DETAILED ACTION
This is an Office action based on application number 18/576,967 filed 5 January 2024, which is a national stage entry of PCT/EP2022/068750 filed 6 July 2022, which claims priority to EP21184250.5 filed 7 July 2021. Claims 1-16 are pending.
Amendments to the claims, filed 22 July 2026, have been entered into the above-identified application.
Withdrawn Rejections
The 35 U.S.C. §112(b) rejection made of record in the previous Office action is withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendments.
Claims 1-7, 9, and 11-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Laas et al. (US Patent Application Publication No. US 2018/0265736 A1) (US736) in view of Meyer et al. (WIPO International Publication No. WO 2013/083456 A1 with citations taken from the provided machine translation) (WO456).
Regarding instant claim 1:
US736 discloses an aqueous coating composition comprising at least one polyisocyanate component (A) and at least one aqueous polymer dispersion (B), wherein the polyisocyanate component (A) comprises at least one thioallophanate containing siloxane groups (Claim 1).
US736 further discloses that the coating compositions are suitable for the production of adhesives (paragraph [0158]).
US736 further discloses that the aqueous polymer dispersion is a polyurethane dispersion (B4) inclusive of polyurethane-polyureas (paragraph [0102]).
US736 further discloses that polyisocyanates may be hydrophilically modified to make it easier to incorporate the polyisocyanate component into the aqueous polymer dispersion (B) (paragraph [0073]).
Before the effective filing date of the claims, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of the prior art before him or her, to hydrophobically modify the polyisocyanate component (A) such that it is easier to incorporate the polyisocyanate component into the aqueous polymer dispersion (B).
US736 does not explicitly disclose an amorphous polyurethane-polyurea polymer.
However, WO456 discloses aqueous polyurethane dispersion comprising at least one amorphous polyester polyol, wherein said polyurethane dispersions can be used as laminating adhesives for the production of highly durable composite films without the use of organic solvents. WO456 teaches the use of organic solvents is technically complex as explosion-proof coating systems must be used due to the flammability of the solvents; furthermore, there is a risk that residual solvents in the composite laminates may impair the goods being packaged through unpleasant tastes and odors (paragraph [0001-0004]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of the prior art before him or her, to use the amorphous polyester polyol of WO456 to obtain an amorphous polyurethane-polyurea in the product of US736. The motivation for doing so would have been that such amorphous polyurethanes can form laminating adhesives for highly durable composite films without the use of organic solvents.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine WO456 with US736 to obtain the invention as specified by the instant claim.
Regarding instant claim 2:
US736 further discloses that the polyurethane dispersions (B4) are produced using polyester polyols having a molecular weight range of 500 to 18,000 g/mol.
Similarly, WO456 discloses the use of an amorphous polyester diol with a number-average molecular weight of 500 to 4000 g/mol (paragraphs [0009-0010; 0024]).
Said “amorphous polyester diol” meets the component “(A)” of the claim.
US736 further discloses that suitable polyurethane dispersions are prepared using any desired aliphatic, cycloaliphatic, araliphatic and/or aromatic di- and/or polyisocyanates (paragraph [0107]).
Said isocyanates meet the component “(B)” of the claims.
US736 further disclose that the polyurethane dispersions (B4) are prepared using low molecular weight alcohols with a functionality of 2 to 4 or amino alcohols inclusive of diethanolamine and ethanolamine (paragraph [0117]).
US736 further discloses that hydrophilic groups are incorporated for suitable polyurethane dispersions through in the inclusion of different compounds reactive towards isocyanate groups, wherein said compound are inclusive of hydroxycarboxylic acids (paragraph [0105]).
Said “low molecular weight alcohols”, “amino alcohols”, and “hydroxycarboxylic acids” meet the component “(C)” of the claim.
US736 further discloses that the polyurethane dispersions further comprise neutralizing agents inclusive of tertiary amines (paragraph [0107]).
US736 further discloses that the polyurethane dispersions include chain extenders inclusive of diamines (paragraph [0118]).
Said diamines meet the component “(E)” of the claims.
US736 further discloses that hydrophilic groups are incorporated for suitable polyurethane dispersions through in the inclusion of different compounds reactive towards isocyanate groups, wherein said compound are inclusive of Michael adducts of isophorone diamine or ethylenediamine on acrylic acid (paragraph [0105]).
