DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 4, 10, 12 and 14 are objected to because:
Claim 1, line 10, “the arrangement direction” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 1, line 11, “their respective concave portions” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 1, line 14, “the other end” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 1, line 17, “the other end” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 1, line 20, “the same polarity” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 4, line 2, “their respective extension” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 10, line 2, “the width direction” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 12, line 7, “the outside” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 12, line 7, “the inside” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 12, line 14, “the arrangement direction” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 12, lines 14-15, “their respective concave portions” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 12, line 18, “the other end” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 12, line 21, “the other end” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 12, line 24, “the same polarity” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 14, line 5, “its” is unclear and leaves doubts as to what is being referred to.
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 10-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by CN112908754.
Regarding claim 1, CN 112908754 discloses (figs.3-4, 6-7 and 9-10) an arc path formation unit, comprising:
an arc chamber (101) in which a plurality of fixed contacts (2) and movable contacts (3) are accommodated;
a magnet holder unit (5) disposed outside the arc chamber (101) and comprising a first holder (labeled in fig.9, below) and a second holder (labeled in fig.9, below) that are different from each other; and
a magnet unit (4) attached to one surface of the magnet holder unit (5) facing the arc chamber (101) and forming a magnetic field in the arc chamber (101)
where the first holder (labeled in fig.9, below) and the second holder (labeled in fig.9, below) are each bent and extended at a predetermined angle, are spaced apart from each other and are arranged in a direction that intersects the arrangement direction of the plurality of fixed contacts (2), and arranged such that their respective concave portions face each other,
wherein the magnet unit (4) comprises:
a first magnet (labeled in fig.9, below) and a second magnet (labeled in fig.9, below) disposed adjacent to one surface of the first holder (labeled in fig.9, below) facing the arc chamber (101) and extending from one end or the other end of the first holder (labeled in fig.9, below) along the one surface of the first holder (labeled in fig.9, below); and
a third magnet (labeled in fig.9, below) and a fourth magnet (labeled in fig.9, below) disposed adjacent to one surface of the second holder (labeled in fig.9, below) facing the arc chamber (101) and extending from one end or the other end of the second holder (labeled in fig.9, below) along the one surface of the second holder (labeled in fig.9, below), and
wherein the first magnet (labeled in fig.9, below), the second magnet (labeled in fig.9, below), the third magnet (labeled in fig.9, below) and the fourth magnet (labeled in fig.9, below) are all magnetized with the same polarity (N) [para.0060].
Regarding claim 12, CN 112908754 discloses direct current relay [para.0001], comprising:
a plurality of fixed contacts (2) spaced apart from each other in one direction;
a movable contact (3) that is in contact with or spaced apart from the fixed contact (2);
an arc chamber (101) in which a space is formed to accommodate the fixed contact (2) and the movable contact (3);
a frame (1) surrounding the arc chamber (101);
a magnet holder unit (5) disposed between the outside of the arc chamber (101) and the inside of the frame (1) and comprising a first holder (labeled in fig.9, above) and a second holder (labeled in fig.9, above) that are different from each other; and
a magnet unit (4) attached to one surface of the magnet holder unit (5) facing the arc chamber (101) and forming a magnetic field in the arc chamber (101),
where the first holder (labeled in fig.9, above) and the second holder(labeled in fig.9, above) are each bent and extended at a predetermined angle, are spaced apart from each other and are arranged in a direction that intersects the arrangement direction of the fixed contact (2), and arranged such that their respective concave portions face each other,
where the magnet unit (4) comprises:
a first magnet (labeled in fig.9, above) and a second magnet (labeled in fig.9, above) disposed adjacent to one surface of the first holder (labeled in fig.9, above) facing the arc chamber (101) and extending from one end or the other end of the first holder (labeled in fig.9, above) along the one surface of the first holder (labeled in fig.9, above); and
a third magnet (labeled in fig.9, above) and a fourth magnet (labeled in fig.9, above) disposed adjacent to one surface of the second holder (labeled in fig.9, above) facing the arc chamber (101) and extending from one end or the other end of the second holder (labeled in fig.9, above) along the one surface of the second holder (labeled in fig.9, above), and
where the first magnet (labeled in fig.9, above), the second magnet (labeled in fig.9, above), the third magnet (labeled in fig.9, above) and the fourth magnet (labeled in fig.9, above) are all magnetized with the same polarity [para.0060].
