DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 16, 22, and 26 are objected to because of the following informalities: the all lack antecedent basis. For example, re: claim 16¸ ”the energy conversion supply system”; and re: claims 22 and 26, “the first energy conversion device”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
This claim is inappropriately narrative attempting to define the apparatus claim over the prior art in terms of the narrative operation of the device rather than its structure. The claim should be rewritten to positively recite the intended structure to be added to the claim since no structure is present in the below referenced limitations of the claim, nor is it clear what structure is intended to be added beyond the components already claimed in the first indent of claim 23. The following claim limitations fail to positively recite structure resulting in a narrative description of the invention not germane to patentability:
“wherein when diving, water is injected into the tank section and the floater is supplied with compressed air within the compressed air tank so that the floater rises to the sea surface to maintain the floating offshore photovoltaic power generation plant at a predetermined diving depth, and
wherein when surfacing, the compressed air in the compressed air tank is discharged to expel the seawater in the tank section to float the plant above the sea surface.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 12-22 and 24-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nozawa (JP 2001059472 A) and Kato (JP 2003072675 A).
Regarding independent claims 12 and 24, Nozawa teaches a carbon-free energy supply system and method ([0001] of provided translation), comprising:
one or more power generation plants that generate power to meet energy demand of an entire globe or country or a certain region or a specific industry using renewable energy resources, including one or more floating offshore photovoltaic power generation plants ([0005], [0030]); and
one or more energy carrier systems that synthesize energy carriers from power generated at the power generation plant, that store the energy carrier up to a specified amount, that convert the power or the energy carrier into an energy form suitable for each of supply destination facilities, and that supply carbon-free energy to the supply destination facilities via energy transport means comprising one or more of predetermined pipeline transportation, tank truck transportation, tanker transportation, DC power transmission, and AC power transmission ([0005], [0006])
Nozawa fails to explicitly teach the claimed location of the plants nor explicit management and control devices. Kato teaches a similar carbon-free energy supply system to that of Nozawa. Kato teaches the idea of installing the power generation plants in the equatorial waters within approximately 30 degrees north-south latitude, the waters being vast and abundant in renewable energy resources (pg. 1 of provided translation, paragraph starting with “However, in the…”). Kato also teaches one or more management and control devices that manage and control some or all of the power generation plant, the energy carrier system, the energy transport means, and the supply destination facilities (pg. 2, paragraph starting “Further, the invention…”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to install the plants in the equatorial waters and implement management and control devices to control some or all of the supply system, since Kato teaches these ideas being known in the relevant art and doing so would increase the amount and efficiency of the power being produced by the supply system.
Regarding claim 13, Kato teaches the elements of their power system reliably communicating with each other (pg. 2, paragraph starting with “Further, the invention…”; and pg. 3, paragraph starting with “The communication satellite…”), but fails to explicitly teach the claimed method of reliably communicating. However, the Examiner takes Official Notice that reliably communicating in the claimed manner is known in the wireless communication art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to reliably communicate in the Nozawa/Kato combination in the claimed manner, since it is a known way to reliably wirelessly communicate between elements in a system and Kato is silent as to exactly how their system performs reliable wireless communication and doing so in this way would ensure reliable communication between elements.
Regarding claim 14, Nozawa teaches the energy carrier is one or more of liquefied ammonia, methylcyclohexane, liquid hydrogen, and hydrogen gas ([0005], [0006]).
Regarding claims 15 and 25, Nozawa teaches the energy carrier system and method comprises:
one or more first energy conversion devices that stabilize power generated at the power generation plant ([0017]);
one or more second energy conversion devices (electrolytic means) that generate hydrogen using power output from the first energy conversion device ([0005]);
one or more third energy conversion devices that convert the hydrogen (gas) to an energy carrier (hydrogen liquid) that can be stably stored ([0027]);
one or more energy carrier storage devices (90 and 92) that store the energy carrier up to a specified amount (capacity of container) ([0027]); and
one or more energy conversion supply devices (fuel cell facility) that convert the power or the energy carrier into an energy form suitable for each of the supply destination facilities to transport carbon-free energy to the supply destination facilities via the energy transport means ([0006]).