Said “Michael adducts” meet the component “(F)” of the claim.
Regarding instant claim 3:
WO456 further discloses that the polyurethane contains amorphous polyester diols in an amount of more than 25 wt.% (paragraph [0008-0009]).
Regarding instant claims 4-7, 9 and 11:
one thioallophanate containing siloxane groups has the general formula (I) (Claim 1):
US736 further discloses that the hydrophobically modified polyisocyanates are reaction products of the polyisocyanates with hydrophilic polyether polyols or aminosulphonic acids, or blends of polyisocyanates with alkylphenol polyglycol ether phosphates and/or phosphonates or with fatty alcohol polyglycol ether phosphonates and/or phosphonates (paragraph [0073]).
Said reaction products and blends are construed to meet the emulsifier (N) of the claim.
Regarding instant claim 12:
US736 further discloses that the polyisocyanate component (A) comprises other polyisocyanates that are hydrophobically modified (paragraphs [0072-0073]).
Regarding instant claim 13:
US736 discloses an aqueous coating composition comprising at least one polyisocyanate component (A) and at least one aqueous polymer dispersion (B), wherein the polyisocyanate component (A) comprises at least one thioallophanate containing siloxane groups (Claim 1).
US736 teaches that the coating compositions have significantly increased resistances towards mechanical scratching and effects of weathering, relative to known coatings (paragraph [0158]).
US736 does not explicitly disclose the relative amounts of the polyisocyanate component (A) and the polymer dispersion (B).
However, since the instant specification is silent to unexpected results, the specific amounts of the polyisocyanate component (A) and the polymer dispersion (B) are not considered to confer patentability to the claims. As the resistance to mechanical scratching and weathering effects are variables that can be modified, among others, by adjusting the amounts of the individual components of the composition, the precise amounts would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed amount cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the amounts of the polyisocyanate component (A) and the polymer dispersion (B) in US736 to obtain the desired (property) (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
Regarding instant claims 14-15:
US736 further discloses a method of applying the coating composition to a substrate (paragraph [0160-0161]).
US736 further discloses that said substrates are provided prior to coating which customary, known primers, surfacers coatings, basecoat systems and/or clearcoat systems (paragraph [0164]).
Such a coated substrate meets the multilayer composite of the claim.
Regarding instant claim 16:
US736 further discloses that the substrates are inclusive of metal (paragraph [0164]).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US736 over WO456 as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Laas et al. (EP0959087A1 with citations taken from English language equivalent US Patent No. US 66,426,414 B1) (US414).
Regarding instant claim 8:
US736 discloses that the hydrophobically modified polyisocyanates are reaction products of the polyisocyanates with hydrophilic polyether polyol such as those described, for example in EP0959087 (paragraph [0073]).
US414 discloses polyether-modified, water-dispersible polyisocyanate mixtures for the production of polyurethanes (col. 1, lines 7-9), wherein said polyisocyanate mixtures are produced by reacting a polyisocyanate compound with a monovalent polyalkylene oxide polyether alcohol containing, on average, 5 to 35 ethylene oxide units (col. 3, lines 40-50), preferably polyethylene glycol monomethyl ether alcohols which on average have 7 to 30 ethylene oxide units (col. 5, lines 25-28).
Before the effective filing date of the claims, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of the prior art before him or her, to specifically use the polyethylene glycol monomethyl ether alcohols which on average have 7 to 30 ethylene oxide units of US414 as the hydrophilic polyether polyol desired by US736. The motivation for doing so would have been that US736 explicitly refers to those polyether polyols described by US414.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine US414 with US736 in view of WO456 to obtain the invention as specified by the instant claim.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US736 in view of WO456 as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Laas et al. (WIPO International Publication No. WO 01/88006 A1 with citations taken from English language equivalent US Patent No. US 6,767,958 B2) (US958).
Regarding instant claim 10:
US736 further discloses that the hydrophobically modified polyisocyanates are reaction products of the polyisocyanates with aminosulphonic acids of the kind described in WO 01/88006 (paragraph [0073]).
