DETAILED ACTION
DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 7-10, 15-17 and 20-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wang, et al. (US Pre Grant Publication No. 2023/0209542).
Regarding claims 1 and 20, Wang discloses a message configuration method, performed by a first-type terminal and comprising and a message configuration apparatus, comprising a processor and a memory (paragraph 0021) storing instructions executable by the processor; wherein the processor is configured to:
receiving a first system message, wherein the first system message is configured for carrying first transmission configuration information, and the first transmission configuration information comprises a portion of configuration information of an initial bandwidth part (BWP) of the first-type terminal; and (Kim discloses that a UE may receive a MIB/SIB1 transmission [i.e. first system message] associated with fist first (i.e. RedCap) and second (i.e. standard) UE [paragraph 0066-0069; 0076-0082]. The SIB1 contains a portion of the configuration for the dedicated BWP of the UE as it must be combined with the SIB1-RC/SIB10 system message to acquire the whole configuration of the UE by determining missing portions of SIB1 and providing the missing portions using SIB1-RC/SIB10 for specific application to the first type/RedCap UEs [paragraphs 0069; paragraph 0079- SIB1-RC in a separate transmission from SIM1]. The combined SIB-1 and SIB1-RC/SIB10 information is used to identify separate initial DL/UL BWPs for the first type/RedCap UEs [paragraphs 0097-0098, 0109; fig. 3 – first type/RedCap UEs specific Initial DL BWPs].)
determining second transmission configuration information not carried in the first system message based on the first system message; (as discussed in (a), supra, The SIB1-RC/SIB-10 may provide additional information [i.e. second transmission configuration information] by supplying a new version of existing IEs where the new version of the IE is not included in the SIB1 [i.e. first system message] and therefore comprises second configuration information not carried in the SIB1/first system message [paragraph 0069 – note also (a), supra].)
wherein the second transmission configuration information is a remaining portion of the configuration information of the initial BWP of the first-type terminal, other than the first transmission configuration information. (The additional/second transmission configuration information in the SIB1-RC/SIB-10 is the remaining first type/RedCap UEs specific system information necessary to configure the first type/RedCap UEs.)
Regarding claim 3, Wang discloses determining the second transmission configuration information not carried in the first system message based on the first transmission configuration information (as discussed in the independent claim, supra, The SIB1-RC/SIB-10 may provide additional information [i.e. second transmission configuration information] by supplying a new version of existing IEs where the new version of the IE is not included in the SIB1 [i.e. first system message] and therefore comprises second configuration information not carried in the SIB1/first system message [paragraph 0069 – note also (a), supra].)
Regarding claim 7, Wang discloses determining the second transmission configuration information not carried in the first system message based on the first transmission configuration information, comprises determining the first transmission configuration information comprising a portion of configuration information of an uplink BWP of a second-type terminal, and determining the portion of the configuration information of the uplink BWP of the second-type terminal as the second transmission configuration information wherein a capability of the second-type terminal is greater than a capability of the first-type terminal. (As discussed in the independent claim, supra the first transmission configuration information/SIB1/MIB relates to a second type of terminal/legacy terminal including configuration of the UL BWP and the first transmission configuration information/SIB1/MIB may be determine to also apply to the first-type terminal/RedCap terminal as second transmission configuration information when the received second transmission configuration information/SIB1-RC/SIB-10 does not replace or alter the first transmission configuration information/SIB1/MIB [paragraph 0066-0069; 0076-0082, 0097-0098, 109]. The first type terminal is a reduced capability/RedCAp UE and therefore the capabilities of the second/legacy type terminal are greater.)
Regarding claim 8, Wang disclose determining the second transmission configuration information not carried in the first system message based on the first transmission configuration information, comprises determining the first transmission configuration information comprising a portion of configuration information of a downlink BWP of a second-type terminal, and determining the portion of the configuration information of the downlink BWP of the second-type terminal as the second transmission configuration information wherein a capability of the second-type terminal is greater than a capability of the first-type terminal. (As discussed in the independent claim, supra the first transmission configuration information/SIB1/MIB relates to a second type of terminal/legacy terminal including configuration of the DL BWP and the first transmission configuration information/SIB1/MIB may be determine to also apply to the first-type terminal/RedCap terminal as second transmission configuration information when the received second transmission configuration information/SIB1-RC/SIB-10 does not replace or alter the first transmission configuration information/SIB1/MIB [paragraph 0066-0069; 0076-0082, 0097-0098, 109]. The first type terminal is a reduced capability/RedCAp UE and therefore the capabilities of the second/legacy type terminal are greater.)
