Status of the Claims
Claims 1-6, 9, 13, 18-25, 27-28, and 30-31 are pending.
Claims 18-25, 27-28, and 30-31 are withdrawn.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, or 365(c) is acknowledged. This application is a national stage entry of and claims priority to PCT/US2022/073501 filed on 7/7/2022 and further claims priority to PRO application number 63/220,126, filed 7/09/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
All references from IDS(s) received on 2/12/2024 have been considered unless marked with a strikethrough.
Elections/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I with traverse in the reply filed on 7/29/2026 is acknowledged.
Applicant’s election of M: aluminum, R3: o-phenylenediamine, PL: THF, R1: 1,1-ethylphenylpropane, and R2:methyl, with traverse in the reply filed on 7/29/2026 is acknowledged.
The Examiner believes this is an accurate representation of the structure:
The grounds for traversal are the Applicant argues that the claims are linked by a common inventive concept and share a common special technical feature. Further, the Applicant argues that the art cited by the Examiner fails to teach a hydrocarbyl group comprising a branched alkyl-aryl. The Examiner points to a secondary reference, included in the rejection below, that would be obvious to substitute such group. Therefore, unity is broken.
Claims 18-25, 27-28, and 30-31 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected methods of using, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
No anticipatory art was found of the elected species, so the Examiner expanded the species pursuant to MPEP 803.02. The expanded species is described in the rejection. No anticipatory art was found, however is rejected in an obviousness-type 103 rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 9, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coates, G. et al. (US9376413B1, pub. 2016; “Coates”) in further view Sookraj, S. et al. (US10590099B1, pub. March 2020; “Sookraj”).
This rejection applies to the expanded specie. The Expanded specie substitutes instant R1 from the elected specie with 2,2-methylphenylethane, as recited in instant claim 3. The structure is seen below.
Coates teaches compound catalysts for use in carbonylation of epoxides for formation of lactones with an overlapping genus structure with instant Formula I. Coates teaches a structural example similar to the expanded specie.
Coates teaches an aromatic ring in the instant -R3 position, which meets the limitations of instant claim 2, where -R3 can be a hydrogen, methyl, C2-10 alkyl group or in combination form a six-membered ring that is optionally a substituted aromatic ring.
Coates fails to teach a structural example where instant R1 is a branched alkyl-aryl, such as 2,2-methylphenylethane, and instant R2 is methyl.
Sookraj teaches compound catalysts for use in carbonylation of epoxides for formation of lactones with an overlapping genus structure with instant Formula I. Sookraj teaches embodiments that would lead to the expanded specie, such as:
, where R4a is g:
(Page 18, Column 32), R3a is 2,2-methylphenylethane, as represented by the following example:
(Page 19, Column 34), and R1a is methyl, as represented by the following example:
(Page 20, Column 35).
Sookraj fails to teach an explicit structural example of the combination of embodiments.
However, it would be obvious to a person skilled in the art to extract the structure taught by Coates and substitute instant R1 is a branched alkyl-aryl, such as 2,2-methylphenylethane, and instant R2 is methyl, as taught by Sookraj.
The Supreme Court in KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007) identified a number of rationales to support a conclusion of obviousness which are consistent with the proper "functional approach" to the determination of obviousness as laid down inGraham.
Examples of rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness include:
(A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results;
(B) Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results;
(C) Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way;
(D) Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement
to yield predictable results;
(E) "Obvious to try" – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a
reasonable expectation of success;
(F) Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same
field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are
predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art;
(G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of
ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to
arrive at the claimed invention.
Applying KSR example rationale (B), it would have been prima facie obvious to extract the structure taught by Coates and substitute instant R1 is a branched alkyl-aryl, such as 2,2-methylphenylethane, and instant R2 is methyl, as taught by Sookraj. A person skilled in the art would be motivated to do so because both compounds are used as catalysts in the carbonylation of epoxides. Therefore, claims 1-6, 9, 13 would be obvious to a person skilled in the art at the time.
Conclusion
Claims 1-6, 9, 13 are rejected.
/N.M.B./Examiner, Art Unit 1621
/CLINTON A BROOKS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1621