DETAILED OFFICE ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-11 are pending examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1 ,6 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103(a) as being unpatentable over Ellmauthaler et al. (USPUB 20170235006) in view of Yan Li et al. (NPL DOC: "Phase Demodulation Methods for Optical Fiber Vibration Sensing System: A Review," 15th December 2021, IEEE SENSORS JOURNAL, VOL. 22, NO. 3, FEBRUARY 1, 2022,Pages 2305-2316.).
As per claim 1, Ellmauthaler et al. teaches A method for global phase IQ Demodulation of optical fiber DAS data ( Quadrature (Q) and in-phase (I) components taught within Paragraph [0059]- “…in a phase sensitive DAS system, seismic data may comprise sinusoidal signals associated with DAS sensors or channels that represent the differences in the optical phase of the backscattered light between two locations on the fiber that form the spatial bounds of a particular DAS sensing region. The seismic data may be demodulated by determining the quadrature (Q) and in-phase (I) components of the optical signal. …”) , comprising: acquiring initial optical fiber DAS IQ data ( Paragraph [0059]- “…data may be demodulated by determining the quadrature (Q) and in-phase (I) components of the optical signal. …”) ; determining a corresponding direct phase value based on the initial optical fiber DAS IQ data ( Paragraph [0059]- “…The I and Q values also may respectively represent the cosine and sine of the phase difference between the backscattered light from two different locations obtained by performing optical interferometry by mixing the light backscattered from the two locations with each other before detection with an optical receiver..”) , and performing an interrogation pulse phase correction operation on the initial optical fiber DAS IQ databased on the direct phase value to obtain first processed data ( Interrogation pulse taught within Paragraphs [0045-0046]- “… the interrogation pulse, and the backscattered signal may all be collected by photodetector 320 and then analyzed by information handling system 330. The light from each of these sources may be at the same optical frequency in a homodyne phase demodulation system, or may be different optical frequencies in a heterodyne phase demodulator. … modulated interrogation signal may be emitted into the fiber instead of a pulse (e.g., pulse 316). …”) ; performing a receiving point initial phase correction operation on the first processed data to obtain second processed data ( Paragraph [0059]- “…The I and Q values also may respectively represent the cosine and sine of the phase difference between the backscattered light from two different locations obtained by performing optical interferometry by mixing the light backscattered from the two locations with each other before detection with an optical receiver…”) ;
Ellmauthaler et al. does not explicitly teach performing an interrogation pulse linear phase correction operation on the second processed data to obtain third processed data; performing a receiving point linear phase correction operation on the third processed data to obtain fourth processed data; and performing phase unwrapping processing and de-near DC component processing on the fourth processed data to obtain global phase demodulated data.
However, within analogous art, Yan Li et al. teaches performing an interrogation pulse linear phase correction operation on the second processed data to obtain third processed data (Interrogation system /scheme taught within Fig. 12- teaches the interrogation for processing data and further taught within Page 1850- Col. 2- “…The pulse interrogation scheme of the MI-OFVS array adopts single pulse with a certain repetition rate, and the reference light is constant without any frequency shift or modulation. The reference light and the signal light interact in the coupler and are detected by the balanced photodetector (BPD). The output of the BPD is sampled by an oscilloscope (OSC) and demodulated by IQ quadrature demodulation in computer (PC)….”) ; performing a receiving point linear phase correction operation on the third processed data to obtain fourth processed data ( Page 1852- Col. 1- “…a dual-wavelength linear regression phase unwrapping technique based on 3 × 3 coupler demodulation and developed a MZIbased vibration sensor with a large dynamic range [50], as shown in Fig 16….”) ; and performing phase unwrapping processing and de-near DC component processing on the fourth processed data to obtain global phase demodulated data ( Unwrapping technique taught within Page 1852- Fig. 16 and Col. 1- “…a dual-wavelength linear regression phase unwrapping technique based on 3 × 3 coupler demodulation and developed a MZIbased vibration sensor with a large dynamic range [50], as shown in Fig. 16. In the experiment, the dual wavelengths are set to 1310 nm and 1550 nm. By combining 3 × 3 coupler demodulation and dual-wavelength linear regression phase unwrapping technique,…” AND Page 1859- Col. 1- “…The improved PGC demodulation algorithm firstly filters out the DC signal from the interference signal. Then one channel is multiplied by the fundamental carrier and the other channel signal directly enters into the low-pass filter. Finally, the demodulation of interference signal is completed by the processing of differential cross multiplication…. Col. 2- “…demodulate the phase of vibration signal, which does not require computationally costly two dimensional phase unwrapping. When applying a 2 kHz perturbation generated by nonlinear actuator at the sensing fiber…”) .