Regarding claim 9, Wang disclose determining the second transmission configuration information not carried in the first system message based on the first transmission configuration information, comprises determining the first transmission configuration information comprising transmission configuration information shared by the first-type terminal and a second-type terminal, and determining a second system message corresponding to the first-type terminal and determining the second transmission configuration information based on the second system message. (As discussed in the independent claim, supra the first transmission configuration information/SIB1/MIB relates to a second type of terminal/legacy terminal and the first transmission configuration information/SIB1/MIB may be determine to also apply to the first-type terminal/RedCap terminal as second transmission configuration information when the received second transmission configuration information/SIB1-RC/SIB-10 does not replace or alter the first transmission configuration information/SIB1/MIB, indicating that the configuration information is shared between the terminal types [paragraph 0066-0069; 0076-0082, 0097-0098, 109].)
Regarding claim 10, Wang discloses a message configuration method, performed by a network device and comprising
determining first transmission configuration information to be carried in a first system message, wherein the first transmission configuration information comprises a portion of configuration information of an initial bandwidth part (BWP) of a first-type terminal and sending the first system message, wherein the first system message is configured for the first-type terminal to determine second transmission configuration information not carried in the first system message (Kim discloses that a UE may receive a MIB/SIB1 transmission [i.e. first system message] associated with fist first (i.e. RedCap) and second (i.e. standard) UE [paragraph 0066-0069; 0076-0082]. The SIB1 contains a portion of the configuration for the dedicated BWP of the UE as it must be combined with the SIB1-RC/SIB10 system message to acquire the whole configuration of the UE by determining missing portions of SIB1 and providing the missing portions using SIB1-RC/SIB10 for specific application to the first type/RedCap UEs [paragraphs 0069; paragraph 0079- SIB1-RC in a separate transmission from SIM1]. The combined SIB-1 and SIB1-RC/SIB10 information is used to identify separate initial DL/UL BWPs for the first type/RedCap UEs [paragraphs 0097-0098, 0109; fig. 3 – first type/RedCap UEs specific Initial DL BWPs]. The base station/network device determines the contents of the transmission [paragraph 0027, 0116]. The SIB1-RC/SIB-10 may provide additional information [i.e. second transmission configuration information] by supplying a new version of existing IEs where the new version of the IE is not included in the SIB1 [i.e. first system message] and therefore comprises second configuration information not carried in the SIB1/first system message.
wherein the second transmission configuration information is a remaining portion of the configuration information of the initial BWP of the first-type terminal, other than the first transmission configuration information (The additional/second transmission configuration information in the SIB1-RC/SIB-10 is the remaining first type/RedCap UEs specific system information necessary to configure the first type/RedCap UEs (see (a), supra).)
Regarding claim 15, Wang discloses the first transmission configuration information comprises configuration information of an uplink BWP of a second-type terminal wherein a capability of the second-type terminal is greater than a capability of the first-type terminal. (As discussed in the independent claim, supra the first transmission configuration information/SIB1/MIB relates to a second type of terminal/legacy terminal including configuration of the UL BWP [paragraph 0066-0069; 0076-0082, 0097-0098, 109]. The first type terminal is a reduced capability/RedCAp UE and therefore the capabilities of the second/legacy type terminal are greater.)
Regarding claim 16, Wang disclose the first transmission configuration information comprises configuration information of a downlink BWP of a second-type terminal; wherein a capability of the second-type terminal is greater than a capability of the first-type terminal. (As discussed in the independent claim, supra the first transmission configuration information/SIB1/MIB relates to a second type of terminal/legacy terminal including configuration of the DL BWP [paragraph 0066-0069; 0076-0082, 0097-0098, 109]. The first type terminal is a reduced capability/RedCAp UE and therefore the capabilities of the second/legacy type terminal are greater.)