Regarding claim 16, Nozawa teaches the energy conversion supply system comprises at least one of:
a function that converts power output from the first energy conversion device into a predetermined high-voltage DC power to transmit the high-voltage DC power to a high- voltage DC power system, one of the supply destination facilities, through DC power transmission;
a function that converts power output from the first energy conversion device into a predetermined AC power to transmit the AC power to an AC power system, one of the supply destination facilities, through AC power transmission;
a function that converts hydrogen output from the second energy conversion device into predetermined liquid hydrogen to transport the liquid hydrogen to a facility of the supply destination facilities by pipeline transportation, tank truck transportation, or tanker transportation;
a function that pressurizes hydrogen output from the second energy conversion device to a predetermined pressure to convert the hydrogen to high-pressure hydrogen gas to transport the high-pressure hydrogen gas to a facility of the supply destination facilities by pipeline transportation, tank truck transportation, or tanker transportation;
a function that converts an energy carrier output from the third energy conversion device into liquefied ammonia to transport the liquefied ammonia to a facility of the supply destination facilities by pipeline transportation, tank truck transportation, or tanker transportation;
a function that generates predetermined high-voltage DC power using an energy carrier taken out from the energy carrier storage device to transmit the high-voltage DC power to a high-voltage DC power system, a facility of the supply destination facilities, through DC power transmission;
a function that generates predetermined AC power using an energy carrier taken out from the energy carrier storage device to transmit the AC power to an AC power system, a facility of the supply destination facilities, through AC power transmission (Nozawa teaches providing electric energy to large scale buildings [0030]; obviously AC (or DC power, just above));
a function that converts an energy carrier taken out from the energy carrier storage device into liquefied ammonia to transport the liquefied ammonia to a facility of the supply destination facilities by pipeline transportation, tank truck transportation, or tanker transportation;
a function that converts an energy carrier taken out from the energy carrier storage device into predetermined liquid hydrogen to transport the liquid hydrogen to a facility of the supply destination facilities by pipeline transportation, tank truck transportation, or tanker transportation;
a function that converts an energy carrier taken out from the energy carrier storage device into predetermined high-pressure hydrogen gas to transport the high-pressure hydrogen gas to a facility of the supply destination facilities by pipeline transportation, tank truck transportation, or tanker transportation; or
a power output instruction function that instructs the first energy conversion device to output part or all of the power output from the first energy conversion device to the second energy conversion device when there is a surplus of energy to be supplied to the supply destination facilities, or in accordance with a predetermined plan.
Regarding claims 17 and 18, Nozawa teaches the power generation plant further generates power using other renewable energy resources (solar, wind, wave) to level out diurnal, weather, or temporal variability and seasonal unevenness of generated power, lowering the upper limit of the specified amount of the energy carrier,
wherein the power generation plant that generates power using other renewable energy resources is at least one of an onshore photovoltaic power generation plant, a moored offshore or floating photovoltaic power generation plant, an onshore or offshore wind power generation plant, a geothermal power plant, or a hydroelectric power generation plant ([0005]).
