second seal pad 266 different sized tubes can be placed between them for sealing. The arrangement and configuration of the sealing unit 262 as described herein is according to certain embodiments and in other embodiments different arrangements of the sealing unit may be configured within the integrated system 100.
Patil, however, does not disclose wherein the apparatus is configured as an end effector for a robotic device.
However, Hodge discloses and makes obvious wherein the apparatus is configured as an end effector for a robotic device. See especially paragraph 0089 and 0139, disclosing:
[0089] In an exemplary embodiment, the controller operates the tube welding using a spool piece according to the algorithm as depicted in FIG. 10 by saving the number of weldings, directing position of the next welding position using length/position sensors according to tube increments and the number of previous weldings as provided by FIG. 10, thereby allowing for up to 36 welding steps for one container. According to this algorithm, tube lengths are defined/maintained so that the grippers of a robot are enabled to be properly controlled by the controller grip the end of the tubing at the respective round of welding, which enables automation.
…
[0134] 19. The method of any one of the preceding items, wherein loading the first tube, the second tube, and optionally the third tube within the welding mount comprises robotically loading the first tube, the second tube, and the third tube within the welding mount.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein the apparatus is configured as an end effector for a robotic device as disclosed by Hodge in order to enable automation of the handheld or table top system of Patil.
As to claim 32, Patil as modified by Hodge would disclose wherein the end effector is configured to receive electrical power from an external power supply via an electrical coupling provided therebetween. See Patil, paragraph 0041, disclosing “The control unit 106 may be powered by a power supply unit. In certain embodiments the control unit 106 may be connected to the fusing units 102-1 and 102-2 and the sealing units 104-1 and 104-2 using power cables with feedback capabilities.” See later in paragraph 0041, disclosing “In some embodiments the control unit 106 may be connected to the fusing units 102-1 and 102-2 and the sealing units 104-1 and 104-2, e.g. using multiple power line cables.” See also paragraph 0051, disclosing “The control unit 2006 may be powered by a power supply unit. In an embodiment the control unit 2006 may be connected to the fusing unit 2002 and the sealing unit 2004 using power cables with feedback capabilities.”
As to claim 34, Patil discloses further comprising means for manipulating the tube, once joined with said another such tube, to release the pinched portion whereby to establish a fluidic path between the joined tubes. See paragraph 0042, disclosing “Thus the driving assembly 222 moves one holder with respect to the other to align the tubes. For example, the holder 208 moves to align the cut end of the tube 212 opposite to the cut end of the tube 210 as shown in FIG. 3. The driving assembly 222 moves the holder 208 closer to the holder 206 so that the cut ends of the tube 212 and the tube 210 will come in contact with each other to fuse.”
As to claim 35, Patil discloses structure that reads on means for manipulating the tube , and therefore is capable of operation wherein the means for manipulating the tube comprises an automated pinch-release mechanism arranged to press on an edge of the pinched portion of the tubethereby to release the pinched portion and open up the welded tubes whereby to form a fluidic path therethrough. See paragraph 0042, disclosing “The holders 206 and 208 have respective covers 214 and 216 that can be closed with respect to a point 218. The covers 214 and 216 may be hingedly coupled to the point 218. The covers 214 and 216 may be clamps or any other locking units that can ensure that the tubes 210 and 212 are held securely in their respective holders.”
As to claim 36, Patil discloses structure that reads on means for manipulating the tube and therefore is capable of operation wherein the pinch-release mechanism is arranged to compress the pinched portion of the tube against a seat portion of one or more of the means for engaging and moving the tube and the means for clamping a portion of the tube. See paragraph 0042, disclosing “The holders 206 and 208 have respective covers 214 and 216 that can be closed with respect to a point 218. The covers 214 and 216 may be hingedly coupled to the point 218. The covers 214 and 216 may be clamps or any other locking units that can ensure that the tubes 210 and 212 are held securely in their respective holders.”