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teaching of Yan Li et al. within the modified teaching of the Noise removal for distributed acoustic sensing data mentioned by Ellmauthaler et al. because the Phase Demodulation Methods for Optical Fiber Vibration Sensing System: A Review mentioned by Yan Li et al. provides a method and system for implementation of optical fiber vibration detection with demodulation technique.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one in the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the Phase Demodulation Methods for Optical Fiber Vibration Sensing System: A Review mentioned by Yan Li et al. within the modified teaching of the Noise removal for distributed acoustic sensing data mentioned by Ellmauthaler et al. for implementing a system and method for optical fiber vibration detection with demodulation technique.
As per claim 6, Ellmauthaler et al. teaches An apparatus for global phase IQ Demodulation of optical fiber DAS data (Quadrature (Q) and in-phase (I) components taught within Paragraph [0059]- “…in a phase sensitive DAS system, seismic data may comprise sinusoidal signals associated with DAS sensors or channels that represent the differences in the optical phase of the backscattered light between two locations on the fiber that form the spatial bounds of a particular DAS sensing region. The seismic data may be demodulated by determining the quadrature (Q) and in-phase (I) components of the optical signal. …”), comprising: an initial data acquisition unit ( Paragraph [0059]- “…data may be demodulated by determining the quadrature (Q) and in-phase (I) components of the optical signal. …”), configured to acquire initial optical fiber DAS IQ data ( Paragraph [0059]- “… data may be demodulated by determining the quadrature (Q) and in-phase (I) components of the optical signal. …”); an interrogation pulse phase correction unit, configured to determine a corresponding direct phase value based on the initial optical fiber DAS IQ data ( Paragraph [0059]- “…The I and Q values also may respectively represent the cosine and sine of the phase difference between the backscattered light from two different locations obtained by performing optical interferometry by mixing the light backscattered from the two locations with each other before detection with an optical receiver..”), and performing an interrogation pulse phase correction operation on the initial optical fiber DAS IQ data based on the direct phase value to obtain first processed data; a receiving point initial phase correction unit( Interrogation pulse taught within Paragraphs [0045-0046]- “… the interrogation pulse, and the backscattered signal may all be collected by photodetector 320 and then analyzed by information handling system 330. The light from each of these sources may be at the same optical frequency in a homodyne phase demodulation system, or may be different optical frequencies in a heterodyne phase demodulator. … modulated interrogation signal may be emitted into the fiber instead of a pulse (e.g., pulse 316). …”), configured to perform a receiving point initial phase correction operation on the first processed data to obtain second processed data ( Paragraph [0059]- “…The I and Q values also may respectively represent the cosine and sine of the phase difference between the backscattered light from two different locations obtained by performing optical interferometry by mixing the light backscattered from the two locations with each other before detection with an optical receiver…”);
Ellmauthaler et al. does not explicitly teach an interrogation pulse linear phase correction unit, configured to perform an interrogation pulse linear phase correction operation on the second processed data to obtain third processed data; a receiving point linear phase correction unit, configured to perform a receiving point linear phase correction operation on the third processed data to obtain fourth processed data; and a processing unit, configured to perform phase unwrapping processing and de-near DC component processing on the fourth processed data to obtain global phase demodulated data.
