DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed on 07/02/2025 has been entered. Claims 1-15 are pending in this application.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 4, line 2 should be -- the first scattering layer -- in order to refer back to the first instance
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1, lines 11-15 recites the limitation “an equivalent thickness of the first scattering layer and an equivalent thickness of the second scattering layer are less than a standard scattering thickness of the scattering materials, and a sum of the equivalent thickness of the first scattering layer and the equivalent thickness of the second scattering layer is not less than the standard scattering thickness”.
The limitation appears to be directed to the dimension (thickness) of the first and second scattering layer compared to a standard scattering thickness. The term “standard scattering thickness” is unclear as to what is defined as the standard. A standard would appear to relate to a threshold to be compared against. However, the claims and the disclosure do not provide specific definitions or examples as to what a “standard scattering thickness” is in order to be compared against the thickness of first and second scattering layer. For the purpose of examination, the limitation in question was interpreted as an arbitrary standard scattering thickness.
Claims 2-15 are rejected for being on rejected claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5-8, 13, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JANSSENS (US 2014/0028985).
Regarding claim 1, as best understood, JANSSENS discloses a light source system comprising
a light source (24, Fig.10) comprising a laser diode (para[0088]) configured for generating laser light, the laser light comprising a first color light;
a light splitting and combining assembly (as seen in Fig.10, the “light splitting and combining assembly” was considered to be the coupling optics forming a general combined light beam) configured to combine the laser light to form a combined light beam;
a scattering assembly (32, 34, Fig.10) configured to scatter and homogenize the combined light beam, the scattering assembly comprising a first scattering element (32, Fig.10) and a second scattering element (34, Fig.10), the first scattering element and the second scattering element being separately arranged; the first scattering element comprises a first scattering layer (32, Fig.10) made of scattering materials (as seen in para[0086], since the first scattering element 32 is a diffuser or refractive element performing the function of scattering light, the first scattering element 32 was considered to have a general material for scattering light), the scattering element comprises a second scattering layer (34, Fig.10) made of scattering materials (as seen in para[0086], since the first scattering element 32 is a diffuser or refractive element performing the function of scattering light, the first scattering element 32 was considered to have a general material for scattering light); and
a light homogenizing element (33, Fig.10) located behind the scattering assembly (as seen in Fig.10, the light homogenizing element 33 was considered to be behind the scattering assembly 32, 34; i.e. the light homogenizing element 33 is located after or before the scattering assembly 32, 34), the light homogenizing element being configured for homogenizing light beam incident to the light homogenizing element (as seen in Fig.10 and para[0086], the light beam is homogenized exiting the light homogenizing element 33).
JANSSENS fails to explicitly disclose a plurality of laser diodes or a laser diode array and configured for generating laser light, the laser light comprising a second color light, the first color light and the second color light having different colors or different wavelengths, an equivalent thickness of the first scattering layer and an equivalent thickness of the second scattering layer are less than a standard scattering thickness of the scattering materials, and a sum of the equivalent thickness of the first scattering layer and the equivalent thickness of the second scattering layer is not less than the standard scattering thickness.
However, another embodiment of JANSSENS discloses a plurality of laser diodes (21, 22, Fig.4) and configured for generating laser light, the laser light comprising a second color light (22, Fig.4), and a first color light (21, Fig.4) and the second color light having different colors or different wavelengths.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a plurality of laser diodes including a first color light and a second color light having different colors as taught by another embodiment of JANSSENS to the light source of JANSSENS in order to provide a desired color, color temperature, and/or special effects of the output light.
Regarding “an equivalent thickness of the first scattering layer and an equivalent thickness of the second scattering layer are less than a standard scattering thickness of the scattering materials, and a sum of the equivalent thickness of the first scattering layer and the equivalent thickness of the second scattering layer is not less than the standard scattering thickness”, the limitation appears to be directed to the dimension (thickness) of the first and second scattering layer. As discussed above, the term “standard scattering thickness” is unclear as to what is defined as the standard. A standard would appear to relate to a threshold to be compared against. However, the claims and the disclosure do not provide specific definitions or examples as to what a “standard scattering thickness” is in order to be compared against the thickness of first and second scattering layer. In addition, the properties of the first and second scattering layer (e.g. the thickness) was considered to be an adjustable parameter for achieving varying degrees of scattering for a desired application and the tolerance of the application. As a result, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognize that the thickness of the first and second scattering layer can be changed in order to achieve an optical result for a desired application.
Regarding claim 3, JANSSENS fails to disclose wherein a thickness of the first scattering layer is less than or equal to 1 cm.
Regarding “a thickness of the scattering layer is less than or equal to 1 cm”, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select and optimize the thickness of the scattering layer to be less than or equal to 1cm to the scattering layer of JANSSENS in order to provide desired optical properties of the light based on the thickness of the scattering layer for a desired application.
Regarding claim 5, JANSSENS further discloses wherein the second scattering element (34, Fig.10) is movable relative to the light source (para[0091]).