As to claim 37, Patil discloses structure that reads on means for manipulating the tube and therefore is capable of operation wherein the pinch-release mechanism comprises a first release element and a second release element, the first and second release elements arranged to engage with opposing edges of the pinched portion of the tube at an interface between the new ends of the first and second tubes when joined together. See paragraph 0042, disclosing “The holders 206 and 208 have respective covers 214 and 216 that can be closed with respect to a point 218. The covers 214 and 216 may be hingedly coupled to the point 218. The covers 214 and 216 may be clamps or any other locking units that can ensure that the tubes 210 and 212 are held securely in their respective holders.”
As to claim 38, Patil discloses structure that reads on means for manipulating the tube and therefore is capable of operation wherein the pinch-release mechanism is arranged to press on an edge of the pinched portion by moving along a straight path. See paragraph 0042, disclosing “The holders 206 and 208 have respective covers 214 and 216 that can be closed with respect to a point 218. The covers 214 and 216 may be hingedly coupled to the point 218. The covers 214 and 216 may be clamps or any other locking units that can ensure that the tubes 210 and 212 are held securely in their respective holders.”
As to claim 41, Patil discloses wherein the means for engaging a tube is provided by a tube gripping mechanism comprising a pair of jaws operable for relative movement between an open configuration for receiving the tube therebetween and a closed configuration for engaging the tube therebetween. See paragraph 0042, disclosing “The fusing unit 204 includes two holders such as a holder 206 and a holder 208. The holders 206 and 208 are capable of receiving two tubes i.e. a tube 210 and a tube 212 respectively. The holders 206 and 208 have respective covers 214 and 216 that can be closed with respect to a point 218. The covers 214 and 216 may be hingedly coupled to the point 218.”
As to claim 42, Patil discloses wherein the means for clamping a portion of the tube is also provided by the tube gripping mechanism, where the closed configuration of the pair of jaws is configured to clamp the tube therebetween. See paragraph 0042, disclosing “The fusing unit 204 includes two holders such as a holder 206 and a holder 208. The holders 206 and 208 are capable of receiving two tubes i.e. a tube 210 and a tube 212 respectively. The holders 206 and 208 have respective covers 214 and 216 that can be closed with respect to a point 218. The covers 214 and 216 may be hingedly coupled to the point 218.”
As to claim 43, Patil discloses wherein the tube gripping mechanism comprises a plurality of pairs of gripping elements (holders 206 and 208) arranged adjacently, each pair of gripping elements comprising a first gripping element and a second gripping element, and each pair of gripping elements being configured for movement between said open and closed configurations. See paragraph 0042, disclosing “The fusing unit 204 includes two holders such as a holder 206 and a holder 208. The holders 206 and 208 are capable of receiving two tubes i.e. a tube 210 and a tube 212 respectively. The holders 206 and 208 have respective covers 214 and 216 that can be closed with respect to a point 218. The covers 214 and 216 may be hingedly coupled to the point 218.”
As to claim 44, Patil discloses wherein a first pair of gripping elements and an adjacent second pair of gripping elements are spaced apart to provide a gap for receiving therebetween means for removing an end section of the tube. See paragraph 0042, disclosing “The fusing unit 204 includes two holders such as a holder 206 and a holder 208. The holders 206 and 208 are capable of receiving two tubes i.e. a tube 210 and a tube 212 respectively. The holders 206 and 208 have respective covers 214 and 216 that can be closed with respect to a point 218. The covers 214 and 216 may be hingedly coupled to the point 218.” See also the closeup of Figure 5B, showing the gaps.
As to claim 45, Patil discloses and/or is capable of operation wherein a first pair of gripping elements is configured to engage a first portion of the end section of tube before a second pair of gripping elements is configured to engage an adjacent second portion of the end section of the tube, whereby to urge fluid in the tube away from the first portion of the tube towards the second portion of the tube prior to operation of means for removing an end section of the tube arranged to remove a portion of the end section of the tube on the other side of the first pair of gripping elements. See paragraph 0042, disclosing “The fusing unit 204 includes two holders such as a holder 206 and a holder 208. The holders 206 and 208 are capable of receiving two tubes i.e. a tube 210 and a tube 212 respectively. The holders 206 and 208 have respective covers 214 and 216 that can be closed with respect to a point 218. The covers 214 and 216 may be hingedly coupled to the point 218.” See also the closeup of Figure 5B, showing the gaps.
