DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Receipt is acknowledged of applicant’s amendment filed March 16, 2026. Claims 1-10 have been cancelled without prejudice. Claims 11-22 are pending and an action on the merits is as follows.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed March 16, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In regard to independent claim 1, applicant’s arguments, on pages 6-7 of the Remarks, that the previously applied prior art fails to disclose all of the limitations of claim 1, as newly amended, have been fully considered and are appreciated. Namely, applicant argues that the previously applied prior art fails to disclose that the plurality of conducting rails behave as transparent dielectric slabs with respect to optical radiation. However, as set forth below, newly cited reference to Takama et al. discloses (see e.g. Figure 19): the conducting rails 316+315S (i.e. including wall spacer 316 and shield electrodes 315S, see e.g. Figure 19 and paragraph [0126]) are transparent at said optical wavelength (see e.g. paragraphs [0040], [0043], and [0126]), wherein the plurality of conducting rails 316+215S is configured for behaving as simple transparent dielectric slabs with respect to optical radiation (see e.g. paragraphs [0040] and [0043] for being transparent, thus behaving as a transparent dielectric slab with respect to optical radiation).
Applicant further argues that the cited references fail to disclose “the height of said plurality of conducting rails is at least equal to λ/Δn”. However, as set forth below, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize using the height H of said plurality of conducting rails is at least equal to λ /Δn, Δn being the birefringence of the liquid crystal at said optical wavelength, since it has been held that where the general condition of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art (see e.g. MPEP 2144.05). Further, it is known that selecting the dimensions such as height and width directly affects the resonance of the layer (see e.g. paragraph [0048] of Akselrod et al.).
Therefore, claims 11-22 are rejected, as set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regard to independent claim 11, the limitation, “said dielectric surfaces” in line 5, renders the scope of the claim unclear. Namely, “said dielectric surfaces” lacks antecedent basis. For examination purposes, it is presumed that the conducting rails are between the dielectric substrate and dielectric cover window.
Further, the limitations, “a plurality of conducting rails (Vo - VN)” and “an electric potential (Vo - VN)” render the scope of the claim unclear. It is unclear whether applicant is referring to the conducting rails or the electric potential applied to the conducting rails is (Vo - VN).
Claims 12-22 depend from claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-14, 16, and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Travis (US 10,156,768 B1) in view of Mocnizuki et al. (US 2017/0038628 A1) in view of Takama et al. (US 2013/0063691 A1) and further in view of Akselrod et al. (US 2019/0285798 A1).
In regard to claim 11, Travis discloses an active beam-steering device (BSD) 44 (denoted “light-steering optic”, Column 6, lines 11-12 and Figure 8) comprising (see e.g. Figure 8):
a dielectric substrate (DS) 50 (see e.g. Column 6, lines 25-29 and Figure 8) and a cover window (DCW) 66 (see e.g. Column 7, lines 59-61 and Figure 8), transparent at one optical wavelength λ (see e.g. Column 6, lines 25-29 for transparent dielectric substrate), defining a space between them (see e.g. Figure 8 for space between 50 and 66);
a plurality of conducting rails (Vo - VN) 54, 54’ (denoted “opposing sidewalls”, see e.g. Column 6, line 61-Column 7, line 16 and Figure 8), extending parallel to each other between said dielectric surfaces 50, 66 (see e.g. Figure 8), so as to divide said space into a plurality of elongated cells (LCC) 52 (denoted “trench”, see e.g. Column 7, lines 4-5 and Figure 8),
a nematic liquid crystal (LC) 62 (see e.g. column 7, lines 17-19 and Figure 8) filling said plurality of elongated cells 52 (see e.g. Figure 8); and
a plurality of electrical interconnections (ELI) 64 (denoted “optically transparent conductors”, see e.g. Column 8, lines 22-26 and Figure 8) suitable to apply an electric potential (Vo - VN) to each conducting rail 54, 54’ of said plurality of conducting rails 54, 54’ (see e.g. Column 8, lines 22-26 and Figure 8).
Travis fails to disclose
the cover window is transparent and dielectric;
the conducting rails are transparent at said optical wavelength,
wherein the plurality of conducting rails is configured for behaving as simple transparent dielectric slabs with respect to optical radiation;
wherein the pitch P of said plurality of conducting rails is smaller than said optical wavelength λ, and;
the height H of said plurality of conducting rails is at least equal to λ /Δn, An being the birefringence of the liquid crystal at said optical wavelength.