Regarding claim 6, JANSSENS further discloses wherein the second scattering element (34, Fig.10) comprises a transmissive substrate (as seen in Fig.10, since the light passes through the second scattering element 34, the second scattering element 34 was considered to include a transmissive substrate).
JANSSENS fails to disclose the second scattering material layer is disposed on the transmissive substrate.
Regarding “the second scattering material layer is disposed on the transmissive substrate”, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that a scattering element (or a diffuser) typically includes the scattering material layer on the transmissive substrate. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the scattering material layer disposed on the transmissive substrate to the second scattering element of JANSSENS in order to provide the scattering material layer for the second scattering element.
Regarding claim 7, JANSSENS further discloses wherein the second scattering element (34, Fig.10) is configured to move around an axis or reciprocate in a direction of an optical axis (as seen in para[0091], the second scattering element 34 moves in a plane perpendicular to the axis of the light source).
Regarding claim 8, JANSSENS as discussed above for claim 1 further discloses wherein the light source is the laser diode array, the laser diode array comprises at least two of a red laser diode, a green laser diode, and a blue laser diode (as seen in Fig.4, the light source is a light diode array 21, 22 including a red laser diode 21 and a green laser diode 22).
Regarding claim 13, JANSSENS further discloses wherein each of the first scattering element (32, Fig.10) and the second scattering element (34, Fig.10) is fixed with respect to the light source (as seen in Fig.10, the position of the first and second scattering element 32, 34 was considered to be fixed with respect to the light source 24).
Regarding claim 15, JANSSENS further discloses wherein the first scattering element (32, Fig.10) is fixed with respect to the light source (24, Fig.10), and the second scattering element (34, Fig.10) is movable with respect to the light source (as seen in Fig.10, the first scattering element 32 is stationary, and the second scattering element 34 is movable 35 with respect to the light source 24).
Claims 2 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JANSSENS (US 2014/0028985), and in view of CHEN (US 2021/0148544).
Regarding claim 2, JANSSENS fails to disclose a light condensing element configured for converging the combined light beam, wherein the light condensing element is located between the first scattering element and the second scattering element.
However, CHEN discloses a light condensing element (130, Fig.2) configured for converging a combined light beam, and the light condensing element is located between a first and second scattering element (210, 220, Fig.3).
Therefore, in view of CHEN, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a light condensing element as taught by CHEN between the first and second scattering element of JANSSENS in order to focus the combined light beam onto the second scattering element.
Regarding claim 14, JANSSENS further discloses wherein the second scattering element (34, Fig.10) is movable (35, Fig.10) with respect to the light source (24, Fig.10).
JANSSENS fails to disclose wherein the first scattering element is movable with respect to the light source.
However, CHEN discloses a first scattering element (210, Fig.3) is movable with respect to a light source (100, Fig.3).
Therefore, in view of CHEN, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a first scattering element is movable with respect to a light source as taught by CHEN to the first scattering element of JANSSENS in order to reduce speckle of the laser light of the light source.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JANSSENS (US 2014/0028985), and in view of TSAI (US 2019/0354001).
Regarding claim 4, JANSSENS fails to disclose wherein the first scattering layer comprises white scattering particles, a thickness of the first scattering layer is less than or equal to 0.2 cm.
However, TSAI discloses a first scattering layer comprises white scattering particles (as seen in para[0061], the first scattering layer includes white scattering particle such as titanium dioxide).
Therefore, in view of TSAI, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate white scattering particles as taught by TSAI to the first scattering layer of JANSSENS in order to scatter or diffuse the light of the light source.
Regarding “a thickness of the first scattering layer is less than or equal to 0.2 cm”, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select and optimize the thickness of the scattering layer is less than or equal to 0.2cm to the scattering layer of JANSSENS in order to provide desired optical properties of the light based on the thickness of the scattering layer for a desired application.
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JANSSENS (US 2014/0028985), and in view of HUANG (US 2012/0188515).
Regarding claim 9, JANSSENS as discussed above for claim 1 further disclose wherein the laser light further comprises a third color light (23, Fig.4),
JANSSENS fails to disclose the light splitting and combining assembly further comprises a reflecting element, a first splitting and combining element, and a second splitting and combining element, the first color light is reflected by the reflecting element and passes through the first light splitting and combining element and the second light splitting and combining element to form outgoing light of first color, the second color light is reflected by the first light splitting and combining element and passes through the second light splitting and combining element to form outgoing light of second color, the third color light is reflected by the second light splitting and combining element to form outgoing light of third color, the outgoing light of first color, the outgoing light of second color, and the outgoing light of third color form the combined light beam.