As to claim 46, Patil is capable of being used wherein the gripping mechanism is controllable to clamp different parts of said portion of tube while releasing other parts of said portion of tube. See MPEP 2114 and 2115.
As to claim 47, Patil is capable of being used wherein the gripping mechanism is controllable to retain the portion of tube between at least one pair of gripping elements in the closed configuration while at least one different pair of gripping elements are moved to the open configuration to release part of said portion of tube such that said part of said portion of tube is exposed. See MPEP 2114 and 2115.
As to claim 49, Patil is capable of being used wherein means for manipulating the tube to release the pinched portion is arranged to compress said released or exposed part of said portion of tube. See MPEP 2114 and 2115.
As to claim 50, Patil is capable of being used wherein the plurality of pairs of gripping elements of the gripping mechanism are controllable to move an engaged tube in a direction substantially perpendicular to a longitudinal length of the tube relative to the gripping mechanism. See MPEP 2114 and 2115.
Claim(s) 33, 39, 40 and 46-50 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patil (US 20170113402 A1) in view of Hodge (US 20240252803 A1, also published as WO 2022256404 A1) as applied to claims 31-32, 34-38, 41-47 and 49-50 above, and further in view of Zhang (US 20210178506 A1).
As to claim 33, Patil does not disclose further comprising a sensor configured to determine whether at least one of the first tube and the second tube are engaged or aligned in the means for engaging the tube.
However, Zhang discloses further comprising a sensor configured to determine whether at least one of the first tube and the second tube are engaged or aligned in the means for engaging the tube. See especially paragraphs 0035, 0056, and 0133, disclosing:
[0035] Furthermore, in some embodiments, the control system 108 may comprise at least one vision system (e.g., camera, inspection, video) configured to verify axial alignment of the end contact surfaces of the first profile 112 and the second profile 114, confirm successful joining of the first profile 112 to the second profile 114, or a combination thereof. In some embodiments, confirming successful joining of the first profile 112 to the second profile 114 may be accomplished by inspection of the welded profiles at an angle (e.g., 30 degrees, 45 degrees), where unsuccessfully joined areas appear darker than successfully joined areas. Further, in some embodiments, the control system 108 may also comprise a marking system configured to mark the first profile 112, the second profile 114, a joint or welded connection 142 formed between the first profile 112 and the second profile 114, or a combination thereof via laser marking, ink marking, or any combination thereof that allows identification, verification, troubleshooting or any combination thereof of one or more characteristics of the joint or welded connection 142 formed between the first profile 112 and the second profile 114.
…
[0056] In some embodiments, the method 700 may also comprise one or more of the following: axially aligning the end contact surfaces of the first profile 112 and the second profile 114 after cutting the first profile 112 and the second profile 114; verifying the axial alignment of the end contact surfaces of the first profile 112 and the second profile 114 via a camera system; monitoring a temperature, a gas flow rate, a gas pressure, a gas detection level, a material of the first profile and the second profile, a plasma treatment progress level, a working cycle, a total number of working cycles, or a combination thereof; displaying the temperature, the gas flow rate, the gas pressure, the gas detection level, the material of the first profile 112 and the second profile 114, the plasma treatment progress level, the working cycle, the total number of working cycles, or a combination thereof on a user interface; alerting a user when an out of conformance condition exists; automatically stopping the plasma treatment when an out of conformance condition exists, wherein the out of conformance condition comprises a low temperature, a high temperature, a low pressure, a high pressure, a low gas flow rate, a high gas flow rate, a detection of a plasma byproduct, an invalid selection of a material, a leak in the operation chamber, or a combination thereof; storing data related to operation of the plasma welding apparatus 100; conducting a burst test, a tension test, or a combination thereof between the first profile and the second profile test after the first profile and the second profile are joined; selecting a material of each of the first profile 112 and the second profile 114 via the user interface; and applying a reinforcement at least partially about the coincident weld formed between the first profile and the second profile, wherein the reinforcement comprises an adhesive tape, a polymer tape, an overmolded polymer, a plasma-welded polymer, or a combination thereof.