Regarding claim 17, Wang disclose the first transmission configuration information comprises transmission configuration information shared by the first-type terminal and a second-type terminal. (As discussed in the independent claim, supra the first transmission configuration information/SIB1/MIB relates to a second type of terminal/legacy terminal and the first transmission configuration information/SIB1/MIB may be determine to also apply to the first-type terminal/RedCap terminal as second transmission configuration information when the received second transmission configuration information/SIB1-RC/SIB-10 does not replace or alter the first transmission configuration information/SIB1/MIB, indicating that the configuration information is shared between the terminal types [paragraph 0066-0069; 0076-0082, 0097-0098, 109].)
Regarding claim 21, Wang discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having stored therein instructions that, when executed by a processor of a mobile terminal, cause the mobile terminal to perform the message configuration method of claim 1 (paragraph 0021).
Regarding claim 22, Wang discloses a message configuration apparatus, comprising a processor and a memory storing instructions executable by the processor wherein the processor is configured to perform the message configuration method of claim 10 (paragraph 0021).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 4, 11 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang, et al. (US Pre Grant Publication No. 2023/0209542) as applied to claims 1 and 10 and further in view of Takahashi, et al. (TIPO Doc. No. 202/014003; note attached translation with all citations to translation)
Regarding claims 2 and 11, Wang fails to disclose the configuration information of the initial BWP at least comprises any one of frequency band information of a BWP. In the same field of endeavor, Takahashi discloses the configuration information of the initial BWP at least comprises any one of frequency band information of a BWP.
That is, Wang discloses that the first type/RedCap UEs have different configuration information for the initial BWP than that of the second type/legacy UEs (see, for example, fig. 3, different positions, frequency and bandwidth for the first type/RedCap UEs is utilized) that is determined from the SIB1-RC/SIB-10 (see independent claim, supra) and further discloses that the SIB1-RC/SIB-10 may include new or additional IEs based on similar legacy IEs including servingCellConfigCommon-RC (paragraph 0069-0072). However, it is not explicitly clear that the servingCellConfigCommon-RC, and by extension SIB1-RC/SIB-10, is used to signal the different frequency position and band information of the first type/RedCap UEs.
The system of Takahashi makes clear that it was known that the servingCellConfigCommon elements in SIB1 could include configuration of UL/DL initial BWPs including the location and bandwidth of the frequency band of the UL/DL initial BWPs (page 2, first to eight paragarphs).
Therefore, since Takahashi discloses it was known in legacy systems to include UL/DL configuration of initial BWPs including frequency bands in the servingCellConfigCommon elements of system information and Wang discloses the first type/RedCap UEs can utilize updated legacy IEs for BWP configuration in the RedCap Specific SIB1-RC/SIB-10 including the servingCellConfigCommon IE, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the servingCellConfigCommon UL/DL BWP frequency band information of Takahashi in the SIB1-RC/SIB-10 of Wang to specify the different frequencies and bandwidths of the first type/RedCap UEs specific initial BWP in Wang. The motive to combine is to allow specification of the location and size of the he first type/RedCap UEs specific initial BWP using the already utilized SIB1-RC/SIB-10 for improved efficiency.
Regarding claim 4, Wang fails to disclose determining the first transmission configuration information comprising the frequency domain position configuration information of the CORESET, an determining the frequency domain position configuration information of the CORESET as the frequency domain position configuration information of the downlink BWP; wherein the frequency domain position configuration information of the downlink BWP is the second transmission configuration information. In the same field of endeavor, Takahashi discloses determining the first transmission configuration information comprising the frequency domain position configuration information of the CORESET, and determining the frequency domain position configuration information of the CORESET as the frequency domain position configuration information of the downlink BWP; wherein the frequency domain position configuration information of the downlink BWP is the second transmission configuration information.