However, within analogous art, Yan Li et al. teaches an interrogation pulse linear phase correction unit ( interrogation system taught within Page 1847-Col. 1- “…the wavelength calibration technique was proposed to eliminate the problems caused by the non-linearity and poor repeatability of the F-P tunable filter. An a thermal etalon with fixed wavelengths is introduced into the interrogation system,…”) , configured to perform an interrogation pulse linear phase correction operation on the second processed data to obtain third processed data (Interrogation system /scheme taught within Fig. 12- teaches the interrogation for processing data and further taught within Page 1850- Col. 2- “…The pulse interrogation scheme of the MI-OFVS array adopts single pulse with a certain repetition rate, and the reference light is constant without any frequency shift or modulation. The reference light and the signal light interact in the coupler and are detected by the balanced photodetector (BPD). The output of the BPD is sampled by an oscilloscope (OSC) and demodulated by IQ quadrature demodulation in computer (PC)….”) ; a receiving point linear phase correction unit ( linear phase system taught within Fig. 16 and Pages 1862- Fig. 16- Fig. 16. MZI vibration sensor system based on dual-wavelength linear phase unwrapping technology”) , configured to perform a receiving point linear phase correction operation on the third processed data to obtain fourth processed data ( Page 1852- Col. 1- “…a dual-wavelength linear regression phase unwrapping technique based on 3 × 3 coupler demodulation and developed a MZI based vibration sensor with a large dynamic range [50], as shown in Fig 16….”) ; and a processing unit ( processing system taught within Page 1844- Fig. 2. Fig. 2. 3 × 3 coupler demodulation system and processing scheme.) , configured to perform phase unwrapping processing and de-near DC component processing on the fourth processed data to obtain global phase demodulated data ( Unwrapping technique taught within Page 1852- Fig. 16 and Col. 1- “…a dual-wavelength linear regression phase unwrapping technique based on 3 × 3 coupler demodulation and developed a MZIbased vibration sensor with a large dynamic range [50], as shown in Fig. 16. In the experiment, the dual wavelengths are set to 1310 nm and 1550 nm. By combining 3 × 3 coupler demodulation and dual-wavelength linear regression phase unwrapping technique,…” AND Page 1859- Col. 1- “…The improved PGC demodulation algorithm firstly filters out the DC signal from the interference signal. Then one channel is multiplied by the fundamental carrier and the other channel signal directly enters into the low-pass filter. Finally, the demodulation of interference signal is completed by the processing of differential cross multiplication…. Col. 2- “…demodulate the phase of vibration signal, which does not require computationally costly two dimensional phase unwrapping. When applying a 2 kHz perturbation generated by nonlinear actuator at the sensing fiber…”) .
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teaching of Yan Li et al. within the modified teaching of the Noise removal for distributed acoustic sensing data mentioned by Ellmauthaler et al. because the Phase Demodulation Methods for Optical Fiber Vibration Sensing System: A Review mentioned by Yan Li et al. provides a method and system for implementation of optical fiber vibration detection with demodulation technique.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one in the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the Phase Demodulation Methods for Optical Fiber Vibration Sensing System: A Review mentioned by Yan Li et al. within the modified teaching of the Noise removal for distributed acoustic sensing data mentioned by Ellmauthaler et al. for implementing a system and method for optical fiber vibration detection with demodulation technique.
As per claim 11, Combination of Ellmauthaler et al. and Yan Li et al. teach claim 1,
Ellmauthaler et al. teaches A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium stores computer programs that, when executed by a processor ( Paragraph [0034]- “…Each memory module may include any system, device or apparatus configured to retain program instructions and/or data for a period of time (e.g., computer-readable non-transitory media). For example, instructions from software 210 may be retrieved and stored in memory 206 for execution by processor 204. …”) , cause the processor to implement the method for global phase IQ Demodulation of optical fiber DAS data according to claim l( Paragraph [0059]- “…in a phase sensitive DAS system, seismic data may comprise sinus1idal signals associated with DAS sensors or channels that represent the differences in the optical phase of the backscattered light between two locations on the fiber that form the spatial bounds of a particular DAS sensing region. The seismic data may be demodulated by determining the quadrature (Q) and in-phase (I) components of the optical signal. …”).