…
[0133] Embodiment 76. The method of Embodiment 75, further comprising: verifying the axial alignment of the end contact surfaces of the first profile and the second profile via a camera system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized further comprising a sensor configured to determine whether at least one of the first tube and the second tube are engaged or aligned in the means for engaging the tube as disclosed by the camera system of Zhang in order to verify the axial alignment of the end contact surfaces of the first profile and the second profile.
As to claim 39, Patil does not disclose further comprising means for stretching the interface between the new ends of the first tube and second tube when joined together to verify the integrity of the join.
However, Zhang discloses and makes obvious further comprising means for stretching the interface between the new ends of the first tube and second tube when joined together to verify the integrity of the join. See especially paragraph 0036, disclosing:
[0036] The plasma welding apparatus 100 may be configured to form a sterile, plasma welded connection 142 between the first profile 112 and the second profile 114. The resulting plasma welded connection 142 may retain specific performance characteristics commensurate with an unmodified control bulk material of the first profile 112 or the second profile 114. Accordingly, in some embodiments, after the joint or plasma welded connection 142 between the first profile 112 and the second profile 114 is formed, the control system 108 may be configured to conduct a burst test, a tension test, or a combination thereof between the first profile 112 and the second profile 114 to ensure a successful plasma welded connection 142 between the first profile 112 and the second profile 114. In some embodiments, a joint or welded connection 142 formed between the first profile 112 and the second profile 114 may comprise a tensile strength of at least 10%, at least 15%, at least 25%, at least 30%, at least 35%, at least 40%, at least 45%, or at least 50% of the tensile strength of an unmodified control bulk material of the first profile 112 or the second profile 114. Furthermore, in some embodiments, a joint or welded connection 142 formed between the first profile 112 and the second profile 114 may comprise a burst pressure of at least 10%, at least 25%, at least 50%, at least 60%, at least 65%, at least 70%, at least 75%, at least 76%, at least 77%, at least 78%, at least 79%, at least 80%, at least 81%, at least 82%, at least 83%, at least 84%, at least 85%, at least 86%, at least 87%, at least 88%, at least 89%, or at least 90% of the of the burst pressure of an unmodified control bulk material of the first profile or the second profile.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized further comprising means for stretching the interface between the new ends of the first tube and second tube when joined together to verify the integrity of the join as suggested by Zhang in order to ensure successful welded connections.
As to claim 40, Patil does not disclose further comprising means for visually inspecting the interface between the new ends of the first tube and second tube, when joined together, to verify the integrity of the join.
However, Zhang discloses further comprising means for visually inspecting the interface between the new ends of the first tube and second tube, when joined together, to verify the integrity of the join. See especially paragraphs 0035, 0056, and 0133, disclosing:
[0035] Furthermore, in some embodiments, the control system 108 may comprise at least one vision system (e.g., camera, inspection, video) configured to verify axial alignment of the end contact surfaces of the first profile 112 and the second profile 114, confirm successful joining of the first profile 112 to the second profile 114, or a combination thereof. In some embodiments, confirming successful joining of the first profile 112 to the second profile 114 may be accomplished by inspection of the welded profiles at an angle (e.g., 30 degrees, 45 degrees), where unsuccessfully joined areas appear darker than successfully joined areas. Further, in some embodiments, the control system 108 may also comprise a marking system configured to mark the first profile 112, the second profile 114, a joint or welded connection 142 formed between the first profile 112 and the second profile 114, or a combination thereof via laser marking, ink marking, or any combination thereof that allows identification, verification, troubleshooting or any combination thereof of one or more characteristics of the joint or welded connection 142 formed between the first profile 112 and the second profile 114.