That is, Wang discloses that the first type/RedCap UEs have different configuration information for the initial BWP than that of the second type/legacy UEs (see, for example, fig. 3, different positions, frequency and bandwidth for the first type/RedCap UEs is utilized) that is determined from the SIB1-RC/SIB-10 (see independent claim, supra) and further discloses that the SIB1-RC/SIB-10 may include new or additional IEs based on similar legacy IEs including servingCellConfigCommon-RC (paragraph 0069-0072). However, it is not explicitly clear that the servingCellConfigCommon-RC, and by extension SIB1-RC/SIB-10, is used to signal the different frequency position and band information of the first type/RedCap UEs. Wang further discloses that the first transmission information/SIB1/MIB may include MIB/SIB1/pdcch-ConfigSIB1 that is used to explicitly or implicitly determine CORESET 0-RC configuration information which fixes the position of CORESET 0 based on frequency and bandwidth for the first type/RedCap UEs initial BWP determined from the SIB1-RC/SIB-10 [i.e. second configuration information]
The system of Takahashi makes clear that it was known that the servingCellConfigCommon elements in SIB1 could include configuration of UL/DL initial BWPs including the location and bandwidth of the frequency band of the UL/DL initial BWPs (page 2, first to eight paragarphs).
Therefore, since Takahashi discloses it was known in legacy systems to include UL/DL configuration of initial BWPs including frequency bands in the servingCellConfigCommon elements of system information and Wang discloses the first type/RedCap UEs can utilize updated legacy IEs for BWP configuration in the RedCap Specific SIB1-RC/SIB-10 including the servingCellConfigCommon IE, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the servingCellConfigCommon UL/DL BWP frequency band information of Takahashi in the SIB1-RC/SIB-10 of Wang to specify the different frequencies and bandwidths of the first type/RedCap UEs specific initial BWP in Wang, thereby forming the frequency domain position configuration information of the downlink BWO/second transmission configuration information and to then further use the frequency domain position configuration information of the downlink BWO/second transmission configuration information along with the CORESET 0-RC configuration determined from the first information/SIB1/MIB to determine the frequency domain position of the CORESET 0 used for the the first type/RedCap UEs, in accordance with the teachings of Wang. The motive to combine is to allow specification of the location and size of the he first type/RedCap UEs specific initial BWP and CORESET 0 using the already utilized SIB1-RC/SIB-10 and SIB1/MIB for improved efficiency.
Regarding claim 12, Wang fails to disclose determining t he first transmission configuration information comprises frequency domain position configuration information of a downlink BWP or frequency domain position configuration information of a control resource set (CORESET). In the same field of endeavor, Takahashi discloses he first transmission configuration information comprises frequency domain position configuration information of a downlink BWP or frequency domain position configuration information of a control resource set (CORESET).
That is, Wang discloses that the first type/RedCap UEs have different configuration information for the initial BWP than that of the second type/legacy UEs (see, for example, fig. 3, different positions, frequency and bandwidth for the first type/RedCap UEs is utilized) that is determined from the SIB1-RC/SIB-10 (see independent claim, supra) and further discloses that the SIB1-RC/SIB-10 may include new or additional IEs based on similar legacy IEs including servingCellConfigCommon-RC (paragraph 0069-0072). However, it is not explicitly clear that the servingCellConfigCommon-RC, and by extension SIB1-RC/SIB-10, is used to signal the different frequency position and band information of the first type/RedCap UEs. Wang further discloses that the first transmission information/SIB1/MIB may include MIB/SIB1/pdcch-ConfigSIB1 that is used to explicitly or implicitly determine CORESET 0-RC configuration information which fixes the position of CORESET 0 based on frequency and bandwidth for the first type/RedCap UEs initial BWP determined from the SIB1-RC/SIB-10 [i.e. second configuration information]
The system of Takahashi makes clear that it was known that the servingCellConfigCommon elements in SIB1 could include configuration of UL/DL initial BWPs including the location and bandwidth of the frequency band of the UL/DL initial BWPs (page 2, first to eight paragarphs).
Therefore, since Takahashi discloses it was known in legacy systems to include UL/DL configuration of initial BWPs including frequency bands in the servingCellConfigCommon elements of system information and Wang discloses the first type/RedCap UEs can utilize updated legacy IEs for BWP configuration in the RedCap Specific SIB1-RC/SIB-10 including the servingCellConfigCommon IE, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include the servingCellConfigCommon UL/DL BWP frequency band information of Takahashi in the SIB1-RC/SIB-10 of Wang to specify the different frequencies and bandwidths of the first type/RedCap UEs specific initial BWP in Wang, thereby forming the frequency domain position configuration information of the downlink BWO/second transmission configuration information and to then further use the frequency domain position configuration information of the downlink BWO/second transmission configuration information along with the CORESET 0-RC configuration determined from the first information/SIB1/MIB to determine the frequency domain position of the CORESET 0 used for the the first type/RedCap UEs, in accordance with the teachings of Wang. The motive to combine is to allow specification of the location and size of the he first type/RedCap UEs specific initial BWP and CORESET 0 using the already utilized SIB1-RC/SIB-10 and SIB1/MIB for improved efficiency.