However, Mocnizuki et al. discloses (see e.g. Figure 1 and paragraph [0060]):
the cover window 110 is dielectric.
Given the teachings of Mocnizuki et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Travis with the cover window is dielectric.
Doing so would provide a typical configuration for housing a liquid style device using an upper and lower dielectric substrates which allows for containment of the liquid crystal material without shorting between electrical layers.
Travis, in view of Mocnizuki et al., fails to disclose
the conducting rails are transparent at said optical wavelength,
wherein the plurality of conducting rails is configured for behaving as simple transparent dielectric slabs with respect to optical radiation;
wherein the pitch P of said plurality of conducting rails is smaller than said optical wavelength λ, and;
the height H of said plurality of conducting rails is at least equal to λ /Δn, An being the birefringence of the liquid crystal at said optical wavelength.
However, Takama et al. discloses (see e.g. Figure 19):
the conducting rails 316+315S (i.e. including wall spacer 316 and shield electrodes 315S, see e.g. Figure 19 and paragraph [0126]) are transparent at said optical wavelength (see e.g. paragraphs [0040], [0043], and [0126]),
wherein the plurality of conducting rails 316+215S is configured for behaving as simple transparent dielectric slabs with respect to optical radiation (see e.g. paragraphs [0040] and [0043] for being transparent, thus behaving as a transparent dielectric slab with respect to optical radiation).
Given the teachings of Takama et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Travis, in view of Mocnizuki et al., with the conducting rails are transparent at said optical wavelength,
wherein the plurality of conducting rails is configured for behaving as simple transparent dielectric slabs with respect to optical radiation.
Using transparent materials for the device would allow for more light transmission through the device.
Travis, in view of Mocnizuki et al. and Takama et al., fails to disclose
wherein the pitch P of said plurality of conducting rails is smaller than said optical wavelength λ, and;
the height H of said plurality of conducting rails is at least equal to λ /Δn, Δn being the birefringence of the liquid crystal at said optical wavelength.
However, Akselrod et al. discloses
wherein the pitch P of said plurality of conducting rails is smaller than said optical wavelength λ, and (see e.g. abstract, paragraph [0031], [0037], [0045]).
Further, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize using the height H of said plurality of conducting rails is at least equal to λ /Δn, Δn being the birefringence of the liquid crystal at said optical wavelength, since it has been held that where the general condition of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art (see e.g. MPEP 2144.05).
Given the teachings of Akselrod et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Travis, in view of Mocnizuki et al. and Takama et al., with wherein the pitch P of said plurality of conducting rails is smaller than said optical wavelength λ, and; the height H of said plurality of conducting rails is at least equal to λ /Δn, Δn being the birefringence of the liquid crystal at said optical wavelength.
Selecting the dimensions such as height and width directly affects the resonance of the layer (see e.g. paragraph [0048] of Akselrod et al.).
In regard to claim 12, Travis, in view of Mocnizuki et al. and Takama et al., discloses the limitations as applied to claim 11 above, but fails to disclose
wherein the width W of said conducting rails is small, compared to their pitch P, such that W/P is equal to or smaller than 25% to allow confining light at said wavelength X in the liquid crystal filling said elongated cells.
However, Akselrod et al. discloses
the resonance of an adjustable plasmonic resonant waveguide depends on multiple physical characteristics, including height, length and/or length of metal rails (see e.g. paragraph [0048]). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize using a configuration in which the width W of said conducting rails is small, compared to their pitch P, such that W/P is equal to or smaller than 25% to allow confining light at said wavelength X in the liquid crystal filling said elongated cells, since it has been held that where the general condition of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
Given the teachings of Akselrod et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Travis, in view of Mocnizuki et al. and Takama et al., with wherein the width W of said conducting rails is small, compared to their pitch P, such that W/P is equal to or smaller than 25% to allow confining light at said wavelength X in the liquid crystal filling said elongated cells.
Doing so would provide a device that is tunable to operate at a desired resonance (see e.g. paragraph [0048] of Akselrod et al. where the resonance is dependent on features of the metal rails).