…
[0056] In some embodiments, the method 700 may also comprise one or more of the following: axially aligning the end contact surfaces of the first profile 112 and the second profile 114 after cutting the first profile 112 and the second profile 114; verifying the axial alignment of the end contact surfaces of the first profile 112 and the second profile 114 via a camera system; monitoring a temperature, a gas flow rate, a gas pressure, a gas detection level, a material of the first profile and the second profile, a plasma treatment progress level, a working cycle, a total number of working cycles, or a combination thereof; displaying the temperature, the gas flow rate, the gas pressure, the gas detection level, the material of the first profile 112 and the second profile 114, the plasma treatment progress level, the working cycle, the total number of working cycles, or a combination thereof on a user interface; alerting a user when an out of conformance condition exists; automatically stopping the plasma treatment when an out of conformance condition exists, wherein the out of conformance condition comprises a low temperature, a high temperature, a low pressure, a high pressure, a low gas flow rate, a high gas flow rate, a detection of a plasma byproduct, an invalid selection of a material, a leak in the operation chamber, or a combination thereof; storing data related to operation of the plasma welding apparatus 100; conducting a burst test, a tension test, or a combination thereof between the first profile and the second profile test after the first profile and the second profile are joined; selecting a material of each of the first profile 112 and the second profile 114 via the user interface; and applying a reinforcement at least partially about the coincident weld formed between the first profile and the second profile, wherein the reinforcement comprises an adhesive tape, a polymer tape, an overmolded polymer, a plasma-welded polymer, or a combination thereof.
…
[0133] Embodiment 76. The method of Embodiment 75, further comprising: verifying the axial alignment of the end contact surfaces of the first profile and the second profile via a camera system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized further comprising means for visually inspecting the interface between the new ends of the first tube and second tube, when joined together, to verify the integrity of the join as such as the camera system of Zhang in order to verify the axial alignment of the end contact surfaces of the first profile and the second profile.
As to claim 46, Patil was interpreted as being capable of being used wherein the gripping mechanism is controllable to clamp different parts of said portion of tube while releasing other parts of said portion of tube. See MPEP 2114 and 2115.
In any event, Zhang also discloses an arrangement wherein the gripping mechanism is controllable to clamp different parts of said portion of tube while releasing other parts of said portion of tube. See especially the sequence from Figures 8A-G, below, which shows clamping and releasing of parts.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein the gripping mechanism is controllable to clamp different parts of said portion of tube while releasing other parts of said portion of tube as suggested by Zhang in order to achieve a sterile connection.
As to claim 47, Patil is capable of being used wherein the gripping mechanism is controllable to retain the portion of tube between at least one pair of gripping elements in the closed configuration while at least one different pair of gripping elements are moved to the open configuration to release part of said portion of tube such that said part of said portion of tube is exposed. See MPEP 2114 and 2115.
In any event, Zhang also discloses an arrangement wherein the gripping mechanism is controllable to retain the portion of tube between at least one pair of gripping elements in the closed configuration while at least one different pair of gripping elements are moved to the open configuration to release part of said portion of tube such that said part of said portion of tube is exposed. See especially the sequence from Figures 8A-G, above, which shows different gripping and releasing of parts.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein the gripping mechanism is controllable to retain the portion of tube between at least one pair of gripping elements in the closed configuration while at least one different pair of gripping elements are moved to the open configuration to release part of said portion of tube such that said part of said portion of tube is exposed as suggested by Zhang in order to achieve a sterile connection.
As to claim 48, Patil does not disclose further comprising means for inspecting said released or exposed part of said portion of tube.