Regarding claims 19 and 27, Nozawa teaches the floating offshore photovoltaic power generation plant is a plant that floats in waters that receive more than a predetermined average annual amount of solar radiation and have a water depth greater than a predetermined water depth, and
wherein the floating offshore photovoltaic power generation plant comprises at least one of:
a function that connects multiple polygonal photovoltaic panels to form a logical hierarchy to be substantially hexagonal in plan view, and to connect the multiple polygonal photovoltaic panels to form a honeycomb structure in plan view;
a photovoltaic power generation function that generates a predetermined DC power by connecting the photovoltaic panels in series, or isolated series, or parallel, or tree- structured parallel via different power path connectors between the logical hierarchy layers;
a diving and surfacing function that submerges the floating offshore photovoltaic power generation plant to a predetermined diving depth by pouring water into a panel housing of the photovoltaic panel, and to surface the floating offshore photovoltaic power generation plant in a submerged state by draining water from the panel housing of the photovoltaic panel;
a coupling function that forms the floating offshore photovoltaic power generation plant by connecting the adjacent photovoltaic panels, on each side or part of which is provided with a coupler that accommodates some or all of the power path connectors, signal path connectors, and compressed air pipe connectors, the coupler allowing the adjacent panel housings to swing mechanically between each other at least vertically;
a control function that switches to the other photovoltaic panels via some or all of the power path connectors, signal line connectors, and compressed air pipe connectors that are unused to form a bypass route in the event of a fault in its own photovoltaic panel or in an adjacent photovoltaic panel,
a shock absorbing function that absorbs unexpected shocks to prevent the photovoltaic panels from riding up due to fluctuations in the sea surface by placing elastic shock-absorbing members at some or all of the apexes of the photovoltaic panels in plan view;
a current position and orientation measurement function that measures the current position and orientation of the floating offshore photovoltaic power generation plant,
a propulsion and steering function (54) that keeps the floating offshore photovoltaic power generation plant stationary at a predetermined location, and that allows the plant to maintain a predetermined orientation or direction ([0013]);
a stationary maintenance function during non-power generation that keeps the floating offshore photovoltaic power generation plant stationary at a predetermined position, and orientation or direction using the propulsion and steering function at night or when diving;
a mooring function (54) that keeps the floating offshore photovoltaic power generation plant stationary at a predetermined position ([0013]);
a secure communication function that exchanges information through the secure communication (as described above with regards to claim 13);
a compressed air generation function that generates compressed air for pouring water into the panel housing and draining water from the panel housing, and for diving the floating offshore photovoltaic power generation plant to the predetermined diving depth, and that supplies the compressed air to the compressed air tank of other photovoltaic panels via a compressed air pipe and the compressed air pipe connector, or
a floating lighthouse function that makes presence known around the floating offshore photovoltaic power generation plant using some or all of lights, radio waves, or sound waves.
Regarding claim 20, this claim includes limitations that are considered product-by-process limitations, and thus, these limitations are not given patentable weight and is rejected for the reasons provided above with respect to claims 12 and 19. In product-by-process claims, “once a product appearing to be substantially identical is found and a 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection is made, the burden shifts to the applicant to show an unobvious difference.” MPEP 2113. This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 is proper because the “patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production.” In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Regarding claim 21, Nozawa teaches the floating offshore photovoltaic power generation plant comprising any number, shape, and/or design of photovoltaic panels, as needed based on a particular load demand ([0014]). Nozawa and Kato fail to explicitly teach the claimed number, shape, and design of the power generation plant. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the power generation plant with the number, shape, and design of the photovoltaic panels, as claimed, since it is an obvious matter of design choice and since the applicant has not disclosed that arranging the power generation plant in the claimed manner solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with other power generation plant configurations.
Regarding claims 22 and 26, Nozawa teaches the floating offshore photovoltaic plant transmits generated power to the energy carrier system or the first energy conversion device through DC power transmission (it is known that PV cells output DC power), and
wherein during non-power generation at night or when diving, the plant is fed power from the energy carrier system (battery, 80) or the first energy conversion device or the energy conversion supply device ([0027]).
Claim(s) 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nozawa (JP 2001059472 A) and Kato (JP 2003072675 A) as applied to claims 12 and 19 above, and further in view of Barnes et al. (2016/0264221). Nozawa and Kato teach the carbon-free energy supply system as described above. They fail to explicitly teach the tank section claimed.
Barnes teaches a similar vessel/boat on the water (Fig. 7) to that of Nozawa and Kato. Barnes teaches the vessel comprising a tank section (8) into which water is to be injected and a compressed air tank, and a floater to maintain the floating vessel at a predetermined diving depth (Abstract; [0046], [0059]). Barnes also teaches the idea of injecting water into a tank and/or increasing the amount of air inside a tank to maintain a user desired diving depth ([0026]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement Barnes’ tank section into Nozawa’s floating vessel and to have a compressed air tank within the panel housing, since Nozawa was silent as to how the water vessel stays above water and Barnes teaches a known example of that, and since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Conclusion
DMP
12/17/2025
/DANIEL CAVALLARI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836