Claim(s) 5, 6, 13 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang, et al. (US Pre Grant Publication No. 2023/0209542) as applied to claims 1 and 10 and further in view of Takahashi Takahashi, et al. (TIPO Doc. No. 202014003; note attached translation with all citations to translation) and Takahashi II, et al. (US Pre Grant Publication No. 2021/0377933)
Regarding claim 5, Wang fails to disclose determining the first transmission configuration information comprising a frequency domain position of an initial uplink BWP and determining a frequency domain position of the initial downlink BWP. In the same field of endeavor, Takahashi discloses determining the first transmission configuration information comprising a frequency domain position of an initial uplink BWP and determining a frequency domain position of the initial downlink BWP.
That is, Wang discloses that the center frequency of the initial UL BWP would be signaled in the first system message/SIB-1/MIB including the first transmission configuration, as the initial UL BWP for the RedCap UE may overlap the UL BWP for the legacy NR BWPs and may therefore have the same starting or center frequency [paragraph 0100]. In this case, the second transmission configuration information/SIB1-RC/SIB10 will not need to update this element, as it is common between the two and is already indicated as a part of the first transmission configuration information.
The system of Takahashi makes clear that it was known that the servingCellConfigCommon elements in SIB1 could include configuration of UL/DL initial BWPs including the location and bandwidth of the frequency band of the UL/DL initial BWPs (page 2, first to eigth paragraphs).
Therefore, since Takahashi discloses it was known in legacy systems to include UL/DL configuration of initial BWPs including frequency bands in the servingCellConfigCommon elements of system information, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the BWP configuration signaling in initial BWPs of Takahashi with the system of Wang by signaling the initial BWPs of the second/legacy type of RedCap UEs using the first system message/SIB1 including the frequency and bandwidth of the initial UL/DL BWP of the second/legacy type of RedCap UEs and to further provide additional configuration in the form of second trasmission configuration information of this information for the initial UL/DL BWPs of the first type/RedCap UEs in the RedCap Specific SIB1-RC/SIB-10 including the servingCellConfigCommon IE when it differs from the first system message/SIB1, which in the case of an overlapping RedCap and Legacy UL BWP of Wang would result in no provision of second configuration information related to the frequency of RedCip UL BWP of the second informaiton/RedCap Specific SIB1-RC/SIB-10 as it would be the same as the legacy UL BWP such that the first transmission configuration information comprising a frequency domain position of an initial uplink BWP. The motive to combine is to allow specification of the location and size of the first type/RedCap UEs specific initial BWP using the already utilized SIB1-RC/SIB-10 for improved efficiency.
Wang as modified by Takahashi fails to disclose determining the first transmission configuration information comprising a frequency domain position of an initial uplink BWP and a difference between frequency bands of the initial uplink BWP and an initial downlink BWP, and determining a frequency domain position of the initial downlink BWP according to the frequency domain position of the initial uplink BWP and the difference between the frequency bands wherein the frequency domain position of the initial downlink BWP is the second transmission configuration information. In the same field of endeavor, Takahashi discloses determining the first transmission configuration information comprising a frequency domain position of an initial uplink BWP and a difference between frequency bands of the initial uplink BWP and an initial downlink BWP, and determining a frequency domain position of the initial downlink BWP according to the frequency domain position of the initial uplink BWP and the difference between the frequency bands wherein the frequency domain position of the initial downlink BWP is the second transmission configuration information. (The system of Takahashi II discloses a new technique for signaling the location of pairs of bandwidths used for uplink and downlink transmission in which the base station does not need to provide the exact frequency of one of the DL or UL but may instead determine the DL or UL frequency based on the respective UL or DL frequency plus a signaled offset.)