However, Zhang discloses further comprising means for inspecting said released or exposed part of said portion of tube. See especially paragraphs 0035, 0056, and 0133, disclosing:
[0035] Furthermore, in some embodiments, the control system 108 may comprise at least one vision system (e.g., camera, inspection, video) configured to verify axial alignment of the end contact surfaces of the first profile 112 and the second profile 114, confirm successful joining of the first profile 112 to the second profile 114, or a combination thereof. In some embodiments, confirming successful joining of the first profile 112 to the second profile 114 may be accomplished by inspection of the welded profiles at an angle (e.g., 30 degrees, 45 degrees), where unsuccessfully joined areas appear darker than successfully joined areas. Further, in some embodiments, the control system 108 may also comprise a marking system configured to mark the first profile 112, the second profile 114, a joint or welded connection 142 formed between the first profile 112 and the second profile 114, or a combination thereof via laser marking, ink marking, or any combination thereof that allows identification, verification, troubleshooting or any combination thereof of one or more characteristics of the joint or welded connection 142 formed between the first profile 112 and the second profile 114.
…
[0056] In some embodiments, the method 700 may also comprise one or more of the following: axially aligning the end contact surfaces of the first profile 112 and the second profile 114 after cutting the first profile 112 and the second profile 114; verifying the axial alignment of the end contact surfaces of the first profile 112 and the second profile 114 via a camera system; monitoring a temperature, a gas flow rate, a gas pressure, a gas detection level, a material of the first profile and the second profile, a plasma treatment progress level, a working cycle, a total number of working cycles, or a combination thereof; displaying the temperature, the gas flow rate, the gas pressure, the gas detection level, the material of the first profile 112 and the second profile 114, the plasma treatment progress level, the working cycle, the total number of working cycles, or a combination thereof on a user interface; alerting a user when an out of conformance condition exists; automatically stopping the plasma treatment when an out of conformance condition exists, wherein the out of conformance condition comprises a low temperature, a high temperature, a low pressure, a high pressure, a low gas flow rate, a high gas flow rate, a detection of a plasma byproduct, an invalid selection of a material, a leak in the operation chamber, or a combination thereof; storing data related to operation of the plasma welding apparatus 100; conducting a burst test, a tension test, or a combination thereof between the first profile and the second profile test after the first profile and the second profile are joined; selecting a material of each of the first profile 112 and the second profile 114 via the user interface; and applying a reinforcement at least partially about the coincident weld formed between the first profile and the second profile, wherein the reinforcement comprises an adhesive tape, a polymer tape, an overmolded polymer, a plasma-welded polymer, or a combination thereof.
…
[0133] Embodiment 76. The method of Embodiment 75, further comprising: verifying the axial alignment of the end contact surfaces of the first profile and the second profile via a camera system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized further comprising means for inspecting said released or exposed part of said portion of tube such as the camera system of Zhang in order to verify the axial alignment of the end contact surfaces of the first profile and the second profile.
As to claim 49, Patil is capable of being used wherein means for manipulating the tube to release the pinched portion is arranged to compress said released or exposed part of said portion of tube. See MPEP 2114 and 2115.
In any event, Zhang also discloses an arrangement wherein means for manipulating the tube to release the pinched portion is arranged to compress said released or exposed part of said portion of tube. See especially the sequence from Figures 8A-G, above, which shows different gripping and releasing of parts.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein means for manipulating the tube to release the pinched portion is arranged to compress said released or exposed part of said portion of tube as suggested by Zhang in order to achieve a sterile connection.
As to claim 50, Patil is capable of being used wherein the plurality of pairs of gripping elements of the gripping mechanism are controllable to move an engaged tube in a direction substantially perpendicular to a longitudinal length of the tube relative to the gripping mechanism. See MPEP 2114 and 2115.
In any event, Zhang also discloses an arrangement wherein the plurality of pairs of gripping elements of the gripping mechanism are controllable to move an engaged tube in a direction substantially perpendicular to a longitudinal length of the tube relative to the gripping mechanism. See especially the sequence from Figures 8A-G, above, which shows different gripping and releasing of parts.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein the plurality of pairs of gripping elements of the gripping mechanism are controllable to move an engaged tube in a direction substantially perpendicular to a longitudinal length of the tube relative to the gripping mechanism as suggested by Zhang in order to achieve a sterile connection.
Conclusion
The examiner can normally be reached M-F 10-6:30.
/GEORGE R KOCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1745
GRK