US958 discloses modified polyisocyanates and polyisocyanate mixtures used in the preparation of polyurethanes (col. 1, lines 5-8).
US958 further discloses that said polyisocyanates are modified through reaction with 2-(cyclohexylamino)-ethanesulfonic acid and 3-(cyclohexylamino)-propanesulfuonic acid (col. 3, lines 19-22).
US598 further teaches that the dispersibility of polyisocyanates is considerably improved through modification with 2-(cyclohexylamino)-ethanesulfonic acid and 3-(cyclohexylamino)-propanesulfuonic acid so that the use of external emulsifiers or the use of high shear forces can be dispensed with, which considerably simplifies the preparation of ready-to-use formulations (col. 3, lines 31-38).
Before the effective filing date of the claims, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of the prior art before him or her, to use the 2-(cyclohexylamino)-ethanesulfonic acid and 3-(cyclohexylamino)-propanesulfuonic acid of US598 as the aminosulphonic acids desired by US736. The motivation for doing so would have been that US736 specifically to these aminosulfonic acids. Further, modification of polyisocyanates with these amino sulfonic acids considerably improves the dispersibility of polyisocyanates.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine US598 with US736 in view of WO456 to obtain the invention as specified by the instant claim.
Answers to Applicant’s Arguments
In response to Applicant’s arguments regarding the prior art rejections, the rejections are maintained because Applicant’s arguments are unpersuasive.
First, Applicant asserts that there is no evidence of record to support the conclusory assertion in the Office action that hydrophilically modifying the polyisocyanate component (A) would make it easier to incorporate the polyisocyanate into aqueous polymer dispersion (B). Specifically, Applicant contends that one of ordinary skill in the art reading Laas I as a whole would have understood that the polyisocyanate component (A) is already able to be incorporated in finely divided from in the aqueous phase without hydrophobic modification.
Applicant’s argument is unpersuasive because the motivation is not conclusory and without evidence. Instead, the motivation is explicitly disclosed in the reference, as cited, i.e., at paragraph [0073], Laas I teaches that hydrophilic modification makes it easier to incorporate the polyisocyanate into an aqueous polymer dispersion.
Second, Applicant argues that the skilled artisan would have had no motivation to hydrophilically modify the polyisocyanate component (A) because such a person would have understood that Laas I relates to aqueous coating compositions for producing scratch-resistant coating materials; however, such a hydrophilic modification inevitably leads to a reduction in the average isocyanate functionality.
Applicant’s argument is unpersuasive. As cited in the rejection of record, Laas I discloses that hydrophilic modification of the polyisocyanate makes it easier to incorporate it into the aqueous polymer dispersion. Though such a modification may lead to a reduction in the average isocyanate functionality, it is not immediately clear what level of hydrophilic modification would render the composition inoperable for its intended use or exhibit undesirable properties. Applicant’s argument that any hydrophilic modification, as set forth in the prior art rejection, would detrimentally impact the intended properties of the composition are conclusory and not supported by evidence commensurate in scope with the claims.
Third, Applicant asserts that that there is insufficient evidence of record to rebut any such prima facie case of obviousness. Applicant argues that the present invention relates to the surprising finding that the use of specific hydrophilically modified polyisocyanates having silane and thioallophanate structures in combination with aqueous amorphous polyurethane-urea dispersions makes it possible to formulate two-component polyurethane dispersion adhesives for multilayer composites is not only maintained under steam sterilization, but even improved significantly. Applicant contends that there is nothing in Laas I in view of Meyer to indicate that such results would have in any way been predictable by the skilled artisan.
In response to applicant's argument that the effect of their invention (i.e., improvement of adhesives under steam sterilization) is not contemplated by the prior art combination, the fact that the inventor has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. See Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985). In the instant case, Applicant’s claimed invention is obviated by the prior art teachings, as mapped above, and one of ordinary skill in the art would readily conclude that such embodiments encompassed by the scope of the prior art that obviate the claims would also exhibit similar properties touted by Applicant, absent evidence to the contrary.
Applicant further argues that the remaining references do not cure the deficiencies of the prior art. Applicant’s argument is unpersuasive as such alleged deficiencies are addressed.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Alicia Chevalier/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1788
/TAM/Examiner, Art Unit 1788 09/28/2026