Therefore, since Takahashi II disclose delta signaling of DL and UL, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the delta signaling of Takahashi II with the system of Wang as modified by Takahashi by including in the first transmission configuration information an offset that may be used to determine the location of the DL BWP from the UL BWP such that the first transmission configuration information first transmission configuration information comprising a frequency domain position of an initial uplink BWP (see combination with Takahasi, supra) and a difference between frequency bands of the initial uplink BWP and an initial downlink BWP and then using the frequency domain position of an initial uplink BWP and the offset, the UE may then calculate the frequency domain position of the initial downlink BWP as a part of the second information. The motive to combine is to reduce signaling overhead using delta information.
Regarding claim 6, Wang fails to disclose determining the first transmission configuration information comprising a frequency domain position of an initial downlink BWP and determining a frequency domain position of the initial uplink BWP. In the same field of endeavor, Takahashi discloses determining t the first transmission configuration information comprising a frequency domain position of an initial downlink BWP and determining a frequency domain position of the initial uplink BWP.
That is, Wang discloses that the frequency of the initial DL BWP would be signaled in the first system message/SIB-1/MIB including the first transmission configuration, and the initial DL BWP for the RedCap UE may overlap the DL BWP for the legacy NR BWPs and may therefore have the same starting or center frequency [paragraph 0098]. In this case, the second transmission configuration information/SIB1-RC/SIB10 will not need to update this element, as it is common between the two and is already indicated as a part of the first transmission configuration information.
The system of Takahashi makes clear that it was known that the servingCellConfigCommon elements in SIB1 could include configuration of UL/DL initial BWPs including the location and bandwidth of the frequency band of the UL/DL initial BWPs (page 2, first to eighth paragraphs).
Therefore, since Takahashi discloses it was known in legacy systems to include UL/DL configuration of initial BWPs including frequency bands in the servingCellConfigCommon elements of system information, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the BWP configuration signaling in initial BWPs of Takahashi with the system of Wang by signaling the initial BWPs of the second/legacy type of RedCap UEs using the first system message/SIB1 including the frequency and bandwidth of the initial UL/DL BWP of the second/legacy type of RedCap UEs and to further provide additional configuration in the form of second transmission configuration information of this information for the initial UL/DL BWPs of the first type/RedCap UEs in the RedCap Specific SIB1-RC/SIB-10 including the servingCellConfigCommon IE when it differs from the first system message/SIB1, which in the case of an overlapping RedCap and Legacy DL BWP of Wang would result in no provision of second configuration information related to the frequency of RedCip UL BWP of the second information/RedCap Specific SIB1-RC/SIB-10 as it would be the same as the legacy DL BWP such that the first transmission configuration information comprising a frequency domain position of an initial DL BWP. The motive to combine is to allow specification of the location and size of the first type/RedCap UEs specific initial BWP using the already utilized SIB1-RC/SIB-10 for improved efficiency.
Wang as modified by Takahashi fails to disclose determining the first transmission configuration information comprising a frequency domain position of an initial downlink BWP and a difference between frequency bands of an initial uplink BWP and the initial downlink BWP, an determining a frequency domain position of the initial uplink BWP according to the frequency domain position of the initial downlink BWP and the difference between the frequency bands; wherein the frequency domain position of the initial uplink BWP is the second transmission configuration information. In the same field of endeavor, Takahashi discloses determining the first transmission configuration information comprising a frequency domain position of an initial downlink BWP and a difference between frequency bands of an initial uplink BWP and the initial downlink BWP, an determining a frequency domain position of the initial uplink BWP according to the frequency domain position of the initial downlink BWP and the difference between the frequency bands; wherein the frequency domain position of the initial uplink BWP is the second transmission configuration information. (The system of Takahashi II discloses a new technique for signaling the location of pairs of bandwidths used for uplink and downlink transmission in which the base station does not need to provide the exact frequency of one of the DL or UL but may instead determine the DL or UL frequency based on the respective UL or DL frequency plus a signaled offset.)
Therefore, since Takahashi II disclose delta signaling of DL and UL, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the delta signaling of Takahashi II with the system of Wang as modified by Takahashi by including in the first transmission configuration information an offset that may be used to determine the location of the UL BWP from the DL BWP such that the first transmission configuration information first transmission configuration information comprising a frequency domain position of an initial DL BWP (see combination with Takahasi, supra) and a difference between frequency bands of the initial DL BWP and an initial UL BWP and then using the frequency domain position of an initial DL BWP and the offset, the UE may then calculate the frequency domain position of the initial UL BWP as a part of the second information. The motive to combine is to reduce signaling overhead using delta information.