However, HUANG discloses a light splitting and combining assembly includes a reflecting element (30, Fig.3), a first splitting and combining element (41, Fig.3), and a second splitting and combining element (42, Fig.3), a first color light (10c, Fig.3) is reflected by the reflecting element and passes through the first and second light splitting and combining element to form outgoing light of first color (as seen in Fig.10, the first color light 10c reflects by the reflecting element 30 as well as passes through the first and second light splitting and combing element 41, 42), a second color light (10a, Fig.3) is reflected by the first light splitting and combining element and passes through the second light splitting and combining element to form outgoing light of second color, a third color light (10b, Fig.3) is reflected by the second light splitting and combining element to form outgoing light of third color, the outgoing light of first color, the outgoing light of second color, and the outgoing light of third color form the combined light beam.
Therefore, in view of HUANG, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a reflecting element, a first splitting and combining element, and a second splitting and combining element as taught by HUANG to the light splitting and combining assembly of JANSSENS in order to provide different colors of light sources into a combined light.
Regarding claim 10, JANSSENS modified by HUANG as discussed above for claim 9 further discloses wherein an optical axis of the outgoing light of first color, an optical axis of the outgoing light of second color, and an optical axis of the outgoing light of third color coincide with each other (as seen in Fig.3 of HUANG, the optical axis of the first color, the second color, and the third color transmits in the same direction).
Regarding claim 11, JANSSENS modified by HUANG as discussed above for claim 9 further discloses wherein the first light splitting and combining element (41, Fig.3 of HUANG) is configured to transmit blue light, the second light splitting and combining element (42, Fig.3 of HUANG) is configured to transmit blue light (para[0018] of HUANG).
JANSSENS modified by HUANG fails to disclose wherein the first light splitting and combining element is configured to reflect green light, the second light splitting and combining element is configured to transmit green light and reflect red light.
Regarding “the first light splitting and combining element is configured to reflect green light” and “the second light splitting and combining element is configured to transmit green light and reflect red light”, HUANG discloses a different transmissive and reflecting arrangement (e.g. the first light splitting and combining element 41 reflects red light, and the second light splitting and combining element 42 transmits red light and reflects green light). However, HUANG discloses the first and second light splitting and combining elements 41, 42 are dichroic mirrors. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that a dichroic mirror reflects only a particular tuned color (e.g., red, green, or blue) and transmits all other colors. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the first light splitting and combining element reflecting green light and the second light splitting and combining element transmitting green light and reflecting red light to the first and second light splitting and combining element of JANSSENS modified by HUANG in order to provide a desired arrangement of light sources and reflecting splitting and combining elements.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JANSSENS (US 2014/0028985), and in view of ITOH (US 2010/0231862).
Regarding claim 12, JANSSENS fails to disclose wherein the light source comprises a half wave sheet, the half wave sheet is disposed on an outgoing side of at least one laser diode.
However, ITOH discloses a half wave sheet (14, Fig.8) is disposed on an outgoing side of at least one laser diode (13, Fig.8).
Therefore, in view of ITOH, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a half wave sheet as taught by ITOH to the light source of JANSSENS in order to rotate the polarization of the light.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/02/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant has argued “Paragraph [0020] of the present application recites that light with different wavelengths has different scattering intensities, the scattering element needs to reach a certain thickness to achieve speckle elimination, for example, the thickness is greater than 1 cm. When a scattering thickness of the scattering element (e.g., a transmissive type) is too large, a part of the incident light beam cannot reach an outgoing side of the scattering element, but escapes from an incidence side of the scattering element, resulting in optical loss. In the present disclosure, the first scattering element 120 and the second scattering element 122 are separately arranged, on the premise of satisfying the scattering thickness, the optical loss of the light beam incident to the first scattering element 120 is reduced, and the optical loss of the light which is emitted by first scattering element 120 and is incident to the second scattering element is also reduced. So that compared with a single scattering element with a thickness same as a total thickness of the first scattering element 120 and the second scattering element 122, the first scattering element 110 and the second scattering element 112 which are separately arranged can reduce light escaping from the incidence side of the scattering element, thereby reducing optical loss”.
In response to applicant’s argument, the applicant’s remarks appear to be directed to thickness of the first and second scattering element to meet a desired optical result (e.g. optical loss reduction) of the first and second scattering element. Para[0020] of the applicant’s specification indicated above describes a degree of optical loss when a thickness of the scattering element is “too large”. However, the applicant’s specification fails to explicitly discuss what thickness would be considered “too large” and also the degree of optical loss that would or would not be tolerable. As seen in Fig.10 of JANSSENS, a scattering assembly includes a first scattering element (32, Fig.10) and a second scattering element (34, Fig.10) separately arranged. As a result, it is well within one of ordinary skill in the art to merely adjust the thickness of the first and second scattering element in order to reduce optical loss for a desired application.
In addition, regarding the claims, the term “standard scattering thickness” is unclear as to what is defined as the standard. The claims and the disclosure do not provide specific definitions or examples as to what a “standard scattering thickness” is in order to be compared against the thickness of first and second scattering layer. Instead of claiming a comparison, the claims are instead suggested to include additional structural limitations as to what is present in the structure of the device. Therefore, the references disclose the limitations as currently claimed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. The scattering assembly has been further defined and amended in the claims. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.M.E/Examiner, Art Unit 2875
/ZHENG SONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875