Regarding claims 2 and 13, CN 112908754 further discloses where in the magnet unit (4), the first magnet (labeled in fig.9, above) and the third magnet (labeled in fig.9, above) are arranged to face each other, and the second magnet (labeled in fig.9, above) and the fourth magnet (labeled in fig.9, above) are arranged to face each other.
Regarding claim 3, CN 112908754 further discloses where the first magnet (labeled in fig.9, above) extends in a direction parallel to an extension direction of the third magnet (labeled in fig.9, above), and
the second magnet (labeled in fig.9, above) extends in a direction parallel to an extension direction of the fourth magnet (labeled in fig.9, above).
Regarding claim 4, CN 112908754 further discloses where the first magnet (labeled in fig.9, above) and the second magnet (labeled in fig.9, above) have their respective extension directions intersecting each other.
Regarding claims 5 and 15, CN 112908754 further discloses where the first magnet (labeled in fig.9, above) is arranged to face the fourth magnet (labeled in fig.9, above) each other, with a virtual line extending along the arrangement direction of the fixed contact (2) interposed therebetween, and
the second magnet (labeled in fig.9, above) is arranged to face the third magnet (labeled in fig.9, above) each other with the virtual line interposed therebetween.
Regarding claim 6, CN 112908754 further discloses where in the magnet unit (4), a shortest distance between the first magnet (labeled in fig.9, above) and the fourth magnet (labeled in fig.9, above) is formed to be equal to a shortest distance between the second magnet (labeled in fig.9, above) and the third magnet (labeled in fig.9, above).
Regarding claim 10, CN 112908754 further discloses where the first magnet (labeled in fig.9, above), the second magnet (labeled in fig.9, above), the third magnet (labeled in fig.9, above) and the fourth magnet (labeled in fig.9, above) have lengths in the width direction and breadth direction, respectively, corresponding to each other.
Regarding claim 11, CN 112908754 further discloses where the first holder (labeled in fig.9, above) is formed in a shape corresponding to the second holder (labeled in fig.9, above), and is symmetrical to the second holder (labeled in fig.9, above) with respect to a central point of the plurality of fixed contacts (2).
Regarding claim 14, CN 112908754 further discloses where the first magnet (labeled in fig.9, above) extends in a direction parallel to an extension direction of the third magnet (labeled in fig.9, above), and
the second magnet (labeled in fig.9, above) extends in a direction parallel to an extension direction of the fourth magnet (labeled in fig.9, above) and its extension direction intersects the extension direction of the first magnet (labeled in fig.9, above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-9 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 112908754 in view of Yang, KR 20170008047.
Regarding claims 7 and 16, CN 112908754 fails to disclose an auxiliary magnet that overlaps a central point of the plurality of fixed contacts in a movement direction of the movable contact and forms a magnetic field in the arc chamber.
Yang discloses (figs.2-6) a relay comprising an auxiliary magnet (130) that overlaps a central point of a plurality of fixed contacts (103) in a movement direction of a movable contact (104) and forms a magnetic field in an arc chamber (102).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the arc path formation unit of CN122908754 with the arrangement of the magnet of Yang, thereby providing a magnet that generates and maintains a stable magnetic field without being supplied with electric energy from the outside.
Regarding claims 8 and 17, CN 112908754 and Yang disclose where the auxiliary magnet (Yang, 130) has an extension direction parallel to the arrangement direction of the first holder (labeled in fig.9, above) and the second holder (labeled in fig.9, above).
Regarding claims 9 and 18, CN 112908754 and Yang disclose where the auxiliary magnet (Yang, 130) has an extension direction that intersects the arrangement direction of the first holder (labeled in fig.9, above) and the second holder (labeled in fig.9, above).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kawaguchi et al, Hoffmann et al, Minowa et al, Lee et al, Shima et al, Yano et al, Kubono et al and Ito et al are examples of switching devices comprising magnets configured similar to the present invention.
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/WILLIAM A BOLTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2833