Regarding claim 13, Wang fails to disclose determining the first transmission configuration information comprising a frequency domain position of an initial uplink BWP. In the same field of endeavor, Takahashi discloses determining the first transmission configuration information comprising a frequency domain position of an initial uplink BWP.
That is, Wang discloses that the center frequency of the initial UL BWP would be signaled in the first system message/SIB-1/MIB including the first transmission configuration, as the initial UL BWP for the RedCap UE may overlap the UL BWP for the legacy NR BWPs and may therefore have the same starting or center frequency [paragraph 0100]. In this case, the second transmission configuration information/SIB1-RC/SIB10 will not need to update this element, as it is common between the two and is already indicated as a part of the first transmission configuration information.
The system of Takahashi makes clear that it was known that the servingCellConfigCommon elements in SIB1 could include configuration of UL/DL initial BWPs including the location and bandwidth of the frequency band of the UL/DL initial BWPs (page 2, first to eigth paragraphs).
Therefore, since Takahashi discloses it was known in legacy systems to include UL/DL configuration of initial BWPs including frequency bands in the servingCellConfigCommon elements of system information, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the BWP configuration signaling in initial BWPs of Takahashi with the system of Wang by signaling the initial BWPs of the second/legacy type of RedCap UEs using the first system message/SIB1 including the frequency and bandwidth of the initial UL/DL BWP of the second/legacy type of RedCap UEs and to further provide additional configuration in the form of second trasmission configuration information of this information for the initial UL/DL BWPs of the first type/RedCap UEs in the RedCap Specific SIB1-RC/SIB-10 including the servingCellConfigCommon IE when it differs from the first system message/SIB1, which in the case of an overlapping RedCap and Legacy UL BWP of Wang would result in no provision of second configuration information related to the frequency of RedCip UL BWP of the second informaiton/RedCap Specific SIB1-RC/SIB-10 as it would be the same as the legacy UL BWP such that the first transmission configuration information comprising a frequency domain position of an initial uplink BWP. The motive to combine is to allow specification of the location and size of the first type/RedCap UEs specific initial BWP using the already utilized SIB1-RC/SIB-10 for improved efficiency.
Wang as modified by Takahashi fails to disclose the first transmission configuration information comprises frequency domain position configuration information of an uplink BWP and a difference between frequency bands of the uplink BWP and a downlink BWP. In the same field of endeavor, Takahashi discloses determining the first transmission configuration information comprises frequency domain position configuration information of an uplink BWP and a difference between frequency bands of the uplink BWP and a downlink BWP. (The system of Takahashi II discloses a new technique for signaling the location of pairs of bandwidths used for uplink and downlink transmission in which the base station does not need to provide the exact frequency of one of the DL or UL but may instead determine the DL or UL frequency based on the respective UL or DL frequency plus a signaled offset.)
Therefore, since Takahashi II disclose delta signaling of DL and UL, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the delta signaling of Takahashi II with the system of Wang as modified by Takahashi by including in the first transmission configuration information an offset that may be used to determine the location of the DL BWP from the UL BWP such that the first transmission configuration information first transmission configuration information comprising a frequency domain position of an initial uplink BWP (see combination with Takahasi, supra) and a difference between frequency bands of the initial uplink BWP and an initial downlink BWP and then using the frequency domain position of an initial uplink BWP and the offset, the UE may then calculate the frequency domain position of the initial downlink BWP as a part of the second information. The motive to combine is to reduce signaling overhead using delta information.
Regarding claim 14, Wang fails to disclose determining the first transmission configuration information comprising a frequency domain position of an initial downlink BWP and determining a frequency domain position of the initial uplink BWP. In the same field of endeavor, Takahashi discloses determining t the first transmission configuration information comprising a frequency domain position of an initial downlink BWP and determining a frequency domain position of the initial uplink BWP.
That is, Wang discloses that the frequency of the initial DL BWP would be signaled in the first system message/SIB-1/MIB including the first transmission configuration, and the initial DL BWP for the RedCap UE may overlap the DL BWP for the legacy NR BWPs and may therefore have the same starting or center frequency [paragraph 0098]. In this case, the second transmission configuration information/SIB1-RC/SIB10 will not need to update this element, as it is common between the two and is already indicated as a part of the first transmission configuration information.