In regard to claim 13, Travis, in view of Mocnizuki et al. and Takama et al., discloses the limitations as applied to claim 11 above, but fails to disclose
wherein P= λ /2 ± λ X, where P is the pixel size, X is the optical wavelength and X is comprised between 0 and 40%.
However, Akselrod et al. discloses
wherein P= λ /2 ± λ X, where P is the pixel size, X is the optical wavelength and X is comprised between 0 and 40% (see e.g. paragraph [0045] where the described values fall within applicant’s claimed range).
Given the teachings of Akselrod et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Travis, in view of Mocnizuki et al. and Takama et al., with wherein P= λ /2 ± λ X, where P is the pixel size, X is the optical wavelength and X is comprised between 0 and 40%.
Doing so would provide a device that is tunable to operate at a desired resonance (see e.g. paragraph [0048] of Akselrod et al. where the resonance is dependent on features of the metal rails).
In regard to claim 14, Travis discloses the limitations as applied to claim 11 above, and
wherein pitch P is in the sub- micrometer range (see e.g. Column 6, lines 44-60).
In regard to claim 16, Travis discloses the limitations as applied to claim 11 above, and
an electronic driving circuit board (DCB) 68 configured to apply variable electric potential values to said conducting rails through said electrical interconnections, an electric potential difference between two adjacent conducting rails determining a phase-shift of light at wavelength, λ, wherein the light only undergoes the phase-shift when it is confined in the liquid crystal, the phase shift being introduced by the cell delimitated by said rails (see e.g. Figure 10, Column 8, lines 50-61 and Column 9, lines 12-23).
In regard to claim 19, Travis, in view of Mocnizuki et al. and Xing et al., discloses the limitations as applied to claim 1 above and a beam-steering device according to claim 11 above (see e.g. 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claim 11 above):
Travis further disclose a bi-dimensional beam-steering apparatus (BSA) comprising a first (BSD1) 44x and a second (BSD2) beam-steering devices 44y, suitable to operate at a same optical wavelength λ, arranged in such a way that a light beam (LB) (i.e. from 12) traversing the first beam-steering device 44x impinges onto the second beam-steering device 44y, the first and second beam-steering devices 44x,44y having conducting rails extending along nonparallel directions (see e.g. Figure 10).
In regard to claim 20, Travis, in view of Mocnizuki et al. and Xing et al., discloses a beam-steering device (BSD) according to claim 11 (see e.g. 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claim 11 above):
Travis further discloses
an optical system comprising (see e.g. Figure 10): a light source (LS) 12 and
the light source 12 being configured for directing a light beam (LB) at optical wavelength λ towards said beam-steering device 52 or apparatus.
In regard to claim 21, Travis, in view of Mocnizuki et al. and Xing et al., discloses the limitations as applied to claim 19 above.
Travis further discloses
wherein the plurality of conducting rails of the first and second beam-steering devices 44x, 44y extend along perpendicular directions (see e.g. Figure 10).
Claims 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Travis (US 10,156,768 B1) in view of Mocnizuki et al. (US 2017/0038628 A1) in view of Takama et al. (US 2013/0063691 A1) in view of Akselrod et al. (US 2019/0285798 A1) and further in view of Xing et al. “High laser damage threshold liquid crystal optical switch based on a gallium nitride transparent electrode”. Optics Letters Vol. 45, No. 13, July 1, 2020, pp 3537-3540.
In regard to claim 15, Travis, in view of Mocnizuki et al., Takama et al., and Akselrod et al., discloses the limitations as applied to claim 11 above, but fails to disclose
wherein the conducting rails are made of Si-doped GaN.
However, Xing et al. discloses silicon doped GaN as a transparent conductive layer (see e.g. abstract). Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize using wherein the conducting rails are made of Si-doped GaN in the device of Travis, in view of Mocnizuki et al., in order to provide a transparent semiconductor that may be more robust.
Given the teachings of Xing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Travis, in view of Mocnizuki et al., Takama et al., and Akselrod et al., with wherein the conducting rails are made of Si-doped GaN.
Providing a transparent conductive layer allows for transmission of light while using a dielectric slab such as silicon doped GaN allows for a layer more robust to damage.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17, 18, and 22 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JESSICA M MERLIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871