It is noted that any citations to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the reference should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2123.
Allowable Subject Matter
2. Claims 2,3,4,5,7,8,9 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
3. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for objecting the claims as allowable subject matter:
As to claim 2, prior art of record does not teach or suggest the limitation mentioned within claim 2: “…initial optical fiber DAS IQ data is acquired from a plurality of sensing positions of an optical fiber, determining the corresponding direct phase value based on the initial optical fiber DAS IQ data, and performing the interrogation pulse phase correction operation on the direct phase to obtain the first processed data comprises: determining a preset reference position j0 from the plurality of sensing positions of the optical fiber; acquiring a direct phase value w corresponding to the preset reference position from the initial optical fiber DAS IQ data, the direct phase value w being characterized as: w0(i, j) = arctan (Q(i,j)/I( i,j)) , wherein I (i, j) is an in-phase signal in the initial optical fiber DAS IQ data, Q(i, j) is a quadrature signal in the initial optical fiber DAS IQ data, i is a sampling time, and j is a sampling position; determining an interrogation pulse phase changing factor
(i) based on the direct phase value wo, the interrogation pulse phase changing factor
(i) being characterized as:
(i) =
(i,j), wherein nl is a counted number of sample points of an interrogation pulse phase; and performing an interrogation pulse phase correction operation on the initial optical fiber DAS data based on a first preset rule and the interrogation pulse phase changing factor (i) to obtain the first processed data w1(i, j), the first preset rule being characterized as: w1(i, j) =w0(i, j) - Ψ(i).”
As to claim 3, The following claims depend objected allowable claim 2, therefore the following claims are considered objected allowable claims over prior art of record.
As to claim 4, The following claims depend objected allowable claim 3, therefore the following claims are considered objected allowable claims over prior art of record.
As to claim 5, The following claims depend objected allowable claim 4, therefore the following claims are considered objected allowable claims over prior art of record.
As to claim 7, prior art of record does not teach or suggest the limitation mentioned within claim 7: “…initial optical fiber DAS IQ data is acquired from a plurality of sensing positions of an optical fiber, determining the corresponding direct phase value based on the initial optical fiber DAS IQ data, and performing the interrogation pulse phase correction operation on the direct phase to obtain the first processed data comprises: determining a preset reference position j0 from the plurality of sensing positions of the optical fiber; acquiring a direct phase value w corresponding to the preset reference position from the initial optical fiber DAS IQ data, the direct phase value w being characterized as: w0(i, j) = arctan (Q(i,j)/I( i,j)) , wherein I (i, j) is an in-phase signal in the initial optical fiber DAS IQ data, Q(i, j) is a quadrature signal in the initial optical fiber DAS IQ data, i is a sampling time, and j is a sampling position; determining an interrogation pulse phase changing factor
(i) based on the direct phase value wo, the interrogation pulse phase changing factor
(i) being characterized as:
(i) =
(i,j), wherein nl is a counted number of sample points of an interrogation pulse phase; and performing an interrogation pulse phase correction operation on the initial optical fiber DAS data based on a first preset rule and the interrogation pulse phase changing factor (i) to obtain the first processed data w1(i, j), the first preset rule being characterized as: w1(i, j) =w0(i, j) - Ψ(i).”
As to claim 8, The following claims depend objected allowable claim 7, therefore the following claims are considered objected allowable claims over prior art of record.
As to claim 9, The following claims depend objected allowable claim 8, therefore the following claims are considered objected allowable claims over prior art of record.
As to claim 10, The following claims depend objected allowable claim 9, therefore the following claims are considered objected allowable claims over prior art of record.
Conclusion
4. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Refer to PTO-892, Notice of Reference Cited for a listing of analogous art.
http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/OMAR S ISMAIL/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2635