The system of Takahashi makes clear that it was known that the servingCellConfigCommon elements in SIB1 could include configuration of UL/DL initial BWPs including the location and bandwidth of the frequency band of the UL/DL initial BWPs (page 2, first to eighth paragraphs).
Therefore, since Takahashi discloses it was known in legacy systems to include UL/DL configuration of initial BWPs including frequency bands in the servingCellConfigCommon elements of system information, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the BWP configuration signaling in initial BWPs of Takahashi with the system of Wang by signaling the initial BWPs of the second/legacy type of RedCap UEs using the first system message/SIB1 including the frequency and bandwidth of the initial UL/DL BWP of the second/legacy type of RedCap UEs and to further provide additional configuration in the form of second transmission configuration information of this information for the initial UL/DL BWPs of the first type/RedCap UEs in the RedCap Specific SIB1-RC/SIB-10 including the servingCellConfigCommon IE when it differs from the first system message/SIB1, which in the case of an overlapping RedCap and Legacy DL BWP of Wang would result in no provision of second configuration information related to the frequency of RedCip UL BWP of the second information/RedCap Specific SIB1-RC/SIB-10 as it would be the same as the legacy DL BWP such that the first transmission configuration information comprising a frequency domain position of an initial DL BWP. The motive to combine is to allow specification of the location and size of the first type/RedCap UEs specific initial BWP using the already utilized SIB1-RC/SIB-10 for improved efficiency.
Wang as modified by Takahashi fails to disclose determining the first transmission configuration information comprising a frequency domain position of an initial downlink BWP and a difference between frequency bands of an initial uplink BWP and the initial downlink BWP, an determining a frequency domain position of the initial uplink BWP according to the frequency domain position of the initial downlink BWP and the difference between the frequency bands; wherein the frequency domain position of the initial uplink BWP is the second transmission configuration information. In the same field of endeavor, Takahashi discloses determining the first transmission configuration information comprising a frequency domain position of an initial downlink BWP and a difference between frequency bands of an initial uplink BWP and the initial downlink BWP, an determining a frequency domain position of the initial uplink BWP according to the frequency domain position of the initial downlink BWP and the difference between the frequency bands; wherein the frequency domain position of the initial uplink BWP is the second transmission configuration information. (The system of Takahashi II discloses a new technique for signaling the location of pairs of bandwidths used for uplink and downlink transmission in which the base station does not need to provide the exact frequency of one of the DL or UL but may instead determine the DL or UL frequency based on the respective UL or DL frequency plus a signaled offset.)
Therefore, since Takahashi II disclose delta signaling of DL and UL, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the delta signaling of Takahashi II with the system of Wang as modified by Takahashi by including in the first transmission configuration information an offset that may be used to determine the location of the UL BWP from the DL BWP such that the first transmission configuration information first transmission configuration information comprising a frequency domain position of an initial DL BWP (see combination with Takahasi, supra) and a difference between frequency bands of the initial DL BWP and an initial UL BWP and then using the frequency domain position of an initial DL BWP and the offset, the UE may then calculate the frequency domain position of the initial UL BWP as a part of the second information. The motive to combine is to reduce signaling overhead using delta information.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
R1-2106213 (Author Unknown, RAN1 agreements for Rel-17 NR RedCap, Doc. No. R1-2106213, pages 1-11, 27 May 2021) – disclosing Redcap SIB assignment techniques
R1-2103421 (Author Unknown, Reduced maximum bandwidth for RedCap UEs, Doc. No. R1-2103421, pages 1-5, 27 May 2021) – disclosing SIB1 configuration for RedCap
Futaki, et al. (US Pre Grant Publication No. 2022/0287102) – disclosing Redcap configuration
Kim, et al. (US Pre Grant Publication No. 2023/0180110) – disclosing Redcap configuration using SIB1-R
Desai, et al. (US Pre Grant Publication No. 2024/0188122) – disclosing Redcap configuration in different BWPs
Scipione, et al. (US Pre Grant Publication No. 2014/0248917) – disclosing carrier center frequency configuration using SIB
/CHRISTOPHER M CRUTCHFIELD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466